Guest akm_inferno
My understanding is that PB1 is from 1992 to 1998. There are 3 series. Mine is one of the last and is 1997. Earlier version has less cooling fin. The shinny coolant tube near that goes into the water jacket is different..sorta like cut-off in earlier version. Latest PB1 id similar to Ver S setup.

http://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/GoogleSearchIconShadow.gifhttp://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/SuperSearchIconShadow.gif

finally AH PEK bro is back! :D thank you very much for the clarification bro. anyways found an interesting webpage stating all the HONDA engine and chasis number.. --> "http://s57.photobucket.com/albums/g205/The_Pearl/?action=view&current=nc23e.jpg&newest=1" and also bro.. pls advice me on how to check coolant level.. and also the frequency on the check...

THANK YOU AH PEK bro... :D

Edited by akm_inferno
  • Replies 18.1k

dear riders who often JB, for petrol/makan.. refer to my sig. be really careful, gonna miss my ride.

finally AH PEK bro is back! :D so there's a big chance that mine could be PB1 too right? btw bro, yr end can is the typical stock end can when u bought the bike or the distictive PB1 end can? and also bro.. pls advice me on how to check coolant level.. and also the frequency on the check...

THANK YOU AH PEK bro... :D

If its a PB1 for sure..your exhaust is the distinctive Mega muffle type and not a joined end can type like version S or R. Its a full system stainless steel 4 in 1 pipe.

To check coolant level, on your right side near back just below the middle of the seat, remove the triangular cover (two allen keys) and there is a coolant reserve reservoir plastic tank. Just be sure that the coolant level is near the upper level marks on the plastic tank. Make sure that its should have fresh green or other colours except plain white unless its Water-Wetter brand coolant) but HSOULD NOT be rusty or mud brownish.

As for maintenance, just make sure your water coolant is always up to mark and eo (for old bike..use 20/50W or 20/60W - blend urself) change timely and good eo liquid eneering treatment like X-1R to keep it up to performance with protection. Fuel wise 92 to 98 can used (don't waste $$s on V-power grade)..recommended ron 95 and better still sue, greenoil (plse do a serch in my post somewhere about this greenoil).

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Fuel wise 92 to 98 can used (don't waste $$s on V-power grade)..recommended ron 95 and better still sue, greenoil (plse do a serch in my post somewhere about this greenoil).

bro when i pump v power and 92... i can really feel a big difference at above 7rpm lei... the engine sound loaded with 92 at high rpm range... while vpower engine sound smooth... nt sure why oso... will monitor again hehe

life is precious. :thumb:

Guest akm_inferno
If its a PB1 for sure..your exhaust is the distinctive Mega muffle type and not a joined end can type like version S or R. Its a full system stainless steel 4 in 1 pipe.

To check coolant level, on your right side near back just below the middle of the seat, remove the triangular cover (two allen keys) and there is a coolant reserve reservoir plastic tank. Just be sure that the coolant level is near the upper level marks on the plastic tank. Make sure that its should have fresh green or other colours except plain white unless its Water-Wetter brand coolant) but HSOULD NOT be rusty or mud brownish.

As for maintenance, just make sure your water coolant is always up to mark and eo (for old bike..use 20/50W or 20/60W - blend urself) change timely and good eo liquid eneering treatment like X-1R to keep it up to performance with protection. Fuel wise 92 to 98 can used (don't waste $$s on V-power grade)..recommended ron 95 and better still sue, greenoil (plse do a serch in my post somewhere about this greenoil).

THANK YOU SO MUCH AH PEK bro for the super detailed instruction.. :D i really really appreciate it!! thank you..

So bro.. s4 coolant top up is much like coolant top up for kr150 is it? cuz last time when i have kr, the coolant reservoir is under the seat where as for super4 need to remove the triagle under seat are there so see it? (pls correct me if im wrong). the rest of the part i understand. but bro if i dun noe how to blend can i just use normal 15w50 that is available? or any brand u might recommend? also bro where to buy "x-1r" and roughly how much?

THANK YOU AH PEK bro and other super4 bros in ADVANCE!! :)

Guest akm_inferno

btw AH PEK bro.. i tried searching for the "greenoil" for 40 mins and only managed to find a post where x1-r never work for this guy and u told him that he needs greenoil next. I'm sorry bro, i really try to find.. i don't wanna be a free-loader here and take advantage of yr kindness.. but very hard to find.. cuz u got like 3000+ posts.. :( i noe noobs like me make things hard for you by asking re-peated questions.. maybe i could make it up to you some how.. so sorry again bro for failling to find yr post on "greenoil".. sigh... :( and THANKS AGAIN FOR ALL THE HELP SO FAR AH PEK bro... really.. THANK YOU!!

To akm_inferno :

I won't be answering anymore of your questions as you have one too many and comes in bits and pieces and just too much for me to tabulate things repeatably here..but it be great to to meet you this coming Sundays at AMK AVe 10 Teck Ghee Square Blk 409. I'm sure you have all your answers you need to all your questions and the others that are there too would luv to share their good and bad experiences about their experiences.

Edited by Ah Pek

".. find a post where x1-r never work for this guy and u told him that he needs greenoil next."

Any idea where he gotten the X-1R from?

That's strange and never heard about this. Will you be kind enough to link me that post here. I have yet to hear that X-1R never works for anyone and that Greenoil is needed to better improve his use with X-1R. Tihis is strange...very strange.:sian:

Edited by Ah Pek

bro when i pump v power and 92... i can really feel a big difference at above 7rpm lei... the engine sound loaded with 92 at high rpm range... while vpower engine sound smooth... nt sure why oso... will monitor again hehe

Yes..smoother because higher rons number means higher octane.

Agree..im a regular for vpower, good and smooth but used up superb fast.

As suggested by ah pek, it very true that 95 is good enough lets say u are not very fussy.

most imptly, its much cheaper..haha :angel:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

yea bro, mine oso manufacture 1995.. are u sure it's a PB1? cuz the bike shop told me it's version R.. do u think they lie to me?? :( anyways i thoguht PB1 is a much older bike? like 198X to 1990?? no meh?

yah, is confirm :)

mine is PB1,

but now maybe will confused, i just change my front forks to Version S:cheeky:

CB-1 was 1988-1990, which the engine is similar with CBR400RR Hurricane NC23, but the engine is street tuned :)

some info about non-vtec, sorry for Japanese version only.

Project Big One 1st model, 1992/04

Project Big One 2nd model, 1994/03

Project Big One 3rd model & Version R,1995/03

Version S,1996/02

Project Big One 4th model & Version S, 1996/11

Ah pek, i think your's PB1 is the last model :cheeky:

Mine also PB1 and the year of manufacturing is 1995. She is 14 yrs old now,still going well and I would comment it was one of the most reliable machines of all the local S4 series.From my notion,the letdown is the external look of the 4 to 1 exhaust maybe.The FC now is 23.3-24km/L.Normal I supposed.

I used to own a 2yrs plus Version S in 2000,the rectifier failed me twice.No offence to VS owners,maybe mine is a lemon than.

92-94 (Yamaha FZ150,Suzuki Bandit,Vespa150)

98-2001 (Yamaha FZ150,Suzuki GSX-K',Yamaha Riva125,Honda X4 1300,Kawasaki ZX-11D4 ,Honda CB400 Version S,Honda Steed)

2005(Hexagon150)

2005(Yamaha Dragstar custom 400)

2006 (Honda Phantom 150)

2006-2007 ( Honda ST11)

2007 ( Honda Project Big 1)

2007 (Honda Steed VLX)

2007-2008 (Honda BlackBird CBR1100XX)

2008 (Yamaha Fazer 600 S2)

Mine also PB1 and the year of manufacturing is 1995. She is 14 yrs old now,still going well and I would comment it was one of the most reliable machines of all the local S4 series.From my notion,the letdown is the external look of the 4 to 1 exhaust maybe.The FC now is 23.3-24km/L.Normal I supposed.

I used to own a 2yrs plus Version S in 2000,the rectifier failed me twice.No offence to VS owners,maybe mine is a lemon than.

If your rectifier failed that often, likely its a faulty magnetic coil and bad earthing. Its the "back surge current" spiking that damage the rectifier. The Japan version is more reliable as opposed to those made in China, but cheaper.

Edited by Ah Pek

http://www.mt668.net/cld72338yhnb/uploadfile/2007/05/2007514161952185.jpg

i think this is 1st model PB1 :)

Ain't the exhaust BEAUTIFUL! :cheeky: Yes..one of the earlier model..can tell by the lack of cooling fins on the engine lower block area which has five more thinner ones. Also the clutch cover has a shiny cut out area. Nice nice! :angel:

Edited by Ah Pek

Ain't the exhaust BEATIFUL! :cheeky: Yes..one of the earlier model..can tell by the number of cooling fins on the engine block..3 before the hole area but the fins are thicker. Also the clutch cover has a shiny cut out area. Nice nice! :angel:

wow,

last year going Hong Kong, saw a lot of the model still on the road :)

If your rectifier failed that ofeten, likely its a faulty magnetic coil and bad earthing. Its the "back surge current" spiking that damage the rectifier. The Japan version is more reliable as opposed to those made in China, but cheaper.

Just dont understands that a 1-2 yrs old rso called eliable superfour VS,why the rectifiers always give ways then......confirm I got a lemon VS at that time. Would u agreed in general,PB1 is one of the most 'stable' machine in the S4 families? Not to stir a debate amongest S4 classes owners,ever since I got my current PB1 in year 2007. I never look back on other S4 models in term of endurance and stability.Of course not excluding factors like tender and care to the bike

too.:cheeky:

98-2001 (Yamaha FZ150,Suzuki GSX-K',Yamaha Riva125,Honda X4 1300,Kawasaki ZX-11D4 ,Honda CB400 Version S,Honda Steed)

2005(Hexagon150)

2006 (Honda Phantom 150)

2006-2007 ( Honda ST11)

2007 (Honda Steed VLX)

Here is a image of the last series of PB1 Engine.

[ATTACH]109739[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]109741[/ATTACH]

Just dont understands that a 1-2 yrs old rso called eliable superfour VS,why the rectifiers always give ways then......confirm I got a lemon VS at that time. Would u agreed in general,PB1 is one of the most 'stable' machine in the S4 families? Not to stir a debate amongest S4 classes owners,ever since I got my current PB1 in year 2007. I never look back on other S4 models in term of endurance and stability.Of course not excluding factors like tender and care to the bike

too.:cheeky:

While I had a choice to buy a Vtec at my time..that's why till date, I have a 12+ PB1...LOL! :cheeky:..and stock as ever except for a few enhancement level without hardware mod.:angel:

Image of a 1997 model.

Edited by Ah Pek

dear riders who often JB, for petrol/makan.. refer to my sig. be really careful, gonna miss my ride.

Thanks fr the reminder and warning. Sorry to hear about it.

Very sad each time I hear something like this. If I ever catch the person that stole my bike, I think the darkest side of me would surface and its the things I do likely would be my 'law' first before the actual law of crime.:dot:

Here is a image of the last series of PB1 Engine.

[ATTACH]109739[/ATTACH]

ah pek, thats ur shiny,humble pb1?

nicenice - respect:angel:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

[ATTACH]109741[/ATTACH]

While I had a choice to buy a Vtec at my time..that's why till date, I have a 12+ PB1...LOL! :cheeky:..and stock as ever except for a few enhancement level without hardware mod.:angel:

Image of a 1997 model.

Wow, your header and can very shining wow!!!!!!!!!! Good job......let see mine. I used to detest and hate any of my bikes having a box attached. However, of lately i was compelled to as frequently need bring many stuffs to and fro(work-home.)

Edited by N_RIDER

2005(Hexagon150)

2006 (Honda Phantom 150)

2006-2007 ( Honda ST11)

2007 (Honda Steed VLX)

my current PB1 with the 3 boxes (bought from one of the forumers)

3 boxes.jpg

2005(Hexagon150)

2006 (Honda Phantom 150)

2006-2007 ( Honda ST11)

2007 (Honda Steed VLX)

wah ahpek showing off ur bike eh..but cant be denied..it looks sweet..anyway, i found out that the EO leak that i was telling u about wasnt from my gear shaft seal. it was from the water pump which was leaking..so sad..:cry:

ah pek, thats ur shiny,humble pb1?

nicenice - respect:angel:

Thanks..:cheeky: Anyone and everyone can do it lah. Just put sometime once every two weeks to wash, polish and keep it clean.:goodluck: