ah-pek... if you see me... you roughly know that i'm looking for you lao.. haha

you see... before I do por15.. because of my fuel tank leak... my fuel meter still can work as per normal.. but after doing the por15... as my petrol go lower... my fuel meter still showing got about 4/5 tank full..

any idea why??:shades:

treat you :popcorn: eat then you can slowly think... :D

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/asset.php?fid=279659&uid=24812&d=1407032960
  • Replies 18.1k

i've read about cdi, i've heard about cdi, but is really the function of this CDI? the 'heart of the bike'.:confused:

:confused: ...hmmmm...don't know what you read or heard and still don't understand its function..may be you are reading the wrong stuff like "CDI" - Crime Department Investigation :lol: ...just kidding.

Ok..short and sweet..I skip the details. Just know that the output from a CDI ignition module is a short high voltage pulse to the coil. This pulse is from normally about 250-500volts. The CDI coil acts like a transformer and steps the voltage even higher..up in ratio voltage of 100:1. Example a 250v be crank up to an output 25,000v.:giddy: CDI can kill..don't play play..ask Germit Singh :angel:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Ah Pek, do you know if it is possible to use the PB1 CDI on Ver S?

If it is possible, den dun need to do the speed cut bypass already. :p

Depend on how you look at it. I know that your spark plug iginition coil is red and PB1 is black. There may be a difference in copper wire winding wounds count...not sure yours or mine is better. Thus this...I believe the output pluse from each version of CDI are likely different. Things should work but not each to its designated potential.

As for power cut solution...I think this is not the way its can be solve, Nothing to that wht the CDI is all about. But like most other bikes..I believe there is a wire that you can 'cut' or disconnect that deactivate or rather make the power cut of cct null. See if their is a yellow/black coloured coded wire..this is what I know from another make of bike but may not apply...then again..could be a "unviversal" thingy from CDI manufacturer. Plse, I don't recommend but just for curosity..do it at your own risk.

I think the number and letters in white printed on our CDI are different. I see all PB1 have the same and saw one version S which is different. The difference may be for output pulse voltage to the uginition spark coils.

ya lor ah pek.. if ur cdi can works on my vtec den i can run 16 valve all the time liao ..

LOL!..can work but nothing to do with 16 valves..if you want to stay in vtec mode all the time or running at 16 valves..you have to locate the oil pressure detector and make it detect that its above 6K rpm all the time.

Try lor..you may be an inventor of a very successful product.."make vtec bike non vtec"...LOL!

ah-pek... if you see me... you roughly know that i'm looking for you lao.. haha

you see... before I do por15.. because of my fuel tank leak... my fuel meter still can work as per normal.. but after doing the por15... as my petrol go lower... my fuel meter still showing got about 4/5 tank full..

any idea why??:shades:

treat you :popcorn: eat then you can slowly think... :D

Hmmmm....looks like your electrical fuel switch unit (sensor) siao_liao!..likely the Por15 has chemically affected the material of this sensor or womething like that. Anyway..I think can be replace one lah.

Hmmmm....looks like your electrical fuel switch unit (sensor) siao_liao!..likely the Por15 has chemically affected the material of this sensor or womething like that. Anyway..I tjionk can be replace one lah.

replace?? siao lao lor.. sure expensive right?? but i suddenly notice that my fuel tank inside got additional thing.. something black and big... like a hot dog.. haha

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/asset.php?fid=279659&uid=24812&d=1407032960
something black and big... like a hot dog.. haha

Hope yours is still in your pants though..if its not a "boquet" (sp?)...its must be yours lor...LOL!

Depend on how you look at it. I know that your spark plug iginition coil is red and PB1 is black. There may be a difference in copper wire winding wounds count...not sure yours or mine is better. Thus this...I believe the output pluse from each version of CDI are likely different. Things should work but not each to its designated potential.

As for power cut solution...I think this is not the way its can be solve, Nothing to that wht the CDI is all about. But like most other bikes..I believe there is a wire that you can 'cut' or disconnect that deactivate or rather make the power cut of cct null. See if their is a yellow/black coloured coded wire..this is what I know from another make of bike but may not apply...then again..could be a "unviversal" thingy from CDI manufacturer. Plse, I don't recommend but just for curosity..do it at your own risk.

I think the number and letters in white printed on our CDI are different. I see all PB1 have the same and saw one version S which is different. The difference may be for output pulse voltage to the uginition spark coils.

There is a way to bypass the power cut. I have posted a link some posts back on how it can be done.

It is a very simple job, but workshops charge us a lot of money for this.:dot:

Anyway I am just curious of the possibility of using PB1's CDi, but i guess from what you say it can't be done.

;) ;)

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

There is a way to bypass the power cut. I have posted a link some posts back on how it can be done.

It is a very simple job, but workshops charge us a lot of money for this.:dot:

Anyway I am just curious of the possibility of using PB1's CDi, but i guess from what you say it can't be done.

;) ;)

I'm only guessing but I have a spare if you want to try :) Let me know.

ahpek for the pass 3 morning.. i try to start my bike.. it took me abt 5-6 times to crank den it can start(most likely its a cold start).. after start, idling for less then 10mins it will die.. it took me a total of 15 mins.. to start to warm up my bike.. fuel consumption still the same.. only now felt like got no power leh.. hahakzz

:box: Lets just Ride & Have FUN!!! :cheer:
I'm only guessing but I have a spare if you want to try :) Let me know.

:D Dun want lah, later fry your CDI not so nice. They are quite expensive.

Thanks for your offer. :thumb: :thumb:

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

ahpek for the pass 3 morning.. i try to start my bike.. it took me abt 5-6 times to crank den it can start(most likely its a cold start).. after start, idling for less then 10mins it will die.. it took me a total of 15 mins.. to start to warm up my bike.. fuel consumption still the same.. only now felt like got no power leh.. hahakzz

1 more thing the fuel gauge needle its abit jumpy now.. tend to go up..sumtime it will juz remain on the Empty sign.. petrol full hor..

Can you tell me exactly what was the things you did the last visit at that bike shop you told me about:

1) Brand of eo use and what grade?

2) Did you change battery?

3) Has your carbs been service and tune before after you bought the bike?

4) What brand of spark plug use or change to?

5) Have you had your air filter clean or changed after you bought the bike?

6) Is that "idiling" screw of yours still very tight and like jammed like that?

7) Have you DIY anything after that services from the bike shop?

Your case is a minor problem but locating the problem may be tedious. May be liquid engineering need apply.

In the meantime..every morning before you start your bike..just open twist the throttle two to three times...then press the start button to fire up without turning throttle till bike engine starts...let me know if this works.

Hope yours is still in your pants though..if its not a "boquet" (sp?)...its must be yours lor...LOL!

finally!!!! is the stupid float that is put wrongly...

Stupid float :giddy: but clever motoiam ppl :bouncefire: ..:gun: ..and lagi clever Tim17...promoting you to "Tim18"..:clapping:

ah-pek.. thats so sacastic

"Sacastic"..."sarcastic" you meant...no lah..once awhile must play_play lmah..so boring. You the first person that has so much experiences with S4 Tank mah..may be should call you "Tank Man". You forgot earleir I was hunting for a 2nd tank for you and you went to do your own stuff without telling me. Can call me tank hunter liao :angel:

hahaha..im bored...

"Bored" ppl are very healthty and stress_free people...they usually have very long life. :bounce:

hi to all bros here...i just bought a version s recently..and i noticed a leakage arand my radiator area..how do i solve this??and is it true when changing EO for version s is only 3 bottles plus filter??thks...pls answer me

ah pek, my fc improve already! i think the last fulltank jialat because u added the fuel additive and ask me to whack that tank mah. now best already! nyeahahaha!

Good lor...one more tank would give you slightly more...LOL! If we ever meet again, I tell you where to buy :shades:

hi to all bros here...i just bought a version s recently..and i noticed a leakage arand my radiator area..how do i solve this??and is it true when changing EO for version s is only 3 bottles plus filter??thks...pls answer me

First you have to identify where EXACTLY its leaking. Do this by cleaning off all coolant stain residue around there first..then start your bike and let it run stationary for awhile to have the pressure build up in the cooling syetem. Now squat near the place you suspect and rev the throttle to higher rpm and look see for any sign of coolant oozing out. Look at likely places like the rubber hose that joined to the radiator tubing..it could be your radiator cab oso (have to take off your tank to see..or open up the cap when engine is cool and check the status fof the rubber air tight seal..should be soft and nimble).

3 bottles with filter change is okay. I know that some riders put in slighly less than what's recommended (I'm one of them)..this is to cater for slight volume in eo increasing as the vicosity thins out. That's what the bleeder tube from your air box is for.

"Sacastic"..."sarcastic" you meant...no lah..once awhile must play_play lmah..so boring. You the first person that has so much experiences with S4 Tank mah..may be should call you "Tank Man". You forgot earleir I was hunting for a 2nd tank for you and you went to do your own stuff without telling me. Can call me tank hunter liao :angel:

lol... so ah-pek... if got any tank problem cases... are you going to escalate it t me??