Do you cover up your bike?  

15 members have voted

1. 1. Do you cover up your bike?

• Open Carpark - Cover
    • Open Carpark - Don't Cover
    • Multi-Storey Carpark - Cover
    • Multi-Storey Carpark - Don't Cover

Hello fellow riders, No MSCP, No Shelter

Cover bike with bike cover.

Pros

- less dust settling on the bike, don't need to clean.

- don't have to worry about the rain. (rain can be quite harmful)

- no bird **** to worry (**** can also be quite harmful)

Cons

- wastage of time covering and removing but less bike washs

- cats like to hide under, and may climb inside bike cover for warmth

- Heat generated will spoil the paintwork of the bike?

question - how to prevent CAT from going in?

1) some say pour some kerosene around the bike, SOME. use common sense so u don't burn ur own bike. cats hate smell of kerosene

2) use moth balls?

3)??????????????

4) cover up will generate heat inside under the sun. according to some , the heat trapped inside ur cover will spoil the paint work? anyone heard of this?

5) what is the best bike cover?

ANY EXPERIENCES PLS SHARE. Thank you for contributions.

Life's too short, you may leave anytime, think of now, just do it.

• Replies 30

To prevent Cats from going in or anything, moth balls will be the best bet. try this:

1. Put some moth balls in a netted bag. hang them on your foot pegs and also on your passenger foot pegs. It has helped for me.

2. Kerosene is too dangerous. the last thing you want is more flammable fluids near your baby.

3. I use the cheapest one from ah boy. When it tears, i get a new one. No point getting a good one as birds **** on it and it gets worn real fast.

4. Allow your bike to cool off a bit first before covering.

Most experts aren't...and research is the difference between speculation and investment.

1430...ã™ãã€æ¥ã‚‹ã“ã¨ã€‚ :thumb:

no cons with covering for me. no cats, no birdshit, not so much of time wasting.

i cover every single day multi or non multi. Its a practise... and once you are used to it i dun find any time wastage at all... When you go to your bike to start you can let it warm up while you fold the cover. I find that this is a advantage also as most ppl just start and go. But with cover you are forced to warm up the bike. :)

Covering the bike also prevent theft i hope..... But... i scared of fire.. anyway if got fire, cover or no cover also tio one lor hahaha.

Get a better cover. I bought OGK from LAB, its quite good. I got another cheaper one but will melt if kana hot exhaust. As for paint spoil if kept under hot cover... hmmmm 2 years later you start this thread again then i tell you ba.

Erm cover up doesnt mean no need to wash. But like wat you say prevent bird sh!t which will really spoil the paint if it dries up. And another motive to cover is rain... Cos as we knw that bike electrical parts are mostly exposed. So to prevent rain water from soakin in during rain like those in SG super heavy type.

As for cats i think if you everyday ride your bike i dun think the cat will be there la so no need to worry.

i cover my bike thou it park at MSCP.

Recently i got a BAD experience.... My cover was cut behind, a small hole. suspect is was cut by the carpark's warrent to check for number plate. :(

Lucky part is = i got session parking ticket. (no summon of $6)

unlucky part is = i might need a new cover. (ard $30) zzzzz

Haiz.... what a ''Fine" country.

Get a better cover. I bought OGK from LAB, its quite good. I got another cheaper one but will melt if kana hot exhaust. As for paint spoil if kept under hot cover... hmmmm 2 years later you start this thread again then i tell you ba.

my paintwork is still shining after 2 years. :)

Hello! Anyone there? :cheers:

To prevent Cats from going in or anything, moth balls will be the best bet. try this:

1. Put some moth balls in a netted bag. hang them on your foot pegs and also on your passenger foot pegs. It has helped for me.

Can pop in the gas tank after using on cat, my friends told me it gives hp!!! :)

Got pros and cons....It also wear out the engine faster...

Only one or two of the ingredient in moth ball is an additive for fuel.

The others actually can harm ur engine...

I read up on some articles. So unless u very budget, pls get proper additives... :thumb:

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg

Dear Fellow Riders,

first of all i would like to appologize for posting this thread. I am new to posting and all i wanted was general feedback so i can do a quick write-up about To cover or not to cover. I did not realise i was violating the forum rules as i also posted under phantom knights.

Why did i post in these 2 forums? no.1 i ride a phantom. No. 2, i plan to get a chopper when i get my class 2.

Dear Moderators,

you may now close my thread should you feel that i have violated ur rules here too.

Thank you everyone for your feedback, it was certainly very useful information from everyone here. I shall post all the pros and cons soon.

Yours sincerely.

Roy aka bigfatfish

Hello fellow riders, thanks for all ur comments here. A quick one just in case.

More pros than cons over the last 24hrs.

Cover bike with bike cover.

Pros

1) less dust settling on the bike, don't need to clean.

2) don't have to worry about the rain. (rain can be quite harmful)

3) no bird **** to worry (**** can also be quite harmful)

4) Chances of summon lesser as some summon aunty lazy to remove cover.

5) Less chance of people disturbing the bike (especially those with mods), less target by thieves or vandals.

6) Improves lifespan of paintwork, protects from sun and harmful bird ****.

7) Bike can warm up while folding, most people start & GO. Hence forced to warmup, good habit.

8) Protects leather seat.

Cons

Cats will hide below or climb up into it.

SOLUTION: Cat repellent, moth balls in netted bag, can hang on foot pegs. AXE Oil. Your choices on where to spray, apply or attach these anti cat devices.

Recommended bike covers -

Rainmate -$30 ask for heat resistant ones

OGK - $30 also ask for heat resistant ones

LET BIKE COOL DOWN A BIT BEFORE COVERING.

i wait awhile b4 covering my bike and e next morning when i uncover my bike, i can stil feel abit of warm heat , anyone know will it cause engine to have problems in a long run?thks

YoUr GrEaTeST GLorY DoEsn'T CoNsIsT iN NeVeR FaLLinG. BuT RiSinG EvErYTiME YoU FaLL.

i wait awhile b4 covering my bike and e next morning when i uncover my bike, i can stil feel abit of warm heat , anyone know will it cause engine to have problems in a long run?thks

If that bit of heat causes engine problems, what would happen if you leave the bike under the sun all day long?

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg
If that bit of heat causes engine problems, what would happen if you leave the bike under the sun all day long?

heat frm e sun don last inside e cover aft sunset but heat frm e engine n exhaust does:)

YoUr GrEaTeST GLorY DoEsn'T CoNsIsT iN NeVeR FaLLinG. BuT RiSinG EvErYTiME YoU FaLL.

Hmmmm..... i think should be ok with the heat ba... If its not red hot then should be ok la i think... Hmmmm anyway can dry your bike if there is any water ma hahaha...

But i think should check the coolant... I have similar problem but after change coolant and radiator hose and seal then all ok liaoz. :)

Dude, your engine generates a sh!tload more heat when it is running. That little heat residual is nothing.

I cover my bike all the time, be it open or covered carpark.

By preventing cats from getting into the cover and heat from building up inside the cover, you gotto get that type of cover wic:

1)have a strong elastic band around the end of the cover.

So the cover will cover your entire bike like a gloves. :thumb:

(the elastic band wont melt as the end of the cover is heat prove!)

2)have specially design holes for disperse of heat and prevent morning dew from building up inside the cover.

Although this type of cover is not cheap but it is worth investing on it as it can also prevent "itchy" hands from touching your bikes too.

I brought the cover online as i have tried those more expensive cover from local shop but it still doesn't meet my expectation.

Just my 2 cents.. :thumb:

"Respect All Others Until They Disrespect You."

i don't think the heat trapped inside the cover will spoil the paintwork. if it does spoil the paintwork, then that's a lousy paint job! i use the cheapest cover from the shop in lavender. $18 only and it's very thin which is good.

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

I cover my bike all e time.. everywhere, anytime. Unless its a short stop..

Its really important to hv a good cover esp when its raining cos lousy one after some time, the rain can will sip in.. xperienced once, my jacket was all wet after e rain... And i'm still lookin for a GOOD cover.

By covering ur bike, u can also leave ur stuff in there (non-Xpensive items).(for those with box).

Anyway, i've been covering my bike for many many yrs.. to me, my paint is still in gd condition & it dosnt affect e engine at all..

Dear Bikers Thanks for all valuable comments. Still more more pros than cons.

Engine will not spoil or overheated - seems like a few bikers here have no problem with it so covering bike is still a great option.

Pros

1) less dust settling on the bike, don't need to clean.

2) don't have to worry about the rain. (rain can be quite harmful)

3) no bird **** to worry (**** can also be quite harmful)

4) Chances of summon lesser as some summon aunty lazy to remove cover.

5) Less chance of people disturbing the bike (especially those with mods), less target by thieves or vandals.

6) Improves lifespan of paintwork, protects from sun and harmful bird ****.

7) Bike can warm up while folding, most people start & GO. Hence forced to warmup, good habit.

8) Protects leather seat.

Cons

Cats will hide below or climb up into it.

SOLUTION: Cat repellent, moth balls in netted bag, can hang on foot pegs. AXE Oil. Your choices on where to spray, apply or attach these anti cat devices.

Vinegar !!! wow i tot only for makan. do check out www.vinegartips.com/pets/ this is definetly a very good tip from a fellow rider here. Thanks.

Get a good cover with strong elastic band around end of the cover so it can cover the entire bike like gloves. (the elastic band won't melt as cover is heat resistant).

Have also specially designed holes to disperse heat.

Recommended bike covers -

Rainmate -$30 ask for heat resistant ones

OGK - $30 also ask for heat resistant ones

LET BIKE COOL DOWN A BIT BEFORE COVERING.

Selamat Hari Raya to all our fellow Muslim Riders here.