Ok, I eventually joined the group of people who own 2 bikes. Now currently riding a CBR 150 with 3 mths left instalments. Then I passed my 2A in August and last week, I paid full cash for a CBR 400RR. Don't think I want to give up the cbr 150, it has served me so well with little complaints. The CBR 400 is my special project, it is in need of a 'rejuvenation' and I'm goin to give this baby the love it deserves. So I'm about to fully own a 2B bike and I have a 2A bike now. Hope I can resist the temptation for a Cl 2 bike if I take the test next year (and I will take the test).

I used to be a car person. Then one day, I woke up and became a biker.

Ex rides:

Nissan Sunny 1.6

Nissan Cefiro 2.0

Honda CBR 150 R

Honda CBR 400 RR Fireblade

Current rides:

Yamaha 2008 YZF-R1

KIA Cerato Forte 1.6 Well OK sometimes a car comes in handy.

• Replies 132

if Cl2 and Cl2B, tink make some sense la.

u own Cl2A n Cl2B, for wad leh? same2 wad....

I know a guy who owns Class 2B, 2A and 2 bikes, but drives to work.

There are many others who own more than 1 bike/car.

Grown men's toys?

Sometimes it's the passion and hobby.

Not everything have to make sense or be "rational". :angel:

Slow down abit, smell the air and enjoy the scenery.

Caught the touring bug once again!

http://www.michelinmotorcycle.com/img/sport_comparo_lg.jpg

Grown men's toys?

yup. when it comes to passion and hobbies sometimes 'rational' juz doesn't apply. :sweat:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/PGMIV250.jpg

Grown men's toys?

sorry. double post. :sweat:

I know a few Uncle who owned more then two bikes.some like two or five or ten.they are like keeping toys in their house,and their ages is around their 50s to 60s Most of them keep their bikes as their hobby.when we for coffee session they alway rode different bike there.most of them like touring and big cc bike.

I sold away my car n got a cupkia for transport. Aft that backside itchy bought an r1 for wkend, end up everyday ride r1 n cupkia park at hm to la liang...

I LOVE my R1!!!:shades:

I know a few Uncle who owned more then two bikes.some like two or five or ten.they are like keeping toys in their house,and their ages is around their 50s to 60s Most of them keep their bikes as their hobby.when we for coffee session they alway rode different bike there.most of them like touring and big cc bike.

sounds like a group of riders that goes to a coffeeshop along new upper changi road and frankel once a week.. always see them there on fri nites..

I have a k7g6 and a wave. the wave is for work and the k7 is for jalan jalan. bought the wave as i was feeling quite heart-pain-ed when i saw my ODO past the 22k mark (milage) in the first year alone therefore i got the wave. the other reason that i got the wave is to save on the petrol costs also. i have to admit, i'm quite trigge-oops i mean trottle happy when i'm on my k7... :cheeky:

Relax!

Once i used to have a piaggio skipper, ST11, super four and one kawa250, the chopper type......and with the family, my wife takes the MPV with the kids while i drive my C180 to work.

The main problem i faced was maintaining the battery the most problematic was the kawa and the skipper. Thats why i sold all of them and now left with just the ST11 as well as bought a vespa Excel 150....today, i still keep my cars though as i sort of like them a lot.....the kawa....haiyoh......bloody nuisance....thought it was a nice ride until......sigh....

The insurance for all of them comes up to quite a bit and i always wondered why the insurance company doesnt extend the NCD to be the same for all the bikes, i had to pay 100% for all of them during the first year i bough them....they didnt extend the fleet discount to me though....its the rider rite? and never had an accident in my life due to my fault and yet the discount is different for all bikes...?? Haiz.....all of the time, i always think we are at the mercy of these insurance companies.....ever increasing rates.....

2A consumption 20KM/L and below

2B consumption 40KM/L and above

Add the maintenance for wear and tear.

my Cls2B ride gives me 20km/l. same as 2A bikes :sian:

YoUr GrEaTeST GLorY DoEsn'T CoNsIsT iN NeVeR FaLLinG. BuT RiSinG EvErYTiME YoU FaLL.

some hw i find tat by having 2 bikes, 1 of them will be under utilised.

last time i got a Spark135 and R1. one purely for transport, de other one for fun! haha. sold off my R1 cos not really worthed it.

my R1 1 month ride 1-2 times, oil tanker via JB 2nd link. pump to my spark135 for daily transport. 1 year ride like 20-30 times only including occassional track. insurance and road tax come up to bout 1.3k a year. do ur math u'll get ard $40-60 a day when i ride my R1. so sold it off.

den in de end got a SP (first love). cheap gd and fun. down side a bit ah beng la, but who cares. been loving 2 stroke since. : )

tts wat i was thinking when i got my license, wanted to get a rs125 for pure racing. but in the end got an SP as like wta u said, cheap good and fun:thumb:

YoUr GrEaTeST GLorY DoEsn'T CoNsIsT iN NeVeR FaLLinG. BuT RiSinG EvErYTiME YoU FaLL.

I have a busa and Spark135 now.Come to think of it,my insurance and rd tax comes to slightly over 2k a year.Well,that's the price i have to pay to ride my dream bike(Hayabusa of course).Its more of weekend use and possible trips up north.The 1st week i owned it,i rode it everyday and it was quite stressful and tiring to ride a big bike around singapore.Thus bought a spare bike for transport.

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

ya.. haha. nut in de long run, not worthed it la. too troublesome le..

btw, owning 2 bikes is fun. its like 2 gfs, just tat they wun complain at all. haha. take 1 out having fun, while de other one waits for u at home. and mod here and there also fun too. my R1 is mod fast and stuff, SP same. spark135 mod sound system. its a bit of money, but its fun cos u can have de best of both worlds, in big bikes and small bikes.

i'm having as much fun i have on each bike. its better cos when u ride big bike, pp look at u liddat. when u ride small bike, pp look at u differently. its gd cos u'll know wat type of pp they are. i've seen a few. i dun care how pp look at me riding whatever bike. as long as i'm having fun riding my bike.

tats impt!:cheer:

last time i got a Spark135 and R1. one purely for transport, de other one for fun! haha. sold off my R1 cos not really worthed it.

my R1 1 month ride 1-2 times, oil tanker via JB 2nd link. pump to my spark135 for daily transport. 1 year ride like 20-30 times only including occassional track. insurance and road tax come up to bout 1.3k a year. do ur math u'll get ard $40-60 a day when i ride my R1. so sold it off.

den in de end got a SP (first love). cheap gd and fun. down side a bit ah beng la, but who cares. been loving 2 stroke since. : )

yo.. bro.. i oso own a SP & X1... mine thinkin was like u.. thou wanna keep mine CBR6 & x1 bt aft all e math & thinkin.. is hard to play & maintain a big bike... its damn EX in trem of everythin... so i get back mine SP... its cheaper to maintain.. can go jb do, wher by big bike scare to do in jb... atleast got abit of power & hav fun... mine dream cls 2A is rvf & pgm, cls 2 is R6... bt i hav not fulfill any of dem... & dun intend to fulfill... if i fulfill its den its no longer a DREAm... so i gotta keep mine dream on & keep dreaming...:cheeky: unless kana TOTO lar...:cheeky: :angel:

o smoke pay smoke.. united we grow

1st: FT5705R nsr 150 sp 2nd: FT5043S nsr 150 sp

3rd: FZ9167K yamaha x1 4th: FP5793G s4 vs

5th: FBA2925P cbr 600 rr 6th: FBA7389D yamaha x1

7th: FT8373U nsr 150 sp 8th: FM1102T gsxr 400

9th: FS783C s4vtec 10th: F*3*B yamaha yzf r6

11th: FN3643E cbr 400 rr now: FBD5**8E yamaha x1r

yo.. bro.. i oso own a SP & X1... mine thinkin was like u.. thou wanna keep mine CBR6 & x1 bt aft all e math & thinkin.. is hard to play & maintain a big bike... its damn EX in trem of everythin... so i get back mine SP... its cheaper to maintain.. can go jb do, wher by big bike scare to do in jb... atleast got abit of power & hav fun... mine dream cls 2A is rvf & pgm, cls 2 is R6... bt i hav not fulfill any of dem... & dun intend to fulfill... if i fulfill its den its no longer a DREAm... so i gotta keep mine dream on & keep dreaming...:cheeky: unless kana TOTO lar...:cheeky: :angel:

thats what im thinking too:cheeky: just admine those people who riding big bikes on road but hope they wont get too proud of their ride, if not that would be a turn off:sian: but im sure most of our fellow big bikers are nice and friendly people:clapping:

i hate having to feel so helpless without a ride

therfore its good to have both

i never neglect either 1, both gets wash and wax

and both travelled equally far

Well, after owning and riding 2 bikes for the past 2 months, this is my personal take on the matter. There are pros and cons to it, like all things in life. Personally, I find that I will use the bike that is most suitable for the ride I had in mind. For short trips to the market, shops, parents' house etc, I will use the cbr 150 as it is easy to ride, economical, and no one is gonna turn up their noses at you as you putter around the neighbourhood in your slippers and shorts. I mean, it is one relaxed ride. I feel like just chillin out in my hometown, very casual-like and all. And if I am pillioning my SO then it has to be the 150, she doesn't like the high perch of the Fireblade 400.

But for longer trips to town and to places where I have to get on the expressway, then I will tend to use the cbr150's bigger brother as it has a little more power and grunt to get me out of tight situations, and I find it has a little more 'presence' on the roads, something to keep in mind when you are zipping along with all the metal cages that are screeching around on our roads. Fuel wise, because I make sure I use both bikes equally (I try to use each bike at least 3 times a week, and I try not to let each bike go without a startup and warmup for no more than 3 consecutive days) I find that I'm spending more or less the same amount on topups. It used to be a week and a half before I need to top up my cbr 150, but now I only top up once every 2 weeks, and just for 1 bike at a time. Well, the mileage I'm clocking up is also split between the 2 bikes, so I guess the interval between servicings is extended since it takes a little longer for each bike to reach the recommended mileage for servicing. For rainy days, I'll use the cbr 150 as it is the bike that requires least maintenance. For sunny days, you know you'll want to rev up the bigger bike cos it's just so much fun to ride.

So what are the cons? I guess the only con would be it is now twice the $ spent. I have to pay insurance for 2 bikes, road tax for 2 bikes, inspection and servicing for 2 bikes, parking charges for 2 bikes. So only take on a 2nd bike if you've done your sums and you think it's still worth it.

I also agree that riding two bikes, 1 big and 1 small allows you to see the people who will look at riders differently based on their rides. Once I went to this bike shop whose staff don't even want to look at you cos you ride a small bike. Next day, I went again with the bigger one, and you can imagine the different looks and double-takes i get when I take off my FF helmet and they recognise me from the day before. Human nature eh?

I used to be a car person. Then one day, I woke up and became a biker.

Ex rides:

Nissan Sunny 1.6

Nissan Cefiro 2.0

Honda CBR 150 R

Honda CBR 400 RR Fireblade

Current rides:

Yamaha 2008 YZF-R1

KIA Cerato Forte 1.6 Well OK sometimes a car comes in handy.

Well, after owning and riding 2 bikes for the past 2 months, this is my personal take on the matter. There are pros and cons to it, like all things in life. Personally, I find that I will use the bike that is most suitable for the ride I had in mind. For short trips to the market, shops, parents' house etc, I will use the cbr 150 as it is easy to ride, economical, and no one is gonna turn up their noses at you as you putter around the neighbourhood in your slippers and shorts. I mean, it is one relaxed ride. I feel like just chillin out in my hometown, very casual-like and all. And if I am pillioning my SO then it has to be the 150, she doesn't like the high perch of the Fireblade 400.

But for longer trips to town and to places where I have to get on the expressway, then I will tend to use the cbr150's bigger brother as it has a little more power and grunt to get me out of tight situations, and I find it has a little more 'presence' on the roads, something to keep in mind when you are zipping along with all the metal cages that are screeching around on our roads. Fuel wise, because I make sure I use both bikes equally (I try to use each bike at least 3 times a week, and I try not to let each bike go without a startup and warmup for no more than 3 consecutive days) I find that I'm spending more or less the same amount on topups. It used to be a week and a half before I need to top up my cbr 150, but now I only top up once every 2 weeks, and just for 1 bike at a time. Well, the mileage I'm clocking up is also split between the 2 bikes, so I guess the interval between servicings is extended since it takes a little longer for each bike to reach the recommended mileage for servicing. For rainy days, I'll use the cbr 150 as it is the bike that requires least maintenance. For sunny days, you know you'll want to rev up the bigger bike cos it's just so much fun to ride.

So what are the cons? I guess the only con would be it is now twice the $ spent. I have to pay insurance for 2 bikes, road tax for 2 bikes, inspection and servicing for 2 bikes, parking charges for 2 bikes. So only take on a 2nd bike if you've done your sums and you think it's still worth it.

I also agree that riding two bikes, 1 big and 1 small allows you to see the people who will look at riders differently based on their rides. Once I went to this bike shop whose staff don't even want to look at you cos you ride a small bike. Next day, I went again with the bigger one, and you can imagine the different looks and double-takes i get when I take off my FF helmet and they recognise me from the day before. Human nature eh?

as for bikeshop wise, i think is very normal as they can earn more from your bigger bike whereas our smaller bikes to them is just some some peanut money:sian: but i guess mostly riders on road when they see your ride they are just admiring :thumb: like wat i will always do when i see bigger bikes:lovestruck:

Currently also owned 2 bikes,but the recent bike i juz bought (2B),it cost more than my big bike,haha..

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo MX - Sep 2006

Honda CB400 Spec II - Nov 2007

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - Oct 2008

Suzuki GSXR 600 K6 - June 2009

Gilera Fuoco 500 - Dec 2009

Honda CB1000R - July 2011

Harley Davidson Sportster Forty Eight - Dec 2012 (Current)

this is definitely how many pple look.. same like how the way we dress, the way we potray ourselves and not forgetting what cars/bikes we drive/ride.

In 2007, I once own Steed,PB1 and ST11. SOld my steed shortly. PB1 as a transport bike.

Sold my St11, bought a Blackbird. PB1 still my transport bike.

Sold BlackBird, bought a Fazer600S2, PB1 still 1 of the best commuting bike!!!!!!!!:cheer:

92-94 (Yamaha FZ150,Suzuki Bandit,Vespa150)

98-2001 (Yamaha FZ150,Suzuki GSX-K',Yamaha Riva125,Honda X4 1300,Kawasaki ZX-11D4 ,Honda CB400 Version S,Honda Steed)

2005(Hexagon150)

2005(Yamaha Dragstar custom 400)

2006 (Honda Phantom 150)

2006-2007 ( Honda ST11)

2007 ( Honda Project Big 1)

2007 (Honda Steed VLX)

2007-2008 (Honda BlackBird CBR1100XX)

2008 (Yamaha Fazer 600 S2)

If i had my way, i'd have

1 Harley for touring...

1 CBR1000r for track

1 bajaj pulsar for daily communting

but then... i will need like a big garage and lotsa money to spare...

Maybe after i draw cpf money can... but i dun think i can track at that age.

Its not about hard you can hit, its about how many times you can take a hit and remain standing