went to the hardware store and bought 3 hoses of various sizes...u can see from the picture ..the coiled up lenght is 2m...so u have the flexibilty to cut to any length u want.

if u use the whole length..i think u dont hVE TO TOP UP LUBE FOR THE OILING HAHAHAH

for the nrest of the life of your ride.

The flexibility is more superior than the bottle..which is less rigid and the joints may break easily.

So small end attached the valves to control flow...the other big end i have use my EO barndy cork ...hahha.The relative big end will come in handy when top up is neccessary.

so totall cost..i think can build 3 for $10.. the high cost stuff will be the valves and epoxy/silicon.

so anyone interested to solve one of the most messy and back beaking job og oiling your chain for $3..??? or u rather spend $20 for a expensive oiling wax...

Ausa ..oiling solution costs him more than $200....

wa.. so cheap only??? seems interesting sia..

• Replies 1.8k

You need to get a flexible head socket wrench, which luckily, is available in most hardware shop. Should be size 12, confirm later.

i would suggest that u get a set of sockets where u have an extender..that will cover all sizes used on the bike.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

wa.. so cheap only??? seems interesting sia..

$3..use medicine bottle.

prcie revised to $6.5..for 25mm dia nylon reinforced pressure tube.

if u want stainless tube also can...this will add another $5..

of course the high class can supply their gold tubes....hehe..

come and join us..sign sign up lah..:clap::clap::clap::clap::bouncefire::bouncefire:

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

hey..forgot to add the cork...how much is it??

my old one foc..young man like yours..i think it is priceless.

yeah..foc one can also make one from your broom stick..so need someone good with knife carving..can anyone help??

Still stuck on how to remove the seat - any ideas? The nut is at some weird angle and my bike was missing the spark plug too... hmm.

You need to get a flexible head socket wrench, which luckily, is available in most hardware shop. Should be size 12, confirm later.

Yes, confirmed it's size 12 for the left and right screw under the seat.

You will also need a size 8 for the one small little screw at the back of the seat.

hey..forgot to add the cork...how much is it??

my old one foc..young man like yours..i think it is priceless.

yeah..foc one can also make one from your broom stick..so need someone good with knife carving..can anyone help??

Can buy from hardware shop also, got both wooden cork and plastic cork.

Last time I bought 1 was 50 cents.

But if we stuff the cork into the tube until air tight, the oil can flow out or not? :confused:

Won't it be like a straw and you use the thumb to cover the end of it, then the Coca Cola cannot come out when you lift up the straw.

Why not use "Heaven & Earth Green Tea" Bottle cap and seal it with "Blue Tack" I like the Green leaf on the bottle cap. :)

Then can also leave a hole in the blue tack to keep part of the cap unsealed so that air can flow in.

Edited by Silent Hunter

many solutions..just up to u to decide...i will poke a tiny hole in the tube near the cork..or make a slight cut on the cork to allow ai r to get in...up to each which method to follow. the most improtant must be easy to make and foc..haha

hey...maybe u can get foc tubes by looking around in yor bath room, workplace hhahha..

real cheapo here.

haha.. till now i still haven get a clear picture of the invention ;)

anyways.. it's tmr ar? at your place? need to bring what ar???

if im free might be able to check it out ;-)

next meet not tomorrow..2nd sat. in sept. you are most welcome.

the design is very simple..you have a tube (some use medicine bottle) to store the lube.. the valves are needed to control the lube flow..some say 1 drop a minute is good no flying lube all over the wheel or road.

the small end is where u attach the vavles with the outlet froma small tube over the chain...

The objective of the chain oiler are as follows:

1. lube chain easily

2. no flinging/fflying lube when riding at cruising speed.

3. no messy hands.

4. easy top up of lube.

5. small enough to store away from sight.

the lube can be done at every ride or lube once and forget until the next 500km or 1000km or whatever u ddesire...so u set the valve or the correct flow rate.

Edited by mepkoh

oh... sounds interesting... k.. should not be a prob as im having my holidays by then i hope ;-)

so need to pay any $$$ or bring?

for u only..materials free... no need to pay

but i charge labour...

seriously...just bring $10...and assembled the oiler,this include materials and help(if needed) and 100 ml of lube.

u can decide where u want to place the thingy..

more people participate the cost will be lesser

eg..1L EO=$10...buy the extreme long life Car lube $20+ for 4 L mind u fully synthectic and pass BMW/merz standards (That is if u believe what is printed on the bottle.)

At the end of the day..the cost is averaged by the no. of sets made.

i would guess if could be less than $6.

this may turn out to be the best investment/accessory for the bike.

Just imaging instead off spending time to lube the chain..no u can spend it on riidng or polishing, etc... dont forget the amount of soap and water (be green) u r going to save by not dirtying your hands.or spend a bomb on expensive spraying wax solution.

scottoiler claims that u can extemd the life of chain by upto 7X..

just imaging a chain cost (lets say) $70x7=$490 ..wow..

FYI the scottoiler...the expensive solution..

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Scottoiler Solutions Scottoiler Parts & Supplies Other Chain Oiling Solutions

Product ID: SMK7

ScottOiler Mk7 Universal Kit

Why A Chain Oiler?

If you are used to oiling your chain with a spray then is a mechanical chain oiler not an overkill? On first impressions maybe - but consider the cost of a replacement chain. If a regular application of a very small amount of oil keeps it in tip-top condition and reduces the need for chain adjustment, is that not worth something? Not to mention the vastly reduced mess caused by throw-off and the bother of spraying.

Revised design for improved summer and winter operation. The oil dispensing assembly can be bolted to the end, or glued to the underside of the swing arm and gives range of approximately 500 - 1,000 miles between refilling the RMV depending on the weather. The kit includes universal fittings and 500ml bottle of Scottoil (enough for approximately 5,000 miles). The Universal Kit over the past year or so has had over 20 technical improvements, Dynojet T100 testing and extensive retooling.

Features

Proven to extend your chain life by up to 7 times!

KIT - The kit comes with everything you need to install the oiler on your bike: Choice of mounting bracket fittings, vacuum & oil tubing and vacuum adapters. A pint of genuine Scottoil good for 5,000 miles or more is also included.

OIL - - The genuine Scottoil product works really well in most areas and climates. However, if you are riding in Death Valley or have mounted the RMV close to the engine you may need to experiment with a thicker viscosity oil to provide a slow enough rate of flow. Some people use one oil for summer and another for winter riding.

TOURING KIT - - For those who travel L-O-N-G journeys we strongly recommend the Touring kit which has a high capacity reservior - enough for 4000 to 8000 miles! This is even easier to fit as it locates on the rear license plate bracket.

Triumph Injection Bikes - You will also need the special adapter shown below.

Honda VFR750 & VFR800i - You will also need the special adapter shown below.

List Price: $159.00

Web Special: $145.00

Savings: $-14.00

Home Contact Return Policy

Chain-Oiler.com

A division of Actionstations, Inc.

166 Eaton Road, Suite A

Chico, California 95973

Phone: (530) 898-9269 Fax: (530) 898-9188

Email: [email protected]

© Copyright Chain-Oiler.com 2009

All images strictly copyrighted. No reproduction in any form without written permission.

Edited by mepkoh

ah i see.. alright alright.. WIll pop down to have a look ;-) seems very interesting on the little invention =) can use them on my bicycle also =)

manage to do some research online too..

interesting man!!! i might wanna use 2nd hand EO for the oil... some people in the forum stating used EO is better then a new EO.

http://www.chainoiler.co.uk/photos/lge_bros.jpg

This is what an Oil chainer do..

http://www.tutorochainoiler.com/_wp_generated/wp3df4401b.gif

some research sites i scouted... can project oiler be done??

http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/other-bikes-tech/home-made-chain-oiler-5-a-31269

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=170654

Edited by jtzx

Hello mepkoh,

The meet on 12 of sept I can meet you all la, but I still cannot ride my bike haha! My TP's on 17 of sept. So maybe I come collect then see how you all install then I go back install myself or sth.

Great work there :D

if there are more pk/ riders who are interested ...can organise a diy session..

base on the tubes..maybe $10 per set can be made..maybe even cheaper if more are interested.

i suppose once u have installed this oiling chain can be a breeze. no more messy/expensive sprays..etc.

yeah will source for the aluminiun or copper pipes next week,,,by then will have a clearer picture o the material cost.

so are u interested?? if yes drop your name/sign .thanks

diy oiler..solutions to your chain oiling requirements in aneat and tidy manner..

Project DIY Oiler sesson

How much?:::: $10 ( $$ are for materials.)

when dude? ::::12 september 2009

Who?::::::::::::all Are welcome

What?::::::::::: SIMPLY add your Name to the List

1.. mepkoh

2.. Silent Hunter (Doesn't matter what design, as long as it works! :D)

3.. Jtzx ( really hope that the vibration of ta200 would be okay.. Or else the bottle

burst = oil all over my body..)

is this good?? secondhand EO? oh my god..using shitty oil full of whatnot..how much u can save out of it?? the dirty oil may choke the valves and causes some wear too.

the 100ml can last you more than 1000 miles..see scottoiler claims.

$1..worth of EO for 1000 miles (1500km)...say u want to save 1 cent for every 15km??

dont forget the huge savings is on your chain and sprockets..$130/set???

so extend life by 7x...=$910...i have no idea how many km one chain will last..it seems that the oiler to me means i never have to change the chains IMHO

is this good?? secondhand EO? oh my god..using shitty oil full of whatnot..how much u can save out of it?? the dirty oil may choke the valves and causes some wear too.

the 100ml can last you more than 1000 miles..see scottoiler claims.

$1..worth of EO for 1000 miles (1500km)...say u want to save 1 cent for every 15km??

dont forget the huge savings is on your chain and sprockets..$130/set???

so extend life by 7x...=$910...i have no idea how many km one chain will last..it seems that the oiler to me means i never have to change the chains IMHO

from my understanding they said that it will fling lesser?

haha.. looking forward for project oil mepkoh:angel:

the reason i am moving away fro,\m the medicine bottle is that it is very fragile..

some of the major issues will b

1. heat??

2. vibration

at the end of the day..how long will it last...

on the other hand the tubes will be secured with cable ties or even steel cable clamps..the stronger tubes i believe will be much stronger and tougher to take all the strains ..thermal and vibration stresses..the weakest point will be the valves joints..

IMHO

the reason i am moving away fro,\m the medicine bottle is that it is very fragile..

some of the major issues will b

1. heat??

2. vibration

at the end of the day..how long will it last...

on the other hand the tubes will be secured with cable ties or even steel cable clamps..the stronger tubes i believe will be much stronger and tougher to take all the strains ..thermal and vibration stresses..the weakest point will be the valves joints..

IMHO

yes yes... so where can we get a metal bottle instead of medicine bottle??? any idea???

valves joint can be secured even more by using insulation tap??? the one eletrition use on wires??

what is this think we be using on the sproket? brush? so as to let the oil flow to the chain.

pardon me my lousy ANG mo. :)

interesting man!!! i might wanna use 2nd hand EO for the oil... some people in the forum stating used EO is better then a new EO.

http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/other-bikes-tech/home-made-chain-oiler-5-a-31269

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=170654[/url

base on the tubes..maybe $10 per set can be made..maybe even cheaper if more are interested.

i suppose once u have installed this oiling chain can be a breeze. no more messy/expensive sprays..etc.

yeah will source for the aluminiun or copper pipes next week,,,by then will have a clearer picture o the material cost.

diy oiler..solutions to your chain oiling requirements in aneat and tidy manner..

Project DIY Oiler sesson

1.. mepkoh

3.. Jtzx ( really hope that the vibration of ta200 would be okay.. Or else the bottle

4. weird.username

Project DIY Oiler sesson

1.. mepkoh

2.. Silent Hunter (Doesn't matter what design, as long as it works! )

4.. weird.username (eh I was in the list!)

from my understanding they said that it will fling lesser?

haha.. looking forward for project oil mepkoh:angel:

the throw off is a function of viscosity , qty and velocity..

What happens to used. EO..i mean the properties..

one off the major difference is the viscosity...the viscosity is so thin after it goes through its life in the engine..

so in order to control the flinging oil...

a just enough flow rate (vol)..to serve its lubricating purposes.

excess oil will be fling off.

viscosity thick enough to withstand the flinging oil phenonmenon..ie high enough to stick to the chain links at higher velocity..

so used EO is not a good oil to used..

IMHO

psychologicaly

u feel good becuse u are doing something...of course it is better than doing nothing at all.:cheeky:

jtxx..wonderful link..esp on the loopman..they are selling for 17.99 pounds..

figuer your self..need to squeeze bottle every time u go for a ride..

the one here no squeezing..u cna control flow rate..use a lot once.for a 1000km ride .or a drop a minute for continuos oiling.

yeah other ideas need brazing..min option just your bare hands with a scissor will do job.as u go on improving it...more hard ware but cost goes up...hehehhe

thanks dude.

jtxx..wonderful link..esp on the loopman..they are selling for 17.99 pounds..

figuer your self..need to squeeze bottle every time u go for a ride..

the one here no squeezing..u cna control flow rate..use a lot once.for a 1000km ride .or a drop a minute for continuos oiling.

yeah other ideas need brazing..min option just your bare hands with a scissor will do job.as u go on improving it...more hard ware but cost goes up...hehehhe

thanks dude.

haha.. yup.. i can only helpout in the paper side.. Hands on side abit hard for me.. need your help to solve for sure.:thumb:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=170654

Project DIY Oiler sesson

1.. mepkoh

4. weird.username