I was riding at the Bedok North area today and I saw a big group of army guys with white number tags "On Test" it says. Whoa I was riding behind one of them and saw their requirements, when turning left, must put out left hand, when slowing down, they do this slowing down signal with their right hand, macham precision drills like that.. XIONG AH!!! If this were implemented at the driving centres, what do you think the outcome will be?

http://i41.tinypic.com/2vj99ua.jpg

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff288/jinpwnsyou/Whack_a_kitty.gif

• Replies 26

I was riding at the Bedok North area today and I saw a big group of army guys with white number tags "On Test" it says. Whoa I was riding behind one of them and saw their requirements, when turning left, must put out left hand, when slowing down, they do this slowing down signal with their right hand, macham precision drills like that.. XIONG AH!!! If this were implemented at the driving centres, what do you think the outcome will be?

I remembered I did practice the Hand Signal during my 2B days in CDC...

during the early days,our dad times,are doing the same thing.

need to give hands signal.when turning left,right,slow,stop

car also the same things.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

I always give hand signal cos i on signal light driver cannot see or what always don't want to give way.... stick out my long hand then they let me filter in... sometimes my hand also tend to gesticulate wildly... :cheeky::cheeky::cheeky:

Those days riders or drivers uses alot of hand signal, somehow others tend to give way to you wen you use hand signal. But I guess its more comfy for those rides with upright posture.

Nothing ever goes wrong. Whatever happen, happens for a reason. :angel:

Those days riders or drivers uses alot of hand signal, somehow others tend to give way to you wen you use hand signal. But I guess its more comfy for those rides with upright posture.

nowadays still got people using hand signal what... like eg, chopping the air with the hand and mouth muttering "wtf u want" or pointing the middle finger...

these also considered hand signal, but in a bad way. :lol::lol::lol:

肥仔七åƒå·

I tried wearing tinted visor and do hand signal on the road just now.. damn malu sia.. I only did it cos i was wearing tinted visor and no one could see me! If I wear normal helmet with clear visor and do all those drills, i think ppl will laugh at me!! Anyway I did it to test its effectiveness, and YES! Cars actually slow down for me! At the ECP, I was at lane 1 at 90km/h, did the "Slow down" sign with my right hand cos this red plater was tailgating, I did the signal and the car behind me change lane and overtake me!!

usually recee troopers go for the saf 2b course. x10 harder then the 2b course offered by the driving centres here. Got to jump here and there and do lots of crazy ****. i saw their version of their "plank course". its just wooden poles the size of an average tree, in a straight line (think there's 6 of them) and you got to squeeze in between two at a time.

Then if do wrong, need to do pumping? I last time SCDF connect the hose wrongly also need to kena pump.. I think learn how to ride bike will kena pump like siao everyday

I tried wearing tinted visor and do hand signal on the road just now.. damn malu sia.. I only did it cos i was wearing tinted visor and no one could see me! If I wear normal helmet with clear visor and do all those drills, i think ppl will laugh at me!! Anyway I did it to test its effectiveness, and YES! Cars actually slow down for me! At the ECP, I was at lane 1 at 90km/h, did the "Slow down" sign with my right hand cos this red plater was tailgating, I did the signal and the car behind me change lane and overtake me!!

why were you doing 90 in the 1st lane?

i dun think the car was tailgating, its more like you were road hogging.

1st lane is meant for overtaking and emergency vehicles.

learning to be a better rider.

nowadays still got people using hand signal what... like eg, chopping the air with the hand and mouth muttering "wtf u want" or pointing the middle finger...

these also considered hand signal, but in a bad way. :lol::lol::lol:

ya u r rite man... and ppl stll understanding the lingo. :cheeky:

Nothing ever goes wrong. Whatever happen, happens for a reason. :angel:

I was trying to overtake a truck who road hogged the middle lane..

if you were overtaking, you still got time to show hand signals for the car to slow down? why don't overtake and go back to middle lane.

At the ECP, I was at lane 1 at 90km/h, did the "Slow down" sign with my right hand cos this red plater was tailgating, I did the signal and the car behind me change lane and overtake me!!

how sure are you that the reading of 90km/hr on your CBF 150 is accurate?

how did the car overtake you with the truck in the middle lane?

please do not road hog lane 1.

SAF riders on road will surely ride like guai-guai kuku one.

Ride in staggered formation, stay under speed limit, always signal.

All this to preserve the goot goot image of SAF of course.

I tried wearing tinted visor and do hand signal on the road just now.. damn malu sia.. I only did it cos i was wearing tinted visor and no one could see me!

Don't be ashamed.

I usually hand signal when I need to change lane to the left lane (turning in to minor road on left) and the distance between vehicles are too little for me to change lane safely.

• 10 months later...

90km/h on a bike on 1st lane isnt road hogging.highways speed limit's 90km/h so theres nothing wrong with going at that speed.what if u had gone faster than that n TP spotted u?i dun agree with ur statement..u r implying only cars can go above the speed limit.theres no such exception for cars..only emergency vehicles like ambulances rushing to the hospital or rushing to those needing emergency attention

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

90km/h on a bike on 1st lane isnt road hogging.highways speed limit's 90km/h so theres nothing wrong with going at that speed.what if u had gone faster than that n TP spotted u?i dun agree with ur statement..u r implying only cars can go above the speed limit.theres no such exception for cars..only emergency vehicles like ambulances rushing to the hospital or rushing to those needing emergency attention

That's where you are wrong. Even though the speed limit is 90km/h, TP can still book you for road hogging. And it does not matter if there are any cars behind you or not.

That lane is solely for overtaking not for cruising. If someone manages to get a video of you doing that, that person can lodge a complaint to the Traffic Police and the case will be investigated and you might get fined.

Just like the road shoulder is for breakdown vehicles and emergency vehicles.

At least that is what I have been taught and I have spoken to a former Traffic Police once about the issue above.

Using hand signals can be quite useful at times too.

I do not have my 2B yet, but I have my CL3 license and have been driving for about 3 years now.

Some riders have their signal lights on but they don't even change lanes or anything. It gets confusing sometimes.

At least from a driver's perspective.

Using hand signals can be quite useful at times too.

I do not have my 2B yet, but I have my CL3 license and have been driving for about 3 years now.

Some riders have their signal lights on but they don't even change lanes or anything. It gets confusing sometimes.

At least from a driver's perspective.

don like tat la.. some time forget to swtich off mah... coz bike not like car auto off once u complete ur turn... so call also wat... wan to change lane also turn like no body business...

TA 200'02 | JUN 2008 - JUN 2010

S4 SPEC3'07 | JUN 2010 - MAY 2012

FZ6 S2'07 | MAY 2012 - CURRENT

http://i994.photobucket.com/albums/af70/heskeydal/signature1.jpg

That's where you are wrong. Even though the speed limit is 90km/h, TP can still book you for road hogging. And it does not matter if there are any cars behind you or not.

That lane is solely for overtaking not for cruising. If someone manages to get a video of you doing that, that person can lodge a complaint to the Traffic Police and the case will be investigated and you might get fined.

Just like the road shoulder is for breakdown vehicles and emergency vehicles.

At least that is what I have been taught and I have spoken to a former Traffic Police once about the issue above.

but doesnot it means, they are slapping their own face? u put road limit 90... den ur max already 90... if exceed to 110, they consider u speed... if remain 90 there is or bike behind u.. fine u for road hog.. so wat is wat?

don like tat la.. some time forget to swtich off mah... coz bike not like car auto off once u complete ur turn... so call also wat... wan to change lane also turn like no body business...

haha..no la..I'm just saying that riders may forget to turn off their signal lights, but when it comes to hand signals im sure they wont forget to stop. :p

anyway i gesticulated to let the guy know. After awhile i think he got what i meant. A looong while. haha.

but doesnot it means, they are slapping their own face? u put road limit 90... den ur max already 90... if exceed to 110, they consider u speed... if remain 90 there is or bike behind u.. fine u for road hog.. so wat is wat?

I have come across motorist doing 70-80 km/h on the 2nd lane. If I were to overtake them at 90 km/h, I'll still be within the speed limit.

And besides ,if you're at the speed limit at lane 1 and someone wants to overtake you, you are supposed to give way.

At the end of the day, it's for your own safety. You can grumble about it being your "right" to be on lane 1 at 90 km/h cos it's the speed limit. But if the person behind you decide to pull something off, it's your safety that is jeopardized.

This lane 1 thing is quite a gray area. So yea, ride safe! :)

I have come across motorist doing 70-80 km/h on the 2nd lane. If I were to overtake them at 90 km/h, I'll still be within the speed limit.

And besides ,if you're at the speed limit at lane 1 and someone wants to overtake you, you are supposed to give way.

At the end of the day, it's for your own safety. You can grumble about it being your "right" to be on lane 1 at 90 km/h cos it's the speed limit. But if the person behind you decide to pull something off, it's your safety that is jeopardized.

This lane 1 thing is quite a gray area. So yea, ride safe! :)

ya i understand.. but i felt give way is a courtesy, not a must.... anyway..to all road user, please be patience and tink about each other on the road k... life is to short to be wasted jus like tat... CHEERRS!!!!!!!!!!!!!