• Replies 137

Bro,got problem w/ tis malware or spyware dat got its way into my system.

its the XLG Privacy Control Center tingy. guess it got through my brother's mail. search it through the net on how to remove it but all seems to offer me spyware removers. but after installin sum of them,sum cannot use leh. any idea how to go bout tis tingy,need it to be removed man.

for spyware u can try using spybot anti spyware program .. but alway rmb to update the antivirus 1st den do a scan if not the database of the virus will nt be update den it defeat the purpose den if still canot i suggest formatting of pc ... b4 u format ur pc rmb to do a backup ..

Ouh,i finally manage to get rid of it from the 'add & remove program' over at the

control panel,chish....sumone muz haf anihow install it. :btw: thnks for the spybot software,looks kinda cool for an IT newbie lyk me.:cheeky:

ok np as long as ur pc is back to normal but still becareful cau i can say that every pc have virus is jus that wheather is the virus activated (positive virus or negative virus) anot and there are virus that can't be detected so if u hav anything impt is better to do a backup den sorry ..

virus aka bad software that dmg ur pc ..

Word of caution...make sure you get the correct one:

It's called Spybot Search & Destroy and it's found here:

http://www.safer-networking.org/index2.html

(it's free)

There are imitations with somewhat the same name on the Internet that either does the same job but requires you to pay, or worse, contains spyware themselves.

Happy computing :cool:

accidentally turn off my desktop while in operation. When try restarting, it didn't launch window explorer but kept on rebooting itself. What could be the prb?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

accidentally turn off my desktop while in operation. When try restarting, it didn't launch window explorer but kept on rebooting itself. What could be the prb?

chances are OS up the lorry.

alternatively, u can try "Last known good configuration" upon bootup window. :)

can provide the link to download software to view chinese characters in windowXP?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

chances are OS up the lorry.

is it possible to reconfig the OS?:?

can provide the link to download software to view chinese characters in windowXP?

for chinese characters u dun hav to download from website.. u can go to region language to select wat lang u want n install it.. including that u hav ur XP CD with u.. or u chk that if ur PC hav the folder i386 .. so if u hav tis folder and when they prompt u for cd u can pin point this folder ..

is it possible to reconfig the OS?:?

i believe u need to reformat ur pc liao .. but if u wan ur HDD data, u take tis HDD out n install it on another workin PC den access the HDD tru tis PC n back up ur files accordingly...

guy i faced a similar situation as 299 on my client PC.. i tried all safe mode and last known good configuration after pressing F8 the computer still restart.. can i conclude that the HDD is crash ? cau i can;t use chkdsk to see if this hdd got any bad sector unless i install on another pc..

Or is there any chances that the OS causes safe mode and last known gd configuration not able to work?

When you pressed F8, were you presented with a menu that allows you to choose from many different options, such as to boot into Safe Mode?

Or are you saying you indeed chose "Safe Mode", and when you did that, it immediately rebooted the PC?

================

My guesses to your problem would be:

1) User has bought hardware from a store (and its driver) which

........ a) somehow made Windows misbehave

........ b) isn't made for that version of Windows but user has forcefully installed it into the computer anyways

2) Something's very wrong with your OS...a file(s) that maintain the proper working condition of Windows itself happened to be missing, or corrupt.

What a computer technician would usually do is to either:

1) Find the root cause of the problem and disable/remove it using various XP diagnostic tools -- if the cooperative user knows what he did before something went wrong with his PC

2) Head to last resort: repair the Operating System, or reinstall.

================

Granted that I -- and any computer experts here -- care about all of your PC's, we'd recommend you seek professional help if you are not comfortable toying around with the underlying workings of Windows, and the tools used to troubleshoot the problem (eg. Safe Mode, DOS, XP diagnostics, etc...)

Cheers :)

once in a while i've been getting this display 'no video input' on my screen even my pc is on. i have to do a force shut down resulting my HD to crash twice. once i sent it to a shop who can't seem to find the problem, it behaved well in the shop. right now, i got this problem haunting me again. i have the habit of leaving my pc on 24/7 even i'm not around. just now when i returned home going to the pc, it was in the usual stand by mode, all i have to do is to give the mouse a shake to wake the whole thing up but to no avail. the pc was still on. i off and on the monitor and it came back to life. about 5 minutes later, the screen went blank. did another off/on and the screen was on but only for about 10 secs. tried my best to do a proper shut down and restarted the com and up to now, my monitor just show me 'no video input'.

anyone knows what could be wrong? AGP card problem? i forgot what kind of Nvidia card i'm using but it's about 2 years old. or could it be my Philips 17" 170S LCD monitor problem?

help appreciated.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

When you pressed F8, were you presented with a menu that allows you to choose from many different options, such as to boot into Safe Mode?

Or are you saying you indeed chose "Safe Mode", and when you did that, it immediately rebooted the PC?

================

My guesses to your problem would be:

1) User has bought hardware from a store (and its driver) which

........ a) somehow made Windows misbehave

........ b) isn't made for that version of Windows but user has forcefully installed it into the computer anyways

2) Something's very wrong with your OS...a file(s) that maintain the proper working condition of Windows itself happened to be missing, or corrupt.

What a computer technician would usually do is to either:

1) Find the root cause of the problem and disable/remove it using various XP diagnostic tools -- if the cooperative user knows what he did before something went wrong with his PC

2) Head to last resort: repair the Operating System, or reinstall.

================

Granted that I -- and any computer experts here -- care about all of your PC's, we'd recommend you seek professional help if you are not comfortable toying around with the underlying workings of Windows, and the tools used to troubleshoot the problem (eg. Safe Mode, DOS, XP diagnostics, etc...)

Cheers :)

yeah i chosen safe mode n last known gd configuration.. once it goin appear in xp loading screen the pc will start to restart .. i chk with them if they install any new driver or software n they said no .. jus told me that it happen when they workin during 8pm it pc suddenly had tis problem ..

so from ur conclusion is OS problem ..

thanks anyway .. i still learning on troubleshooting on hardware .. which isn;t my pro ..

anyone bought cable from laptop to TV ?

VGA port to 3 pin connector ?

one shop quote me 2meter cable for 30$... :confused:

http://img367.imageshack.us/img367/6468/captureqr1.gif

can show me the steps to uninstall winXP service pack3, since i am unable to use "system restore" to revert to my original settings?

yeah right.. :sian:

Well, I'd walk back to the shop wearing that outfit :angel:

(ahem...sorry, veered off topic)

VGA to component or VGA to 3 RCA? Should be less than $20 ;)

anyone found this error before ...

http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/1131/gta4tp9.jpg