Originally posted by arjen@Sep 13 2006, 02:57 AM

Will you pay 600-700 for an approved street-legal exhaust for wave with documentation if there are ?

Guess for the price range of a so call "street legal aftermarket" are not feasible in sgp. Even if there are, the price range is much much more than enough for you to mod your whole bike upside down. :p

600-700 for an approved end might be too expen, but i reckon that maybe for wave, the price might be under 500.

if this is the range, i am interested. better than paying the rov 500 for illegi end.

after that can sell as second hand for a few hundred....and that will work out to be maybe one or two hundred for a approved end usage.

• Replies 780

MERGED THREAD

Topic : exhaust system?

Description : Nil

Hihi,i'm riding at Yamaha Nouvo MX,juz wondering if anyone knows of any LTA approved pipes for cubs?

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo MX - Sep 2006

Honda CB400 Spec II - Nov 2007

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - Oct 2008

Suzuki GSXR 600 K6 - June 2009

Gilera Fuoco 500 - Dec 2009

Honda CB1000R - July 2011

Harley Davidson Sportster Forty Eight - Dec 2012 (Current)

Dun Think So Bro...

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

I wrote in to LTA regarding this..this is wat i got...

Our Ref: LTA/CSV/F20.032.00014135/1

Date : 16-OCT-2006

Tel : 6553 5194

Fax : 6459 3604

Dear Mr Lee,

Re: Changing of exhaust

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 423133

Please refer to your enquiry dated 10/10/2006.

We would like to inform you that LTA allows the replacement of

after-market

vehicle parts, including exhaust system, as long as it does not

adversely

affect the safe operation and/or exhaust emissions characteristics of

the

vehicle, or compromise the safety of vehicle occupants and other road

users. The after-market exhaust system should be specifically designed

for

that particular vehicle make and model and be installed by a qualified

person in accordance with the product manufacturer~s recommendation.

To date, we have yet to evaluate any after-market exhaust

system/silencer

for the Yamaha Nouvo 114A. However, if you wish to install or come

across

any after-market exhaust system/silencer that are specifically designed

for

your make and model of vehicle, you may provide the following documents

(in

English) for our evaluation:

(a) Conformity certificate (e.g. JASMA or EEC) to show that the

replacement exhaust system/silencer is suitable to be installed for

that

particular vehicle make and model and would not adversely affect the

safe

operation and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle;

(b) Technical specification and installation details (including

pictures/drawings) of the after-market exhaust system/silencer; and

© Evidence or test reports from the product manufacturer or

independent

test laboratories (e.g. TUV, DEKRA, VCA or JVIA) to show that the

after-market exhaust system had been manufactured and tested according

to

international recognised standards.

You can forward these documents to the Vehicle Engineering Division of

LTA

at 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701.

Upon completion of our evaluation to your application, you would be

required to present your vehicle that is fitted with the approved

replacement silencer together with our approval letter to you, to any

of

the LTA-authorised Vehicle Inspection Centre (i.e. STA, JIC or VICOM)

for

an inspection. (Note: the inspection centre will charge a fee of

$52.50/-

(inclusive of GST) for such a service)

We hope that the above clarifies. Should you have further enquires,

please

do not hesitate to contact me at tel: 65535194 or Mr Vincent Tan at

tel:

6553 5701.

Yours sincerely,

(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)

ENG YOU LENG

HIGHER PRINCIPAL ENGINEERING OFFICER

VEHICLE ENGINEERING DIVISION

My Rides

anyway,if anyone come across any exhaust tat meets the above conditions,can let me know?thanks alot..

My Rides

dun waste time.. derz none.. so far heard of only 2 legal aftermarket pipes for 2b 4-stroke bikes..

GPR - for gilera runner

Delta - for KSR 110

both have jmsa cert.. meanin its been approved in japan.. under certain standards.. which then can be passed in sg.. as long as our thai manufacturers produce sum exhaust in japan.. which MITE be legal.. it`ll be long2 time to look up to.. n also.. if u`re willing to spend nearly 700+ to get da pipe.. (shippin.. jmsa cert.. ship to s`pore.. LTA inspection..) den u may go on for ur hunt.. derz one guy in diz forum.. nick Tricker.. u can msg him to get info on how he got his delta exhaust approved for his rare bike.. he too went thru all this.. at least his is a 2a bike.. if u ask me 700+ for exhaust fer a 2b bike.. i`ll tell u its not worth it.. calculate it over da time u`ll be riding da bike.. if 1-2 years.. dun waste da time.. money n effort.. honest.. anyway.. just my 2 cents.. end of da day.. itz ur choice.. ur bike.. ur money.. cheers..!

You Ain`t Ridin.. If It Ain`t Slidin..

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k301/trialsin/siggie3.jpg

ermmm think u need 2 read between the lines... it may sound fairly easy but the process cost a bomb.. if i din remember wrongly, it cost ard 3k to send a pipe to germany for them to do lab test... provided you have the blueprint of the exhaust..

anyway even if got approved pipe as wat trail-sin said would cost you ard 500 and above..:thumb:

http://www.freewebtown.com/idioticlown/library/image/Pic_0011a.JPG

Lamer by Day Poser by Night

EX-Wives

r ppl whom u cant have....

Current Wife

is in ur heart nt on screen...

All is not lost..at least i did it b4.Have you? Life is not abt regrets, its abt how you live it 2 the fullest everyday..Bt its doesnt matters anymore cos i have been fooled by e deceptions of LIFE..

500+ can get u a gpr or leo vince slip-on for a class 2a/2 bike.. n datz really for performance for their performance bike.. our bike are juz humble machines.. unless u`re riding sport bike.. derz da street legal arrow pipes.. if i`m not wrong.. nouvo is an automatic bike.. y didn`t u get a gilera vxr 200 in da ferz place..? derz a gpr pipe for it.. will cost arnd 580+ w/o lta inspection fee..

oh..like tat there is no hope for changing liao..onli left with those aftermarket ones,but all illegal..i dun think i'll change bcoz i heard the fine will be very ex..anyone knows how to tune carb?

My Rides

my best bet will be a mechanic.. wrong hands on the carb will gif ur bike hiccups thoroughout ur whole journey..

any good place to recommend??izzit illegal to change the carb to bigger one?

My Rides

changin to bigger carb is not illegal.. can do it at almost any bikeshop.. wan cheaper.. go across border.. cheers..!

cool,but i heard once u change bigger carb,ur fuel consumption will go up too rite?

My Rides

hmm..have anyone tried power abuser?

My Rides

Just got my wave recently and realise that the pipe is noisy.. Going to inspection soon.. It sound quite nice thou.. But i think inspection will fail.. I look at the back of my pipe there is this one small just above the big hole where smoke comes out..is that the cause of the noise? I find myself winning other Kups.. Is it because of the modded pipe?

whoa.. ur bike emitting smoke?? go have it checked.. ;ast time rxz got smoke means good but wave got smoke means ur oisti=on.u winning other kups..and white smoke.. u been whacking d throttle rite? its not advisable for u to whack throttle.. wave has its limitations

Wave got no 2T olso got smoke.?. Power pack lah.. Winning other kapcai, I mean in pick-up, isn't difficult.. At traffic lite, anticipate the red light and other riders lah.. Hahaha.. Peace Outz..

yep..but wen the pipe kicks in..will be faster also.. firdaus..go have ur pistons checked aite

no lah bro..my wave no smoke..wat i mean theres a hole on top of the pipe's hole.. get wat i mean?

MERGED THREAD

Topic : Make X1 Pipe gt sound! help!

Description : help!

Bros out here...my x1 is a stock one...so its silent..i intend to like make the bike gt abit noise when throttle...i heard mus "TEBOK" the pipe...any bros can help here? help as in shop recommendations? and wat are the effects of tat? i heard will spoil engine and stuff...help me..thanks

Originally posted by bender@March 31, 2007 01:09 am

Bros out here...my x1 is a stock one...so its silent..i intend to like make the bike gt abit noise when throttle...i heard mus "TEBOK" the pipe...any bros can help here? help as in shop recommendations? and wat are the effects of tat? i heard will spoil engine and stuff...help me..thanks

There is a threads mainly on - ExHAUST Pipe :goodluck:

As for shop recommendation, i tink AGL there is cheapest. The onli things u need to pay is the labour nia. :cheers:

do u really wanna do it??

u very rich??

not scared kena summon??

bro sound good dun make a diff on ur bike, it's jus SOUND well u wan go tong ur pipe lor that's the simple why but once done can undo it. If u go inspection dun pass u will be in big trouble