CB250 Nighthawk, Following  

17 members have voted

1. 1. CB250 Nighthawk, Following

• Coe sufficient
    • Modding potential
    • Parts availability
    • Plugs change frequency
    • Engine oil type and change frequency
    • Lifespan of original parts
    • Flexibility of cheaper parts use
    • Moifying potential
    • Able to use any grade of petrol fuel
    • Potential for 4 rounds of COE
    • Easy to pass inspection
    • Low road tax
    • Daily ride potential
    • Low fuel consumption
    • Ease of maintenance
    • Ease of riding

• Replies 2.5k

I also feel that 7 years loan is kinda long, that will incur more interest. If u can save up and put more on down payment so that monthly instalment won't be too siong. the spare cash can use to mod or improve your ride in the future. Good luck.

Stay Free Live Strong

so which is the latest model?

some people are just racially insensitive.

Should be Revo rite. Hmmm well as for the racial thing i think we try to stay away la huh bro. We are all sillyporean here :D

Sorry Ah Brothers. Got Carried Away Lahh. I Was Just Saying That Since TS & Me Area Classmates, He Could Have Just Asked Me & I Cud Have Told Him. So Yeah. :sorry:

No no its ok i mean we are fine with it only if you do some translation hahaha. Sometimes we do post chinese words character also. :D

Hi. what do we check for when viewing bike for s4? for eg. i'm keen to get a VS.

Hmmmmmmmm VS well good choice but its relatively old and if you are not familiar with old bikes, try to stay away. Unless you like carb bike.

Checks to do well most important check for leaks lor. Radiator and engine see got any leak or not. Then engine wise the most you can only hear the condition. If you hear like got machiam rough and grinding of peanuts inside means rocker arm or piston loose. If very loud griding might mean timing chain.

Check to see if there is spicy smelling from the exhaust. If there is means top over haul coming soon.

Check suspension any leaks. Usually older bike suspension are soft due to wear but all these can be service.

Older version bike cant expect much. But older bike are relatively more lasting to my personal own opinion. Depending on the owner how he take care. New version bike doesnt mean condition good if it was own by a lousy owner.

Other than that, check your insurance or road tax that you have to pay cos its more than 10 years bike i guess.

Other than that, enjoy your ride.

Advised by a colleague when buying my S4:

Check disc brakes condition. Usually the rear brake disc is more "neglected" than the front.

How to check? Use your finger and run across the radius of the disc (dun worry, unless the guy has been stepping brake the whole time it won't be hot).

You should be able to feel a high part on the outside circumference of the disc, then a low part nearer to the center. If the difference is a lot, then the disc is very worn already.

Check condition of switches etc, sometimes (especially if previous owner did some modification) the wiring will be in bad condition or loose.

If owner said got do servicing, ask for receipt. Else take it as not done.

Feel the front fork, the part where it slides in and out (don't know the exact name). Check for any pitting (rough surface).

This is only some of the very basic things to check, the more experienced guys here might want to chime in. :D

My bike is stock! Please don't jio me! :angel:

Super lightweight lithium batteries for sale! http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/347746

Hi. what do we check for when viewing bike for s4? for eg. i'm keen to get a VS.

I am also a new rider on Ver S. A few things I would advise,

Suspension as bro bernardk said. Lightly run your finger on the front forks check for any oily residue which might means its leaking.

Rear suspension also put your hand in the spring and check for oily residue (Becareful noone sits on the bike while you are doing this :faint:)

Just forget what the salesman say just take your time checking the bike.

Another thing I found out in my bike is the speedo and rpm meter inside got one white plastic frame, mine was smashed. But I not sure how you can check this.

I only found out after I bought the bike, then go back make noise then they change for me.:sian:

Check the chain and sprocket condition.

The engine can't check, only can hear. Good luck in finding a good bike :thumb:

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

http://images54.fotki.com/v104/photos/3/1279813/10237619/IMG_0625-vi.jpg[

Well yea wat the others said are all part of the check. But hmm its an old bike do give some discount for wear and tear. If you want to go thru the check list, it will be endless. Just so long as no visual leak and you like the bike rest of the things are all wear and tear. Wat i have stated are those that are more important and cost much more when prob were to come.

oh cool man brosss!!! i'm hoping that i'll pass my upcoming 2a tp and shall get

my vs soon. thanks a lot for the advices. i'm more worried abt the engine. i don mind top bottom over hauling n stuffs, jus wanna hv smooth ride once i get it.

oh cool man brosss!!! i'm hoping that i'll pass my upcoming 2a tp and shall get

my vs soon. thanks a lot for the advices. i'm more worried abt the engine. i don mind top bottom over hauling n stuffs, jus wanna hv smooth ride once i get it.

want good smooth ride then must feed the bike with some "Essence" give it a good oil and good spark plug. :) :thumb:

Just wonder if $700 per month is enough for the installment + insurance + road tax + maintance for a new Super4? I'm 26 and got my 2b for 5 years and i'm down paying 5k for the bike and a loan period of 7 years..

wah.. down 5k still must loan 7 yrs for new S4 reVo? how much is it for revo on the road now and your monthly installation payment?

Its good to set aside money monthly when you get your pay check and not be too eager to let your gf or yrself "boost the economy" with shopping trips etc. :cheeky:

Apart from the regular fuel, parking, cashcard, that you spent monthly.. for me, i set aside abt 150 monthly for the year end's insurance, roadtax and occasional bike maintainance fee (EO, n Misc servicing).. like a bike savings fund, so that when you need money for bike's stuff (etc year end insurance, servicing), u just "draw" money from it.. no need to sweat or suffer major damage concussions to your pockets.. :sian:

if year end still got bal left can still give yr bike a treat with accessories u aim for long long time.. :angel:

I also feel that 7 years loan is kinda long, that will incur more interest. If u can save up and put more on down payment so that monthly instalment won't be too siong. the spare cash can use to mod or improve your ride in the future. Good luck.

StarScream got a point there too :thumb:

ya bro i took 36 months loan ,down 8 k , 700 is more than enuff if u can resist the temptation to MOD ur super 4 HAHAA:angel: me still trying very hard to resist =x blueflame tempting me HAHA

too late.. you are poisoned already :cheeky:

I am also a new rider on Ver S. A few things I would advise,

Suspension as bro bernardk said. Lightly run your finger on the front forks check for any oily residue which might means its leaking.

Rear suspension also put your hand in the spring and check for oily residue (Becareful noone sits on the bike while you are doing this :faint:)

Just forget what the salesman say just take your time checking the bike.

Another thing I found out in my bike is the speedo and rpm meter inside got one white plastic frame, mine was smashed. But I not sure how you can check this.

I only found out after I bought the bike, then go back make noise then they change for me.:sian:

Check the chain and sprocket condition.

The engine can't check, only can hear. Good luck in finding a good bike :thumb:

hey bro care to elaborate more on chain and sprocket? thanks

Just see that the sprocket teeth is not sharpen. Its suppose to be abit bold rather than sharp teeth. Then as for chain see how much the rear wheel is being extended. But if you get from shop try to nego for a sprocket chain and new tire lor.

Whats the diff between a v tech 2 to v tech 1 & 3. i heard alot saying fuel consumption is high and wat thing else??

S4 vtec 2 - Vtec opens earlier, some ppl like this rush of power early, some think its a waste of fuel.

S4 vtec 1 & 3 - Vtec opens later.

Maybe thats why you heard ppl saying vtec 2 fuel consumption high. For better info got to the fuel comsumption thread and ask spec 2 owners abt the fuel consumption.

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

http://images54.fotki.com/v104/photos/3/1279813/10237619/IMG_0625-vi.jpg[

So its the v-tec that opens earlier then the rest and not becoz of the machine or the system that makes its fuel consumption higher. and other then that anything that is diff? and can a spec 2 put on a spec 3 tail? thanks for the update.

Edited by isureforget

other than that internals are the same. the rest are the looks of it. yes, you can put spec3 tail on a spec2 with some modification.

Hello all,

I have just bought a 2003 Honda CB400 Version S here in Hanoi, Vietnam. This is my first real bike I have owned( scooters aside), and though I was looking to buy a Honda FTR ( I have recently driven one through Northern Laos..trip report to follow) I went for the CB for 2 reasons: I just loved it after the test drive, and for some reason the FTR is about a $1000 USD more than the CB and I can't understand why being such a simpler bike. I understand these 2 bikes are apples and oranges but I do want to do some touring with the bike, and the CB is a lot more interesting day to day for me.

Now my question is, does anyone have any tips or experience they can share with touring on a CB type bike? I am getting a custom rack made to attach 2 side boxes and thinking of getting 2 tires with a different thread ( meaning changing the sport biased tires for something that can handle varied conditions). Naturally I am planning on keeping in on tarmac, but in Vietnam you never know what the roads are going to be like and driving on the gravel shoulder is quite normal when 3 buses are passing each other in the on coming lane.

I am not an experienced rider or very knowledgeable in bikes but I am doing my research and would like to get your opinions on making the CB a reasonable tourer for tarmac and the unforeseen stuff that occurs. I will be heading to BKK at the end of April so I am hoping to pick up some parts while there and see what is available. Any suggestions for places in Bkk to look? I also need to get equipped with proper riding gear and some boots ( this is the first thing, I think) and any recommendations are really appreciated.

Thank you from Hanoi.

Great Forum, I've learned a lot about my CB here !!

other than that internals are the same. the rest are the looks of it. yes, you can put spec3 tail on a spec2 with some modification.

yeap agreeable..but pls pls dont fix it at everbright..the promises can last forever!

how much do you guys think I shud expect for the insurance of a 10 year old spec1? I am 25years old.

function of timing chain:

The timing chain runs from the crankshaft to the camshaft to run the cam at 1/2 the speed of the crank. This is because a four-stroke engine requires two revolutions of the engine to perform all four strokes: suck, squeeze, bang, blow. A combination of piston movement and valve position determines what will take place on each stroke.
anybody know what adjusting timing chain for? And how much?

Don't quite understand your question? Are you asking "how much does it cost to adjust timing chain?".

If that is it...the answer is that the timing chain or camchain need no adjustment..its auto adjust and via a apir tensionser slippers inside the engine.

The rest has been answered by Dragonforce.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!