Okie before I get blasted for opening this sort of comparison for what bike i plan to get I will state wat I do know from reading this section of the forums

1.600cc less maintenance (tires/fc/)

2.600cc cheaper road tax + insurance

3.wasted if never use full potential of 1000cc(i doubt this would apply to me)

(a)most of the replies to threads other ppl opened were very general... can someone be more specific ? Insurance cost difference of 600cc vs 1000cc is approx? For a rider > 26.

(b) Road tax difference = ?

© Machine price difference between the 3 bikes = ?? n usual otr price = ?

(d) Resale value if i ever want to sell yamaha > suzuki ?

cause basically i am posting this cause i do not want to get a 600cc then regret if i get tied down to a brand new bike then realize i want a 1000cc.And also i can start planning my finances better.

best is if someone who has experience with the above mentioned bikes reply lah =)

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2A-GSXR400(SCRAPPED),ZXR400(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

http://www.1000ps.at/magazin/yamaha/yamaha_r1_8gross.jpg

• Replies 17

i've rode r1 '03 from 2003-2006 & r6 '06 from 2006-2007 before.

last time insurance very cheap. hence i bought the 1000cc.

now premiums are higher.

also yamaha premiums cost more. not to mention the original consumables like air / oil filter are priced higher than suzuki.

my current 2yr old busa insurance premium is $760 before NCD.

part of the reason why i sold off the R6 was becoz the premium was almost the same for a brand new Busa in the year 2008.

u can calculate the road tax amt from LTA website.

fyi, 1300cc 1yr tax is $392.

i would say R6/R1/GSXR1 maintainance almost same.

tires are same size, either 190/60 or 180/55 for rear.

for long chain/sprocket lifespan, fix scottoiler.

if i remember correct, rider 27yrs to 30yrs old, enjoy lower insurance premium. once u hit 31yrs old, there's no loading fee for insurance.

oh, bike's age also play a role.

0-3yrs old, the premium should be cheaper each year unless there's a big premium hike across the board.

u can go down to ntuc income centre, get an insurance quotation on the spot. :)

or if u noe any frenz in vehicle insurance, they can help u also.

for bike prices, i have no idea.

resale value is very subjective.

some pple say R1 easier to sell compare to R6.

some say otherwise.

actually u should ask urself, wats the main reason on getting a big bike?

imo, 1000cc is less tiring when u go touring.

but den again, sport bike riding posture will 'break ur back'..

its not too frenly to ur back, wrists, neck.

anybody can ride a powerful bike safely..

jz learn to handle the bike first. get to noe it better.

dun juz see straight road, throttle open. ;)

'90 DT200RR | '95 Skipper 125 | '94 RXZ 135 | '99 WRE 125 | '80 Super 150 | '99 KTM200EGS

'91 NC30 | '00 GN250EY | '03 YZF-R1 | '00 Y125Z | '04 X-1 | '06 R6

'07 GSX1300R

PC3USB | Ti-Force Sumo | BMC Race | Discacciati | Swage | Venhill | ZG | Motovation | Ariete | Michelin PilotRoad 2 | SPY Alarm

Thanks for the reply bro, really do appreciate it. Managed to learn quite a bit regarding costs from your reply.

For me im considering sports bikes cause I really do like the riding posture (really fun/safe to play corners and I am used to the backbreaking posture; owned a krr into a gsxr/zxr) :D

im getting old i guess lolz now 26, i plan to ride sports bikes till abt 35 or so then prolly tune down to a sportstourer (blackbird etc).

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

hi bro m facing the same dilemma too.. i m considering between honda cbr1000cc and 600cc, r6 or 61 , or suzuki 1000cc , 750 cc or 600cc.. taking class 2 n wanna buy class 2 bikes so wanna tink wisely. btw m 23 yrs old.. from wat i see is that suzuki bikes are cheaper n second is honda. donno whether which spec is better in anyways.

Just BEcause I fOllOw The speed LIMIT DoesnT mEan i am slow!!

Always follow your heart and wallet.. If you follow advise rather than your own feelings, theres a tendency of lil regret..

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Siggy/CrossOver.jpg

|| YAMAHA || HONDA || YAMAHA || YAMAHA ||

Yamaha runs in the blood

haha true bro. but the prices seem reasonable n close for the 600cc for the three brands. honda, suzuki and yamaha. tink m considering 600cc. any suggestions? cos neva rode them b4.

get the 1k cc if ur wallet allows ... maintainence not much diff i guess only insurance n road tax .

im not sure abt this but this is what i gather

mid range power- suzuki pawns

outlook- r1/r6

top end power- kawasaki

handling/ bullet proof engine = honda

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

what u lookin for ? for me a clas2 power i can never fully utilize it so i would just go for the one i like mosst and of cos outlook . how old are u btw? :)

26 o.O

i juz dont want to get a 600 then kena smoked by a liter bike then regret getting a 600 in the first place :D

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

26 o.O

i juz dont want to get a 600 then kena smoked by a liter bike then regret getting a 600 in the first place :D

What are yr intentions of riding a sport-bike ?? NSHW blaster / Poster / Track / Touring ??? Different kind of bike for different purpose .... A 1L bike can do most of everything , but are u comfortable with the insurance & rd tax n instalment when that mth arrived?? Also different brand of bike , different character n power ... Hope all these can help ...

http://star.walagata.com/w/selphie/Picture2_0_1.JPG
26 o.O

Seems like d i c k waving is your top priority. Nothing short of a Hayabusa will do. :angel:

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Seems like d i c k waving is your top priority. Nothing short of a Hayabusa will do. :angel:

Haha, personally just enjoy speed + playing corners >.>

My 400cc suzuki gsxr i pushed to 230km++ n messed it up really bad Conrods/pistons/block all damaged beyond repair...

Thing I noticed is that craploads of white smoke was puffing out from engine n pipe.

I just want to get a bike that wont break down when being rode at high speeds for prolonged periods of time + stability when executing high speed corners.

Isn’t a hayabusa a bike which dominates the straights only after a while?

Pick up wise a 600 / liter bikes should out accelerate a hayabusa from a drag of 0- 150km/h right?

Top end speed of hayabusa should be highest but the bike seems to be really low, can a person do high speed, low corners on such a bike?

Intentions of riding sports bike- high speed adrenaline rushes on Malaysian roads so I won’t revoke my licenses lolz

Price wise it would be cheaper to get a liter bike which can last rather than a 600 then regret then upgrade again. Only thing is I believe down a bit more so monthly instalments are manageable o.O

Tec u mentioned …Also different brand of bike, different character n power ...

Care to share differences between a gixxer 1000 n an r1 of year 2005 model ? :cheeky:

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

true bro money wise.. r6 2010 look damn nice .haha. but gixxer 600cc k9 is on sale at asphoon. for 100cc r1 or k9 ex but manageable. cbr1000cc the new one, the outlook dont appear nice to me. prefer the old one. nicer with pipe under the seat. i wanna buy a second hand class 2 bike but m afraid with no warranty the repairs might be expensive.. hmm dilemma. worst comes to worst i might just take the gixxer 600 at 20k. excluding insurance. fyi r6 2010 is at 22500. everything in except insurance n interest. from as phoon. haizz. dilemma

Gsxr 1000 k7-k9 4-2-2 exhaust looks damn ugly in my opinion

I’m still in love with k5/k6 gsxr1000 :D [178 hp/ 11,000 rpm = yummy ]

Add power commander + akra pipe just for more spice o.O

If buy 2nd hand from shop got warranty? if buy then got conrod / piston problems would feel damn fked up sia repairs will be a bomb :/

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

true bro. for my opinion buying class 2 betta buy first hand. if nt the repair cost might give u headache.. hmm