Originally posted by Custom@Dec 20 2004, 10:09 AM

Pic of my missing lock :cry: :cry:

Any possibility that it might be mischief by some boliao buggers? Among all the divvys here, I believe Cougar has ridden his for the longest. Any problem with his?

Cant rule out that someone might be trying to steal your side panniers for the fun of it. :confused:

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Dec 20 2004, 12:23 PM

They are dealing with other things like alarm too maybe can consider not know maybe later..

(Voltmeter)

My friend recommends me a voltmeter the shop is along tai seng rd (near paya lebar) they are dealing in off shore items, what my friend says their voltmeter is mend for 'motor boat' and it is about $60/- water proof and compact. ( I'm just considering only) abit expensive!

Since the voltmeter is meant for water sports, it should be throughly tested at the factory level right? Think S$60 is reasonable cos I saw other voltmeters (digital) costing about 70+ outside, with no guarantee of it being water-proof!

Now the problem is thinking of where to place it. I'm considering maybe just slip it underneath the seat since we dun look at it that often except maybe to know when to change the batteries.

As for the alarm, that'll be our next project for CY '05. Haha .... cos change too many things this year liao. Wallet gg dry.

Handsome buggers,

For those who are interested in purchasing the steel braided hoses. Pls go to the following address:

Name : Everbright Moto-tiam

Address: Blk 1069 Eunos Ave 5 #01-193

Contact Person : Mr Steven (Owner)

Cost : Less than S$160 for front pair (including installation)

To Wait : Till Mid Jan

Others : Deposit required

Colours : Up to you to choose.

Myself and Bro SG has personally placed a deposit of S$100.

Bro SG order a 'steel' coloured one while I took a 'blue'.

Now waiting anxiously for the goods to arrive.

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Dec 20 2004, 02:59 PM

Any possibility that it might be mischief by some boliao buggers? Among all the divvys here, I believe Cougar has ridden his for the longest. Any problem with his?

Cant rule out that someone might be trying to steal your side panniers for the fun of it. :confused:

Nope, Kevin is the longest. But mine been riding for 3 going 4 years next Mar'05. No major changes to parts, nor repairs needed at all. Riding style is mix of town traffic and daily commute fr Pasir Ris to Science Park / Harbour Front. Sometimes pillion, most times don't. Maintenance only consist of engine, shaft, fork oil changes. Battery not even change yet!!! Spark plug changed every 1.5 years. Fork oil only changed last year. This bugger just keep going, but u must ride it everyday. Putting it in hybernation will not prolong life, in fact worst, machines lasts longer with daily use and cheap maintenance.

Wat to do... :nono: :nono:

Fate lah....

If cause by itchy hand, hope e hand get rotten..

If by natual cause....... WHY ME!!!!!!!! :cry: :cry:

Yet to hv time & $$ to go to HL for quotation.

Maybe next servicing or... :giddy:

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Originally posted by Custom@Dec 21 2004, 12:35 AM

Wat to do... :nono: :nono:

Fate lah....

If cause by itchy hand, hope e hand get rotten..

If by natual cause....... WHY ME!!!!!!!! :cry: :cry:

Yet to hv time & $$ to go to HL for quotation.

Maybe next servicing or... :giddy:

While, if u have d time, u may approach d lock-smith located beside ah-boy shop. He may b able to help u to replace the lock. Let me share with u a rare experience i encountered 8 years ago where i lost my Magna 750 iginition key & this guy is able to duplicate a key by just inserting a wire into the lock.

Our side panniers were made by Krauser, thus the lock is replacable. Before u go to HL. U may care to approach ah-boy first. I have replaced my lock for my GIVI before at ah-boy 10 years ago which i am still using it on my divvy.

Just suggestion.

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Dec 20 2004, 03:04 PM

Since the voltmeter is meant for water sports, it should be throughly tested at the factory level right? Think S$60 is reasonable cos I saw other voltmeters (digital) costing about 70+ outside, with no guarantee of it being water-proof!

Now the problem is thinking of where to place it. I'm considering maybe just slip it underneath the seat since we dun look at it that often except maybe to know when to change the batteries.

As for the alarm, that'll be our next project for CY '05. Haha .... cos change too many things this year liao. Wallet gg dry.

I feel is a waste of $$ to install d volt-meter. cos it does not actually hint u when to replace d battery. it only tell u that d battery is weak or flat & need to b recharge but not to b replaced.

All modern bikes now a days has its owe alternator to auto charge d battery when d engine runs at certain rpm. u change d battery only cos its life-span is about to end or is already totally dead. Average life span of a battery is 18 months of course there r some that can last till 3 yrs. There r many tell tale signs that d battery is about to b changed eg. head light start to flickle when the bike is idle or when u open d throttle, signal lights blink slower then usual etc. Volt-meter is meant for racing car or dragster with their alternator been removed to reduce weight, or meant for car or bike for their extra battery installed eg d Goldwing.

If there is a need for volt-meter on a bike then which modern production bike on d road or manufacturer that comes with it? Even if there is what is d purpose? Not forgetting that out battery is a dry cell!!

Just my opinion! cos i have installed before on my V-MAX!!!

Hey listen to the pro-Kevin, yap that's my mentality of owning a yammy diverted, its rugged and doesn't need much of my attention. Its old school technology like watching out for the flickle in the headlight to tell you battery is expiring, clean air-filter when carburetor choking, chg engine oil when u see the darkening engine oil color in the glass etc etc.

BTW i post is to ask what semi-synthetic oil u guys using, cheap anot? My last two oil change was MOTUL which is quite expensive, but its kester oil, which is suppose to be good, costs $15 per ltr!!!. But i looking for cheaper ones, i saw Caltex selling motorcycle semi-syn at $9.25 per ltr(20-40w), anyone use Caltex?

Originally posted by kevin@Dec 21 2004, 05:40 PM

While, if u have d time, u may approach d lock-smith located beside ah-boy shop. He may b able to help u to replace the lock. Let me share with u a rare experience i encountered 8 years ago where i lost my Magna 750 iginition key & this guy is able to duplicate a key by just inserting a wire into the lock.

Our side panniers were made by Krauser, thus the lock is replacable. Before u go to HL. U may care to approach ah-boy first. I have replaced my lock for my GIVI before at ah-boy 10 years ago which i am still using it on my divvy.

Just suggestion.

Thanks Kevin.

I've lost my GIVI key's once but it can be easily replace cos we have a local agant which is priced ok one.

Our lock may be unique if not some of our handsome buggers had tried to dup. the key without successful.

Anyway no harm trying.

Wat I afrd now is hv to replace the other 3 locks cos it come in a set of 4!! :giddy:

Originally posted by kevin@Dec 21 2004, 06:06 PM

I feel is a waste of $$ to install d volt-meter. cos it does not actually hint u when to replace d battery. it only tell u that d battery is weak or flat & need to b recharge but not to b replaced.

All modern bikes now a days has its owe alternator to auto charge d battery when d engine runs at certain rpm. u change d battery only cos its life-span is about to end or is already totally dead. Average life span of a battery is 18 months of course there r some that can last till 3 yrs. There r many tell tale signs that d battery is about to b changed eg. head light start to flickle when the bike is idle or when u open d throttle, signal lights blink slower then usual etc. Volt-meter is meant for racing car or dragster with their alternator been removed to reduce weight, or meant for car or bike for their extra battery installed eg d Goldwing.

If there is a need for volt-meter on a bike then which modern production bike on d road or manufacturer that comes with it? Even if there is what is d purpose? Not forgetting that out battery is a dry cell!!

Just my opinion! cos i have installed before on my V-MAX!!!

Hi Kevin,

There are reasons to mount a voltmeter, My suggestion is to mount a voltmeter to those who have extra gadgeterize like spotlights, radio's extra, lights like signal light into marker lights, after market horns...we are the people who need them...so we can moniter our battery's condition....

For dragster or racing car they do not have the time to monitor the voltmeter whether their battery is being charge or not..! They need to keep their eyes focus on the upcoming road and turns ahead or they end up on the gravels..

From my experience a battery with a good charging minimum life spent is two and half year. with proper regular maitenance (cleaning battery contact point, topping up of eletrolite, not using your vehicle or bike for sometime-using a battery tender to maitain it) can last up to three years plus ..(Why we change the battery after certain years because it cannot hold the charge anymore)...I work in workshop for years, so I know how long a good quality battery last...time to time we must check the battery conditions, like any swelling around the battery or if you know how to look at the lead plates inside they can tell you the battery condition and their life time..! :smile:

On the tell tale signs like diming of light weak signals most of it can be rectified like adjusting your RPM to the required /proper setting. Most bikes alternator only starts charging the battery after 2500 RPM onwards.

Voltmeter can help to tell whether the battery is charging or not if it shows between 13v to 14v charging is normal -ideling the voltmeter shows between 11.5v to 12.5v if the voltmeter shows always 14v or 15v+ even on ideling your regulator have problem in maintaning the proper charge, this sooner or later eats your battery in overtime it drys up/evaporize the electrolite..our battery's are sealed type- if you know how to take care of it, there shouldn't be any problem! (becareful of the acid in your battery and do not smoke near while charging the battery)...

Silverghost o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by Custom@Dec 21 2004, 10:32 PM

Wat I afrd now is hv to replace the other 3 locks cos it come in a set of 4!! :giddy:

Custom,

Why :confused: must replace all three or four locks just replace the both side panniers will do....!

Why $pend unneccesssary... :sweat:

Try as what Kevin says: now you have a choice or if not just replace both side panniers lock that's it...! :smile:

silverghost. o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by cougar@Dec 21 2004, 09:58 PM

Hey listen to the pro-Kevin, yap that's my mentality of owning a yammy diverted, its rugged and doesn't need much of my attention. Its old school technology like watching out for the flickle in the headlight to tell you battery is expiring, clean air-filter when carburetor choking, chg engine oil when u see the darkening engine oil color in the glass etc etc.

BTW i post is to ask what semi-synthetic oil u guys using, cheap anot? My last two oil change was MOTUL which is quite expensive, but its kester oil, which is suppose to be good, costs $15 per ltr!!!. But i looking for cheaper ones, i saw Caltex selling motorcycle semi-syn at $9.25 per ltr(20-40w), anyone use Caltex?

hi cougar

i used to changed the engine oil myself, however, now i changed mine at seng kwang, using esso semi-synthetic (10-40w) each bottle cost $8.00 including changing & disposing of the oil, with no labour charge. excess oil they will keep it for u till your next visit.

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Dec 22 2004, 12:37 AM

Hi Kevin,

There are reasons to mount a voltmeter, My suggestion is to mount a voltmeter to those who have extra gadgeterize like spotlights, radio's extra, lights like signal light into marker lights, after market horns...we are the people who need them...so we can moniter our battery's condition....

For dragster or racing car they do not have the time to monitor the voltmeter whether their battery is being charge or not..! They need to keep their eyes focus on the upcoming road and turns ahead or they end up on the gravels..

From my experience a battery with a good charging minimum life spent is two and half year. with proper regular maitenance (cleaning battery contact point, topping up of eletrolite, not using your vehicle or bike for sometime-using a battery tender to maitain it) can last up to three years plus ..(Why we change the battery after certain years because it cannot hold the charge anymore)...I work in workshop for years, so I know how long a good quality battery last...time to time we must check the battery conditions, like any swelling around the battery or if you know how to look at the lead plates inside they can tell you the battery condition and their life time..! :smile:

On the tell tale signs like diming of light weak signals most of it can be rectified like adjusting your RPM to the required /proper setting. Most bikes alternator only starts charging the battery after 2500 RPM onwards.

Voltmeter can help to tell whether the battery is charging or not if it shows between 13v to 14v charging is normal -ideling the voltmeter shows between 11.5v to 12.5v if the voltmeter shows always 14v or 15v+ even on ideling your regulator have problem in maintaning the proper charge, this sooner or later eats your battery in overtime it drys up/evaporize the electrolite..our battery's are sealed type- if you know how to take care of it, there shouldn't be any problem! (becareful of the acid in your battery and do not smoke near while charging the battery)...

Silverghost o_O

hi silverghost

i definitely do not doubt u. to me it is just an accessory & it is d least prioritise item that i will ever install on my divvy. i have done what u have mentioned of ways to maintain d life-span of a battery, even to d extend of installing a volt-meter & bought a "battery tender" from the states to charge it on my former bikes.

however, my best bet, is still to change to a new battery every 2 years regardless of d battery conditions. cos i do not want my bike to b unable to start when i am in a no man land somewhere in a remote part of thailand or when i am at d midst of going to work. before going to thailand i would send my bike to workshop to check on my alternator & battery. & i would rather spend d money to buy a "jump-start" cables or a set of DIY flat tires repair kits.

Originally posted by Custom@Dec 21 2004, 10:32 PM

Thanks Kevin.

I've lost my GIVI key's once but it can be easily replace cos we have a local agant which is priced ok one.

Our lock may be unique if not some of our handsome buggers had tried to dup. the key without successful.

Anyway no harm trying.

hi custom

how much d lock cost u? must b expensive!!! cos d side panniers cost me $900. if it is too ex. then consider other alternative.

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Dec 20 2004, 03:09 PM

Handsome buggers,

For those who are interested in purchasing the steel braided hoses. Pls go to the following address:

Name : Everbright Moto-tiam

Address: Blk 1069 Eunos Ave 5 #01-193

Contact Person : Mr Steven (Owner)

Cost : Less than S$160 for front pair (including installation)

To Wait : Till Mid Jan

Others : Deposit required

Colours : Up to you to choose.

Myself and Bro SG has personally placed a deposit of S$100.

Bro SG order a 'steel' coloured one while I took a 'blue'.

Now waiting anxiously for the goods to arrive.

hi casper

will d steel braided hoses solve d un-even worn out condition of the front brake pads, is the hoses connected to d individual right & left front caliper or is d installation like our OEM hoses?

Originally posted by kevin@Dec 22 2004, 05:06 PM

hi custom

how much d lock cost u? must b expensive!!! cos d side panniers cost me $900. if it is too ex. then consider other alternative.

I still don know coz still oversea.

Will update later if I have time.

Originally posted by kevin@Dec 22 2004, 05:15 PM

hi casper

will d steel braided hoses solve d un-even worn out condition of the front brake pads, is the hoses connected to d individual right & left front caliper or is d installation like our OEM hoses?

I was suggesting to O2 the other days to custom the hose into 2 equal length so that in theory the force will be more even on e 2 side of the brake.

O2 strainght away go and order the hose.

Will wait for his feedback b4 any action.

Hi kevin,

All my former bikes I change the OEM sets after a year of use, only for the front sets. Rear leave it, as it is...

It is always better to use less connection and joints whereas we, casper and myself we ordered 2 set of hoses directly connected from the reservoir to the brake calipers- removing all the other front OEM hose and joints.

If you guys interested like to do or order at this shop send me PM/sms or call me I give a ring to them(everbright) telling you guys are going over.. (don't worry! I do not make any comi$$ion) I prefer all you buggers benefit...If you guys have any better deal let us know we all benefit.

If order 1 set it is just replacing the 1m hose only ..roughly around $70 including installation.

If order like O2 complete set front and rear total cost roughly be $200+ (mah motors doing for him)

Silverghost..o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Ermm....actually I'm nt too sure bout that cos nt so mechanically inclined. Haha..

Bro SG should be able to answer better. I wanna install it simply becos our brakes sucks! :cheeky:

Originally posted by kevin@Dec 22 2004, 11:40 AM

i used to changed the engine oil myself, however, now i changed mine at seng kwang, using esso semi-synthetic (10-40w) each bottle cost $8.00 including changing & disposing of the oil, with no labour charge. excess oil they will keep it for u till your next visit.

Is there any difference between using semi and full synthetic? I'm currently using Esso Gold, changing every 5000km. Considering to downgrade to semi-synthetic but nt sure if it can tahan 5000km and whether wil it affect the engine.

Anyone care to enlighten me on this? :giddy:

Hi Casper4xxx,

Any 'MeAt Up' :confused: I thought you wanted, to ask all the fellow divvy buggers to go for a supper cum talk co*k session...so when is it? did you fix any date yet? :hungry: ...

So 'Casper' become the 'BOSS' for the meet-up session! fix the date & time! maybe a year end gathering.!

THis buGGers- OMD, Palary and Haroze been MIA for some time?Don't know what happen..?

Silverghost..o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Good news all divvy bros!

We've hv another new divvy kaki. He's a personal friend of mine and managed to pyscho him to get a diversion. He just ordered from Southerns Motos yesterday and is collecting his bike now.

Price : 14.5k (excluding insurance, S$200 transfer fees, S$130 rd tax)

Colour : Blue (same as OMD)

Plate : FW8665

Mileage : 11000+ miles

I'll be introducing him to you guys the next divvy meet-up.

:smile: :cheer: :smile: :cheer:

Sorry guys, think we gotta push back the meet-up till after Xmas or New Year cos kindda busy right now. :sweat: Let's look forward to meeting up first week of Jan. Party poppers are welcomed! :faint:

To all the buggers who read this!

MeRRy ChRiStMas and a happy New Year!!:cheer: :D: :cheer: take care guys drink don't ride ....

silverghost..o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...