Must have been about 20 bikes got the dammed white ticket. For me first time noob park there so damm suay kena.

Saturday 10/5 , 1am somemore !!! I thought that spot has become the unofficial parking slot for bikes cos Grand Cathay bldg does

not allow bikes in ??? Late at Sat night somemore when the whole place was packed with bikes !? But i seemed to notice the bikes that were on the sandy portion did not get the ticket but all the rest must had.

So wats going on with that spot now ? How much is the fine ? How to appeal ? I'm blaming it on Grand Cathay bldg for not allowing bikes in !!!

:angry: Are they short of quota or wat ?????!!!!!!! :angry:

Motard Man >> MZ Motorradd << where can i get one ?

• Replies 67

u mean the carpark opp cathay cineleisure?

Nope ... its the above spot... has become unofficial spot.. always full to brim with bikes on weekend nights... so I nooobie park there first time , very HENG kena !!! :dozed:

yep, the spot infront of "The Cathay" near plaza singapura became parking spot for long long time.. (i also park there)

and this is first time i hear that ppl got fined...

good luck on ur appeal bro..

yep, the spot infront of "The Cathay" near plaza singapura became parking spot for long long time.. (i also park there)

and this is first time i hear that ppl got fined...

good luck on ur appeal bro..

Thanks for your well wishes. Yes that spot long time, as long as that little construction house has been there... estimate about 1 yr plus. But I seemed to notice only all the bikes on the sidewalk were fined. Those on the sandy patch seemed to have 'avoided'. I really dunno ... i mean during daytimes or peak hours maybe not excusable to park there, but c'mon on weekend late nights when its chock full, to come along & earn mass bonus ?!?!?

:angry:

do u think it hard to park at PS?.

Hmm, for me no matter what, I'll just park at PS to give myself a piece of mind and also to avoid unnecessary trouble like these.

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
do u think it hard to park at PS?.

Yes it was really like a parking spot around 50 bikes there at the time. Besides I was patronising The Grand Cathay not PLaza Singapura (where in fact is hotspot for bike thieves I dont wanna lose my parts & accessories).

Guest NPNT

next time juz ride to PS and walk to Cathay.

Well, you wld be likely looking at a fine of about SGP$70 for parking on the pavement. Theres no fine for parking on the grass patch or on the sand as i know. So whoever had actually park on the grass or sand patch by chance due to space constraints on the pavement, would be very lucky indeed.

Apparently I was at grand cathay too last nite, and did park my bike there as it has been a very common parking space for bikes. Heard about ppl getting fines there but quite rare and seldom. I was fortunate not to get a ticket as i left at 11pm. Btw, the closes legal parking area is at the very limited m/cycle lots at the road sides, or as you guys have mentioned earlier, Plaza Singapura carpark.

Btw, sidetrack abit abt parking history at PS...

For those who have been on this forum long enough, would have come across threads about bikes and stuffs getting stolen at Plaza Singapura many years back. One that i recalled was two cbr400rr stolen back then. Personally, i had 2 full face helmets stolen at the PS Carpark at that time. It was valentines' day, and i had to sent my gf back home on a cab after a lovely dinner. Spoiled the evening, mood n outing... :angry:

Well, anyway, that was years ago. It shld be safe nowadays. havent heard nothing much about vehicle thefts or such at PS, only at marina centre carpark area recently, abt 2 years back. It came out in the news, a number of bikes stolen, and bikes with compartment boxes broke open.

"Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done. Now, if you know what you're worth, then go out and get what you're worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain't where you are because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that!"

Actually behind party world orchard got 1 parking for bikes but have to pay $1. I always park there then walk to cine. Cos i always feel that wasting $1 better then $70.. A bit ma fan but safer.

For me I park at Centrepoint since itZ free altho walking distance to The Cathay is abit far,but then it's free and legal,so no worries about getting fine that's y i dun mind the walk hehe

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Sinfillled_Siggy.jpg

How about taking public transport to town? That's what I do.

Parking for bikes is a *****, and it would be pretty senseless to have to move your bike every time you want to go to a different area, like from Orchard to Dhoby Ghaut, or walk back all the way to the bike after covering a some distance.

i was there ystd.. didnt wanna take the risk of being fine for parking @ pavement and hence i ride up to PS and park @ PS instead.. haha.. just a 5min walk down dosent hurt.. =)

Count yourself lucky. When Cathay first opened (with free parking, but no bikes were allowed, go figure), TP came with lorries and towed away all the bikes parked at that area.

Actually behind party world orchard got 1 parking for bikes but have to pay $1. I always park there then walk to cine. Cos i always feel that wasting $1 better then $70.. A bit ma fan but safer.

Actually also not safe cos my friend speedometer is stolen there:angry:

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t26/Mengz_Zai/UniSIM%20FYP%20Presentation/05062010263.jpg

MY FY PROJECT IN 05 JUN 10 @ UNISIM!!

KAWASAKI 150KRR - SEP 02 - DEC 04

HONDA S4 VTEC SPEC II - JUN 04 - JUN 06

YAMAHA 03' R1 - JUN 06 - JAN 07 (STOLEN IN JB :( )

PIAGGIO X9 180CC - FEB 07 - NOW

SUZUKI K5 1000 L.E - JUN 07 - AUG 08

SUZUKI HAYABUSA K7 - AUG 08 - JUL 10

Though the area is an 'unofficial' parking spot for bikes, it is still not a legal parking spot.

Nowadays, even aunties also very high tech. They see a bike on parked on pavement, they feel very kan chiong and whip out their hand phones to snap some pics. When they reach home, straight away post on STOMP.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Yes it was really like a parking spot around 50 bikes there at the time. Besides I was patronising The Grand Cathay not PLaza Singapura (where in fact is hotspot for bike thieves I dont wanna lose my parts & accessories).

jus bring a cover along n cover ur bike when ever u park....

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll14/cokzelight/waveouting.jpg

i park there twice or trice only i think .. cos if u park on sandy or grass patch its belong to e person who bought e land to build things,so only they have can fine u or wat. like pte property . wherelse pavement is govt property so they can fine u..

Y visit Grand Cathay in the 1st place ? Since they dun welcome bikers , y bother going ? There is another cineplex nearby which is on par wif it . Heck , i didnt even know Grand Cathay cinema is ready . Didnt even bother to find out when i discovered its no bikes rule from other riders .

As for me , i either park on the highest floor at PS or take the train to catch a movie there .

N i feel tat Grand Cathay is located a bit out of the way for me .

Y visit Grand Cathay in the 1st place ? Since they dun welcome bikers , y bother going ? There is another cineplex nearby which is on par wif it . Heck , i didnt even know Grand Cathay cinema is ready . Didnt even bother to find out when i discovered its no bikes rule from other riders .

As for me , i either park on the highest floor at PS or take the train to catch a movie there .

N i feel tat Grand Cathay is located a bit out of the way for me .

ya the location abit funny lolz . and cine also don allow biker ma. but i recently saw bike lots in their carpark leh

Thanks for your well wishes. Yes that spot long time, as long as that little construction house has been there... estimate about 1 yr plus. But I seemed to notice only all the bikes on the sidewalk were fined. Those on the sandy patch seemed to have 'avoided'. I really dunno ... i mean during daytimes or peak hours maybe not excusable to park there, but c'mon on weekend late nights when its chock full, to come along & earn mass bonus ?!?!?

:angry:

sandy patch is considered an open area. if you looked closely, there's a makeshift ramp up, hence it's not considered a walkpath.

but parking at pavement, that's a 70bucks fine, if i dun remember wrongly.