haha ok bro. well, is there any way to make the 4-stroke 2B bikes faster? well u can do it like what Kaylan said but other than that, i think u have to take up your complaint with the manufacturers. no choice la. 2b bikes can only go that fast. how fast do u want it to go. braking power also not there. go too fast and cannot stop in time also no use.

Can put in booster and make the bikes faster. Can modify here and there, yes there are ways like what Kalyan said. Not complaining or feedbacking to manufacturers. They have their own reasons.

Just thought this is a good topic to talk about in this forum :)

• Replies 124

I'm a supporter of bikes having more power as well. However, you have to consider that only what is produced can be sold. If it's not produced, they can't be made available by local shops.

What you're asking the local shops to bring in, or implying that should be brought in to our "local market", doesn't even exist on the international market to begin with. Whatever is available internationally has already been brought in from everywhere imaginable; Thailand, Europe, you name it.

Furthermore, 2b bikes in general are transport bikes and should play to their strengths of low FC and running costs. People seeking power and torque would logically just go for a larger capacity motorcycle.

Why squeeze an extra few ponies out of a miniscule engine when you can easily get those ponies from a larger engine?

Essentially, what you're asking for is illogical to produce.

One thing for sure is that for 2B bikes are;

1) with good pick up comes low top speed.

2) with good top speed comes low pick up.

3) with good pick up and top speed, tell me where to find this bike cos i also wanna own one. But on top of that where some modified it, COMES HIGH Maintainance...

So there is only 2.5 options.

I still love my 2B handling.....

Save petrol, cheap maintaince, cheap parts, slow slow pick up and be alive.....

Slow rider live longer.....

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

Can you elaborate on the highlighted sentence? Wat do you mean by doing everything rite? And at wat speed? EWay i believe most of it have at least 4 lanes. which lane were you at???

Some segments in some expressways have 3 lanes only. Like AYE, after the alexandra flyover, eastbound. This is not only me that encountered. My friends also. We riding slightly above 90 km/h, observing our lane discipline also. Very soon, a horde of cars are switching to the right lane (and left is no truck around) and cutting us abruptly. And these cars sometimes almost knock each other while overtaking me in the centre. The abrupt I am talking about is such that the car corner at behind will knock you if you dont brake. Some of these cars overtake while sharing 1 lane with us.

Of course, I am not saying every one is like that. But this is what I saw and what i experienced, my friends too.

Edited by Pluvius
incomplete situation description
I still love my 2B handling.....

Save petrol, cheap maintaince, cheap parts, slow slow pick up and be alive.....

Slow rider live longer.....

Hmmm well we have to be specific also. cos slow and blurr rider dun really live long. :lol:...

Yes bottomline, rider must be alert, rider should have the skill, give way when possible, dun risk the accident and 1 limb gone, but it still depends alot on the other motorist. And if you are on his "target list" of annoyance because you are too slow for his taste on the expressway, its bad news.

K K..chill man chill... relax.. don get dissappointed la... life is like tat... many tings are unfair..... chill chill..... in singapore is like tat... when u can speed ppl will speed... but muz be understanding why it is classified under 2b... coz alot of ppl are new to bike.. cannot expose to such a fast speed... let say u have all class of licesence.. MAIN TING!!! lane coutesy and lane discipline should be spread among all ppl. CHILL ah... relax la...

TA 200'02 | JUN 2008 - JUN 2010

S4 SPEC3'07 | JUN 2010 - MAY 2012

FZ6 S2'07 | MAY 2012 - CURRENT

http://i994.photobucket.com/albums/af70/heskeydal/signature1.jpg

Some segments in some expressways have 3 lanes only. Like AYE, after the alexandra flyover, eastbound. This is not only me that encountered. My friends also. We riding slightly above 90 km/h, observing our lane discipline also. Very soon, a horde of cars are switching to the right lane (and left is no truck around) and cutting us abruptly. The abrupt I am talking about is such that the car corner at behind will knock you if you dont brake. Some of these cars overtake while sharing 1 lane with us.

Of course, I am not saying every one is like that. But this is what I saw and what i experienced, my friends too.

Will this is lan lan bo bian. You cannot say that 2B 4 stroke will kana this kinna sh!t. even class 2 also will. But you knw that there are cars coming and you knw that they are going to overtake you then you should knw to take consideration of wat to expect next.

I knw its sh!t but it also happens to bigger bike as well. Even if is a Rocket 3. If they wanna do that, even you are 200kph they will also do that. So let go of these thots. Even if you own a 250 2 stroke also will kana this kinna sh!t.

One tot i that these horde of cars might be doing a convoy. you knw la drivers in one big group tend to have ego prob or issues. So dun let them stir you up.

And also you mentioned left got no trucks ard... Hmmm but are you traveling a faster speed than the left lane? if you are then you are ok. Normal ppl wont disturb you.

K K..chill man chill... relax.. don get dissappointed la... life is like tat... many tings are unfair..... chill chill..... in singapore is like tat... when u can speed ppl will speed... but muz be understanding why it is classified under 2b... coz alot of ppl are new to bike.. cannot expose to such a fast speed... let say u have all class of licesence.. MAIN TING!!! lane coutesy and lane discipline should be spread among all ppl. CHILL ah... relax la...

In the past licence use to be one class ride all for motorbike. And its becos too many cases of Team triangle just pass and get a 750cc and above bike that killed them. Thus the difference in classes now. Im glad that they do this. Cos ppl will grow more mature when they progress. I would have died on the road long ago if these classes were not implemented. Ppl say young and dangerous is very true. Well guess now im old and havoc Hahahaha...

Yes bottomline, rider must be alert, rider should have the skill, give way when possible, dun risk the accident and 1 limb gone, but it still depends alot on the other motorist. And if you are on his "target list" of annoyance because you are too slow for his taste on the expressway, its bad news.

Aiya to these drivers every car or bike or aeroplane is also slow to them one. They are young and dangerous lor. Or old and havoc lor hahaha... bo bian one.

These drivers or riders will just chase you down no matter wat speed or wat kinna pick up you have. So you knw wat i mean??? Cool down hahaha....

So one thing for sure, you shouldnt get disappointed with your bike or any bike that serve you well. But you can complaint that bike manufacturers make low quality bike. As for speed and pick up, i dun understand wat makes ppl think that they are better than the Motor Companies R&D team with said decades of experience and research.

In the past licence use to be one class ride all for motorbike. And its becos too many cases of Team triangle just pass and get a 750cc and above bike that killed them. Thus the difference in classes now. Im glad that they do this. Cos ppl will grow more mature when they progress. I would have died on the road long ago if these classes were not implemented. Ppl say young and dangerous is very true. Well guess now im old and havoc Hahahaha...

COOL!~./// hahaa... ya.. tat why they diff the class..... i actually good... but some restriction like wat he say la.... but life is like tat la... no choice..

TA 200'02 | JUN 2008 - JUN 2010

S4 SPEC3'07 | JUN 2010 - MAY 2012

FZ6 S2'07 | MAY 2012 - CURRENT

http://i994.photobucket.com/albums/af70/heskeydal/signature1.jpg

hi Ts, cn cya r tryin 2 'talk' abt tis but then as u juz nw, some bikers here r jus 2 unforgivin...u a smart boy u noe wat i m talkin.

no pt talkin le la..ppl here juz free nothin 2 do n 'wack' ard usin powderful eng lo.

read more cc ard..talk w ur frens beta.

waste time type so much end up kana wack only lo..

hi Ts, cn cya r tryin 2 'talk' abt tis but then as u juz nw, some bikers here r jus 2 unforgivin...u a smart boy u noe wat i m talkin.

no pt talkin le la..ppl here juz free nothin 2 do n 'wack' ard usin powderful eng lo.

read more cc ard..talk w ur frens beta.

waste time type so much end up kana wack only lo..

I dunno if you are talkin abt who. Cos seems like you dun dare to say. Anyway thank you for your compliment. Does that mean that your England is bad??? :lol:

botherin any jerks here? haaa :angel:

those w eyes cn c n read who's e 1 tryin 2 b BIG Bro here?

shake head..haizzz

Yeah true, expressway speed limit generally 90km/h, some 80km/h (don't quote Nicoll Highway to me) but in reality, cars will frequently go more than that, at around 100km/h agree? Consider a Saturday or Sunday evening/night. You have to agree that people don't follow the normal road limit of 50km/h right? The same applies to expressway. If possible (no jams), cars will go above the expressway limit of 90. Agree?

Now, imagine if you are traveling at 80km/h cruising speed with your Pulsar at middle lane, high chance, you will encounter cars tailgating you, flashing headlights and cutting your lane abruptly to show their anger. Not just one car, but a series of car will continue to share lanes with your bike even though your bike is in the centre of the lane while overtaking to share their anger. If you move to the side of the lane while travelling at 80-90 to let the car overtake you easily or share lane with you, you are putting yourself in risk (defensive riding) These big cars owners are the worst. They will do many nasty thing like trying to grind you.

But at the speed of 80-90, the expressway left lane is not a good lane for motorcycles for obvious reasons (laden with trucks). Of course, the motorcyclist may choose to linger at the lane marker between 2 lanes indefinitely but puts himself at risk if he do so for a very long time and at specific spots (fork at end of AYE, left goes to ECP/Tanjong Pagar, right goes to CTE).

Some will say whats the big deal? Just open throttle to 110km/h with your new 2b 4 stroke bike and keep up with the traffic. Very soon, you will have a heap load of problems with your stressed bike (pulsar especially).

Some will say I have never encountered or see this before? Thus, I ask you to ride your bike at 80 or 90 at middle lane at AYE or ECP and see if you have bad car drivers tailgating you or abruptly lane cutting you or grinding you. Similar situation here is when the normal road speed limit is 50 or 60 and when you follow the speed limit, you will find many big and heavily modded cars doing the same to you in anger. Try riding at 60 at normal roads, you will find heavily modded Integras, Civics and Lancers doing something funny to you.

seriously, how long can you travel constantly at 90kmh other than late at night?

ECP/AYE, no way..

PIE, certain stretch..

CTE/SLE, no way unless after AMK..

KPE, 70kmh only..

KJE, no comments..

you dun find a hogger in front of you can ahm chio already... :sian:

If riding a Class 2B bike is so dangerous on a highway, then you have few choices:

1. Get your Class 2A license/bike fast.

2. Only ride at 3 or 4 am when the road has less cars

3. Take MRT loh

I am sure most bikers know the risk of riding a motorcycle especially with the some of "good" drivers in Singapore. You should have thought about it before you get your Class 2B. No point blaming the drivers or bikes.

Hope you get your Class 2A soon but ride safe!

Edited by keiff

to ride is bliss

I know what you mean. The 2b bikes being released nowadays, especially the "sportsbikes" are just glorified bikes with cub engines. But that is how it is right now. 2b bikes aren't supposed to be fast, rather people use them for the low cost of maintenance and fc.

dear ts...

i am riding an xl200. yes, it may be 200cc but at speeds of around 100km/h and above the bike is very stressed by the windblasts, thus i usually cruise 80-90km/h

i find my bike pretty competent in the third lane and can even overtake in the overtaking lane. now and then there will be fast driver, if he is behind you, just move out of the way and let him pass.

i have seldom encountered the scenario you describe while on the scrambler though (except perhaps the odd crazy car which then proceeds to share lanes with the cars(!) in front as well)

perhaps the behaviour of the cars is due to other factors?

dont get intimidated, hold your lane, and you probably wont be disturbed.

or perhaps, to give ts the benefit of the doubt, his speedo is not that accurate and is displaying a faster speed than in reality

Even if you own a 250 2 stroke also will kana this kinna sh!t.

Humm... i ride a 350 2-stroke, i find they prefer to disturb me when i am on it than when i am on my small little scrambler... strange

anyway, if anyone thinks i can be disturbed and i cant speed up easily (traffic in front), i will show them im nt gg to be pushed around, then most of the time they back off

One thing for sure is that for 2B bikes are;

1) with good pick up comes low top speed.

2) with good top speed comes low pick up.

3) with good pick up and top speed, tell me where to find this bike cos i also wanna own one. But on top of that where some modified it, COMES HIGH Maintainance...

So there is only 2.5 options.

frankly speaking, i think for sg road, pick up is more impt than top speed. but nt too fast pick up, cause drivers dont expect it.

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

let me share wif u all my part of riding.

I'm riding a 26 years old RXK bike...even older than me...top speed.down hill 100. my cruising speed is 70-80 km/h

its an ah pek bike.

in expressway..always take the middle lane..coz left is too slow got heavy vehicle.

once in a while the middle lane is too slow, no choice overtake on the right most lane.. and when the car behind is fast approaching i will signal left while overtaking..signaling to him that i will go back to the middle lane quickly.. tat way he will not bang u..or shall i say least chance.

next, is when car suddenly get into ur lane w/o even signaling...let me tell u..i'm a bad temper kind of person..but still i noe..i'm riding a slow bike, no use preventing the driver from overtaking...i will keep on horning and horning...yes the car will still cut into my lane..i will slow down..and yes i noe when that happen ur ego will be like...wt* rite...

i will then find a perfect timing...overtake him...on the right ..just at his side...slow down for a few seconds...beep beep him and ...the really worst case..which i only do it once in my lifetime..show my middle finger to him..and ride off. (just to let u noe tat when i do this the car was stuck in a jam..)

riding is all about patience, whether u are riding a slow or fast bike..please think about ur love one rather than ur ego

Edited by 0401897D
spelling error
:) cooling off day
next, is when car suddenly get into ur lane w/o even signaling...let me tell u..i'm a bad temper kind of person..but still i noe..i'm riding a slow bike, no use preventing the driver from overtaking...i will keep on horning and horning...yes the car will still cut into my lane..i will slow down..and yes i noe when that happen ur ego will be like...wt* rite...

i will then find a perfect timing...overtake him...on the right ..just at his side...slow down for a few seconds...beep beep him and ...the really worst case..which i only do it once in my lifetime..show my middle finger to him..and ride off. (just to let u noe tat when i do this the car was stuck in a jam..)

heh heh dont we all hate these kind of drivers, knn la its congested even if i riding hayabusa i also cant get out of the way lor (unless i want to squeeze and i am tired and dont feel like squeezing)...

when they try to push me out of the way, i will move towards them rather than away from them, then they will be the one to back off... hehehe but of course, still give yourself some space to escape in case the driver is one of those crazy fellas (and after escaping then come back in front of him and ride slowly... hahahahaha)

sometimes fast pickup is even more dangerous, imagine you are riding slowly, the car in front lane change out, you throttle and enter powerband to pick up speed then suddenly this bongturd decides to change lane into the rather large but yet rapidly closing space between you and the car in front...

but to be fair to him he also did not expect this kind of sudden pickup from the bike... then in tt case LL slow down give way lor unless u want to kiss the car at 90km/h...

o ya regarding new 2 strokes, seems like everyone has forgotten about the humble rxz? one of my fave bikes in the 2b category

some of your pointers, not only 2B bikes face them. 2A/2 face them too.

keep to the last 2 lanes if your bike cannot match the speed of the expressway. as simple as that.

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

Simple solution is to get a bigger bike if you want more speed and power. Many bro out there, including me are riding 2b bikes because we take it as a form of transport, convenience and cost effective.

When there are riders like me who demand for a cost effective bike, surely supply will be catered to us. :)

when i saw the title, i thought ts wanted to say very few designs available given the 200cc restriction. :lol:

anyway what's the point of talking about top speed since we got no podium to fight for. no matter how fast, there's always someone faster than you. pick up speed will be more appropriate since we are more of a city instead of a country.... where there's a traffic light waiting for you every few meters down. but since you are talking about expressway riding, i think cruising speed will be more relevant here.

i am riding a 2a bike and i am doing 90km/h half of the time. what i observe is that when i am going at that speed, i can usually stay on the first lane and overtake all the other vehicles on lane 2. it's usually other bikes that are going faster than me. occasionally a faster car will come, i will just lane change to lane 2, let it over take and then depending on road condition, change back to lane 1 and follow behind him or stay at lane 2 if it's clear. sometimes when the stretch of road is more clear, i will open up throttle a little more. the rest of the time, i am doing 30-50km/h lane splitting.

of cos, dont talk about those wee hours la. and those inconsiderate drivers, like some people mentioned, you try to go faster, if he meant to disturb, he also will follow suit 1 what. and they are not limited to expressway only. i have seen cars "racing" against each other on bukit timah road as well.

seriously dont you guys find there are more and more cars on the road? most of the time it's quite pack, even if one drive ferrari, he also end up going around the same speed as most people.

in fact, those supercars are going so slow that first you see the burning ferrari outside smu. now, you have the flaming lambogini.

http://static.stomp.com.sg/site/servlet/linkableblob/stomp/369906/thumbnail/black_lamborghini_goes_up_in_flames_and_smoke_along_holland_park-thumbnail.jpg

肥仔七åƒå·