Hey Fooz...

Tdm is a twin engine.Less power,very economic on fuel.If it is single piston...lagi safe on fuel...but no power:nono: just like Made In India...ENFIELD,BULLET....they are 500cc running on single piston good saving on fuel but no power..o_O

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Hmm… power?

thrs doesnt seem to be much diff actually.

divvy – 89hp@8250rpm

tdm- 86,2hp@7500rpm

I tink its due more to the dry weight???

Differnce of near 40kg, comparable to a female pillion

Pwr-to-wt ratio is 0,3724hp/kg for divvy n tdm is 0,4597hp/kg

so if thrs a way to reduce the dry wt by 40kg, I tink divvy can easily hit 20km/L.?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by fooz@May 25 2005, 06:48 PM

oops, sorry... in miles..

18km/L.. tts t´not too bad..

but y isit tt the TDM which is oso 900cc can hit avg 22km/L?

isit coz its shaft? so there will be Power transmission loss?

n does bein aircooled contribute to it too?

Hey Fooz,

Its true that the TDM is alot more fuel effecient as compared n this is in due to a few reasons IMHO:

1) Technology: Comparing a carbed DOHC 8 valve air cooled 80s built VS a modern water cooled EFI parallel twin.

2) Weight: As you rightly pointed out its 40kg more heft already.

3) Shaft: Not as effecient in power transferance, actually its amazing how much power is lost in this process.

In this light, it seems TDM is a much wiser choice... However consider the other side:

1) Engine simplicity allows for easy servicing anywhere

2) Heft adds stability(no need of a female pillion, with pillion lagi better)

3) The savings over the chain/sprockets/scottoiller/chain lubes over time will tell clearly. (FYI 1 bottle of shaft oil can use 5 * 20000km easily)

Many other reasons to state but will b too boring n long winded. One thing for sure, our stock saddles felt more comfy, esp for the pillions...

Best i hit on my divvy was a 21.5km/L n 18-19km/L in average, nowhere near a TDM on its worst day. I must admit that i like the fuel effeciency of the TDM n have factored it in prior to making this purchase, but i stuck to what i tot was best n have not looked back since...

Wat bike next?? (hint: can hear it at the seaside) :cheeky: :cheeky:

jleo> u sellin off urs?

Oh.. must have been a good ride to Koh Samui!

Anyway, i get average 20km/Litre...

i have ever emptied my tank n topped up till full. Its abt 22litres..

STOC#2963.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/733128425_940c3cc0c5_m.jpghttp://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3539/2228/320/P1020266.jpg

Originally posted by fooz@May 25 2005, 06:48 PM

oops, sorry... in miles..

18km/L.. tts t´not too bad..

but y isit tt the TDM which is oso 900cc can hit avg 22km/L?

isit coz its shaft? so there will be Power transmission loss?

n does bein aircooled contribute to it too?

i dont really belief TDM can do 22km/L. I think u need to try one more time yourself from full tank to reserve, & do the calculation again before u boast about it. Sorry to said that. i dont no how u get that figure??

sorry, im not booasting coz i dont ride the tdm... im juz gathering some info..

the FC is wat i gathered from the tdm riders.. infact, i myself find it hard to believe it can hit hit such a gd FC for a 900.

but perhaps as jleo pointed out, the factors involved cld have attributed to it

Hiya,

Why ppl are so anal about fuel consumption??? You buy a bike, ride it, enjoy it and please........stop being calculative about fuel, tax, insurance...blah, blah, blah.

If you are always thinking of those things, you have no business riding whatever bike that you currently own in the first place. Do yourself a favour and buy a bicycle instead. Jeez...........

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

-------------------> So Little Time

-----------------------------> It's A Vmax Thing.

Originally posted by kevin@May 26 2005, 02:58 AM

i dont really belief TDM can do 22km/L. I think u need to try one more time yourself from full tank to reserve, & do the calculation again before u boast about it. Sorry to said that. i dont no how u get that figure??

i ride a TDM n i can verify the FC to this bike. check out on the TDM tread n u will find out more from wat the other TDMers says. btw on good days my bike can hit ^410km b4 rev. the last trip i had with bro jleo n other Divvers n TDMers thats when jleo found out.

btw y would any1 wan to lie abt the FC of a bike :confused:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Buy Wave loh....

Confirm save food, drink etc... :cheeky:

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Originally posted by Custom@May 26 2005, 12:55 PM

Buy Wave loh....

Confirm save food, drink etc... :cheeky:

Custom,

Cannot..........wait they talk and ask around and then find out some kotek bugger manage to squeeze 102km/litre out of his Wave, then they kaupay kauboo all over again. Chialat man this kinda ppl!!!!

Again.........go get a bicycle instead.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Originally posted by OMD@May 26 2005, 03:59 PM

Custom,

Cannot..........wait they talk and ask around and then find out some kotek bugger manage to squeeze 102km/litre out of his Wave, then they kaupay kauboo all over again. Chialat man this kinda ppl!!!!

Again.........go get a bicycle instead.

From,

OMD

Bicycle.... no insurance, no road tax, no inspection n nice body figure ... :smile:

Not bad... not bad... maybe one of this day we cycle up Genting or Thailand ok?? :cheeky:

:offtopic: :offtopic:

Sorry for :offtopic: again...

My small bike part 2.

Collected the bike and found all complains are done.

Feel something wrong of the bike after I move off n I call them up. Them are kind enough to tell me to come back and check it up.

2 complains... the bike gives a lots of "birds" sound and brake smtin wrong.

A few days later, I was there to let them check.

1st mech solve the bird sound and told me that the brake also done.

Go for another round, found that the brake was not solve.

1st mech suddenly MIA. 2nd mech take over and found that the disc plate is not even.

I ask them to change then come their boss. Tell me story that they only sell the bike as it is and wil not do any changes and there is no gantee. I was quite :mad: and told him to cut out the crap and let me know the price. After knowing the price($158 only), I went to another shop to enqury, the cost is ($120). :giddy:

Next day, when my friend ask me if any gd bike shop to recom for a bike, I turn him off that this is a sh*t shop and don't buy anything from them.

End of the story.

Morle of the story: Don't try to save peanuts where u will lost all the monkey.

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@May 25 2005, 02:28 PM

Hi Swift,

I'm contemplating whether to hit Penang or travel around Malaysia for three days try to cover as much as possible!(no rushing, cruising around)...overnight stay in hotels...only a suggestion!.. any interested party - have any other contribution- please have your say!

Swift you "hold on to your leave application first" for now give atleast a week or so....to see what is the outcome...!

Silverghost...o_O

Roger that boss!

Hey anyone interested to go top up petrol tonite then kopi at some coffeeshop in s'pore?

I know its a bit last min. Just give me a buzz if interested?

I should be going in about 10pm.

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Originally posted by kevin@May 26 2005, 02:58 AM

Believe it or not, my TDM900 averages around 22-24km/l under normal riding conditions (ie not pushing over 4k rpm) Hits reserve past the 400km mark on the odo. That leaves 3l of reserve theoretically in the fuel tank (Total capacity is 20L ---> 17L+3L). Been touring with the big boys (1 litre dual purpose bikes) at high speeds and at the fuel stop, I pump lesser than them blasting at the same speed. They were also surprised at the TDM's low consumption. Other factors like how 'high' or 'full' you top up also affects when reserve is hit. I usually pump till the fuel level touches bottom of the filler neck.

Anyway, low fuel consumption is just a good to have, not a must have. We all like and enjoy the bikes we own so enjoy the ride :thumb: We still have to stop together for petrol anyway :sweat:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Hey,

Looks like this fuel thingy is causing quite a stir n this thread is quite visited by TDM bunch, a big hello to them...

Anyway as mentioned b4 many times, to each his own, n to each to how one quantifies whats best suited to his needs. Whats most important is one enjoying his ride to the fullest...

Lets have a Yammy 900cc outing one day.... Something of a different n unique theme.

I just came back from 2nd link after meeting with Nassir for top up at GP. Told him about the Penang trip. He says that he may not be able to join us but he has very good Acomodation LOBANG for us at Penang. His father's friend is a director of a 5 star hotel beside a beach in Penang. The hotel is call PARADISE SANDY BEACH RESORT. There is a website given to me : http://www.paradisehotel.com

You can go check it out and give some comments?

So when are the Yammys meeting up and roaring down singapore highways?

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Originally posted by yappiez@May 26 2005, 12:52 PM

we also found out if a bike needs fuel like the way you need food...

DONT BUY IT.

bro don't like that say leh, btw i've been eating less now. i eat 3 meals aday (normal portion pls) n keeping the carbs low :cheeky:

btw agree with barra. why let the FC bother u as long u r enjoying ur ride :thumb:

*correction : full tank 20L / rev 3.5L

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by jleo@May 26 2005, 11:45 PM

Hey,

Looks like this fuel thingy is causing quite a stir n this thread is quite visited by TDM bunch, a big hello to them...

Anyway as mentioned b4 many times, to each his own, n to each to how one quantifies whats best suited to his needs. Whats most important is one enjoying his ride to the fullest...

Lets have a Yammy 900cc outing one day.... Something of a different n unique theme.

This is what thread or forum are for, to share experience or knowledge. Definitely not to "flame" each other. So why are people afraid of flaming each other then. Even it is so, treat it as to, to entertain u. It is good TDMers are reading our thread, end of day every body still love riding a bike. So any TDMers willing to loan your bike to me for a week?? :smile:

Thats true, a thread is to exchange info, chat and... sometimes do some comparision (which is what it innitially was).

Everybody has their opinions, believes, etc.. and we can choose not to listen to them. :smile:

I previously owned a bike that had a small tank, heavy brakes and drank on average 10Km/L!

Rode it, loved nothing except its looks and the awesome power...!

I just wanted to own it! But now its all about MY needs of a bike...

OMD, managed to find your lost love/old flame? :D :D

Kevin yours is red, mine is black... :D

STOC#2963.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/733128425_940c3cc0c5_m.jpghttp://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3539/2228/320/P1020266.jpg

Originally posted by Euro@May 27 2005, 12:08 PM

OMD, managed to find your lost love/old flame? :D  :D

Kevin yours is red, mine is black...  :D

Kevin & Euro,

Me actually in the midst of a Vmax purchase. It is a FP plate fully modded bike. Comes with the following :-

-Forkbrace

-Frame brace

-Swingarm brace

-Ohlins rear shock (full adjustable)

-Front fork with Progessive springs and Racetech gold valves

-V-boost switch

-K&N Filter

-Nology spark cables(hot wires)

-Hardened clutch

-17 inch Diamag wheels

-Belly pan

-Factory jets

-Ohlins steering damper

-R1 brake calipers n pump

-Low mileage-50000miles only

-Holeshot 4-1 system

What do you think? Good deal? Will be meeting the owner over the weekend.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Pwah!! Pwah!!!!

Dont know abt the price, but looks like everything is there already! Even the wheels are complete! Not sure abt the exhaust system though.. always felt that 2 LARGE end cans will be stunning! :D :D 121bhp or 145bhp? Where the nitros? nah ejust kidding! Its gotta sound like a heavy heartbeat... cold sweat man... :sweat: :sweat:

Since you own one previously and the power you already know... i think your decision can be finalised once you have a go at it..! one of the ways to test it, is its Roll-on at 100 or above.. the thrust shd be obvious! :cheer: :cheer:

Its a yammy!

STOC#2963.

sorry 4 bringing up this erm... ''FC thingy''.

din noe it can be such sensitive topic..

aniway, like barra said, its a gd 2 hav, not a must hav..

which i agree.

i personally like the divvy... jz tryin 2 gather more info to make my decision on the my nx bike..

so, hp this will be a friendly exchange of info..

n hav fun at ur nx outin..

Originally posted by fooz@May 27 2005, 06:12 PM

sorry 4 bringing up this erm... ''FC thingy''.

din noe it can be such sensitive topic..

Hi Fooz,

Exchanging info is not a bad thing-we actually learn alot in this process, where there always be the good, the bad and the ugly...!

FC is something like a bonus and advantage you have over others at the end of the year you save some.....! after-all it is your hard earn money...if you thing you need to save here and there do your calculation wisely.!

But then again if you want to be calculative in every cents then it is very difficult to satisfy/full-fill your desires...if you think TDM is your choice go for it..! (check their thread for more info!)

First Fooz,

Must understand that there is no sensitive- issue/stuff about FC! It is known thing. "NO" need to be opologetic...We are ppl with different point of view! thats all same like the fingers in your hand all work for a goal..!

I hope this will be the finale for FC! Yeah...! I can see the thunder cloud is being blown away :cheeky: he,he,hee! after all are- Yammy san's! bikes........!

Lets talk about the up coming trip!!- Penang! so whatsuppp! bro's.......!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...