Do you gear up when riding?  

206 members have voted

1. 1. Do you gear up when riding?

• Yes
    • No

How about komine? Will it be easier when washing? As in can just dump in washing machine?

komine very easy, just take out the paddings then can wash liao.

i wanna sell my komine cos so far only wear once, seldom wear, cos i too slow on the rd already

• Replies 586

Any recommendation for Jacket and mind sharing the price range? Is armor jacket and the jackets that had about 5 pieces of removable armor the same?

I guess I will get new set of roller blade knee and elbow guard to wear under the jeans as recommended by bro arthur_chan.

Thanks guys. :cheers:

today on the way back home. Saw a Superman on bike.

Wear Full-face, armour jacket(i think is Rjay de) glove.... then wear shorts and flip-flop.

weird guy -_- but beats comboing with a singlet and half cap :pray:

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif

Anyone interested to get Draggin Jeans?

Got both men and ladies sizes here, ladies ones with pink interior lining, quite cool.

But costs around AU$100-$200, depending on design.

Be quick, cos tomorrow is my last day here. Post here or PM me.

ok... next time i'm in a bad accident, i'll make sure i'll say my AGV helmet saves me! lol.. anyway, is AGV that inferior as compared to Arai?

well i'm using an agv myself. but due to lack of ear space, it gives me head n ear ache after awhile (try ns highway), so i'm going back to an arai the next time round. i also need to use ear plugs, the agv design makes it hard for me to fit them properly.

both r snell certified. protective quality is assured in a reasonable manner in lab tests (short of actually crashing). http://www.smf.org. i'm assuming u meant protection.

the hjc fg-15 is also snell certified. it is less than half the price of an arai. so, i'd trust my head to it as well, were i to consider buying 1.

as far as i know, no flip up helmets have been certified by snell, specifically, no flip up helmet manufacturer has bothered to do so. some say it is because they know the helmets will fail those tests.

let's not even talk about open face types. i kissed the asphalt twice on a full face, both times on the chin area. zero injury to my face. i don't think i'm very vain, but i value being able to enjoy eating properly.

i'd say price indicates fit n finish, comfort, brand name, research into aerodynamics, visor design, inner lining, etc, nothing to do with actual protective value. ur head shape plays a large part in comfort, some brands may feel better than others. hence the phrase "i've got an arai head". so i think it is good to try different brands to c which ones fit best, wif the proviso that the brand does get its helmets snell certified.

I was also told that different bands of helmets was made to cater to that region's population head shape.

e.g. caucasians have a more pointed head shape whereas asians have to tendency to have a more rounded head shape.

I'm still observing the above, but it does seem kinda true...

Rebuilding my dreams. But first, the gears

1) WP RS Taichi riding jacket

2) WP riding pants

3) Titanium riding gloves

4) Garmine Nuvi 550 GPS (US$259)

5) WP Komine riding boots

6) Arai Helmet

7) The BIKE of course! :cheeky:

Any recommendation for Jacket and mind sharing the price range? Is armor jacket and the jackets that had about 5 pieces of removable armor the same?

I guess I will get new set of roller blade knee and elbow guard to wear under the jeans as recommended by bro arthur_chan.

Thanks guys. :cheers:

est.

GPR - 180 - 250 (non WP)

RS Taichi - 270 - 350 (WP)

Axo - 380 - 420 (WP)

Komine - >210 (WP/non WP)

Dainese - >350 (Wp/Non WP)

So far the above jackets are what I have tried so far.

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

komine very easy, just take out the paddings then can wash liao.

i wanna sell my komine cos so far only wear once, seldom wear, cos i too slow on the rd already

How come too slow on the road then seldom wear? :?

Anyone interested to get Draggin Jeans?

Got both men and ladies sizes here, ladies ones with pink interior lining, quite cool.

But costs around AU$100-$200, depending on design.

Be quick, cos tomorrow is my last day here. Post here or PM me.

2nd hand or brand new??

It's not how fast you ride, but how well you ride.

How come too slow on the road then seldom wear? :?

??

too slow=more hot due to weather n jacket

Lol! Actually as long as you're moving the ventilation will be there already mah. Fast or slow doesn't make much diff except maybe the push of the wind lah.

est.

GPR - 180 - 250 (non WP)

RS Taichi - 270 - 350 (WP)

Axo - 380 - 420 (WP)

Komine - >210 (WP/non WP)

Dainese - >350 (Wp/Non WP)

So far the above jackets are what I have tried so far.

Thanks for sharing. May I know what are WP?

Fast or slow doesn't make much diff except maybe the push of the wind lah.

haha, too slow, bike hot, rider also hot:sweat:

maybe someone here could form atgatt club (do we have one?) and do regular outings to get more exposure.

wow u all make me look like my gear is nothing. i only wear half face n cotton jacket. perhaps can organize a get together sometime to share tips on gears, thinking of upgrading my gears. :)

When are we going to organise an apparel group or meeting? :thumb:

He who hesitates is lost!

wear all the riding gears down, see who is the most protected rider:angel:

A bit hard to do. Tough trying to wear all my jackets into town... :cheeky:

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

well i'm using an agv myself. but due to lack of ear space, it gives me head n ear ache after awhile (try ns highway), so i'm going back to an arai the next time round. i also need to use ear plugs, the agv design makes it hard for me to fit them properly.

be careful about the discomfort at the ears. My previous OGK helmet did not have enough ear space, and I experienced the same discomfort when on tours. Subsequently, I developed a compression injury, a cyst at the ear where fluid built up. I had to see an ENT specialist to draw fluid out of the cyst on the inside of my ear. Suspecting it was a tight helmet that did not leave space for my ears, I switched to an old helmet for a week and thankfully the optional surgery did not happen.

If your helmet is too tight and causes discomfort to your ears on long rides or pain when putting/taking off the helmet, its time to change the helmet .:deal:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

i do agree agv are abit hard on the ears.

got to put my fingers inside my helmet to "arrange" the ears after i put on my helmet. after that, it's fine with long rides.

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

A bit hard to do. Tough trying to wear all my jackets into town... :cheeky:

haha, safety mah

If your helmet is too tight and causes discomfort to your ears on long rides or pain when putting/taking off the helmet, its time to change the helmet .:deal:

mine must 'season' one month, then can liao

i do agree agv are abit hard on the ears.

got to put my fingers inside my helmet to "arrange" the ears after i put on my helmet. after that, it's fine with long rides.

my sentiments exactly.. different from my previous fullface. my Rjays seems a bit loose already and the pads like no pad already. very comfy on the head. but if want to change the inner lining, no more stocks at bike shops. any help on this?

and yeah.. me also have to rearrange my ears after putting my agv on. a bit troublesome but at least it's a comfortable ride after that. anyway, anyone knows if the airvent for AGV airtech works? seems like not working for mine.

How about this Friday night meet at Handle Bar? Can educate the Harley riders on ATGATT too! :p

For less controversial meeting location, East Coast Park Lagoon Hawker Centre, which is bike friendly and we can scare the cyclists there. :cheeky:

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

be careful about the discomfort at the ears. My previous OGK helmet did not have enough ear space, and I experienced the same discomfort when on tours. Subsequently, I developed a compression injury, a cyst at the ear where fluid built up. I had to see an ENT specialist to draw fluid out of the cyst on the inside of my ear. Suspecting it was a tight helmet that did not leave space for my ears, I switched to an old helmet for a week and thankfully the optional surgery did not happen.

Yea, i bought my shoei a size smaller and i experience bad headaches when i travel long distances.

How about this Friday night meet at Handle Bar? Can educate the Harley riders on ATGATT too! :p

For less controversial meeting location, East Coast Park Lagoon Hawker Centre, which is bike friendly and we can scare the cyclists there. :cheeky:

It will be a good idea to meet up to discuss more about safety wear on the road :thumb:

yeap yeap, the most basic setup of safety gear is elbow n knee guard from driving centre, then from there slowly 'upgrade', touring- mesh amour jacket + normal boots etc

Elbow and Knee guard? Erm, as in wearing these outside of the driving centre? So far dun think I have seen any riders doing that wor. Either that or coz their jackets hide the guards well.

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

I am looking at buying a pair of gloves and Jacket. What are mesh jacket? are they more cooling than the other type? Which brand would be recommended with a budget of 300 for both items?