yeah vtec 1 .. so vtec 1 too can;t be wash ? if i change it to K&N filter is it better ? cau heard from previous owner that K&N filter is like will do harm to s4 ..

am using K&N air filter now. ha ha.

it can be washed. let it dry after doing so. air-dry. (watch ur mechanic or yourself !) do not use heat or the material quality will be affected.

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

• Replies 25.7k

• chlim

• ABOY9999

• s4vtec

• euz

how's your day been?

Day was fine..tiring as usual...Heeee...x2!

Btw..is there really much improvemnet in using K&N filters. Ue to have it in my older days for my various bike but seem to be just as ordinary leh. Asked for PB1 or non vtec one before...$100+ mannn!

Don't mine if it really worth but have hear/say not much different leh. Any K&N fans here find it worth besdie recycle wash uses?

We used to reuse the old original filter by cutting out the paper filter and rewrapped with oil filter material used by cooker hood...and sometime a layer or two...meshed with aquarium fish tank filtration material. Just as effective I shall say.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

am using K&N air filter now. ha ha.

it can be washed. let it dry after doing so. air-dry. (watch ur mechanic or yourself !) do not use heat or the material quality will be affected.

to double cfm so the saying is that vtec 1 stock air filter can be re wash ?

next things that bothers me right nw is my fuel consumption .. i calculated is 16.5km/ litre which is ver jialat leh .. my 16.05 litre i click 264km .. i wan to cry ar .. duno y liddat .. i change gear at low rpm n seldom on vtec ..

altot i ask ah pek abt tis before he told me is riding style but my riding style ver fuel saving liao still i got 16.5km / litre ..

i change my gear from gear 1 to gear 6 when the needle hits the 4500rpm marker .. any ideas wat the possible to cause high fuel consumption ?? i read up the thread abt the fuel n mileage it doesn't seem any help ..

Btw..is there really much improvemnet in using K&N filters.

personally dun find any great improvement. i admit that i might be quite senseless to feel any small or minor increase in throttle response or pickup etc. after installing e K&N filter... but it is recommended for users with full systems to help in the air intake..

next things that bothers me right nw is my fuel consumption .. i calculated is 16.5km/ litre which is ver jialat leh...

this is not normal. go to a reliable bike mech to check it out man.. maybe, very maybe its the tuning or carb jet problem..? those rubber seals might be worn or not performing to the norm. i'm noob on this sry. just giving some idea. but i remembered it cost me quite alot to change the seals, jet needles, rings etc. when i service the whole carb. i told the mech to be 'liberal' and change them if necessary. so he changed all.

mine now 290+ still got 1 bar left on the gauge. =]

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

personally dun find any great improvement. i admit that i might be quite senseless to feel any small or minor increase in throttle response or pickup etc. after installing e K&N filter...

I'm very sensitive in this case..and in past experience...there is not as much at all expected.

Anyway...have plans to fixed "made do" cyclone in the air filter intake..see if it works..it works on my car in the past.

change my gear from gear 1 to gear 6 when the needle hits the 4500rpm marker ..

This would not do you good on your $$s on fuel and also not good for your bike. I consider it 'bad'. Your engine is gonna get hot..so hot that before evapourised fuel mist and air mixture gets to your combustion chamber..they get half dried up in your intake.

The bike water cooling is not enough and so are the cooling fins of your engine. Worst in a hot day ride and traffic start/stop situation. You are 'burning' up fuel for nothing. You may be considered 'dragging' the load than riding with the ride power to pull you in momentant for those extra roll for distance. Your change in rpm range is never close to the power band of your bike and slowing down into engine braking makes it all the worst...so it is 'dragging' and each time you throttle on again, its a load and excess fuel is burned out unproductively.

Do consider giving a faster ride and use vtec range or at least over the 5.5 to 7.5k rpm range for a change and get the forward trust of wind from your speed to cool the radiation tubing and engine fins effieciently..see if there is a change in Fc. Your air filter intake also need rush air..changing to a K&N would not help either if you ride that that rate.

There can be many other factors that ahve to be consider before spending $$$s on tunning and part replacement like tire pressure and conditions, clutch adjustment and so on.

Not sure about your routes of ride..but when there is opportunity..do that.

Also..you need "liquid engineering" for that little xtra...heeee...x2!

next things that bothers me right nw is my fuel consumption .. i calculated is 16.5km/ litre which is ver jialat leh .. my 16.05 litre i click 264km .. i wan to cry ar .. duno y liddat .. i change gear at low rpm n seldom on vtec ..

altot i ask ah pek abt tis before he told me is riding style but my riding style ver fuel saving liao still i got 16.5km / litre ..

i change my gear from gear 1 to gear 6 when the needle hits the 4500rpm marker .. any ideas wat the possible to cause high fuel consumption ?? i read up the thread abt the fuel n mileage it doesn't seem any help ..

although i change gear at 3.5k rpm, i dun think tt u change at 4.5k rpm is a big contributor to ur high fuel consumption. my fuel consumption varies frm 21.5 to 24km/l between extreme riding. ie difference between changing at 3.5k rpm n cruising at 80kmph for a full tank and throttling high all e way with riding at 110kmph

should be some other technical factors, ie air filter, carburettor etc.

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/44752b98z3c3f89f5/ecd2scd/__sr_/2511scd.jpg?phIyRjGBn4QWup7H

edition wad is your tyre pressure and when was the last time u lubbed your chain? im getting 23-24km per lt, although i using kenso jets, full system n k&n. at traffic light, fast throttle then maintain. expressways maintain 80-100. for me thats the optimal riding speed. your suspension settings also make a big difference. And last but not leeast, wads your body weight:cheeky:

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

high fuel consumption can have many causes. can b engine oil too thick, spark plugs overused, air filter dirty, carb tuning out or jetting defective, low tyre air pressure, weak suspension, worn chain n sprockets n fail to whack the bike once in a while all can contribute to high fc.

do have the bike checked throughly.

edition wad is your tyre pressure and when was the last time u lubbed your chain? im getting 23-24km per lt, although i using kenso jets, full system n k&n. at traffic light, fast throttle then maintain. expressways maintain 80-100. for me thats the optimal riding speed. your suspension settings also make a big difference. And last but not leeast, wads your body weight:cheeky:

erm my tyre pressure front 230 rear 290 i lub my chain weekly as i jus change it nt long ago .. my weight acceptable weight leh nt over weight .. suspension settings .. how to set it ??

high fuel consumption can have many causes. can b engine oil too thick, spark plugs overused, air filter dirty, carb tuning out or jetting defective, low tyre air pressure, weak suspension, worn chain n sprockets n fail to whack the bike once in a while all can contribute to high fc.

do have the bike checked throughly.

i will be goin for my bike servicing soon .. my chain n spocket jus change only + air pressure shld b acceptable with 230 front n 290 rear .. i duno after servicing will it be better ar .. hope gt no major problem ..

Also..you need "liquid engineering" for that little xtra...heeee...x2!

haha i will be getting it from thomas on sunday .. cau both of us working schedule dun match as recently i need to work for vcd n dvd warehse sales at toa payoh safra .. u all can come .. sunday is the last date .. operating hrs is from 10am to 6pm .. :cheeky:

ps another noob qns .. hw to see the carb tuning is out ?? my rpm on neutral gear the rpm stay ard 1000rpm but nv gone below 1k rpm mark ?? is it ok?

i will be goin for my bike servicing soon .. my chain n spocket jus change only + air pressure shld b acceptable with 230 front n 290 rear .. i duno after servicing will it be better ar .. hope gt no major problem ..

Since Thomas is going to change his oil just as timely as you..why don't you co-oridante with him and come over my place. I do the oil change for you both. Just bring the necessary oil you want to use and oil filter also if you intent to get it change too. Let me know if you want..he be here for the meter lighting fixture tomorrow.

my rpm on neutral gear the rpm stay ard 1000rpm but nv gone below 1k rpm mark ?? is it ok?

This should be fine at being 1K..don't understand that it shouldn't be able to go under 1K..come over and I'll show you how :) PM me if you are at all in favour.

Since Thomas is going to change his oil just as timely as you..why don't you co-oridante with him and come over my place. I do the oil change for you both. Just bring the necessary oil you want to use and oil filter also if you intent to get it change too. Let me know if you want..he be here for the meter lighting fixture tomorrow.

This should be fine at being 1K..don't understand that it shouldn't be able to go under 1K..come over and I'll show you how :) PM me if you are at all in favour.

tmr set a time where both edition and s4vtec will make it to your place?

i pop by clean + lub chain. wash bike. polish. chit chat. =]

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

i pop by clean + lub chain. wash bike. polish. chit chat. =]

Confirmed lite fixture at 10 am olehdee..come on over :)

can make it only after 12.. =/

still got people or not? if not we 2 again lor.. [date] :cheeky:

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

ah pek when n where is the cleaning session? i need to clean my chain

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

not selling, but im bringing my bike back to basics, the naked way. If i dun post my items by next week means i've changed my mine or i no time to go motordiam n strip the parts.

most likely wad u will see next week is

side fairing

belly pan

rear hugger

the extreme equipment face mask(saitao)

X1 tail light attached to spec1 rear fender and spec1 tail board

motoworld scram carbon fibre front fender

spec1 tail light original

stock mirrors

Tag Metal handle bar including clams

stock handle bars

i see.. =] thought of ridding my belly pan too... but need to mould n respray if anyone's gonna take mine..

all the best on the sale of your items!

nites one and all..

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

have you adjust your timing chain??

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i261/operationfd/torture.jpg

1 2 3 4 5 TESTING TESTING .......HELP STOP ANIMAL TESTING..1 2 3 4 5....TESTING TESTING.. ONE LIFE GONE

ah pek when n where is the cleaning session? i need to clean my chain

s4vtec be here at amk doing his meter lite fixture at 10am (Sunday morning)..he be here as early as 9am to do polishing:cheeky: He wanted to do chain cleaning too.

You may want to call him tomorrow and see if he bring his 'tool' for chain cleaning.:angel:

ai yo that timing i cant make it:cheeky:

I_Ride_A_Bike: unlike most riders here, im a poor student, if i were to change to class 2 it is possible, but i will be living like a beggar:cry: so after much thought during my holidays, im gonna replace some parts due for changing.. 7 yr old bike ma..

clutch cable

clutch plates, gaskets

thrott cable

service brake caliper

carb washing n tuning

btw can u tell me more bought the shorty moriwaki fs? that day u didnt open vtec so i cudnt hear the roar:cheeky:

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)