Came across few cases where previous worm patches leak. This is because of the poor quality type worm rubber latex used.:sian:

Can always 're-worm' but make sure that extra gluey be coated on the wprm latex strip. Ah Fook dome that liao recently for someone.

Patching from insdie should work too..bring along your bicycle patch set..can get from Mustafa and go to Ah Fook workshop. Tyre has to come off, sand from inside around the leak area and applied the patch as with bicycle/motobike inner tubing repair work. Guess the process would cost more.

Thanks Ah Pek for your fast reply. Will check out with them this coming week. :cheers:

• Replies 18.1k

RE: My Poor FC

hey ah pek,tried your method,pump full tank of 15litre and again only managed to hit 240km before reserve.

Anyway,went to ah fook and he said many reasons for the FC.

And he suspect its carb than tuning because he said my idling is good.

So he told me possible reason could be the rubber inside the carb hardened..this way will have alot of unburnt carbon inside.

So he blew my bike and alot black smoke(carbon) and even huge backfire..

In the end,he asked if i want to open my carb and check.

1 rubber will cost me $40+

If all 4 harden..ho seh liao.haha.

Any suggestions anyone?

Thank you :angel:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

ah pek.. my headlight gt no light.. i don have headlight cut off switch. initially thought is normal beam coil gone. swtich to hi beam. there also isnt any light also when i switch to hi beam, the indicator for hi beam light also did not light up. but when i press the trigger for hi beam, there is light and indicator did light up... everythings is fine like signal light...

can any one help me? is it fuse?

Sounds like carbon starter prob.

Costs me $85 to change @ Ah Fook Motors. :thumb:

Got lagi shiok call 'power wanna chiong_chiong' shiokeness waiting for you...LOL! :angel:

i nt cheongster leh......unless i go nshw then i clear meter....if nt in sg road i reali dun wack my bike de lol......i scared i lup the tink liao abit i go abit i go ahaahahahaha then bo pian lor must go , go lor......

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

Got this list from someone who posted in the SBF here somewhere way back..thanks to him whatever his name is....

scrapyards address:

27 Jalan Buroh,

Ah Ann trading..

Opening 9am - 5pm

Hup Lee Leong Hardware Pte Ltd

26 Sungei Kadut St 3 Singapore 729153

Tel: 6363 5055 6367 0019

Mondays to Fridays:

8.30am - 6pm

Saturdays:

8.30am - 5pm

Kim Hock Recycling (Pte) Ltd

10 Benoi Road

Singapore 629885

Tel: 6862 3883

Mondays to Fridays:

9am - 12pm, 1pm - 6pm

Saturdays:

9am - 12pm, 1pm - 5pm

King's Metal (S) Pte Ltd

16 Pioneer Sector 2

Singapore 628377

Tel: 6862 1955

Mondays to Fridays:

8.30am - 6pm

Saturdays:

8.30am - 5pm

Lim Asia Steel Pte Ltd

11 Pioneer Sector 3

Singapore 628346

Tel: 6862 9109

Mondays to Fridays:

8.30am - 5pm

Saturdays:

8am - 1pm

NatFerrous Pte Ltd

(Natsteel)

9 Jurong Pier Road

Singapore 619161

Tel: 6268 2862

Mondays to Fridays:

8am - 4pm

Saturdays:

8 am - 12pm

YLS Steel Pte Ltd

1 Wan Shih Road Singapore 627901

Tel: 6861 9833

Mondays to Fridays:

9am -6pm

Saturdays:

Thanks Ah Pek

so many scrapyard...anyone want to go see see look look?...might want to get a new mirror cause mine got a few scratches.....

It aint me officer...The bike is POSSESSED!!:lol:

how ah pek

any more of ur liquid to intro

kekeke

wanna maintain the engine lasting

keke :angel:

Yes..this one is even more promising. Something happened I couldn't believe!...got extra 5km/ltr. I'm testing another fuel tank now. :angel:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

ah pek.. my headlight gt no light.. i don have headlight cut off switch. initially thought is normal beam coil gone. swtich to hi beam. there also isnt any light also when i switch to hi beam, the indicator for hi beam light also did not light up. but when i press the trigger for hi beam, there is light and indicator did light up... everythings is fine like signal light...

can any one help me? is it fuse?

Yes..likely could be fuse problem..if it's, its the red one in your left side cover side panel..10amps rating. If that particular fuse is ok..likely it could be your H4 socket wiring connector burned out and partially lost connection to the bulb..just a thought. Just give it a check first.

RE: My Poor FC

hey ah pek,tried your method,pump full tank of 15litre and again only managed to hit 240km before reserve.

Anyway,went to ah fook and he said many reasons for the FC.

And he suspect its carb than tuning because he said my idling is good.

So he told me possible reason could be the rubber inside the carb hardened..this way will have alot of unburnt carbon inside.

So he blew my bike and alot black smoke(carbon) and even huge backfire..

In the end,he asked if i want to open my carb and check.

1 rubber will cost me $40+

If all 4 harden..ho seh liao.haha.

Any suggestions anyone?

Thank you :angel:

Yes..the coupling rubber between the carbs and inlet to engine block ports can be an issue to this oso as fuel/air mixture to the combustion is wasted to 'vapour' leak..sometime can smell fuel.

One piece of rubber so expansive at $40 meh? Why don't you go LAB or other places and buy the rubber and let him charge workmanship?

Yes..the coupling rubber between the carbs and inlet to engine block ports can be an issue to this oso as fuel/air mixture to the combustion is wasted to 'vapour' leak..sometime can smell fuel.

One piece of rubber so expansive at $40 meh? Why don't you go LAB or other places and buy the rubber and let him charge workmanship?

yeah,quite often can smell petrol..

ah fook say the rubber is original and will cost $40 plus per piece.

Alright,thanks for help ah pek :angel:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

Hi Ah Pek and all,

Nowaday i notice my my bike give a tick tick tick sound from the engine area.

Once i start it, i can hear it loud and clear and it is getting louder. This started few months back which i choose to ignore.

I notice someone actually post the same problem on the S4 general question thread. They mentioned about timing chain or something.

Do you know this problem? Is it something common to S4?

My engine oil is due for a change, I will sms you soon :) My bike number is FBA5359 i think i still have half a bottle with u. See u soon.

Hi Ah Pek and all,

Nowaday i notice my my bike give a tick tick tick sound from the engine area.

Once i start it, i can hear it loud and clear and it is getting louder. This started few months back which i choose to ignore.

I notice someone actually post the same problem on the S4 general question thread. They mentioned about timing chain or something.

Do you know this problem? Is it something common to S4?

My engine oil is due for a change, I will sms you soon :) My bike number is FBA5359 i think i still have half a bottle with u. See u soon.

Ticking sound from the overhead engine area are common and comes once in awhil..however, it should go away after the most two weeks or so and can be sooner. But if its getting louder and continous, its a tell tale sign of your shim wearing out. This is valve clearance related matters and an overhead overhaul may be needed.

As for timing chain or cam chain..you get a mild "krackling" sound rather then "ticking". Once this sound gets louder, the tensioner (pair of cam chain slippers) has to be work on..work wise, can be adjusted ( difficult access when working on it) or have it changed.

yeah,quite often can smell petrol..

ah fook say the rubber is original and will cost $40 plus per piece.

Alright,thanks for help ah pek :angel:

Waht you can do for the interim period if say you are tight on budget, check and tighten the the coupling rubber circlips (total four) screw with a long philip screw driver..but don't over tighten it. At the same time, do the same to the circlips (oso 4) behind the carbs to your airbox too. Run another full tank and see if it helps..sometime mech while working on carbs when putting them back, they may have left it 'untighten'.

Ticking sound from the overhead engine area are common and comes once in awhil..however, it should go away after the most two weeks or so and can be sooner. But if its getting louder and continous, its a tell tale sign of your shim wearing out. This is valve clearance related matters and an overhead overhaul may be needed.

As for timing chain or cam chain..you get a mild "krackling" sound rather then "ticking". Once this sound gets louder, the tensioner (pair of cam chain slippers) has to be work on..work wise, can be adjusted ( difficult access when working on it) or have it changed.

Morning,

Mine is getting louder. this overhead overhaul sound like going to cost me a bomb. It is serious?

Morning,

Mine is getting louder. this overhead overhaul sound like going to cost me a bomb. It is serious?

Let me check with Ah Fook if he can do it and how much it roughly cost. Normally the cost is high because once the head is up and out, ppl tend to do other stuff.

I have never do valve clearence adjustment before. My mileage is 43000++.

Will that help?

Not really..LOL!...but at least its not a virgin engine to start with.:angel:

Valve clearance problem can surface anytime without warning..as such that they have a life span before it happened or anything like that. The shim may not be the problem..could be weak valve spring, bad sitting of valve assembly components and anything along the vave train..etc.

Waht you can do for the interim period if say you are tight on budget, check and tighten the the coupling rubber circlips (total four) screw with a long philip screw driver..but don't over tighten it. At the same time, do the same to the circlips (oso 4) behind the carbs to your airbox too. Run another full tank and see if it helps..sometime mech while working on carbs when putting them back, they may have left it 'untighten'.

Thanks ah pek.

just wondering where's the 'coupling rubber circlips' and how i can access to them.

But ya,for the time being,quite tight on budget so dont think gg to change the rubber.greatest worry is that change liao fc also as bad then i can faint.lol:angel:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

Yes..likely could be fuse problem..if it's, its the red one in your left side cover side panel..10amps rating. If that particular fuse is ok..likely it could be your H4 socket wiring connector burned out and partially lost connection to the bulb..just a thought. Just give it a check first.

thanks ah pek.. prob solve.. simply just ignition button stuck after start up...:cheeky:

WTS givi e16 smile box, with led @$20

interested party , do PM me..

Thanks ah pek.

just wondering where's the 'coupling rubber circlips' and how i can access to them.

But ya,for the time being,quite tight on budget so dont think gg to change the rubber.greatest worry is that change liao fc also as bad then i can faint.lol:angel:

Those clips are metal round ring (like those circlips that holds your coolant hose) with a scew head..right in front of the arbs opening where it meet the rubber joining to the carbs.

oh okok,got it ah pek! Haha,thanks again:cheeky:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

You guys know which bike shop can i send my version S for powder coating? intend to powder coat my body frame, engine & both rims and some parts to be chrome. Try to find in the forum but they all send to factory by them self. Now i got no time to dismantle my bike.

Let ur fingers do the "walking"...look up "Yellow Pages" :angel:

Hmmmmmmmmmmm...? o_O You should asked them why the following "FF" brand? You should instead state your budget or rather the $s u willing to fork out. For example..why AFAM if you are just a day to day rider suing your bikes for regular routines...why not stock Honda? :sian:

thanks ah pek..i just got a daytona rear sprocket- for the front one, my mech told me that it is still in very good condition and i shoudl just reserve my extra front sprocket.

may i ask how much is the flair that they place to cover just below the tank- the one that transforms the s4 into a sports bike look alike? how about the tank wrap- how much is it, sir?

thanks and more power!

thanks ah pek..i just got a daytona rear sprocket- for the front one, my mech told me that it is still in very good condition and i shoudl just reserve my extra front sprocket.

may i ask how much is the flair that they place to cover just below the tank- the one that transforms the s4 into a sports bike look alike? how about the tank wrap- how much is it, sir?

thanks and more power!

"Flair"?...you mean those dirt bike shroud like from KTM and Honda XR stuff? How much $s I dunno but they look stupid to me. I heard from ppl that uses them found it making the engine kinda hot too while they ride. I personally don't like them and find its a waste of $s as these stuff does not add performance or do good maintenanace to your bike..moreover, it make access to work on your bike difficult. Anyway, it's up to individual but I personally find ppl wasting $$$s on such things on a true naked bike..should go get a "RVF" or baby blade instead.

As for the tank wrap..tank bra you mean..I personally dislike that. The beauty of the tank paint work and it deep shine is meant to be shown, why cover it with a piece of waste $$$s PVC or 'leather' over it? I probably do that when my tank have a dent s, rusted paintwork etc..the day when I need to sell my bike. Some riders of today are just not practical but rather wanna be ;fashionable' whatever, but a tank bra is meant to protect the tank when you are using tank bags that seats on the tank.

My apology if I sounded blunt about what you asked..but just being honest what I think and those waste of dollars. Save ur $$$s it for good engine oil and parts that need replacement someday that contribute for bike up keeping..and also, "no_no" to hugger and belly pen...heeee...x3!Sorry again, you asked the wrong guy. o_O :sian:

Hi ah pek and guys, whenever i start my bike after a few hours of parking, my bike will start but the engine will cease.. i have to throttle to keep the engine running. Any advice? is it the spark plug? recently i just changed mine.