when is this? every sunday?

So far almost every Sunday...LOL! All very free to learn and love their bike's problem to be solve without getting chop_chop with golden parangs.:angel:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 18.1k

okay!

do you all meet up very often for kopi session?

since i stay hougang..so convenient.haha.

Anyway..I'm mostly there every Sunday for my usual morning Kopee lah. Want just come.

Don't get Version R..get a Ver S..check with astroboy..he got a reasonably good Ver S for sale.

Okay, will do. "astroboy88" rights?

So version S is better as compared to Version R?

Can you explain in layman terms :)

As Version S is a relatively old bike, can you guys guide me on the pointers to look out for in a used bike?

Thank you!

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

Hi, I know this question has been posted alot of times.

What are the main differences between S4 Version R, Version S and Spec I, II, III?

I only know that Version R and Version S do not have VTEC.

Do you guys think it's feasible to get a early plate like FN, FR Version R/Version S?

Is the engine made to last? And if there's a need of overhaul for S4, how much will it roughly costs?

What are the things to look out for in a used S4?

Thanks alot!

After reading throught this s4 non-vtec from page 1 until this page this what I know and also the last DIY session Ah pek taught me.

1. Version R is the first version of super four. I don't think you can find it around now. VerR, Proj Big, VerS, Vtec 1, 2, 3, Revo. Currently most FN, FP,FQ plates are proj Big and verS bikes. Proj Big bikes exhauts don't have the small part stick out of it while verS has. The diff from non-Vtec and Vtec is of cuz the Vtec which is like that power boost after certain rpm.

Vtec from 1, 2, 3 open up at different rpms, this one you have to check with the vtec guys already.

2. Proj Big and version S usually ar FN, FP, FQ plates like i already state at the top. The difference is not much only the size/weight of the bikes (from what i know, you have to ask ah pek). Those bikes are now COE bikes with means >10years. So most of the parts are old and if you get a bad bike, good lucky with finding and repairing it. But those bikes are hardy and work really well or why we non-vtec riders are still riding it and over the past 10+years pple are still riding superfour, there must be a reason.

3. Like i mentioned on top, super four has the best engine around. it's built to last, but this also must see how the previous owners take time to maintain the bikes. If you see Ah pek's bike, you will drool. You will not imagine it's a >10years bike man. Overhaulling a super four engine if really open up and change everything will cost 2k+ maybe more, depends on the damage. Just changing the engine block alone already cost $700+.

4. Things to look out for. I think the last 2 page or previous page hanxx is talking about it. Cos he bought a new verS and ask what to check for the bike. Most impt is to check for coolant pump, sounds from engine block, carbs then others must ask ah pek already. verS tend to be hot so coolant and coolant pump must be working. Or not like my coolant reservior, bad bad..

But for me when i bought my verS, it wasn't so bad. At least the previous owner takes "relative" care for the bike. But for me, i don't like a bike which is only so-so, i prefer good working condition. Cos i have bad time with my x1 which the other wack already then nv tell me anything and sell me the bike. I took almost 1.5k out redoing the bike then in the end really cannot take it le sell off. I rather spend the 1.5k slowly doing up the superfour.

After typing so long and ah pek sees this, he surely going to laugh at me. Like the chinese saying, "act big in front of someone bigger" I think it's like this.. haha.

After reading throught this s4 non-vtec from page 1 until this page this what I know and also the last DIY session Ah pek taught me.

1. Version R is the first version of super four. I don't think you can find it around now. VerR, Proj Big, VerS, Vtec 1, 2, 3, Revo. Currently most FN, FP,FQ plates are proj Big and verS bikes. Proj Big bikes exhauts don't have the small part stick out of it while verS has. The diff from non-Vtec and Vtec is of cuz the Vtec which is like that power boost after certain rpm.

Vtec from 1, 2, 3 open up at different rpms, this one you have to check with the vtec guys already.

2. Proj Big and version S usually ar FN, FP, FQ plates like i already state at the top. The difference is not much only the size/weight of the bikes (from what i know, you have to ask ah pek). Those bikes are now COE bikes with means >10years. So most of the parts are old and if you get a bad bike, good lucky with finding and repairing it. But those bikes are hardy and work really well or why we non-vtec riders are still riding it and over the past 10+years pple are still riding superfour, there must be a reason.

3. Like i mentioned on top, super four has the best engine around. it's built to last, but this also must see how the previous owners take time to maintain the bikes. If you see Ah pek's bike, you will drool. You will not imagine it's a >10years bike man. Overhaulling a super four engine if really open up and change everything will cost 2k+ maybe more, depends on the damage. Just changing the engine block alone already cost $700+.

4. Things to look out for. I think the last 2 page or previous page hanxx is talking about it. Cos he bought a new verS and ask what to check for the bike. Most impt is to check for coolant pump, sounds from engine block, carbs then others must ask ah pek already. verS tend to be hot so coolant and coolant pump must be working. Or not like my coolant reservior, bad bad..

But for me when i bought my verS, it wasn't so bad. At least the previous owner takes "relative" care for the bike. But for me, i don't like a bike which is only so-so, i prefer good working condition. Cos i have bad time with my x1 which the other wack already then nv tell me anything and sell me the bike. I took almost 1.5k out redoing the bike then in the end really cannot take it le sell off. I rather spend the 1.5k slowly doing up the superfour.

After typing so long and ah pek sees this, he surely going to laugh at me. Like the chinese saying, "act big in front of someone bigger" I think it's like this.. haha.

Wah!..you are good mann! :cheeky:..just to add in..PB1 do not have power cut-off.

When you buy..make sure the engine block do not have coolant leakage and mototiam and some smart ass would use plain tap water to 'disguise' the leakage...watch it.

Okay, will do. "astroboy88" rights?

So version S is better as compared to Version R?

Can you explain in layman terms :)

As Version S is a relatively old bike, can you guys guide me on the pointers to look out for in a used bike?

Thank you!

Additional info..Ver R do not have a fuel gauge. Power cut off method is different from Ver S.

I see so the major issue of Version S will be the coolant and pump.

No wonder you guys have been talking about it the last few pages.

That's quite a good write up, I believe many others will benefit from it.

So let say your S4VS breaks down, workshops that do repairs/replacements are pretty hard to find? As compared to the VTEC family?

How do you test a carb without visually checking it? The responsiveness of the engine?

So there's not much difference cept for the VTEC, the sudden surge in torque rights?

Version S has the best FC among all the S4 right? Can do with 28-30km/l?

Ah Pek astroboy88's Version S is a pretty decent and well maintained one?

Well, knowledge is king and sharing is caring :angel:

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

So let say your S4VS breaks down, workshops that do repairs/replacements are pretty hard to find? As compared to the VTEC family?

How do you test a carb without visually checking it? The responsiveness of the engine?

So there's not much difference cept for the VTEC, the sudden surge in torque rights?

If coolant pump leak thru mid block..now there is hope to mend it without changing block. I said "hope" meaning..depend on the how bad the crack is. Two have been save liao.

Vtec sudden surge?..not really. Non vtec can oso surge if you want too...LOL!

FC is a very subjective matter..from the way you ride to the bike condition that it has been maintain and the everyday traffic situation..otherwise all same same among S4.

Carbs may not perform as well thru its life usage..but don't open it up unless there is something that gone bad inside and need to change. Opening it and putting it back can do more harm than good if the mech is careless which already happened one time too many. There is now a method of doing carbs cleansing without opening up the carbs..very cheap somemore :angel:

Yes..I did his bike..he want to sell it bekuz he bought another that he likes because it's all stock. Check with him..its in a mototiam now..get it direct from him. He said he give the mototiam one month to do it...almost 2 weeks gone liao..may be mark up is too high.

1. Nopez, Super four every where also can fix up but there are places where they specialises in doing up superfours. Another reason why superfour are everywhere is cos parts are very easy to find. Almost all parts can be bought from ah boy only see if you can DIY yourself..

2. Woah this is hard. Before i got my superfour, i tested by revving and listening to the sound during idling. But for carbs this kinda things very very hard to test. Really need a pro there then will know. I didn't know, went to open my carb and found a lot of particles in it.

3. Like ah pek say, if you do good with your bike, it can also have the sudden surge. Now i'm in the process of slowly doing up the bike..

4. Depends on how you ride the bike. Cannot say 28 ~ 30. My avg FC is 21 ~ 23km/l. My best is 23.5km/l but i don't wack, change gear at 3.5k rpm. But then 400cc don't wack like not very nice.. Haha, after i did grounding and clear valve, i wack bike at traffic lights. But then it's working good. I think next i wanna use ah pek's diamond liquid or something to fix the block.. haha.

Ah pek, astro is the one with the 50th Anniversary verS and the super ultra loud GPR pipe?

ah pek, check wif u ah.. now my bike like very hard to corner ah, forcing to do a cornering feel like not stable like wana skid drop.. y ah? isit not enuf air? will pump air tmr to see how..

how to prevent the sprocket from becoming sharp 1st? my chain pointer is still like in the middle teeth slot.

Im loving every moment with my LV.

hey i would like to join you guys this sunday. i just got my S4VS, and i suspect my tuning is not right. maybe can get some advices from the gurus :)

http://i38.tinypic.com/2610xz6.jpg

T r i u m p h S t r e e t T r i p l e

1. Nopez, Super four every where also can fix up but there are places where they specialises in doing up superfours. Another reason why superfour are everywhere is cos parts are very easy to find. Almost all parts can be bought from ah boy only see if you can DIY yourself..

2. Woah this is hard. Before i got my superfour, i tested by revving and listening to the sound during idling. But for carbs this kinda things very very hard to test. Really need a pro there then will know. I didn't know, went to open my carb and found a lot of particles in it.

3. Like ah pek say, if you do good with your bike, it can also have the sudden surge. Now i'm in the process of slowly doing up the bike..

4. Depends on how you ride the bike. Cannot say 28 ~ 30. My avg FC is 21 ~ 23km/l. My best is 23.5km/l but i don't wack, change gear at 3.5k rpm. But then 400cc don't wack like not very nice.. Haha, after i did grounding and clear valve, i wack bike at traffic lights. But then it's working good. I think next i wanna use ah pek's diamond liquid or something to fix the block.. haha.

Ah pek, astro is the one with the 50th Anniversary verS and the super ultra loud GPR pipe?

Yes is me astroboy88 which i hve aim tis 50th Anniversary verS bike for quite some time olready ..so need to sell off the other in good condition verS bike which i had maintain past few month and spent almost $$2k plus..so any u guys interested can ring me if u want to view or ask question abt the bike..H/P is 8239 8048..thks & cheers!!!

ah pek, check wif u ah.. now my bike like very hard to corner ah, forcing to do a cornering feel like not stable like wana skid drop.. y ah? isit not enuf air? will pump air tmr to see how..

how to prevent the sprocket from becoming sharp 1st? my chain pointer is still like in the middle teeth slot.

Yap..could be incorrect tyre air pressure.

Pointed back sprocket is a sign of wear liao and its inevitable. If your chain roller link looks shiny, its oso sign of wear and tear and out of alignment. For front sprocket, tell tale sign of excessive wear is that the teeth curves backward.

hey i would like to join you guys this sunday. i just got my S4VS, and i suspect my tuning is not right. maybe can get some advices from the gurus :)

Most welcome..drop by anytime you want and meet ppl like yourself :angel:

hi ah pek.. i dunnoe whether u remember me .. i got some problem with my EO.. currently is leaking from the gear lever there.. i already changed the rubber thing inside.. but its still leaking.. i asked one of the mechanic to open and check.. he went to check.. he say need to overhaul the lower part of the engine.. and it will cost a bomb.. how do i fix this problem?

heyy QuaXum!

im getting my vers only this sat and meeting ah pek also.

do join us!

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

hi ah pek.. i dunnoe whether u remember me .. i got some problem with my EO.. currently is leaking from the gear lever there.. i already changed the rubber thing inside.. but its still leaking.. i asked one of the mechanic to open and check.. he went to check.. he say need to overhaul the lower part of the engine.. and it will cost a bomb.. how do i fix this problem?

Yah I do :0) The mech may have done a bad job replacing your oil seal. Heck!!!...go to another shop and do it!..its not expensive after all. I can't think of what he said is logical...overhaul my balls!..its free :lol:

how much does a FT version S cost now.

wonder if i should get a version S.

looking for a trade off with my ST11.

any comments guy?

IMHO...buying a bike does not REALLY go by the number of years though its a reference to be considered. You have to look at the condition of the bike and how the bike been use or how often/seldom its being use. An FS bike given the same model may cost much much more if its a 2nd or 3rd bike and hardly used..just an example.

Ah pek, today before going to sch i was doing pre ride check and found that there is a small patch of EO on the ground. Same for last night when i parked at another lot. I was reading should be the oil seal that is off right?

And also when i turn my petrol valve to reserve, petrol came out and spilt on my hands but after i succcessfully finished turning to reserve it stopped, and when i turn back to on nothing. Juz that the first turn to reserve a palm full of petrol spilt out. Don't tell me it's my petrol valve going to ko soon?

ah pek, will like to ask you regarding the spec3 headlight i intending to buy to change away my rxz headlight currently.

someone offered $70(let's say normal working condition, is it worth it?

since probably i will have to bring to shop to install which incur some labour fees?

thanks in advance!

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

haha.. lolx.. ya .. maybe i should replace it again.. anyway.. thanks for u advice again.. hows ur business doin hahah.. and ya one more thing.. when i ride theres this sound coming from the chain like a tuck tuck tuck sound.. everytime when i open the throttle.. then when i close it.. clutch in .. to hear the sound.. its not there..?? thx ah pek...

Yah I do :0) The mech may have done a bad job replacing your oil seal. Heck!!!...go to another shop and do it!..its not expensive after all. I can't think of what he said is logical...overhaul my balls!..its free :lol:
Edited by WRfreak
ah pek, will like to ask you regarding the spec3 headlight i intending to buy to change away my rxz headlight currently.

someone offered $70(let's say normal working condition, is it worth it?

since probably i will have to bring to shop to install which incur some labour fees?

thanks in advance!

If it's original headlight $70 is worth it. For me i bought an aftermarket one but as long as it's usable. I'm currently using rxz sai tao and wanna change it cos i prefer original. Will be doing it this sat 1pm at ah pek's place. Wanna join me together we DIY, we can trial and error doing it.. haha..

"There is now a method of doing carbs cleansing without opening up the carbs..very cheap somemore" wow must learn but i got no money to sayang my bike. I need a job, i just ORD

xiaobanz..sat what time?

i get my bike only afternoon..haha!

aftermarket the headlight bike shop charge me $150!

anyway,its time for me wash carb also..ah pek any suggestions?

shop quote $80 to wash carb + $80 for tuning...

overpriced?

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2