i am a veri particular about paintwork of bike. I want the paint to b veri well done. I have these parts which the paint is either worn off or was previously spray using spray can which doesn't look beri nice. I perfer paint using compressor looks alot nicer.

I am tinking of senting to bike shop to respray & wonder if it is possible? Estimate hw much & hw long does it cost.

The parts which i want to be resprayed are shown in picture below circled in red. They are the brake disc, brake calipers & suspension coil.

I am oso concern during the spraying will the brake caliper o-ring or gasket b damaged? Do i nd 2 do bleeding after spraying of brake calipers?

For the suspension coil do they remove the coil then respray?

Ani experience person had it done b4? Thanx in advance.

IMG_4128.jpg

IMG_4161.jpg

Picture 008.jpg

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q292/hohaoyi/1_394809140l.jpg

My Humble "Xiao Huang S4"

• Replies 17

i am a veri particular about paintwork of bike. I want the paint to b veri well done. I have these parts which the paint is either worn off or was previously spray using spray can which doesn't look beri nice. I perfer paint using compressor looks alot nicer.

I am tinking of senting to bike shop to respray & wonder if it is possible? Estimate hw much & hw long does it cost.

The parts which i want to be resprayed are shown in picture below circled in red. They are the brake disc, brake calipers & suspension coil.

I am oso concern during the spraying will the brake caliper o-ring or gasket b damaged? Do i nd 2 do bleeding after spraying of brake calipers?

siao boh? spray brake disc. later ur brakes cannot "eat" then u know ar.

and brake calipers i not too sure got ppl spray or not. skarly spray liao the mechanism inside up lorry

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

calipers can spray, coil i dun think ppl spray, it comes with its color, disc erm........ dun play wif brakes.

u spray disc later wen it makan become line out

i think he saying de brake disc, its de inside part, as in de gold coloured part.

tat one my frd got spray b4. no diff in braking, but a lot of work, troublesome. and be careful dun kana de outer part of de disc.

It can be done but for brake disc i would say e centre part of it n not e disc surface. The best advice IMO would be for u to send ur bike down to ur trusty bike shop to hav e brake disk, brake caliper n suspension taken out n rest of etc things require to be taken out.. follow by e coil/spring remove fr e whole suspension assembly. Other things tht likely needed to be remove are e brake caliper, brakepad remove, brake hose are wrapped wif newspaper for spraying so does e brake disc remove fr e rim n e surface of e disc are wrapped or masked off before u send it ur respective spray painting workshop

Well since u hav taken out most necessary things fr e brake caliper why not spend alittle more to service ur brakes so to ensure it serve u better and yes u need to bleed ur brake system for installation after its all done

well for suspension coil n e centre portion of e brake disc i hav not seen anyone done tht. u might be e 1st jus a maybe but i do wonder will e sprayed paintwork be able to withstand it as pressure are always applied at e suspension coil/spring area (correct me if i am wrong)..

attach wif a pic of car brake caliper send for spray painting......

Cheers :)

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/CaliperPaintwork.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/DSC00090-1.jpghttp://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/WESTSPEC.jpg

The Light Began to dim.. Music Fading out.. I Begin to Miss You

......................The Visual Cycle..........................

sori left out some point on e caliper side.. those important parts tht need to be wrapped to prevent foregin object fr entering or spray paint to be spray on mus be done. :)

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/DSC00090-1.jpghttp://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/WESTSPEC.jpg

The Light Began to dim.. Music Fading out.. I Begin to Miss You

......................The Visual Cycle..........................

icic...so brake calipers can b sprayed but at own risk. Cos i saw a cbr 400 wif spray calipers. Nicely done. Same for his disc brake.

brake rotors highly NOT recommended to spray. The intense heat will eventually crack the paint

with so mani factor put into consideration i tink i beta nt spray all these parts...hee...thanx

well ... i have doen twice the paint to my brake clipers ... its easy if u take long time ... if u rush u will get screwed up ... open it ... dont bleed it .. let it be as with all just .. removed it off the forks as u would do to change the brake pads ... then push ur pistons all the way in as u change brake pad n then slightly apply some greese on the edges of pistons and then tape it around it inner side .. i know u will think it wont stick as greese is applied ... apply greese very little so u dont pray the wall of pistons dont green all the place ... and then cover up the things like valve n stuff .. hook it up with some wire n paint it out .. after painting removed tape out clean the pistons with brake oil ... install it back ... there u go

mostly i loved them polished they look more beautifull then painted xD

just polish the company logo stuff or strips

n u see xD ppl will u think u painted rest like this

well ... i have doen twice the paint to my brake clipers ... its easy if u take long time ... if u rush u will get screwed up ... open it ... dont bleed it .. let it be as with all just .. removed it off the forks as u would do to change the brake pads ... then push ur pistons all the way in as u change brake pad n then slightly apply some greese on the edges of pistons and then tape it around it inner side .. i know u will think it wont stick as greese is applied ... apply greese very little so u dont pray the wall of pistons dont green all the place ... and then cover up the things like valve n stuff .. hook it up with some wire n paint it out .. after painting removed tape out clean the pistons with brake oil ... install it back ... there u go

mostly i loved them polished they look more beautifull then painted xD

just polish the company logo stuff or strips

n u see xD ppl will u think u painted rest like this

gt pic to share bo?

For suspension coil it can be spray.... I did my paintwork at Motoworld one mth plus ago, they also got spray the rear suspension. After i collect my bike, i bought an 2nd hand showa rear suspension fm this forum, the coil/spring is black colour and outlook not so nice, i send it Motoworld to spray the silver portion n the coil/spring to red to match my bike, can referred my signature for the pics. Total cost me $80 buck for paintwork + $15 labour.

N/A (Current)

Honda Silverwing FJS 400cc (Yr2010 - Yr2012)

Piaggio X8 200cc (Yr2009 - Yr2010)

Honda CB400 Super Four (Yr2007 - Yr2009)

Honda Phantom TA200 (Yr2005 -Yr2007)

For suspension coil it can be spray.... I did my paintwork at Motoworld one mth plus ago, they also got spray the rear suspension. After i collect my bike, i bought an 2nd hand showa rear suspension fm this forum, the coil/spring is black colour and outlook not so nice, i send it Motoworld to spray the silver portion n the coil/spring to red to match my bike, can referred my signature for the pics. Total cost me $80 buck for paintwork + $15 labour.

$80 for paintwork of suspension coil i feel is pretty expensive. The paint using spray can or compressor?

All the parts u mentioned can be sprayed. High heat parts required special paint. They do it to car engines, brake calipers, disc hubs, etc all the time. The only thing tat will eventually fade is the headers - tats y most use stainless steel. Even thou, ss will stil turn from silver/chrome to gold to brown.

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

$80 for paintwork of suspension coil i feel is pretty expensive. The paint using spray can or compressor?

I feel abit exp oso... but no choice... i asked few shop whether can spray the suspension coil n the header there tat silver part... they all telling me "No". Tat y i going back to Motoworld for help... the paint i dunno used wat de...?? I rem i asked one shop b4, they quote me more than 100 buck, coz the header part is not for paint, is chrome.. depend on the portion... Anyway if u can found more cheaper one, pls share to me. thks.

N/A (Current)

Honda Silverwing FJS 400cc (Yr2010 - Yr2012)

Piaggio X8 200cc (Yr2009 - Yr2010)

Honda CB400 Super Four (Yr2007 - Yr2009)

Honda Phantom TA200 (Yr2005 -Yr2007)