Originally posted by yan_d1no@Apr 30 2006, 11:03 AM

Yamaha YBR125

Honda CG125

Suzuki EN125

Not just these three, there are several more class 2B road bikes, like the Bajaj Pulsar and the Hyosung Comet.

btw guys, how do u make comparison...? cost? performance? realiability? im getting so confused... :confused:

Personally, I used cost (cheaper is better) and looks (subjective). Performance.. what performance? And reliability, I think they are all reliable.

There's a big difference between buying new and second hand. For new, you have to ask if it's worth it -- are you going to ride it for many years? Or are you going to trade in after class 2A?

(void *) &NHY;

We live in interesting times!

• Replies 239

Hey peeps.. just got my license.. wondering which bike more worth it... Ktm Exc200, Yamaha Yz125, Honda Cr125 or Xr200..? These are all off road bikes...

i really like the Ktm 200..however alot of my friends told me that its not worth it..and they never go into detail... any help from you guys will be gladly appreciated!

thanks!!

Originally posted by nhyone@May 1 2006, 03:30 PM

Not just these three, there are several more class 2B road bikes, like the Bajaj Pulsar and the Hyosung Comet.

hey, nhyone... thx for your reply

hmm.... ive seen the pulsar, not really into it (the advert says that its "definitely male" hehehe)... n my classmate's Hyosung Comet is giving her problems...and now she facing problems selling it off coz it has a low resale value..

so, lets juz keep to the list... :D hehehehe

Personally, I used cost (cheaper is better) and looks (subjective). Performance.. what performance? And reliability, I think they are all reliable.

i'd prolly compare the price as well,... coz all three in my list are 4stroke bikes.. and share similar specs... maybe slight diff here n there only.. :)

yan d1no

maximise pleasure and minimise pain

In my opinion,its safer to have something known for reliabilty than something new or just testing the market here. Not necesary cheap is good..but other factors like spare parts(cud be expensive,wait longer due to the age of the bike to stabilise in S'pore are relatively minimum). But not all reliable brand are good also,as in my case of accident happened to my vara125. Although its Honda & the bike has been around for near 3years,Boon Siew never bring parts in. It had to be ordered and $480 per piece for side fairings..my goodness,its a real chopper.

Era, if u invest in scoot,not a bad idea as parts or maintenance are still within budget. Dino 125 on 4stroke mite not have enough "power" but what to do? for commuting purpose it will do you fine and keep urself away from unecesary road race by the 2T's (u sure noe how tey behave) no offend to u guys who are on it ride well & safe!

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Sidebag.jpg http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Overall.jpg

my ride my VTEC

hmmm.... *think*think*

so which is more realiable? honda or yamaha? (i decided to drop the suzuki outta my list) YBR is relatively new in the market, rite? so...

well.. guess i gotta survey the shops n see wat they have to say about these two 125s..

thx..spec3FBA :D

yan d1no

Originally posted by Era@Apr 15 2006, 04:03 PM

Hi all, I'm a new rider getting a bike. Looked through the forum, decided that I want a bike with clutch control but not a phamton and not too heavy with relax riding posture. Identified Yamaha X1, Daelim VS 125 which meets the criteria. Wonder if anyone has any comments. Also looked at the autoclutch bikes like wave and spark ut currently still very confused over what to get. Any advise??

Btw, any daelim riders out there that would like to share their opinions about Daelim bikes, not often seen in the forum. Thanks!!

why not consider daelim VJ125 aka Roadwin?

new model named 'X5', actual engine capacity is 140cc.

honda quatity, size of honda S4 aka baby S4.

great looking bike.

pro:

large plastic tank - 16 litres n rust free.

450+km travel per tank.

17" tyres - better handling/larger patch contact on road.

disc brakes front n rear.

con:

small engine - lack power.

engine vibrate @ 4~5k rpm.

max speed 110kph@10,000 rpm.

1st hand bike is expensive - $7k+.

stock setup is lean.

potentially ride can be improve n did improved with minor adjustments/mods.

Roadwin thread @ Naked Bikes Section - clik here to read all comments by Roadwiners

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=2957134/rw05.jpg

Nicee..wud love to trade in for that :smile: Due to the polling date getting near, our candidates; Era & Yan have tight budgetting to do. Banners,banners & more banners! :cheer: for the elections,hehehee..Sorry stsoh,we have to scrape that bike off the list :cheeky:

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Sidebag.jpg http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Overall.jpg

my ride my VTEC

hehehehe.... :D

:bow: u're the man...!

go spec3FBA, go... :cheer:

but have to admit lah... the roadwin wins in terms of outlook... no doubt about dat.... :p

yan d1no

Originally posted by stsoh@May 2 2006, 10:52 AM

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=2957134/rw05.jpg

Seriously its wicked..the rear has fazer looking,Tank like CBR929,Harley like side mirrors,clear pilot beamer,matted frame.. Upz for the design :smile:

Eh Yan,err..ur running the GE lah. :cheer: Go yan_d1no go :cheer:

my ride my VTEC

Originally posted by Spec3FBA@May 2 2006, 06:54 PM

Seriously its wicked..the rear has fazer looking,Tank like CBR929,Harley like side mirrors,clear pilot beamer,matted frame.. Upz for the design :smile:

Eh Yan,err..ur running the GE lah. :cheer:  Go yan_d1no go  :cheer:

hehehe... i have to admit.. i fell in love w it almost instantaneously... but cant afford it lah... n besides, im not into korean bikes... (no offence to those who owns one, juz personal preferance) :D

btw..., no, im not running for the GE.. but i do get to vote.. :bounce: ok... :offtopic:

eh, guys... a qn popped up in my head wen i had a discission w a fellow classmate..

if aft running-in ur new bike, rite... is it ok to let d bike do despatch work? or does that spell t-r-o-u-b-l-e..? :confused: im juz curious lah.. can or cannot?

yan d1no

Originally posted by yan_d1no@May 3 2006, 10:17 AM

if aft running-in ur new bike, rite... is it ok to let d bike do despatch work? or does that spell t-r-o-u-b-l-e..? :confused: im juz curious lah.. can or cannot?

hi.. i'm back.

y not? as long as u service the bike regularly, should be ok. the most important thing is the engine oil. do change according to the manual given to u (if u buy 1st hand lah)...

look at Honda Wave, RXZ, 125Z etc...

tahan lasak for despatch.

1995/1996 - TZR 125 (FJ 8709M)

1996/2003 - Rebel 125 (FN 4795T)

2003/2004 - Super 4 Vtec 1 (FT 6105R)

2004/2004 - 125Z (FX 9008Y)

2004/2005 - RXZ (FN 7178E)

2005/2007 - Majesty 250 (FQ 5381G)

2007/2008 - X9 Evo 200 (FZ 2272K)

2008/2009 - Ver S (FP 762 D)

2010.......... Silverwing 400 (FB* 3**8 *)

Originally posted by Spec3FBA@May 3 2006, 11:13 AM

Can. Running in is to bring ur bike to a state ready to ride. But if u do not running in and whack instead,thats spelled out T-R-O-U-B-L-E. Hope it answers ur fren's qtn. Cheers!

spec3FBA, but if AFTER running-in den do despatch? can or not?

hey, BrokenBones.... wer have u been...? anyway, welcome back..! :D so, ada ketawa sorang sorang lagik tak..? :D

btw, thx guys... :thumb:

yan d1no

Originally posted by stsoh@May 2 2006, 10:52 AM

Daelim Roadwin is awesome. 125 with 400 looks. it seems that Korean bikes have shown its class. :thumb:

Originally posted by BrokenBones@May 3 2006, 05:02 PM

Daelim Roadwin is awesome. 125 with 400 looks. it seems that Korean bikes have shown its class. :thumb:

Daelim Roadwin is 125cc ke?? i thot its a 150cc bike..? hmm...

whoa... pretty huge for a 125... :faint:

yan d1no

its website states it is 125cc. Model dia pun VJ125. its big.

berkenan ke?

Originally posted by BrokenBones@May 3 2006, 06:14 PM

berkenan ke?

there r two models, the older model is 125cc n newer (more expensive) is 140cc even though the stick on the bike is 150cc.

u can call cka for more infomations.

http://www.cka.com.sg/contact.html

Originally posted by BrokenBones@May 3 2006, 06:14 PM

berkenan ke?

bekenan rupa jer....

nooo, BrokenBones... im already having a hard time deciding between 2 bikes... n besides, im on a tight budget.... so its a big NO-NO... :D

yan d1no

Originally posted by yan_d1no@May 3 2006, 09:51 PM

bekenan rupa jer....

nooo, BrokenBones... im already having a hard time deciding between 2 bikes... n besides, im on a tight budget.... so its a big NO-NO... :D

tight budget then the best bike u need will be wave.

u probably save $$$ if u get wave n the best option for despatch job.

roadwin is the cream, vara125 is the cheese cake.

becos vara125 r manufactured in europe (italy) cost r high, spare parts r also costly.

phantom manufactured in thailand, cost r very much cheaper, same goes for bajaj made-in-india.

daelim roadwin manufactured in korea, there4 expensive but still is cheaper than made-in-japan.

daelim also manufacture honda parts, whereas hyosung make parts for suzuki.

in other words, japan lower their cost by using korea as their cheaper manufacturing sources.

Originally posted by Spec3FBA+May 4 2006, 04:47 PM-->
QUOTE (Spec3FBA @ May 4 2006, 04:47 PM)
Yah,expensive cheesecake. But so much on that. My experience is dat,the bikeshop choppers is additionally sharp when varadero 125 breakdown.

The rectifier alone costing me at $138.00+ $50 for battery..rear tyres are comparable to S4's. $480.00 for each side plastic fairings.. Panadol time.

At that time it was quite rare,u will see few on the road but now its like S4 all over the shop. Hope this time round the parts are cheaper for the existing riders of Vara125[/b]

OEM Rectifier for Vara125 is from Ducati. Cost around $300++. Honda rectifier could get below $200. Battery is standard like other bikes. Tyres are comparable with other adventure bikes. The only problem is the size. Plastic fairings on one side cost me $400. Ebay are selling them at much cheaper price. There are also other websites that sell the fairings but plus shipment is about $300++.

The parts now are easily available. A lot of accessories that you can add on this bike.

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg