If there isn't any changes, moving off on 8th to Hatyai.

On 9th moving off to Koh Samui.

Most likely staying at Lamai Beach. :p

Cool... went to Samui last year christmas. There are acutally 2 Donsak pier, just remember to turn left when arriving to Donsak pier, else you be catching the 2hrs ferry ride instead of the usual 1hr.

Lamai nice place. The infamous Hin Tai Hin Yai...

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/adik_putri/Beenthere1.jpg

2004 - 2006 WR200

2006 - 2008 WR400FS

2008 - 201* R1200GS adv

2010 - 201* VFR 800 02'

Guys... Verdict is out.

Went for a diagnose, and indeed my ABS is faulty.

Damage $3K... :(

According to them, although ABS failure is rare, it is more of an electronic fault rather than anything else. Consider myself unlucky.

Anyway, since my warranty just expired recently, I'm looking to appeal. I will only know on Wednesday.

Hope for the best.

2004 - 2006 WR200

2006 - 2008 WR400FS

2008 - 201* R1200GS adv

2010 - 201* VFR 800 02'

Guys... Verdict is out.

According to them, although ABS failure is rare, it is more of an electronic fault rather than anything else. Consider myself unlucky.

Anyway, since my warranty just expired recently, I'm looking to appeal. I will only know on Wednesday.

Hope for the best.

that's pretty bad damage on the wallet...

hmmm... my warantee expires close to the end of this year...

already went in for water impeller seal, rocket cam gasket change, and the coolant hose repair for my bike...

just afraid one of these big failures will occur some day... in the mean time, the best thing to do is to ride on... hope everything holds for 10 years!

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

You may want to take a look at this.

Clean ABS

Basically, this guy unscrewed the left and right bleed nipple (see page 5) from the ABS module to take a look inside. He figured his pistons were stuck due to dirt, causing ABS fault light. He suggested cleaning it may fix the problem. Although his is from a R1150GS, I believe the unit should basically be similiar on the 1200 too. Since PML diagnosed yours to be faulty and must be replaced anyway, why not fiddle with it a little? You can't make a dead ABS any worse. If you cure it, just buy me kopi. :p

If the ABS is indeed dead, another option of getting from the agent is to place an order with beemerboneyard. There is one on their web page (US$525) but unfortunately it is sold. If you can afford to wait you may be able to save a penny or two. Good luck.

beemerboneyard

Guys... Verdict is out.

One option to avoid an ABS replacement, remove the entire ABS system and have a direct "old school" brake connection set-up. However, my guess is that you will have to bypass the CANBUS system on the R1200GS, get around the brake light feedback and possibly even speedo feedback if that is electronic-based.

I did this to my R1150 and it was not that difficult. Now I appreciate the non-servo feel that I have with conventional brakes, and IMHO braking was not compromised.

Good luck.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Hi James, guess you had did some long trips before.

I have been riding with my usual buddies,

have not join in any BMW group or with other Bimmer riders.

We shall meet someday for kopi.

There isn't much things to learn about unless you are talking about

some Tech info or defensive riding skills.

IMPO, what most important is to understand the machine,

match your skill to that motorcycle and not forgetting your personal Fitness.

For these, you have to keep riding to get familiar with it.

If no time for Fitness (which usually is an excuse),

minimium you need to do is to bunk up your cardiovascular.

The rest are basic essential stuff. :p

Hi there,

Long trip with motobike no. Furthest is Mersing with my DRZ SM. But just returned from a 18 days overland trip to China last Dec and that's on a 4wd. Have been 4 wheeling for the past 10 years and after I've MOD up too much for offroading that it's not so road worthy doing long trips so decided to take up motor biking and try something new. And guess what I'm HOOK..!!!:cheers:

Yar great. We shall meet up and I would very much wanna learn more about motor biking and making new buddies. Here's my contact: 82687265

For fitness wise being a roadie I used to cycling a lot but kinda lazy this days. Cycling is really tough, I mean if U wanna ride fast and must train a lot. And for the past week back at gym to built up some strength. Lacking strength to handle the big and heavy GSA. I'm too skinny. Sigh

Another thing I would wanna learn from u guys here is doing our own basic servicing. I'm looking at buying from Adventure Designs the complete R1200 Tool Kit.

http://www.advdesigns.net/ulcobmwr1gsg.html Is this available in Singapore? Or else I'll have to order it online. I know that I'll be lazy doing it but just wanna learn the know how if I really had to do it myself. As I'm planning to have this machine for a long long time. Like my truck, 11 yrs and counting...

And lastly about lower seat for GSA. Better to have it cut or get the low seat from TT.?

Thanks Guys

James Yong

Edited by Titus0922

Another thing I would wanna learn from u guys here is doing our own basic servicing. I'm looking at buying from Adventure Designs the complete R1200 Tool Kit.

http://www.advdesigns.net/ulcobmwr1gsg.html Is this available in Singapore? Or else I'll have to order it online.

Welcome, James.

US199 is kinda spendy by my books. Why not build up your own tool kit according to what you need? You can get quality brands in Singapore too; some even better than BMW quality. Another trick is to change certain fasteners e.g. bolts to a type that is more accessible to remove the need for another tool.

Can't say about the R1200GS, but the R1150XX and earlier are definitely owner-serviceable.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

You may want to take a look at this.

Clean ABS

Basically, this guy unscrewed the left and right bleed nipple (see page 5) from the ABS module to take a look inside. He figured his pistons were stuck due to dirt, causing ABS fault light. He suggested cleaning it may fix the problem. Although his is from a R1150GS, I believe the unit should basically be similiar on the 1200 too. Since PML diagnosed yours to be faulty and must be replaced anyway, why not fiddle with it a little? You can't make a dead ABS any worse. If you cure it, just buy me kopi. :p

If the ABS is indeed dead, another option of getting from the agent is to place an order with beemerboneyard. There is one on their web page (US$525) but unfortunately it is sold. If you can afford to wait you may be able to save a penny or two. Good luck.

beemerboneyard

Thanks bro. Love the DIY thingy, but another problem would be finding the time to explore the system and carefully interprete it like receipe from a cook book.

One option to avoid an ABS replacement, remove the entire ABS system and have a direct "old school" brake connection set-up. However, my guess is that you will have to bypass the CANBUS system on the R1200GS, get around the brake light feedback and possibly even speedo feedback if that is electronic-based.

I did this to my R1150 and it was not that difficult. Now I appreciate the non-servo feel that I have with conventional brakes, and IMHO braking was not compromised.

Presently I leave it as it is, but if my appeal is not successful, I think I'll do just that. But although braking is not compromise, the braking feels funny, I have to pull slightly more to get the bike to a stop.

2004 - 2006 WR200

2006 - 2008 WR400FS

2008 - 201* R1200GS adv

2010 - 201* VFR 800 02'

Actually, not only we guys are complaining. Got a rich ang moh who was transferred from Dubai to here, brought his HP2 along. Tried to get PML to service and do some repair works but was asked to pay deposit for the bike!! Because the bike is pl bike...

It pissed him off big time and now the bike is with Alan. Accordingly to him, that Ang moh wrote a damn serious complain letter to German HQ. We shall see what will happen soon... Hope they will really reconsider PML as sole disributor here.. :p

Life is short, Ride Hard!! :angel:

It doesn't make sense ... :faint:

BMW Gemany should be proud and appreciate buyer who are into their brand whether is here, Dubai or anywhere else.

As an agent should just do there part to serves the comsumer.

Keep us posted.

If he would to gather a few more brudders here and write in togather will be more powerful.

:sorry: Sound like I am stirring some shiit here ...

Don't mean it, just making my views ... :p :p :p

I totally agree with you. BMW is a very well known brand internationally. It is only here in SG where they are like the "king". It really dun make sense when they wanted that guy to place a deposit for servicing... damn...

Life is short, Ride Hard!! :angel:

I'm planning to get the above due to many good reviews and therefore like to hear about the not so good side of it.

Pls feel free to comment, but do state if it's a fact or perception.

Of course the F1200GS is better but $$ no enough and I find it too big for daily use. As for the F800GS, about the same right?

I don't know man ... a bit bullshiit that failure is rare.

I heard of 1150 ABS failure and prior to you less than a month,

got a friend also 2007GSA got ABS failure and paid 2.8k.

All things happen just after warranty over. Sound like another BMW automotives bite the dust. :p

That is really crazy.

If I were you, I will wrote in Germany headquarter. :p

hope it wont go off like following link

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=232983

hi guys i looking for bmw touring bike playing full cash nt more then 18k pls msg me at 93877698 of detail and information if u selling any of it thanks.

Welcome, James.

US199 is kinda spendy by my books. Why not build up your own tool kit according to what you need? You can get quality brands in Singapore too; some even better than BMW quality. Another trick is to change certain fasteners e.g. bolts to a type that is more accessible to remove the need for another tool.

Can't say about the R1200GS, but the R1150XX and earlier are definitely owner-serviceable.

Cat

Yar I agree that it's on the high side to pay 300 and a little more on this set but consider that it comes with some other tools that is made for 1200 and in a small package. And I'm lazy to get out to source out bits myself. Hee.. Anyway if I out riding with other guys on the 1200 engine, wouldn't they had a piece of mind that someone in the group had those tools ready for minor situations.?

Edited by Titus0922
I totally agree with you. BMW is a very well known brand internationally. It is only here in SG where they are like the "king". It really dun make sense when they wanted that guy to place a deposit for servicing... damn...

Ok I agree with u on a consumer POV. But just to share a note. Before getting my bike from PML, I did look out for other bike shop that can bring in the GSA. Some suggested Loois so I went to check it out. Price yes it's cheaper but upon asking with the warranty issue and servicing, Mr Lee told me that he can get it claim from the dealer that he imported from(UK). Had it sent over and they can fix it. Servicing wise his workshop can do it. Asked about diagnostic issue, he pointed to me he had the equipment on the 2nd level. Seems like a great deal yeah.? But too bad I don't believe a sales person bullshit.!!! Money not in hand everything ok, problems arise then push around. What if I really brought from him and when encounter any problems with the bike then he backs off? Well I got some answer from the "salesman" in PML. (Bullshit or not I don't know). There are few PI bikes that encounter some problems and went to PML for help. When I was there at PML I was shown a notice, Any BMW bike that was not bought from them and wish to have coverage, $5000 and for service wise 25% more on top of retail price. (Any PI bike owner here to share.?)

I feel the ang moh case should give some leeway. He's not base locally having choices and bought PI bikes but was transfered and brought the bike along. Agree guys.?