yest, me and 3 of my frens were stopped by a neigbourhood police car for no apparent reason.. after taking down particulars and all tt crap, we were all issued various summons. i received 1 for riding with my mirrors closed and alteration of P-plate. all i did to it was cut off the white edges... grr.. now i want to know if there is really a valid summon as: 1) its a patrol car with a regular policeman, 2) there was no slip of paper or anything given.. he even told me the fine for my mirror was $70 and i woul receive 6 points for alteration of p-plate.. is allthis true?

thanking all brudderz....

• Replies 30

Originally posted by paithorn@Nov 18 2006, 06:02 PM

you sure he is neighbourhood patrol car?

they cannot summon you for traffic offences, i am very sure....

yar confirm patrol car.. all in blueuniform sumore the car gt the word police so big.. :cry: i ask him he say frm cck npc sumore...

I'm wondering what were you doing to illicit such attention from him.

Its a hassle to go through all the paperwork to forward it to the Traffic Police Department to processs the summons.

Why ride with mirrors closed in any case? Makes your bike more aerodynamic?

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3506/3466942491_3c2e673ece_o.jpg

they can catch for anything they want.. its weather they want to or not.. i think it was just your bad day. and i think for alteration of p plate u will get a warning you will get a 120$ fine for the first time.. 2nd time licence revoke.. (if i'm not wrong).. take care. its just p plate.

Will I be ALIVE tomorrow,

____I don\'t know______

Not all TP cars come in Volvo, BMW, WRX, those are usually known as expressway patrol. TP can come in normal Toyota, Subaru.. etc as the so called normal patrol car we know of, usually without the regional prints on the doors (e.g "Bukit Panjang", "Ang Mo Kio North" etc).

Originally posted by stan_lemieux@Nov 18 2006, 07:09 PM

Can have extra 2bhp ?

I think probably this attract their attention, so since they stop you already, just also summon you for modify p-plate.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by tamiltiger88@Nov 18 2006, 07:02 PM

yar confirm patrol car.. all in blueuniform sumore the car gt the word police so big.. :cry: i ask him he say frm cck npc sumore...

blue uniform can be TP...only the motorcycle officers don the whites....

the giveaway is the NPC shown on the patrol car...

only TP can book traffic offences.... traffic police is a special ops to the police force...

I wonder why 2b bike like KR, SP etc like to haf their mirror closed? Make it run faster?

Originally posted by 6.5rpm@Nov 18 2006, 10:53 PM

I wonder why 2b bike like KR, SP etc like to haf their mirror closed? Make it run faster?

It's not closed.

That equipment is called a vanity mirror. Makes riders feel good about themselves :cheeky:

(Kidding!)

Originally posted by tamiltiger88@Nov 18 2006, 05:26 PM

yest, me and 3 of my frens were stopped by a neigbourhood police car for no apparent reason.. after taking down particulars and all tt crap, we were all issued various summons. i received 1 for riding with my mirrors closed and alteration of P-plate. all i did to it was cut off the white edges... grr.. now i want to know if there is really a valid summon as: 1) its a patrol car with a regular policeman, 2) there was no slip of paper or anything given.. he even told me the fine for my mirror was $70 and i woul receive 6 points for alteration of p-plate.. is allthis true?

thanking all brudderz....

so its four bike that were stop together??....

All P-plated riders??

Wat bike r u guy riding?? :confused:

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

Originally posted by stan_lemieux@Nov 18 2006, 07:09 PM

I'm wondering what were you doing to illicit such attention from him.

Its a hassle to go through all the paperwork to forward it to the Traffic Police Department to processs the summons.

tts the best part.. we were BEHIND him.. and i dun think any of us even hit up to 4th gear before getting stopped.. and i have really sucky mirrors.. they reflect my own face other than wats behind me... then still vibrate...

Originally posted by tamiltiger88@Nov 19 2006, 01:04 AM

tts the best part.. we were BEHIND him.. and i dun think any of us even hit up to 4th gear before getting stopped.. and i have really sucky mirrors.. they reflect my own face other than wats behind me... then still vibrate...

NP401 can be issued to you by any police officers on patrol if they think you had created an offences.My advised to you is to appeal to TP if you had received the letter of summon by post.

nx time p - plate cut smaller.... .............:sian:

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/MetalSlug1.gif http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/2505572364771cf7370558.gif

One life ~~ One love ~~ One United.

ε(â—̃•̃)з Ù©(à¹à¹)Û¶ Ù©(â—̃•̃)Û¶

they didnt realize the importance of the mirrors... Maybe one they they will understand...

I'm a cantankerous lugubrious weirdo. Enraptured by stone walls. Demented by love. Disparaged by my own soul. Besieged by languor. Suffered from acute distress triggered by terminal boredom and elucidation of rhodonderons and deciduous seedlings. Searched for serenity amidst the chaos but failed miserably.

Originally posted by katana777@Nov 19 2006, 10:02 AM

it is strange that alot of 2B bikes love to close their mirrors, didnt c any class 2bikes fold their mirrors except for tracks

maybe 2B bike treat singapore roads as tracks?

it is the rider that wan to fold the mirrors. nothing to do with class. all i can say is not all class 2b fold their mirrors and not all class 2 dun fold theirs too.

in sg, sound fast look fast is enough. run fast fine fast die fast.

i got 2b bike but i didnt close my mirrors heh heh..one of my fren riding cl2 bike close her mirror everytime.she said when lights shine @ her in de mirror,it glares her.. o_O

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Bottomline is, if one is prepared to do stupid things (i.e. fold mirror, cut p-plate etc), then one must be prepared to be fined for stupid reasons too (i.e. fold mirror, cut p-plate).

I mean there's really nothing to complain/whine about. You mean you don't know its illegal? Well, at least now you know.

Originally posted by quikslvr@Nov 19 2006, 01:38 PM

i got 2b bike but i didnt close my mirrors heh heh..one of my fren riding cl2 bike close her mirror everytime.she said when lights shine @ her in de mirror,it glares her.. o_O

The glaring part is Lame.... :cheeky:

Anyway, I think its really all about the rider.

Folding of mirror's make them feel "Stylo" !!!

Speeding is the No.1 ROAD KILLER...... U may kill the road......

i muz admit that i can't live without mirrors being fold open..

i had an incident whereby both my mirrors are stolen (for duno wat reason it is) and i went to the nearest NPC to report.. i kept looking back for fear that a veh may juz overtake me and i bang into him.. :giddy:

mirrors save lives!!! :D

Originally posted by katana777@Nov 19 2006, 10:02 AM

it is strange that alot of 2B bikes love to close their mirrors, didnt c any class 2bikes fold their mirrors except for tracks

maybe 2B bike treat singapore roads as tracks?

Maybe..Or maybe just maybe the mirrors they open also cannt see behind..Coz not stock mirrors..Ahaha..Anyway can mod it so can turn more..And about the glaring thing..I've experienced it too many times so I just tile my mirror a bit ower so want to check mirror bring head a bit lower..The glare is very painful..After a "good" glare you are somehow blinded for a few secs especially when riding at night..And that is even more dangerous IMO..When I park I fold my mirrors coz got one incident just got my mirrors for two days some idiot knock it off..Now its cracked but still can use so I use la..Ahaha..Maybe another reason why they fold mirrors also? Then orget to open when move off? Ahaha..