• Replies 62

dun think of too much HP for class 2b bikes. Either u go for a nice looking ride (r125) or if u need power, a 2 stroke 2b bike (SP or ktm or rxz) or you just save the money, go for a cheap cheap transport 4 stroke that looks acceptable and wont burn your money which u can save for ur class 2. (phantom, pulsar)

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

now another question , spray whole bike how much HAHA . i know the bloody digital R1 meter is bout 400++ . ex like z . changing headlight will cost me how much yo? lets say everything is for sp

went for first prac yesterday , as usual , whole class re-take hahahaha.then i realise something after i the lesson . in my dictionary , there's no "squeeze tiny lil bit" HAHA.if i 1/2 clutch , the instructor will easily spot me?

wah baku baku still first prac?! Zzzz ok. slowly take. and dun think too much about what bike you want first. Concentrate on passing and pls dun be rash and buy a bike before u get a license. u will be tempted to ride and get into serious trouble.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

4-5 months to get the license definitely possible if you consistantly go and take.. dun rush into buying the bike.. you can browse, look see the market price of the bike you want..

Hi people,

I'm having my TP for my 2B license soon and is really curious to know more about getting a bike....

so here's my questions:

When you guys are getting a new bike (or a second hand), what do you guys see or look into to decide if it's a good deal or not?

And i would really like to know what a buyer have to pay other that the bike, like insurance and COE and other stuff...

And i will really appreciate it if someone would tell me the price too...

THANK YOU!

hmmm usually they would do a little homework? Ask around for the price of the bike which you want, you can make use of this forum too.

2nd hand bike usually they would be interested in the following:

Mileage

COE

License Plate

Ever track with the bike

Overall outlook

For me importantly within my budget and monthly installment comfortable.

If you buy the bike from PTE seller, usually you need to borne the transfer fee.

Give u some encouragement bro.. I enrolled my membership 15th Dec.. I got my license 18th Mar... Only very very SLIGHTLY more than 3 mths... All the best to ya.. 4 5 mths definitely no problem... Juz remember when the time is near, go for more RC and RR...

We the SAFE Riders, Pledged to ride SAFELY and STAY ALIVE!!!

when you see the straight face of the TP you will tend to panic, esp the first TP whom ask you to start the TP. For what i do, i think that i've already failed and juz to go through the course as it is then can le.. Relax is the most impt thing. But a bit hard to cos 5 ~ 6 TPs in the circuit can make you panic like crazy.

During test cannot really panick too much 1, though we really can't help it..

But very important thing Baku have to bear in mind, put away all ur knowledge and experience and skills you may have possessed... During test the TPs are really not the least interested in how good ur skills and road experience u have or know.. SAFETY is the whole moral of the test... You may be able to do S-course 7s, crank course 4s.. Plank 9s, Pylon slalom 3s... End of the day I dare to confirm SURE fail 1.. LOL...

Give u some encouragement bro.. I enrolled my membership 15th Dec.. I got my license 18th Mar... Only very very SLIGHTLY more than 3 mths... All the best to ya.. 4 5 mths definitely no problem... Juz remember when the time is near, go for more RC and RR...

Enrolled Jan 15, applied for QDL 20th april, passed TP on 20th apr.

waiting for license to mail :D

yup, go for RR n RC, although i never go for any revisions coz no time.

I spend alot on lessons, coz alot 2nd attempts and 2 aeroplanes.

TP really is cannot panick, agree with you.

If panick, you mis co-ordinate, and your stuffs you do like kns alrdy.

Road hogger @ 50km/h on 4th lane :cool:

A bike can go up till 200km/h, can the rider go up till 200km/h o_O

hmmm usually they would do a little homework? Ask around for the price of the bike which you want, you can make use of this forum too.

2nd hand bike usually they would be interested in the following:

Mileage

COE

License Plate

Ever track with the bike

Overall outlook

For me importantly within my budget and monthly installment comfortable.

If you buy the bike from PTE seller, usually you need to borne the transfer fee.

On top of that, the condition of the second hand bike plays a very important part in determining whether the value is right for you.

The basics would be checking the amount of thread on the tyres left, does the brake works, how much of the brake pad is left, is there any rattling sound when the engine is switched on, is it easy to switch on the bike from cold, is there any problem changing gears, is the bearing of the handlebar fine, does the signals / fuel gauge / temperature gauge / lights work, is the IU working (if there's one), when was the last servicing / overhaul, are there receipts to prove it and then finally you talk about the price.

For a brand new bike, hidden extras are,

ERP unit

GST

Make sure the OTR price also include these

Also, make sure the shop is upfront about:

Registration/Transfer fee.

Some shops have already put the bike to their name, and will need to transfer to the new owners name.

Admin fee/Stamp Duty.

This is a bullcrap sucksh1t method that some shops will use to wrangle a few hundred extra bucks from the unwary buyer.

COE topup/rebate.

You will pay a ballpark figure for the COE based on the previous bid, and if the shop has to bid for you, prepare to topup if the COE goes up. Likewise, make sure you get a refund if the COE drops.

Always ask the guy... Is that ALL I have to pay? And tally that figure with the final amount on the paperwork.

I actually gave my bikeshop a bit of hassle over the paperwork when I pushed out the bike. Leave them no avenue to chop you. If you aren't happy with the paperwork or deal, well... let them know that there are other shops out there which carry the same new model that you can always go for. No loss for you if you don't buy the bike from them. The loss is theirs.

okok , go with the flow~ FULL THROTTLE!!! WAHAHAHAHA! think first think i'll experience is fly straight forward

Don't forget to drink Red Bull too; helps you maintain your flight longer. :angel:

alamak bro! just take your license first la. as you are taking your license, take your time to learn how to Google. Also, your 4k can surely swell to more than 6k in a few mths time.

have you considered scramblers, sportsbike, scooters or kap chais? all have their pros and cons la. in the end, you'll just buy the one that you like. but do consider if you're the kind that's thirsty for power or just want some style. for me, i don't believe in 2b bikes. most are just bare minimum.

if you want power, why stop at 2b? if you want, strong pick up, why stop at ktm 200? that's why super 4 is very popular. good power while being affordable and easy to maintain. and if you like to whack throttle, drz might be the one for you instead. if you want good fuel consumption, 2b bikes are all about the same. people can argue all sides of the pros and cons of every bike. but u just ask yourself what type of pros of a bike do you want and what kind of cons can you handle. and that will lead you to your bike.

4k is more than enough to down a new bike. not worth to buy a 2nd hand bike unless you are mentally prepared to fix it back up if something's wrong. this part nobody can help you la. google is your best friend. you can learn more stuffs than you ever know.

that's why super 4 is very popular. good power while being affordable and easy to maintain. and if you like to whack throttle, drz might be the one for you instead.

ermm, S4 affordable n easy to maintain? i rather choose a drz over it, gd FC n pickup better.

drz is getting popular nowadays too

Hmm actually I really agree leh.. Initially I also told myself I definitely won't be buying 1st hand bike.. Cos my intention is confirm upgrade class 2.. So buy a 2nd hand 2B bike ride for about 2-3 years then upgrade..

But buy already really abit regret.. So many problems to settle... Imagine bro I bought the bike cheap,, 2K nia.. But the repairs cost me 1K++.. So in the end the amount of $$ I spent might as well buy new bike.. Problem FREE!!!

So with 4K I would really strongly encourage and suggest buy a new bike... Look after it well, next time wanna sell here with good condition can fetch higher price also.. Confirm lose abit of $$,, but at least better than my case,,, spent so much, even if I sell I won't lose little either...