Which bike?  

329 members have voted

1. 1. Which bike?

• Honda GSX-R 400
    • Kawasaki ZXR 400
    • Aprilia RS250
    • Honda NSR250
    • Honda RVF 400
    • Honda CBR 400 Fireblade
    • Yamaha Hornet 250
    • WR,DR or XR 400
    • Pay PQP COE NOW coz COE won't drop before Oct
    • COE will drop enough by Oct, so wait

Originally posted by tealeaf@Apr 10 2004, 07:27 PM

common problems with G4 is the rusty tank, overflowing carb and cdi kaput...

wirings also but this occurs to all old bikes after years of piggybackin wires... spend a few hundred to strip and rewire if necessary... if u check the garage sales, u would see alot of people looking for gsxr forks.

it is common thing that the tank rust be it G4 or whaterer .......

carb overflow .....i got that once ...the fuel cork need replace ....cost me only $20 ....and that problem is solve ....:cheer:

• Replies 165

how much u wanna fork out first?

if u take G4, if no ppl buy, then bike shop wanna buy anot first.

if u can buy for 1.5k, then how much u can sell if is back to bike shop?

so if u buy G4, u must prepare to not getting back money liao.

and why G4 is always hear got problems?

didnt their owner do it up? should have rite, so i think should be the problem do up liao oso very fast come out again. this is my guess.

buy rvf, and u are buying it from private owner, then how much u pay is how much u can sell in a year time. but roughly got to take out around $1000 cash to do it up to last u a year without problems. if u buy rvf, can always pm me for more information and help. regardless of what plate is it, buy 1 rvf below 8k machine price for an FP plate is best liao.

buy a CBR oso good, cos lower price and if is buy from private owner, what u pay is oso what u can sell, best is get 1 CBR below 5k machine price, and performance oso can make it.

but if spoil, its repair fee is the same as rvf and rvf is double the price of a cbr400. and cbr400 is more easlier to sell after a year, cos more ppl buy cbr than buy rvf as rvf is double the price mah.

try not to get a 2 stroker lah, save the 2T money for ur GSXR a year later, cos 05 GSXR is sure gonna be a monster.

actually, i think u get a G4 or cbr400 better, cos u only wanna ride for a year mah. just tong for a year.

what ever is it, dun buy from bike shop for 2nd hand bike.

Originally posted by Kaizer@Apr 10 2004, 06:30 PM

yah i'm open to road bikes too, just donno what bikes out there that can corner well and isn't a sportsbike! ;)

the only one i can think of is the Hornet250, but that's a 4-stroker, power almost the same as my mito, dowann ah... ;)

4 stroker? i thot some of the bikes u mentioned r 4 strokers too? anyway, how bout S4? great bike. actually i wldn't bother if the bike can corner well if i were u, cause its the rider tht makes the bike corner well mah

If you have friends riding cbr, rvf and gsx, I suggest you test ride to see which one you like? (but dun spoil their bike la, if not later must buy liao..haha)

Anyway, what matters most is buying what YOU like. There is no point buying a bike that's agreed as good by many but YOU dun like

Anyway heres a guide:

If you like cornering can try the rs250 ($4k)

If you want cornering but dun like 2T can buy gsx($2k)

If you like top end power den can try CBR($3k)

If you want torquey bike can try RVF ($8k)

If you want torquey bike but wana save $$$ can try VFR (???)

If you still want to save $$$, keep ur mito la :p

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by redname@Apr 11 2004, 05:03 AM

4 stroker? i thot some of the bikes u mentioned r 4 strokers too? anyway, how bout S4? great bike. actually i wldn't bother if the bike can corner well if i were u, cause its the rider tht makes the bike corner well mah

Hmm, not really la

Heard from many S4 friends that it's not really good for cornering. Due to the design etc. the front just wants to go down further and it's not that stable in corners compared to sportybikes

But plus point is that it is comfy and has a box~ And great pickup!

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by fibre@Apr 11 2004, 11:32 AM

Hmm, not really la

Heard from many S4 friends that it's not really good for cornering. Due to the design etc. the front just wants to go down further and it's not that stable in corners compared to sportybikes

But plus point is that it is comfy and has a box~ And great pickup!

u heard only mah. i've tried b4, i was the pillion on a S4, the rider still can buah kai tah

Originally posted by 168km/h@Apr 10 2004, 07:59 PM

that is the same guy ......... his bike is being push over ..........:help:

? dun understand what u mean.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11573/happyhalloween.jpg
Originally posted by 168km/h@Apr 10 2004, 08:02 PM

it is  common thing that the tank rust be it G4 or whaterer .......

carb overflow .....i got that once ...the fuel cork need replace ....cost me only $20 ....and that problem is solve ....:cheer:

its a common thing, but nobody thinks of it as a problem, maybe more common for older G4's but an rusted tank rust plugs up jets in your pilot circuits and cause frequent erratic carburation...

u dun know it and u think its the carbs dirty, well u'r right its dirty but u cant keep stripping a carb to clean... besides, it isnt cheap to service. after service the problem comes back again becos its the rust in the tank that flows into the carb.

u replaced fuel cork when ur carb overflows? interesting...

anyway, here's my take on the sporty 400s

g4 - torquey, top heavy, the pull at low revs feels very strong but actually u are going very slow. very slick gearbox.

cbr4 - easy to ride, smooth, abit boring :p

rvf - very nimble, the pull at low rev feels very weak but u are actually going faster then what u feel. abit too expensive.

zx4 - dunno, never ride b4 but exhaust sounds great.

Originally posted by 168km/h@Apr 10 2004, 08:02 PM

it is common thing that the tank rust be it G4 or whaterer .......

If the tank rust, how to fix? Change new tank??

if u take G4, if no ppl buy, then bike shop wanna buy anot first.

if u can buy for 1.5k, then how much u can sell if is back to bike shop?

so if u buy G4, u must prepare to not getting back money liao.

and why G4 is always hear got problems?

didnt their owner do it up? should have rite, so i think should be the problem do up liao oso very fast come out again. this is my guess.

that's what i don't know, no idea for the resale value of these bikes. Any more input on this?

buy rvf, and u are buying it from private owner, then how much u pay is how much u can sell in a year time.

buy a CBR oso good, cos lower price and if is buy from private owner, what u pay is oso what u can sell

wah is this true? that's good depreciation man..!

try not to get a 2 stroker lah, save the 2T money for ur GSXR a year later, cos 05 GSXR is sure gonna be a monster.

i've set my eyes on a K3 with a hotbodies race exhaust! :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Err I know, i meant to say that the hornet, at 250cc, hadn't enough capacity to be a 4 stroker, it's at 30+bhp, about the same as a mito, and frankly speaking, I'm getting bored of the power.

About the S4, I have friends whom are veteran S4 riders, they still can't hold a candle to my mito in corners (not being yaya ah guys :cheeky:). I tried myself too, even when bua ka ta, the radius sucks...

Anyway, what matters most is buying what YOU like. There is no point buying a bike that's agreed as good by many but YOU dun like

Heh, I said I didn't really like any 2A bikes, hence the discussion! ;)

If you still want to save $$$, keep ur mito la

Difficult to say, I like to stunt bikes, if I keep my mito and stunt, I'm gonna go bankrupt soon!

thanks all, really appreciate it, but keep in mind the priorities I listed! parts/problems, resale and cornering first, in that order.

I miss you baby:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v638/thekaizer/automotive/18317145062605l.jpg

*Disclaimer: Kaizer is an imaginary character and all posts are based on fiction.

Get a cheap machine and overhaul it. It's better than buying a $x bike which claims to be problematic free. Rather get a $(x-1000) bike, spend the $1000 to

do up the bike and it will last you for a long time.

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

if u got $$$ u can change a new tank, anyway there are workshops that are able to do some treatment to it.

that's what i don't know, no idea for the resale value of these bikes. Any more input on this?

most selling around $1.5-$2.5k now, its at the bottom of the ladder already, so u wont loose much when u wanna sell.

Difficult to say, I like to stunt bikes, if I keep my mito and stunt, I'm gonna go bankrupt soon!

teach me? heard somewhere u can do rolling endo's and wheelies on ur 2-stroke mito... i've got a spare 2-stroke to trash.

Originally posted by tealeaf@Apr 11 2004, 01:08 PM

its a common thing, but nobody thinks of it as a problem, maybe more common for older G4's but an rusted tank rust plugs up jets in your pilot circuits and cause frequent erratic carburation...

u dun know it and u think its the carbs dirty, well u'r right its dirty but u cant keep stripping a carb to clean... besides, it isnt cheap to service. after service the problem comes back again becos its the rust in the tank that flows into the carb.

u replaced fuel cork when ur carb overflows? interesting...

anyway, here's my take on the sporty 400s

g4 - torquey, top heavy, the pull at low revs feels very strong but actually u are going very slow. very slick gearbox.

cbr4 - easy to ride, smooth, abit boring :p

rvf - very nimble, the pull at low rev feels very weak but u are actually going faster then what u feel. abit too expensive.

zx4 - dunno, never ride b4 but exhaust sounds great.

the fuel keeps going into the carbs ...after i swithch off the engine

but i just bring it to the mech and he told me that the fuel cork need to be replaced and after he replaced it the problem is solved .......already 5 months still no problem:smile:

Originally posted by 168km/h@Apr 11 2004, 04:29 PM

the fuel keeps going into the carbs ...after i swithch off the engine

but i just bring it to the mech and he told me that the fuel cork need to be replaced and after he replaced it the problem is solved .......already 5 months still no problem:smile:

fuel cork? the part below the fuel tank? how come so cheap? 2nd hand one?

Originally posted by Arcfire@Apr 11 2004, 11:47 PM

fuel cork? the part below the fuel tank? how come so cheap? 2nd hand one?

not really sure ....thats what the mech told me ...didn't really look what he's doing .... but as long as it did solve the problem...:cheer: :clap: :cheers:

hmmmmm... i tot fuel overflow from carb is bcos of the spring for the float in the carb is spoilt.. tatz y fuel kip rushin into the carb n gets overflowed.. i'm not sure bout big bikes.. but i experienced tat b4.. changed the spring.. 2 bucks i think.. erm... all i noe the fuel tap is only to choose where the fuel is flowing from n turnin it off.. heez not beri expert on this juz my assumptions on ur bike problem..

Success is not something you pursue. Its like chasing a butterfly, you cant quite catch it. Success is something you attract by the person you become.

Jim Rohn

Originally posted by tealeaf@Apr 11 2004, 03:29 PM

if u got $$$ u can change a new tank, anyway there are workshops that are able to do some treatment to it.

most selling around $1.5-$2.5k now, its at the bottom of the ladder already, so u wont loose much when u wanna sell.

teach me? heard somewhere u can do rolling endo's and wheelies on ur 2-stroke mito... i've got a spare 2-stroke to trash.

Heh, I was being sarcastic with the comment about CHANGING to new tank. haha, where got money sia... so what kinda treatment, where and how much?

i heard from my brother, he said that the camchain might be prone to wear and tear, how much if need to change ah?

---------

about resale, what I meant was, would this bike be easy to sell off in the first place? whaddya guys think?

---------

Stunts? Well, I not pro, still practising, that's why I'm considering a change of bike, coz mito spares are difficult, and I *expect* to fall! anyway, for stoppies or endos, I reccommend at least semi-sintered pads coz it's much more sensitive and more effecient. it's much easier to do on a small cc bike than a wheelie. just remember to say "aghh f*ck eeeet!", lean your whole body really really forward, grip the tank with both thighs and grab the brake! The practice is in how much to lean, and maintaining your grip on the brake. oh, and for rolling ones, you gotta go fast, should be at least 60-80km/h, depending on weight of bike, otherwise rear would not lift up until last minute, when you're already stopping.

for wheelies, I've so far managed to only pop, still trying to bring it up while on the move, can only do a tiny one with first gear and larger rear sprox, but never able to maintain...yet! :D

wait a minute, i'm sure you know all of this already, right? don't suan me leh... :cheeky:

I miss you baby:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v638/thekaizer/automotive/18317145062605l.jpg

*Disclaimer: Kaizer is an imaginary character and all posts are based on fiction.

Originally posted by Kaizer@Apr 12 2004, 12:48 AM

wait a minute, i'm sure you know all of this already, right? don't suan me leh... :cheeky:

:gun: :gun: :gun: kai

http://www.dreamgate.ne.jp/nsr/Gallery/repsol%20and%20regular250.jpg
Originally posted by fibre@Apr 11 2004, 11:29 AM

If you have friends riding cbr, rvf and gsx, I suggest you test ride to see which one you like? (but dun spoil their bike la, if not later must buy liao..haha)

Anyway heres a guide:

If you like cornering can try the rs250 ($4k)

If you want cornering but dun like 2T can buy gsx($2k)

If you like top end power den can try CBR($3k)

If you want torquey bike can try RVF ($8k)

If you want torquey bike but wana save $$$ can try VFR (???)

If you still want to save $$$, keep ur mito la :p

:thumb: Good advice...

Originally posted by Kaizer@Apr 12 2004, 12:48 AM

Heh, I was being sarcastic with the comment about CHANGING to new tank. haha, where got money sia... so what kinda treatment, where and how much?

i heard from my brother, he said that the camchain might be prone to wear and tear, how much if need to change ah?

---------

about resale, what I meant was, would this bike be easy to sell off in the first place? whaddya guys think?

---------

Stunts? Well, I not pro, still practising, that's why I'm considering a change of bike, coz mito spares are difficult, and I *expect* to fall! anyway, for stoppies or endos, I reccommend at least semi-sintered pads coz it's much more sensitive and more effecient. it's much easier to do on a small cc bike than a wheelie. just remember to say "aghh f*ck eeeet!", lean your whole body really really forward, grip the tank with both thighs and grab the brake! The practice is in how much to lean, and maintaining your grip on the brake. oh, and for rolling ones, you gotta go fast, should be at least 60-80km/h, depending on weight of bike, otherwise rear would not lift up until last minute, when you're already stopping.

for wheelies, I've so far managed to only pop, still trying to bring it up while on the move, can only do a tiny one with first gear and larger rear sprox, but never able to maintain...yet! :D

with regards to tank job, u have to check with bikeshops.

if u buy a bike and the cam chain needs to be replaced, u might as well not buy that bike.

Cam chain tensioner might need tightening, or replacing, wont cost u an arm or leg, but labour costs varies. at the same time u can do your valve clearance/alignment adjustments.

check out the garage section and see the 3-4 gixxers on sale has been sold yet to find out.

im only interested in mono-ing... only read from so many magazines on how to do it using powerful cl2 4-strokes... not yet read any on how to do using 2b 2-strokes, so i dunt know. btw, do u fan the clutch? poping is the first step towards success or the hospital.

If your Mito is not giving you problems it's best to buy a new COE. When you buy a 2nd hand bike you will not know the condition. If class 2 bike is your dream then better you start saving rather than spending it on fixing up a 2A bike to keep it for a year or 2.

I also ride a Mito EV before riding a class 2 bike, not a problem to tame it. Master it will be more difficult.

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by 168km/h@Apr 10 2004, 05:46 PM

Get the G4 ....:cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

not all G4 r problematic little whore..........(careful with ur languge )

not all bikes r problem free ........

my g4 NEVER fail me ....

once i even hpoe that it is not so powerful ....:cry:

can anyone tell me why GSXR400 is called a G4?

BIKERS RULEZ!!!