• Replies 170

One (or two) question(s): How long are you gona keep the bike? 1-2 years before changing class2A/2 or 5-6 years?

I've never owned any 2strokers bike before because of fear of the maintenance, but that's not the point. I was like you, still schooling when I got my license. So I'm just gona share with you what I did:

I got a brand new Pulsar with box for 6k. Was still fresh 18 year old. Got the bike cause of its fuel efficient, top speed 120kmph, no need 2t, maintenance VERY low. Honestly, people do look down on me cause it's not "sportsbike" looking but I didnt bother. I still rode it to school when other people were riding RS125. Cause my aim was to LEARN how to maintain the bike, USE it for transport, KEEP it for long and to spend MINIMAL cash on petrol and maintenance.

What I didnt realise was that after I got my cl2a, my backside got so itchy that I sold the bike (only 1year 2months old, and it was first hand!) and got a second-hand Super4. And i sold it for half the price I paid for it.

A year later, I got my cl2. Now i'm 21 and m already riding cl2 bike.

So boi_17, the morale of the story is, if you're planning to upgrade, dont bother getting a first-hand bike, OR SPEND SO MUCH MONEY ON MAINTENANCE for your first bike. Based from my humble experience, it is not at all worth it. Because you are still young and schooling. Dont care what other people say or think. 1-2 years later when you get a cl2 bike, the same people will most prolly forget what you rode and they will worship you for the bike that you own now (also based on humblest experience. :)). Ask around experienced riders around you. They'll prolly say the same thing. Cause your riding life does not revolve around KR and SP only. Get a 4stroke second-hand bike (an r15 would be good) and change to RSV4 in the years to come. A few years down the road you'll be smiling to yourself and said glad you did what you did.

Having said all this, IF you planning to keep the bike for good, by all means get SP since you said you like the bike so much. Just dont regret when you make that decision. All the bros (and ladies, if there are) in this forum are soo much experienced than me and you, listen to their advice. They know better than you do. Dont be like how Malays put it: Biar papa asal bergaya (translates: It's okay to be poor, as long as you got style)

EVEN THEN, if you're planning to keep your first bike, splurge abit more cash and GET AN APRILIA RS125 OR YAMAHA R125! You don't have to look for chicks. Chicks will look for you. *winks*

I hope this helps in you deciding your first bike. Think about it, aight? As much as we can help, we will help you. :)

Firstly thanks for sharing ur experience as its similar to mine. I plan to keep it for like 2 years. Rs125 r15 r125 all hahah too expensive cannot fork out so much ah.

thanks for the info. i will have to think about it too cas like wat u all say i still student no income somemore yet soo much to spend for bike. haizzz. anyways thanks ur experienced help me. :D :D

engine is one thing, tires, chain, sproc, fork, steering, all these wear n tear problems comes in as well.

The best warranty i know is 1 month if buying a 2nd hand bike from shop, after tat they will see u as a carrot

waalauuu one month only ah. haiz soo much to spend aiyaa.

SP handling is the best, at least for me. (:

woww. hope i get a chance to ride one soon. :p

I am not a racer. I am a rider.

buying a bike is not tat easy, think of the insurance, rd tax, transfer fee, season parking.

After u get a bike, maintenance comes in, ur life is on the bike, pamper it well.

Getting gd quality riding gears also important.

Dun let ur ego control the throttle, otr must forgive n forget, ride safe n dun be a rd hazard to other motorists.

buying a bike is not tat easy, think of the insurance, rd tax, transfer fee, season parking.

After u get a bike, maintenance comes in, ur life is on the bike, pamper it well.

Getting gd quality riding gears also important.

Dun let ur ego control the throttle, otr must forgive n forget, ride safe n dun be a rd hazard to other motorists.

i sooooo agree with this. *thumbs up*

You don't have to look for chicks. Chicks will look for you. *winks*

This is true. But if you are good enough like me, they will still look for you no matter what bike you ride. One of the many reasons i got a YBR so that chikkies don't come and disturb me. Wah lao, got still many of them want to "make friends" or want me to take them for a spin.

I politely decline, citing safety reasons but they were still adamant on riding pillion. Once, there was this chikky on a super 4. Wah she just inch inch inch just to see who the handsome rider sia!

Then got another time, was at the carpark, talking to my gf and her dad. Then got this chikky on a wave. She was actually hanging around on her bike for about 40 mins. Finally when i was done talking to my gf and her dad, i faster rode off, the freaky wave girl caught me at the traffic light and made conversation with me sia. To think she actually waited 40 mins just to talk to me. I told this to my gf and she too realised that that gal was actually checking me out and was kinda wasting time at her bike for dunno what reason. I thought perhaps it could be my ego ah, but its a girl thing ah. Girls can sense when other girls are checking another guy out.

Moral of the story is that, it really doesnt matter what bike you ride. As long you got bike, can move, can carry your books, laptop etc, can already. Your friends will envy you cause they need to take 1.5hr trip to school while i only take 20 mins.

This is true. But if you are good enough like me, they will still look for you no matter what bike you ride. One of the many reasons i got a YBR so that chikkies don't come and disturb me. Wah lao, got still many of them want to "make friends" or want me to take them for a spin.

I politely decline, citing safety reasons but they were still adamant on riding pillion. Once, there was this chikky on a super 4. Wah she just inch inch inch just to see who the handsome rider sia!

Then got another time, was at the carpark, talking to my gf and her dad. Then got this chikky on a wave. She was actually hanging around on her bike for about 40 mins. Finally when i was done talking to my gf and her dad, i faster rode off, the freaky wave girl caught me at the traffic light and made conversation with me sia. To think she actually waited 40 mins just to talk to me. I told this to my gf and she too realised that that gal was actually checking me out and was kinda wasting time at her bike for dunno what reason. I thought perhaps it could be my ego ah, but its a girl thing ah. Girls can sense when other girls are checking another guy out.

Moral of the story is that, it really doesnt matter what bike you ride. As long you got bike, can move, can carry your books, laptop etc, can already. Your friends will envy you cause they need to take 1.5hr trip to school while i only take 20 mins.

I agree with crazydj. As long as u got a bike is good enuf. Safety first. Ride so fast for wat?? Not as if u stay in KL. Hehe.

Past rides:

1st ride : Vespa PX150

2nd ride : Honda Wave 125

3rd ride : SYM GTS 200

4th ride : Honda Super 4 Spec 2

5th ride : Derbi DRD 125 SM

Current ride : :dot:

get rdy 3-4k 1st

b4 u wanna get 1

get rdy 3-4k 1st

b4 u wanna get 1

Sooo much ????? anyways I change plan...now I thinking of buying kr in instalment since it soo expensive.

Buy CHEAP BIKE in FULL CASH.

if u buy kr in full cash 10yrs coe is lyk 2k++ machine price ? dan otr alrdy 3k+

Buy CHEAP BIKE in FULL CASH.

haha dont want bro. I plan to buy only kr or sp.

if u buy kr in full cash 10yrs coe is lyk 2k++ machine price ? dan otr alrdy 3k+

ya tats y i plan to buy instalment.

where u gonna shop 4 ur bike

18yr old 1.3k

sp i think $900

Kr insurance is more expensive than sp due to the accident rate .. about 1.4k

as far i know its 1.3K for kr insurance.

where u gonna shop 4 ur bike

i think i will most likely get it from the bukit merah, over there got alot of bike shop. nt sure which shop to go also.

if u know any gd shop pls suggest them :D

18yr old 1.3k

sp i think $900

hmm as far as i know kr correct $1300 but an sp is abt $800.

hmm i though u feed ur machine low quality product machine give more problem. limit budget to $1000 is per year rite. do u think sp a gd bike for a starter, somemore i small size somemore ??

lol i mean $1000++ for the bike. every month maintainence, excluding fuel and parts spoil, normally 20 bucks good enough liao, sp can take cheap oil, as long as you change it regularly. but parts will break often, chain, cables, batteries, all these might add up. but all in all, still very cheap to maintain, if you don't spend a lot to zhng here zhng there.

hmm as far as i know kr correct $1300 but an sp is abt $800.

SP insurance $886 for 18 year old just pass (1 year ago).

lol i mean $1000++ for the bike. every month maintainence, excluding fuel and parts spoil, normally 20 bucks good enough liao, sp can take cheap oil, as long as you change it regularly. but parts will break often, chain, cables, batteries, all these might add up. but all in all, still very cheap to maintain, if you don't spend a lot to zhng here zhng there.

haha ok 1000++ for bike. i see. hmm okay.

SP insurance $886 for 18 year old just pass (1 year ago).

hmm ok.

Guy C (Handsome)

--------

Yamaha YBR125

------------------

Mineral EO can last 3 months

Spark plug can last 1 year

Chain and sprockets can last 3 years

Michelin Pilot Sporty tyres can last 4 years

Fuel Tank 12L

45L Givi Box

42km/l

Seat Super Comfy

Cheap Parts

Stable at high speeds and cornering

You still want your SP or KR? Still schooling sommore. Eh, ppl dun care what bike you ride la. As long the damn thing moves bring you to school, can carry your books and laptop, tabao food etc. can already. You wanna attract girls ah with sports bike? If thats the case, you dun need SP or KR. You buy me dinner at Simpang Bedok, i teach you how to pick up girls. *cough*LOSER*Cough*. Haha.

Off topic a bit. Getting the girl to commit into a relationship with you is easy. Keeping her with you till the end, well, its different. Like human, we keep wanting more and more so yeah. Same thing when it comes to bikes. Bike slow, but you want more power. But CAN YOU AFFORD THAT POWER?

Same with char boh. You be super romantic when you courting her. Once you did all you can and in a relationship with her, she EXPECTS more from you. Question is, CAN YOU AFFORD TO DO THAT PHYSICALLY, MENTALLY AND EMOTIONALLY?

Think about it.

Edited by crazydj

money money money~