Dress for the fall, not for the ride...a compelling perspective

Last night, I was riding on a straight road along IMM (my left side). The vehicles opposite wanted to turn right into IMM and didn't even bothered to stop and just sweeped through... worse still. Halfway till he was turning, he noticed I was coming straight.. so guess what?? He jammed brake blocking the road! I also e-braked :faint:

Almost crashed into him and become superman :nono:

Wearing T-shirt with open face... shlt...

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

• Replies 121

Last night, I was riding on a straight road along IMM (my left side). The vehicles opposite wanted to turn right into IMM and didn't even bothered to stop and just sweeped through... worse still. Halfway till he was turning, he noticed I was coming straight.. so guess what?? He jammed brake blocking the road! I also e-braked :faint:

Almost crashed into him and become superman :nono:

Wearing T-shirt with open face... shlt...

did you ball go to your mouth?? :cheeky::cheeky::cheeky:

Not yet :smile:

When I'm on the road, I have a weird set of thinking. I imagine everyone is trying to kill me in any possible way... so I usually try to anticipate what might happen and practice restrain on the throttle and get ready to brake in uncomfortable situations... as our friendly neighbourhood spidey always say "with great power, comes great responsilities" :angel: Haha.. so crappy

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

Those who wan face alot.. sure dont dare to wear a ff.. some AI SUI MAI MIA (want pretty but dun wan life) lyk my fren.. so sian de.. i lent my fren ff.. he said wear liao will paiseh.. cos not riding those sport bike.. it seems alot ppl thinks lyk that too.. but its really damm crap!!..

I thinking of getting Airbag mesh jackets.. Any idea isit worth it thn the padded racing jackets?

@Predestined: I posted my impressions about the air bag jackets sometime bag. Please note that this evaluation was done in May 2009. I was assured in email that the company that brings these into SG were going through a big change then and that things are very different now (for the better). So have a read about my thoughts on the jacket and then go take a look to see if they fit what you are looking for.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=239136

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

ups for the TS. thanks for raising this awareness. and i do feel more and more riders are more aware of riding gear safety.. just coughed up a couple of hundreds myself this week to invest in some gears. sure-win investment!

Definately. You have just invested on LOVING yourself more. :thumb: good for you.

I'm really happy to hear that! :smile: Good for you! :thumb:

It's an investment that you'll never regret making!

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

any recommendations for lady riders on where to buy these? motoworld as well? any small FF that can fit into small box?

motoworld has jackets, gloves, pants n FF.

got ladies sizes as well, but variety not v wide..

FF all are BIG n bulky, even if u buy size XS or S, it is maybe just a little smaller then their L or XL siblings.

whether can put into box or not, depends on wat box lah..

@NaTsuMi: wah...first time seeing a post from you. i've seen people store FF in boxes before...but not sure about what box you have on your orange stunner :p

just go to the usual shops for jacket. motoworld, chiap lee, regina, chong aik...i'm sure you will be able to find some ladies jackets.

i own a cub, to ride with a FF is a "just for laugh" on the streets man

well tts ur decision man...

but dun be surprised if someday u see other cub rider using one..dont wait for things to happen to start taking precautions...speaking from experience...:angel:

Those Who Don't Know Pain

Can Never Know True Peace

@NaTsuMi: wah...first time seeing a post from you. i've seen people store FF in boxes before...but not sure about what box you have on your orange stunner :p

just go to the usual shops for jacket. motoworld, chiap lee, regina, chong aik...i'm sure you will be able to find some ladies jackets.

I have not been here for quite a while until a fren got into an accident last week ... came here to search for info on his acc ... found nothing

Aniway I have tried to put a Nolan 102/3 flip up but cannot close box :( I have an Arai jacket but way too bulky to stuff it anywhere in my baobei ... so ...

i own a cub, to ride with a FF is a "just for laugh" on the streets man

no such thing as inappropriate helmet for the ride

it's the rider not the ride :)

Grounded... :/

up for the ts. sorry i'm reviving an old thread.

In the event of an accident, no matter what bike you are riding, I believe it will still be the same end result. Some people say they will get better riding gears when they get a bigger cc bike in the future but think about this, crashing at 90km/hr on a 125cc and a 1000cc bike got any difference? sure same result leh.

anyway, anyone has any recommendations for a mesh jacket with back protector? a good reliable one.

it depends on how u crash..

if big bike, generally the brakes are better. so u could have did the last min braking before u actually lose control.

since bigger bikes more stable, with better brakes, wider & bigger sized tires, u have better chances of scrubbing off the speed before u actually ditch the bike.

one good example. u compare vespa, modern 2b bike and class 2 bike.

the vespa would be the first to crash. or if u didnt crash, the stopping distance would be the furthest.

coz it has non-existant front brake. with the engine sitting on the right, the weight is not biased, u step on the rear brake, it may skid, and i cnfm with u the bike will instantly start to do sideways slide aka drifting. (i kena before, lucky i didnt fall).

almost all modern 2b bike would have front/rear disc brake.

u would better chances to slow down.

and lastly, bigger cc bikes have better braking compared to the previous 2.

'90 DT200RR | '95 Skipper 125 | '94 RXZ 135 | '99 WRE 125 | '80 Super 150 | '99 KTM200EGS

'91 NC30 | '00 GN250EY | '03 YZF-R1 | '00 Y125Z | '04 X-1 | '06 R6

'07 GSX1300R

PC3USB | Ti-Force Sumo | BMC Race | Discacciati | Swage | Venhill | ZG | Motovation | Ariete | Michelin PilotRoad 2 | SPY Alarm

a fall is a fall...regardless.

that's very true.a bigger bike will have better brakes.braking distance will be shorten.but in some instances, you wouldn't even have time to think,let even brake.what if u were hit from behind by some drunk crazy driver.or some car that had beaten the red light(think about the b@st@ard from Romania) so good brake or no good brake, u would still be seriously injured. Riding gear can protect u to a certain extent but it would not make u invincible. Injuries will definitely be reduced.

up for the ts. sorry i'm reviving an old thread.

In the event of an accident, no matter what bike you are riding, I believe it will still be the same end result. Some people say they will get better riding gears when they get a bigger cc bike in the future but think about this, crashing at 90km/hr on a 125cc and a 1000cc bike got any difference? sure same result leh.

anyway, anyone has any recommendations for a mesh jacket with back protector? a good reliable one.

i've been using a komine mesh jacket with CE approved armour..got it from another forummer for 100 bucks which is bout half the price of a brand new one and it feels great wearing it...in fact i feel naked without it

it depends on how u crash..

if big bike, generally the brakes are better. so u could have did the last min braking before u actually lose control.

since bigger bikes more stable, with better brakes, wider & bigger sized tires, u have better chances of scrubbing off the speed before u actually ditch the bike.

one good example. u compare vespa, modern 2b bike and class 2 bike.

the vespa would be the first to crash. or if u didnt crash, the stopping distance would be the furthest.

coz it has non-existant front brake. with the engine sitting on the right, the weight is not biased, u step on the rear brake, it may skid, and i cnfm with u the bike will instantly start to do sideways slide aka drifting. (i kena before, lucky i didnt fall).

almost all modern 2b bike would have front/rear disc brake.

u would better chances to slow down.

and lastly, bigger cc bikes have better braking compared to the previous 2.

so to answer dotless' question, i guess the smaller cc bikes should have more reason to wear PPE rather than use it as an excuse to delay having it till they upgrade to a bigger bike

i've been using a komine mesh jacket with CE approved armour..got it from another forummer for 100 bucks which is bout half the price of a brand new one and it feels great wearing it...in fact i feel naked without it

so to answer dotless' question, i guess the smaller cc bikes should have more reason to wear PPE rather than use it as an excuse to delay having it till they upgrade to a bigger bike

yes! no delay! big bike or small bike, its all the same!

a fall is a fall...regardless.

exactly! btw, your post and blog was very interesting. well done! hmm, the 1200bucks on the receipt was in SG dollars or??