[Archive] DRZ SM 2005-2010

Guest rookie517

• Replies 7.7k

Originally posted by R.C.@Aug 4 2005, 06:44 PM

kex > Were you @ Magic last night? With your Yosh on? Wasn't sure if it was you... I was the one trying to make a bracket and karmatrix was the offroad DRZ.

yup !

i'm the one with the yoshi pipe :cheer:

wah..ur bike alot of goodies lei..:lovestruck:

i'm selling away my 2 days old Yoshimura OFF ROAD slip on u saw last nite..

too loud liao:cry:

ordered the GPR street legal one from ah biao..

Anyone interested ?

VERY nice exhaust..2 days old nia..

Brand new ard US$400 exclud shipping

Yours for S$600.

Suitable for DRZ S/SM model..

interested pls pm me.

thanks !

Originally posted by kex@Aug 5 2005, 01:18 AM

yup !

i'm the one with the yoshi pipe :cheer:

wah..ur bike alot of goodies lei..:lovestruck:

i'm selling away my 2 days old Yoshimura OFF ROAD slip on u saw last nite..

too loud liao:cry:

ordered the GPR street legal one from ah biao..

Anyone interested ?

VERY nice exhaust..2 days old nia..

Brand new ard US$400 exclud shipping

Yours for S$600.

Suitable for DRZ S/SM model..

interested pls pm me.

thanks !

ermm.. how much did he charge u fer installing the DJ kit?

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a158/ronnyz/img4632dd74849fe.jpg

i also say so ..

last time i used to ride my Harley Dyna low rider(for 3yrs) with 2 screaming eagle exhaust pipe, blow like hell and always play with backfire like a shotgun on auto mode..

kena rd block or see TP also not worried..

But i been looking at my rear mirror more than the road ahead now with my yoshi..especially on the Highway..

abit paranoid..

Ronnyz: ah biao fix it for a small fee of $40,very nice guy !

Bugo: i got the jet kit from dirt wheel for $80 it is only a 136mj

Originally posted by kex@Aug 5 2005, 02:03 AM

i also say so ..

last time i used to ride my Harley Dyna low rider(for 3yrs) with 2 screaming eagle exhaust pipe, blow like hell and always play with backfire like a shotgun on auto mode..

kena rd block or see TP also not worried..

But i been looking at my rear mirror more than the road ahead now with my yoshi..especially on the Highway..

abit paranoid..

Ronnyz: ah biao fix it for a small fee of $40,very nice guy !

hehehhe..... stop wearing ur tinted visor.... then u wun kena stop. hehehe... :giddy: :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by J.D.@Aug 4 2005, 10:09 AM

huh? What happen to u? Why u wana change your plastics? :confused:

And is anyone going to X-fighter 2ml? :smile:

me going~

Originally posted by kex@Aug 5 2005, 02:03 AM

Hmm..i thog the recommended was a 140mj

But anyway Kex hows the effect of the 136mj?

Think i wana get the DJ kit too....Bugo u want?

2004-2005 - Yamaha TW200;

2005-2007 - Suzuki DRZ400SM;

2007-20?? - Honda Airwave;

http://img185.echo.cx/img185/9140/05drzsmblack7ct.gif

Originally posted by J.D.@Aug 5 2005, 09:15 AM

Hmm..i thog the recommended was a 140mj

But anyway Kex hows the effect of the 136mj?

Think i wana get the DJ kit too....Bugo u want?

If you have an aftermarket exhaust use the stock 142.5 main jet. Then put in a 25 pilot (2.5 - 3 turns fuel screw) or the stock 22.5 pilot (3-3.5 turns fuel screw), you should be able to find both the main jet and the pilot jet locally.

taken off ww.drz.info kex i think you need to rejet. the pilot jet need to be bought elsewhere.

tak: sorry man.. reality just slapped me.. nov got road tax to save for and next may got super high insurance to save for as well. so i'm stopping all mods unless it's for protection of the bike.

and my plan is to try an aftermarket exhaust b4 DJ kit. then i'll understand how powerful is it totally stock with an aftermarket exhaust.. maybe will be looking for a pilot jet to rejet first..

is there a need to get a pilot jet to rejet if only using aftermarket exhaust?

this is a seperate issue. remember nic metioned that Race Incorp provide FCR upgrade at SGD$990 (not sure about the price though. well.. i've been thinking about it. because as stated, it cost about USD$1,200-1,400 for the upgrade of the keihin FCR carb with TPS, choke and coast enricher.

we don't need the coast enricher because sg is never cold enough. TPS is like doesn't make a difference as based on the drz website. choke is not really needed also.. so there's a FCR carb that doesn't come with all these 3 stuff so maybe they install that one for you. as for further uprgrade such as power now, i'm not sure whether will it be able to fit on such a stripped down carb.

ohh and the so called stripped down carb will cost about USD$700-$900 less. can you imagine that?!

eh..bugo..

i check the dynojet.com for the DRZ400 S model stage 1 kit..it is 136mj lei..

anyway,i not very technical la,hehe..

total got how many jet ar ?

the one i bought is which jet ?

where can i get the pilot jet ?

riding stock with the aftermarket pipe feels "weird" when u gun the thing,dun feel the "pull"

after ah biao fix the jet and tune for me,alot better liao,more powerful and sounds damn shiok !

Never ending shopping list for dirtbike hor..haiz..

Man & their toys..

Guest rookie517
Originally posted by kex@Aug 5 2005, 12:24 PM

eh..bugo..

i check the dynojet.com for the DRZ400 S model stage 1 kit..it is 136mj lei..

anyway,i not very technical la,hehe..

total got how many jet ar ?

the one i bought is which jet ?

where can i get the pilot jet ?

riding stock with the aftermarket pipe feels "weird" when u gun the thing,dun feel the "pull"

after ah biao fix the jet and tune for me,alot better liao,more powerful and sounds damn shiok !

Never ending shopping list for dirtbike hor..haiz..

Man & their toys..

136mj

try to do a plug chop test man

it maybe to lean..

u do the 3x3 airbox?

Guys, thanks for all the suggestions on restoring the shine on plastics.

Rick, thanks for the link you pmed me. Think i'll order a set of rear fenders and see how it goes.

I am now itching for a new exhaust and carb. So much to buy yet so little dough. :weep:

Have bike will wheelie!

http://fapomatic.com/1030/papadum_bw.jpg

Originally posted by Papadum@Aug 5 2005, 02:29 PM

Guys, thanks for all the suggestions on restoring the shine on plastics.

Rick, thanks for the link you pmed me. Think i'll order a set of rear fenders and see how it goes.

I am now itching for a new exhaust and carb. So much to buy yet so little dough. :weep:

guess ur infected wif the virus liao!

:goodluck: :cheeky:

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a158/ronnyz/img4632dd74849fe.jpg

Guest rookie517

okok, let me kaypo abit

dun understand u guys why always wanna change the exhaust system?

bling factor? powderful sound? going to race? do u really need tat extra horsie??

for myself (just my opinion, no offend)

handling of bike is above every other mod (after proper jetting and running in)

with proper bike setup, even a pretty stock bike can do well on the trak

modern machinery already has very good power, like drz

just tat if u r able to fully ultilise to the max.

sorry ah, just my opinion

last very gd reason, becoz i got no $$ for exhaust

hahahaa

Originally posted by rookie517@Aug 5 2005, 02:51 PM

okok, let me kaypo abit

dun understand u guys why always wanna change the exhaust system?

bling factor? powderful sound? going to race? do u really need tat extra horsie??

for myself (just my opinion, no offend)

handling of bike is above every other mod (after proper jetting and running in)

with proper bike setup, even a pretty stock bike can do well on the trak

modern machinery already has very good power, like drz

just tat if u r able to fully ultilise to the max.

sorry ah, just my opinion

last very gd reason, becoz i got no $$ for exhaust

hahahaa

rookie shifu , that normal mah. when ppl think of bike they think of the loud noise they produce ( i mean non biker). we were non biker once. so once we got a bike and wan it to go faster, first thing come to the mind is pipe.

qui est??? c'est moi, je m'appel brian.

another reason . i think it obviouse to most ppl is the bike go fast need more power, pipe is the easier way to for the bike to gain power. as for handling .. .these thing need more understanding of the bike , riding skill/style and the geometry of the bike, lining. tactics etc etc... more complicated ,and thinking of tat most of us got heahache, we wan to ride and not think so much ... biker usually like to have a easy way out of thing. i think its like tat just ask ppl do they if they know which the is preload adjuster, rebound, compression adjuster. 70% -80% of the rider dunoe wat u toking bout

qui est??? c'est moi, je m'appel brian.

Guest rookie517

i tink u are the lao jiao if those newbie wanna know more about riding on tarmac

when wanna show me those fast line in pg??

for me, now the plan is just to try an aftermarket exhaust and see how the bike perform then take out and ride stock again. haven't really understand fully what i can do with the bike yet but only see and know what others can do with the bike.

ah wang, care to elaborate more on proper jetting? proper jetting for different rider's riding styles?

Guest rookie517

jetting is a art of mixing proper ratio of air with fuel

correct jetting bring out the power of the bike

tats why reading the plug is important

but the new bike nowaday not ez to read the plug

only when it is abit on extreme side can really see the different

Ronnyz: i got the kit for $80 at dirt wheel tampines there..

rookie : i ask ah biao whether need to cut the air box anot,he say cannot anyhow cut,must match the fuel jetting ( dun understand at all)

he did some tuning for me which is a 2hr job,then he took it out for a spin,before taking out the carb again for some fine tuning..

guess it is pretty much done for the jetting liao la,i also not very particular..

i more of a poser rider la,change the pipe purely for cosmetic and the sound.

feels good to have a roaring pipe,dun u think so ? hehehe..

as for all the rebound,preload etc..i leave it to the pro,i just enjoy my ride :)