Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by LedZep@Aug 8 2005, 10:39 AM

I bought my DP billet vented cover from Minerva. Cost me about 200bucks if I remember correctly.

By the way, about the stainless springs... do you really need them unless you are running a vented clutch cover? I got mine from eBay but only did so when I fitted the vented cover. Less fear about rust if the clutch springs are enclosed. That's my take on it...

If it's $200, then it is damn cheap!

Well, mine currently are already rusted, though the previous owner was running on stock clutch cover.

I'm now intending to put washers instead of the gasket between the cover and the engine case, so as to vent it. (budget way lah...)

So in a way, the springs will be exposed even more. (already it is rusted)

When I find a job, probably I'll then get a billet cover and probably a anodized pressure plate to boot!

• Replies 14.9k

I was just as surprised as you are when I was told the price. That's why I bought it! :thumb:

I also considered using the 'budget' method, but I really wanted to avoid dirt build-up on the inside of the cover so went for a vented cover instead.

Originally posted by espido1001@Aug 8 2005, 02:02 PM

well bro the onli other place i can think so tht's still 'in'(if u meant with crowd) where u can park yr bike relatively close to yr table is "simpang bedok"?

u guys know where sells affordable ajustable clip-ons for monsters?budget ard 300? i hate the current riser bar..i've seen loads online...but if i could save shipping charges all the better ! appreciate any recommendations thks!

well ... lets hope tat day may come,...

anywhere also can lah actuali....

as long as pple turn up to widen their circle of frenz mah....:cheeky:

Originally posted by ctk333@Aug 8 2005, 11:52 AM

hello to 748/916 owners...

been hearing about the pre98 9xx series models having electrical problems..

anyone care to comment?

seriously considering a change to the 916...but kind of put off by this...

how about the parts? understand the issue of wear and tear.. but are the more easily prone to breaking down?

I'm not reali sure but i heard from frenz that if wanna get a 916, try getting the '97 model. Mines '94....juz got it, Heard the wires using is too thin and always burn the rectrifire etc etc....have not face that prob....choy choy

Advise maybe get the so called 2nd batch of 916, should work out better

Correct me if i wrong k...coz i also dun mind knowing more of coz....

The earlier bikes had a 350watt Single phase alternator, newer bikes (1998 onwards) have 520watt 3-phase alternator.

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 8 2005, 10:18 AM

Hey, I thought the previous owner put it into Kallang Cycle for a damn long period of time.. and now you just got it and you send it there again? Touch up you mean paintwork? Cos when he selling he say his is new paintwork...

Ha ha, ya lor. something to do with the battery cable. And respray back to Original Look. Like the Bike to look stock. In fact I know Michael too. The entire bike is indeed in pristine condition now.:smile:

http://www.diseno-art.com/images/mv_agusta_f4_1000_veltro_strada.jpg

>>>>>>>>>>>> F 6 C <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

>>>>>>>>>>>A M 6 D <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 7 2005, 08:08 PM

Ducati owner: Do you use a CF clutch cover?

I've just modified my CF clutch cover to fit over the original clutch cover as a guard instead of using it alone.

Why? Cause I read that the CF clutch cover alone cannot withstand the impact when the bike falls, thus breaking open and exposing the clutch to damage.

So now I am using back my original one, with the CF one covering it as a guard... till I got money to buy those Billet Vented types..:cheer:

I am using a CF one.

For the Billet-types, I saw many different types of designs on the many different ducatis. Some are quite ex. I was quoted $300+ for a slick-looking billet clutch cover from Minerva. However, there is also a cheaper range

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8586/vhfchsn1.gif

1. Click on my CMO Magazine thread for cheap mag offers

2. click on my CMO Coach thread for cheap Coach offers!!

- Motorculture Asia: Free delivery !

- Spin Asia: Free delivery !

- Latest Sept Superbike: Free Isle of Man TT DVD !

Originally posted by Seven@Aug 7 2005, 09:11 PM

I know a guy who sell those springs. I got them for my 999ed. I had pm u his no. :cheer:

PM me the numbers too, bro

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8586/vhfchsn1.gif

1. Click on my CMO Magazine thread for cheap mag offers

2. click on my CMO Coach thread for cheap Coach offers!!

- Motorculture Asia: Free delivery !

- Spin Asia: Free delivery !

- Latest Sept Superbike: Free Isle of Man TT DVD !

Neo: What's the difference between the two alternators? And how did their differences/performance affect the electrical system?

Heh researching a bit...hoping to get one too in another 2 years! Meanwhile, I've got the mini 916.. :cheeky:

One is much more powerful and efficient than the other.

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by Will@Aug 8 2005, 08:28 PM

I am using a CF one.

For the Billet-types, I saw many different types of designs on the many different ducatis. Some are quite ex. I was quoted $300+ for a slick-looking billet clutch cover from Minerva. However, there is also a cheaper range

Yeah, hope the $200 types mentioned by LedZep is still available when i'm ready to get one!

This month abit overspend liao.. bought $400+ stuff from Ebay.. sigh...

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by Will@Aug 8 2005, 08:29 PM

PM me the numbers too, bro

Yo Will, Fude PMed me the number and I smsed Damien. He says all the springs is with Michael Chong and he can't remember the price. Think his meaning is that we should get from Michael Chong directly...

But I lazy to go down to Kallang Cycle, so just bought over Ebay in the end. Plus shipping, came up to about SGD$72. Inclusive of stainless steel bolts, and anodized spring caps.

Guest Reddevil76

sigh.. fairings back and it was a screw up job. Lacquer all runny... dust trapped in lacquer, etc.. Never expected Ong and Son to turn up such a job. Last time let them spray always gave me damn good quality. Guess the change of worker made alot of difference..

Pity I didn't check when collecting cos all wrap in newspaper and boss wasn't around.. Now have to go back again tml and ask for a respray... Another 10 days downtime... sianz...

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 9 2005, 02:45 AM

Yo Will, Fude PMed me the number and I smsed Damien. He says all the springs is with Michael Chong and he can't remember the price. Think his meaning is that we should get from Michael Chong directly...

But I lazy to go down to Kallang Cycle, so just bought over Ebay in the end. Plus shipping, came up to about SGD$72. Inclusive of stainless steel bolts, and anodized spring caps.

The exchange rate for USD is advantage to SGD. So I think it's good time to get stuff from the states, but there are some risk invole. :goodluck:

If I remember correctly, I got the spring from him at below $30. :cheer:

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 9 2005, 12:06 PM

sigh.. fairings back and it was a screw up job. Lacquer all runny... dust trapped in lacquer, etc.. Never expected Ong and Son to turn up such a job. Last time let them spray always gave me damn good quality. Guess the change of worker made alot of difference..

Pity I didn't check when collecting cos all wrap in newspaper and boss wasn't around.. Now have to go back again tml and ask for a respray... Another 10 days downtime... sianz...

They used to do very good job. I used to send to them too. Now they charge more and quality also not as good as they used to be.

How much did u pay it??

Hey guys, got some images to share from NDP Celebrations at none other than Pasir Gudang today heheh.

http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/5390/metallica3yb.th.jpg

http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/6745/damien998sontrack68zb.th.jpg

http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/7528/damien998sontrack53jx.th.jpg

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/7648/damien998sontrack35ab.th.jpg

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/2897/damien998sontrack26ii.th.jpg

Enjoy!

By the way, Uncle 916 (his name is Chris but I know him better as Uncle 916 heh) had sort of a high side today on his VFR..Hope he's doing ok now. He was pretty fine when he left the track..

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by Seven@Aug 9 2005, 12:10 PM

The exchange rate for USD is advantage to SGD. So I think it's good time to get stuff from the states, but there are some risk invole. :goodluck:

If I remember correctly, I got the spring from him at below $30. :cheer:

Below $30 is a good price. Last time I got a set of Orient Express springs from Biketech, (non-stainless one), for my TLR, already $50 liao..

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by Seven@Aug 9 2005, 12:15 PM

They used to do very good job. I used to send to them too. Now they charge more and quality also not as good as they used to be.

How much did u pay it??

Yah, I notice the worker has changed. And the boss is not monitoring his worker's work I suppose... tomorrow going to go screw Ah Lee upside down liao.. tell him his shop's name is at stake!

I paid $450 for one single colour... spray everything except the airbox covers. Still have to send there myself, collect myself, strip the parts myself, go Minerva buy fuel pump gasket myself... sigh... and this is what they give me.

If I knew, I'd either send to cheaper shops, or use the same amount and let bike shop do it.

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by Kr0n@Aug 9 2005, 05:13 PM

Hey guys, got some images to share from NDP Celebrations at none other than Pasir Gudang today heheh.

Nice! Is that a race fairing?

Are you referring to the 998S? That one's got a set of full carbon fibre fairings on. Unfortunately, I only have one slightly blurred close up of the left sideboard..

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/6110/dsc004178lu.jpg

The set came as plain carbon fibre, but was sprayed red over.

kr0n : is tat chrome M4 your's ? saw it in town.. rider was in short, grabbing e fuel tank.. not hot ?? :cheeky:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

It's a chrome M9 actually...but it's far from being mine haha. I met the rider only just now, and he seemed pretty fine with the heat. We travelled from GP Esso till PG and it didn't feel as hot as the other two Duckies.. Maybe the chrome helped to reflect the heat off better? Heh.. But that guy, was ridiculously fast. He was keeping pace with the 998S! lol mad stuff!

Heh yeap.. "Silver cup loses heat from the water slower than black cup" experiment. When are you getting your monster? Got ceremony not?? :bouncefire:

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by Kr0n@Aug 9 2005, 05:32 PM

Are you referring to the 998S? That one's got a set of full carbon fibre fairings on. Unfortunately, I only have one slightly blurred close up of the left sideboard..

wish I could get of those! Sporting Motors used to sell them. But those they sold, already come painted over. Can just see the carbon fibre at the side like the pic u posted..

I was at the storeroom taking some Aprilia parts and saw that they still have some 999 ones.. but I quit Mah about a month ago.. so dunno if they still have.