• Replies 61

we may needa wait till a TP crashed and had his facial bones smashed before seeing any of them wearing full face..

anyways, have you forwarded the letter to the presses??

Tell THEM that we need statistics on accidents..

Bike accidents - yes!! but bike knock bike??

Car accidents - car knock bike or???

Bikes on 2 wheels definately have it's disadvantages like skidding and losing control.. but if an accident involving car and bike, what category they put them in..?? and is there a lot of bike knock bike accidents..??

they do campaigns and road shows.. but they are targeting the wrong group..!!! tell me, which biker like to skid and crash???

anyone out there?? NO!!! so telling us to ride safe does make a point but we all know that..

they must changed their concept and they gonna teach those blind drivers to keep a look out for bikes!! that's the whole idea..!!

But frankly some riders are abit... well you knw reckless at some sense. But wat you say is very true, no biker will wanna skid and crash.

That Steven Hoes nothing better to do.Wana TP implemented 70 on all bike.What car is he driving anyway?Doesnt he know that a 600cc superbike 0-100kmh sprint take less than 4 sec and have a top speed of 280kmh?

well its seriously not abt the speed. Which this Steven dun farking understand. We need to look out. they as driver handling a bigger machine they have to look out. But some just simply DUN CARE.... thats wat pisses me. And with that statement that he says, then other drivers with less knowledge will be like oh.... bike only 70khp Oh... so we can cut bike anytime since they slow or i no need to look out for them, they should look out for us drivers instead.... Well then "**** you very much Steven" hahaha....

lutein: i luv ur cat pic. so cute!!:angel::angel:

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

A few points to note:

a) TP confirm that there is no speed limit on motorcycles. All road users however have to observe the speed limit of the roads they are travelling on.

(Why TP is so reluctant to state this clearly in its letter, I do not know. Why won't it say "Steven Ho is wrong. There is no speed limit on motorcycles."???)

b) Since TP puts so much weight on the training portion of the equation, TP can consider the following:

i) stop teaching four finger braking (re. self-skid);

ii) conduct refresher courses for students 1 year after passing (and not at the ridiculous speed of 30km/h please);

iii) make Class 3 students take at least one lesson on 2B motorbike;

c) Remember that drivers and riders with 20 year old habits do not go through the driving school. What messages do you have for these guys? [This to me is the weakest part of the reply.]

d) Let the TP set a good example. For ****'s sake please put them in some good protective gear!!!

Great initiative Lutein and thanks to Alvin for pointing this thread out otherwise I would have missed it.

A few suggestions on top of the above quoted:

- Make the full face helmet mandatory for everyone

- Do TP campaigns in bike shops and bike retailing spots (Flyers, big posters, videos playing on a screen) to raise awareness. Same on TV and Radio.

- Create courses for all levels of riders, AFTER the license. The license to get is a piece of cake, it's the after that's important: TP should organise easy access to lessons, lectures, HOV sessions, that kind of stuff, where people can join to learn and stay sharp in their riding.

- Campaigns on campuses and in universities: how come I learned all about safety not at the riding school (no offense, great teachers) but here ?

- Info and awareness campaigns to riders themselves: It takes 2 days to LTA to send me a $9 fine because the newbie that I am forgot to put her cash card before the ERP. Will LTA or TP send me an invitation in 6 months, 6 years, 15 years to refresh my riding style ?

- More TP presence on the roads. Having lived in other countries, it's amazing how empty of any TP presence Singapore roads look to me. Having more TP presence does make people more careful and more aware of the consequences..

- Last but not least: revisit some of Singapore's roads: Some junctions are just plain death traps for riders. Yes "IF" you follow the rules, you are kinda safe. But it is well known that junctions are major accident scenes, you would expect more cameras, more TP presence, more effort made towards signaling and auditing these junctions to find ways to improve things.

It would be good in the reply to maybe mention that there is no doubt that the rider is responsible for his/her riding style. For controlling his/her vehicle to a certain extend. For following the traffic rules. But although the statistics state that 60% of the accidents are caused by the rider himself/herself, what really is the rider's responsibility and what is imputable to the environment (skid on sand, oil, low visibility, other road users) ?

Ok that's my bit.

I have a question for you: did any riders group ever organise or was invited to a TP meeting to discuss such issues ? I think I read something in that sense when browsing the HOV thread, but can't remember now...

Edited by O'Ren

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

yes, the TP presence do make a difference.

i seldom see TP on the road.. 1 week at most see like 1 or 2.. and that's considered if i'm lucky.. sometime dun even see them!

Juz imagine 70km/hr on hayabusa...faint....

not to mention the heat anyway as the TP replied it is Steven own opinion, he ain't no minister so talk only la.

Nobody dies a virgin coz life screw u up

make sure tp bikes also 70km/h unless blinker and siren on.. see they can tahan the heat at their balls not

http://singapore.check4d.com/SingaporeResult.gif

mew?

<3 Vickii and Freya

://www.demonchild.org

After lots of thinking (especially second-guessing how the authorities will react), I think the best way to make these drivers aware is to include riding pillion behind an instructor as a compulsory lesson in the Class 3/3A course. It will let them feel for themselves what it is like to be on the other end of the equation. Videos and books are just talk - nothing beats real first-hand experience!

Of course, the reverse can also be implemented. Have a lesson of sitting in the front passenger seat as the driving instructor explains how drivers can miss out motorcyclists for Class 2B. I think it is also good for riders to understand what drivers are going through. It does take good concentration to drive in heavy traffic with bikes zipping around you.

Unfortunately, I have been on both sides of the equation before. My first riding accident happened when a careless driver cut into my path in a sharp corner. I braked too hard and highsided. Left a big permanent scar on my knee. Then a few years later, I was sitting in a colleague's car when she made a turn without checking her blind spot. In the end, a bike collided into the side of the car. Luckily the rider was only slightly hurt.

Edited by rhema83

Dear lutein, good effort.

For you seek clarification as such, thats how we improve biking scene here i suppose.

Diplomatic correct answer to some extend will just got to live with it, but make known at least.

yes, the TP presence do make a difference.

i seldom see TP on the road.. 1 week at most see like 1 or 2.. and that's considered if i'm lucky.. sometime dun even see them!

OMG!!! TP's are becoming extinct endangered species in singapore

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

If 70 km/h, then singapore road is only meant for small bike and probably some class of tourer. Sport bike all these would need to sell away as running below 70 km/h may not be friendly for the bike, ard 100km/h should be reasonable. Or bike shop can help to buy back all sport / street big bike.

OMG!!! TP's are becoming extinct endangered species in singapore

scary sia if they would recruit foreign talent for this job.. haha

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
If 70 km/h, then singapore road is only meant for small bike and probably some class of tourer. Sport bike all these would need to sell away as running below 70 km/h may not be friendly for the bike, ard 100km/h should be reasonable. Or bike shop can help to buy back all sport / street big bike.

Tourer will cook your tighs if going at that kind of speed.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d158/flareon1982/Misc/1.jpg

hmm hw abt preventing probation plate driver from driving powerful cars? kinda scary seeing them drive car on the road. nearly knock into my bike on sle. haizz. change lane neva chck blind spot n zoom past. haiyo

Just BEcause I fOllOw The speed LIMIT DoesnT mEan i am slow!!

hmm hw abt preventing probation plate driver from driving powerful cars? kinda scary seeing them drive car on the road. nearly knock into my bike on sle. haizz. change lane neva chck blind spot n zoom past. haiyo

those c0ck eyed peoples u restrain them and force them to drive cherry QQ also, they will still kill u all with blindspots and no ABS as excuses......

its even more scarier when you see from behind some driver following a bike so bloody close and swerving. Like machiam an accident going to happen.

after reading all this. i do feel the same and what can we really do? tell u guys what, there is alot of lophole in the law! i will say just F@cking kick the car side mirrior if he do any thing silly LOL without any proof he can not do any thing u to, make them suffer the lose and lesson learn not to mess around with BIKER!!! hehehe :angel:

just my evil thought hehe

2004 TA 200

2006 Comet GT 125

2006 Baby kawa 150 krr

2006 Honda RVF

2009 Honda CB 1000 R (The beast had been Release!)

2010 Yamaha FJR 1300

Next will it be BMW 1600 or quit ridding go for 4 wheel ???

END UP i drive :cry: but i really miss my fjr..

Few drivers do that, and all bikers are already flaming, so if few bikers do wad u mentioned, all bikers will be branded and thus we became nothing more animal than them, though i ride and drive wakakka.

Ok that's my bit.

I have a question for you: did any riders group ever organise or was invited to a TP meeting to discuss such issues ? I think I read something in that sense when browsing the HOV thread, but can't remember now...

yes there use to be one. and only one.

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
1. How about the other 40% of the cases ?

Any actions taken to reduce this number ?

2. I doubt their statistic, in the 60%, how many are has been generalized as :

(a) “Failure to have proper control”

(b) “Failure to keep a proper look out”

© “Failure to give way to traffic with right of way”

We know they are some riding like an idiot, but nobody want to die on the road.

No public know the actual statistic, no one can challenge they way the interpret the statistic too.

They always aim at the wrong target, use a "specified" method to solve a "general" problem.

The commissioner of Traffic police should resign because he/she has failed to reduce the traffic accident rate on the year over so many years.

out of the 60%....

stil doesnot mean that the rider at fault.

we rider may skid due to other vehichle fault.if dey suddenly jam brake,suden cut in lane,brushing u of lane..can cause u to skid..n yet if u realise u apeal such cases...especially with no witness.dats..biker lose..as self skidded.

so..in alot of ways..its a lose situation,jus be humble...dats the best..let them go n be "Number One"

~Please Ride N Drive Safely.~

if u cant,its ok,but dont bring harm to other ppl.

wana die,go die alone.dnt bring innnocent ppl along.

OKae!

after reading all this. i do feel the same and what can we really do? tell u guys what, there is alot of lophole in the law! i will say just F@cking kick the car side mirrior if he do any thing silly LOL without any proof he can not do any thing u to, make them suffer the lose and lesson learn not to mess around with BIKER!!! hehehe :angel:

just my evil thought hehe

that's what i do usually. if a car sharply go into my lane, i'll kick his car while riding at the same time. there was once even i spit on his mirror. he cannot do anything ma =)