Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 1 2004, 12:09 PM

I see. Then you could have talked to me. That's why I encourage people to come and view my bike first. There's only so much to be communicated over PM and sms.

My buyer viewed and like it, and I went through the options with him. He actually found it very convenient and easy to get a loan with Hitachi Credit and interest is only 5.25%. Last Thu he submitted the form, this Thu he can give the cheque to me liao. And monthly instalment is less than $200.

Reloans from bikeshops are usually 10%. Thus never worth it.

The main thing with local riders is that everything must go through bikeshops. Wanna buy a screw, they also go through bikeshop. They think that anything to do with bikes, must go through bike shops. That's not true.

My home-made undertail is a combi of materials from hardware stores, and handicraft shops. Nothing from bikeshop.

Oh I did check with Hitachi. You'll be surprised to hear that I dun qualify with them for:

1. I'm too young (23 is too young? :giddy: )

2. I haven't werk for more than a year (I have. Its just that I started a new job, so according to them, they want to have CPF statments and payslips for a year of the new job. I'm on the new job for only a month)

Kinda odd, isn't it? Actually called and went down personally but thats what they told me twice....

• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 1 2004, 12:12 PM

what's the issue with your headlight? Tot its fixed?

Dropped it twice so far?? That's an expensive habit. Make sure sliders is first on your shopping list, dude. You wun regret it.

Sliders on the way! Top of the shopping list....

The 2 times I dropped it were rather silly.

1. Parked it at JB to buy some groceries for my mum. When I was getting home, I stood to its right (mistake #1) and checked that the gear was on neutral (mistake #2). Clutch in, started the bike, released the clutch, somehow or rather, the bike slipped into 1st and jerked forward. Since I was on the right side, there was no chance of catching it before it fell. Damage: clutch lever snapped off at the tip & some minor scratches at the bottom. Thank God for a passerby who helped me lift the bike up.

2. Brought my fiance for breakfast. As I leaving the bike parking bay to pick her up, I moved off from a stop at a low speed coz I had to make a sharp turn to the left. Oddly enuff, the clutch somewhat engaged although I had released it 3/4 way. Throttling didn;t move the bike. I lost balance and bike fell to the left. This time, neck-high in embarrassment, I lifted the bike on my own (I dropped it right within view of the coffeeshop). Lesson learnt: BBDC method of lifting bikes dun werk unless your bike has an engine guard and is empty of petrol. Instead, lift with one hand on the handle and the other on the rear chassis. Lift upwards, not push upwards.

The headlights finally got somewhat fixed today. The electrician said the connector and wiretip seemed to have burnt out. So he cut the end and spliced the wires directly to each other. So far ok. But if I leave the bike off for more than 10 minutes, the lights will not switch on. Have to tap the wires to start it. Will check tomorrow morning again (I just got the service manual today. This calls for late night studies...) Still think I might need to invest in a whole rewiring job. But that'll be later a bit.

Guest Reddevil76

If you are having problems with that hydraulic clutch, dun bother to fix it. It's just a bloody headache. Look at the clutch fluid reservoir, is the fluid black? If it is, you can try bleeding it and I can tell you it'll be back again.

Just change over to a TLS clutch cable system. Much better feel in launching off too.

Since you have the manual, just trace the wiring for the headlight alone. Sometimes its just frayed at one point. That's why when you tap it works, cos sometimes it loosens and somehow tapping puts it back in contact again.

Are your bulbs original or those ah beng white lights ones? The TLR does not like aftermarket bulbs from alot of people's experience.

Maybe we (TL riders) should meet up someday and exchange a few pointers..think this would be an advantage to all of us esp. when there are so few TL riders..:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

how much will the TLS system cost?

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 2 2004, 08:36 PM

no prob with me. Maybe tomorrow or day after?

I'm prolly sending in my bike for servicing and repair on Friday.

No bike for the weekend....

isolated the cause of the "loose" fourth gear?

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by kish_garfield@Mar 2 2004, 08:39 PM

how much will the TLS system cost?

You will need:

- TLS clutch lever

- Clutch cable

- Actuator

- Push rod

- Spring

And also need to cut off the front portion of your front sprocket cover.

All in all, slightly above 100 in parts. And lotsa labor. Because the TLS clutch lever assembly mount is a one-piece rather than two-piece like the TLR, so the left side balancer, grip, and controls must be off the clip on for you to slip the clutch lever assembly on. With no air gun to get the grip off, it's damn frustrating.

next you must remove the entire airbox to remove the original clutch line, and route the new line.

Cutting the sprocket cover will take some time too. cut abit, fit and see, then cut more if necessary.

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 3 2004, 12:30 PM

You will need:

- TLS clutch lever

- Clutch cable

- Actuator

- Push rod

- Spring

And also need to cut off the front portion of your front sprocket cover.

All in all, slightly above 100 in parts. And lotsa labor. Because the TLS clutch lever assembly mount is a one-piece rather than two-piece like the TLR, so the left side balancer, grip, and controls must be off the clip on for you to slip the clutch lever assembly on. With no air gun to get the grip off, it's damn frustrating.

next you must remove the entire airbox to remove the original clutch line, and route the new line.

Cutting the sprocket cover will take some time too. cut abit, fit and see, then cut more if necessary.

the hydrolic clutch of this TLr is damn tiring wheneva there's a jam in town or at the customs

good investment for some

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 4 2004, 08:26 AM

1 good thing about the tough clutch grips...

They act like those exercise hand-grips, build up muscles...

hahahahahah!

So, you haven't enlighten us what the bike shop is doing regarding your loose 4th gear problem?

wildcard, urs is blue n white TLR?

where ya boughtthe bike from?

Guest Reddevil76

TLR owners! Check Garage Sales for sale of front seat base, block off plates, quick release kit, and jack up foot rest plates!

hey guyz...how abt a TL riders gathering??:smile:

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

so FAR

1) zx4

2) kish

3) Wildcard

anymore???

i was thinking can get more maybe 5 or more any1???

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Mar 5 2004, 10:08 PM

so FAR

1) zx4

2) kish

3) Wildcard

anymore???

i was thinking can get more maybe 5 or more any1???

MAYBE NOT ALOT OF TL RIDERS KNOW ABOUT THIS THING LAH...LETS JUST GIVE THIS A COUPLE MORE DAYS MAN!!!

:smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:

SHOEI..U COMING ?? :cheeky:

1)ZX4

2)KISH

3)WILDCARD

Went to MotorX once and saw them sellin this 4T specially for V-twins...dunno got tok c*** anot..i thought engine oil dam standard ....anyone care to comment??

Originally posted by zx4@Mar 5 2004, 10:56 PM

Went to MotorX once and saw them sellin this 4T specially for V-twins...dunno got tok c*** anot..i thought engine oil dam standard ....anyone care to comment??

yah i saw that too.but i feel that im used to using motul oil liao.so lazy to make a change,...

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

bros. it depends on how much you care for your bike, your preferences and your budget.

For my Steed (a V-twin oso) I used SPC semi-synth. But I'm xiao enuff to change it every 2 months.

wah lan the one i saw amsoil i think for v twin. 20 bucks per bot!!!! i think most impt still ratin 10w40.

listing gets longer!!!hhahaha

1)zx4

2)wildcard

3)kish

4)shoei

hoping for more.

anyway i will be going to ipoh this april. follow others. trying to conquer 2ice the dist i covered last time. any advice????

1) malacca 300+/- km

2) ipoh 700 - 800 km

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

which bike tiams do u all patronise??

Originally posted by zx4@Mar 8 2004, 02:27 PM

which bike tiams do u all patronise??

Depends on what you want to do with the bike.

For me,

Minor jobs (oil change, brake pads, coolant, spark plugs) I go my regular motortiam Leong Seng (a.k.a. CycleLink at Alex. Village)

Major jobs (like my current gearbox replacement) I'm trying out Kallang Cycle. See how the workmanship is like. If good and worth the money I put in, may make it a regular workshop.

well for me when i was riding 2A, mine was mah agencies.first class treatment and service compare to most bike shop i got to.

but when i got the TL i went to HKL cause their prices are cheaper n ok service depends on the mechanic u get. HKL only got 2 good once. one is aloof so i went to the other one. very friendly but most of time he is busy.

When i can afford it, will go back to mah agency i think. have not seen them for 6 mths. miss them.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS