hi guys. i was going home from Harbourfront. it was about 7p.m. my bike does not have a IU unit. i took it off bacause it was faulty. on the CTE there is this ERP gantry that operates from 6-8 P.M. i stay around Ang Mo Kio. so my initiall plan was to exit at Upper Serangoon so that i can avoid the gantry. but i missed it. so what i did was i parked my bike on the shoulder and climbed over the drain and took shelter at the nearby block. at about 7:59PM i was walking back to my bike when the TP stopped behind my bike and took down my plate number. at that point of time, i have not reach my bike yet. the TP didnt see me. i received a letter yst from LTA stating that i was waiting at the e'way. the fine is $130 with 4 Demerit points. i didnt mean to wait at the e'way. i wanted to exit at U.Serangoon but i missed it.

can any of u guys help me out and tell me what i can write for the appeal.

thank u.

• Replies 27

if the tp never see u.. u can claim ur bike broke down.

but again still he can summon u.

next time no cashcard just go straight la..

u pay lesser than ur fines

You should find out if riding without an IU will get you into more trouble or not first... just in case you mention that you actually rode without an IU in your appeal letter and dig yourself into a deeper hole instead.

zor ni ar neh... ler tia wa tnah...

i have emailed LTA about whether it is an offence noit to have an IU on your bike...they have yet to reply me...

will update accordingly...

but anyway...stopping on the expressway(without a valid reason) is already an offence, and before an ERP gantry...thats even worse...

hey guys thanks for all the reply. i mean i can say my bike broke down la im afraid if the e'way got any camera's then the can check thru the videos and verify. and archenemy pls let me know asap if its an offece if there is no IU on the bike. thanks again guys.

Originally posted by Kutrax@Dec 15 2006, 11:22 AM

I think that is the only reason and common explaination that bike breakdown.. but don say u got no IU or miss the exit.. coz they will say... "u should plan your route before you move off...."

Originally posted by themusicpeople@Dec 15 2006, 11:08 AM

hi guys. i was going home from Harbourfront. it was about 7p.m. my bike does not have a IU unit. i took it off bacause it was faulty. on the CTE there is this ERP gantry that operates from 6-8 P.M. i stay around Ang Mo Kio. so my initiall plan was to exit at Upper Serangoon so that i can avoid the gantry. but i missed it. so what i did was i parked my bike on the shoulder and climbed over the drain and took shelter at the nearby block. at about 7:59PM i was walking back to my bike when the TP stopped behind my bike and took down my plate number. at that point of time, i have not reach my bike yet. the TP didnt see me. i received a letter yst from LTA stating that i was waiting at the e'way. the fine is $130 with 4 Demerit points. i didnt mean to wait at the e'way. i wanted to exit at U.Serangoon but i missed it.

can any of u guys help me out and tell me what i can write for the appeal.

thank u.

Just say your bike break down is the best bro....

Rot In Hell!!

Originally posted by Kutrax@Dec 15 2006, 11:22 AM

it's not that he has no cashcard, his bike no IU le... if no IU and u go thru gantry is $70..got IU and no cashcard is $8 i tink....

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b108/Ayirock/spankers/1234.png

say u go buy cash card ???

hopefully there really got store sell cash card

because

u can fight saying if i waitng for the ERP

wouldnt i be ard my bike???

because

yeah i know. that is why i didnt stay at my bike. i dont know if they would buy that. thanks for all ur reply guys.

wa bro sad to hear that man

think either u have to say break down or say when reaching there u realised ur cashcard was stolen. but i think chances are slim..

u can try going to ur town council and as the MP.. heard sometimes they can help..

anyway if u want can let me check ur IU... cos my spoilt and i repaired it and went for inspection today.. passed ~

managed to repair it costing $1.50 only :)

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

Say breakdown or your bike petrol finish..You left the bike to go nearest petrol kiosk to buy some petrol..Good luck..

if ur bike have IU registered to it but u didnt installed , its not an offence..

jus go thru the stupid ERP , didnt detect any IU , LTA will send u a letter tell u send ur bike down for IU inspection, install back the IU but purposely disconnect the live wire , say mech last time change batt , u dun know they didnt connect back the wire properly :sweat:

dun need pay any fine , jus the ERP charges can liao :thumb:

a month ago i also took out my IU because it was spoilt.. and one day i missed the Bukit Merah exit (AYE towards Keppel) and in front was an operating ERP gantry.. no choice i just went through because i've heard stopping before an ERP gantry will carry demerit points..

a week later i got letter for inspection and i went.. i gave him my spoilt IU and he fixed it back for me in working condition.. i think depends uh on how ur IU spoil.. in my case, the wire was cut.. i passed the inspection without needing to pay any fines or charges..

if u got registered IU u will rarely be summoned $70.. not fixing a registered IU is the same as the gantry did not detect ur IU (maybe its covered or something..)

http://distilleryimage11.s3.amazonaws.com/4ad27eb6714811e3b59a0ebb7344746f_6.jpg
Originally posted by wait4me@Dec 15 2006, 04:40 PM

because

this is a good reason.. die die say like that... it is becoz my bike breakdown, not safe to remain at the expressway, so u walk out to get help...

maybe a bit lame... but can try...

Originally posted by xxes123@Dec 15 2006, 07:31 PM

if ur bike have IU registered to it but u didnt installed , its not an offence..

jus go thru the stupid ERP , didnt detect any IU , LTA will send u a letter tell u send ur bike down for IU inspection, install back the IU but purposely disconnect the live wire , say mech last time change batt , u dun know they didnt connect back the wire properly :sweat:

if everyone uses this kind of excuse...you think it will work?

i dont think the people at LTA are that goon lah...

they do have scholars from the PSC also...

not havin an IU is definitely NOT an offense.. but stopping in front of an ERP gantry whether u were there or not definitely IS an offense.. the fact that you dun have an IU makes you hard to believe no matter wad excuse u give..

so the best u cld do is to appeal.. you can either

1) tell the truth say ur IU recently spoilt so u were riding then u realised ur IU is faulty when u were near the gantry cos u were so used to having a working IU then upon reaching there u gan chiong dunno wad to do.. so u called ur fren down to the nearby block to pass time and ask him wad to do..

2) can lie ur way and say u needed to pee urgently/ had to pick up phonecall/ dropped ur wallet while takin out ur cashcard/ realised u took a wrong way and had to consult a street directory/ felt horny with ur gf and decided to f*ck in the bushes/go buy cashcard nearby/ or wadeva u can think of..

i think bike breakdown is a stupid excuse cos cannot be so zhun tt ur bike breakdown in front of ERP gantry.. wadeva it is i still believe excuses are hard to believe in this scenario cos it was near the ERP gantry so im gonna have to say tt u shd go with option one and appeal like crazy say its ur first offence blah blah.. or worse come to worst jus accept the fine and tell urself tt it was a very expensive stop to make.. so good luck bro. all the best!

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg

just exactly wad happened to me few weeks ago...missed that very same place ,stopped by at the road shoulder. I thinks u saw a Cisco officer, not TP...cos dat gu'ys bike also got blue blinkers but smaller bike la..a malay chap..I told him My bike broke down..he said ok ok but still kena dat same offence....130bucks + 4 points...went to LTA and appealed personally and managed to get it waived totally...guessed Im lucky..my bike also no IU....U can try laa appeal bro...at least ask for reduced fine or points...

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

Originally posted by xxes123@Dec 15 2006, 07:31 PM

doesn't work this way bro.. you are giving ppl wrong and potentially fatal advice. the IU itself has a battery and the gantry can detect if you have an IU or not regardless if you connect it to a battery or not.

my IU wire has been cut (sabotaged) previously and i went thru a gantry with it.. A letter later came and told me that my IU no:xxxxxxxxx was detected but it might be faulty and ask me to go for a IU check up.

If it isn't there, it isn't there.. don't make things worse.. at least say bike overheat or something not so bad.

Big brother's watching...

http://yanuk.net/temps/led_ring_sil.jpg

To do list:

- Steel brake hoses (In progress...)

- Rewire bike

- Repaint fairing and clean up bike

- Replace exhaust system (DONE!)

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/Angkuguay/marcusakaflowers.jpg

Always in my heart...

Originally posted by nebulaz@Dec 17 2006, 10:05 AM

just exactly wad happened to me few weeks ago...missed that very same place ,stopped by at the road shoulder. I thinks u saw a Cisco officer, not TP...cos dat gu'ys bike also got blue blinkers but smaller bike la..a malay chap..I told him My bike broke down..he said ok ok but still kena dat same offence....130bucks + 4 points...went to LTA and appealed personally and managed to get it waived totally...guessed Im lucky..my bike also no IU....U can try laa appeal bro...at least ask for reduced fine or points...

points like cannot reduce one leh. every point is pegged to an offence. they cannot just give you the same offence but lower points..

Big brother's watching...

http://yanuk.net/temps/led_ring_sil.jpg

To do list:

- Steel brake hoses (In progress...)

- Rewire bike

- Repaint fairing and clean up bike

- Replace exhaust system (DONE!)

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/Angkuguay/marcusakaflowers.jpg

Always in my heart...

yes yanuk...ur rite...wad I meant is just try to appeal and give a favourable situation to you...it might not be the same offence but replaced with another but with lower points and fines....cheers

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

hehee, can appeal success or not, depends on whether they can see you and bike in cam. So, whatever crap story you say, will not be credible if they had it captured in the cam loh, and they can always check to make sure you not lying.

If you kena blocked or not in the cam view, then tell any story you want. Best is no petrol, went to buy or bike breakdown (chain came out, went to get tools etc, something you can DIY)..., cos TP nvr see you, only see the bike.