Juz asking do any of u ever thought of renting an apartment to stay in JB while working in Singapore? Though u got to be stuck at the customs traffic jams.

i am thinking of staying in JB while working in S'pore (i am a S'porean).

what do u think are the factors u need to look out for?

etc, security, internet, neighbours... ...

• Replies 81

some of my friends (singaporeans) do that...

they bought landed homes in Bukit Indah, (horizon hill) etc, and come to SG for work.

they rent out the HDB in singapore.

but Most of them work at west side.. jurong island, tuas etc. so not much travel for them, except toll fee.

some of my friends (singaporeans) do that...

they bought landed homes in Bukit Indah, (horizon hill) etc, and come to SG for work.

they rent out the HDB in singapore.

but Most of them work at west side.. jurong island, tuas etc. so not much travel for them, except toll fee.

then is traffic a factor if i come to work every morning by causeway?

what legal stuffs do i need to look out for?

Its very common, my JB colleage, drives and park near JB customs, than take bus into Sg to work, and our office is at Changi North! So for those living in JB, working in west, like tuas, woodlands, jurong island, traffic is not a big issue, especially using 2nd link.

your colleague is a Malaysian or Singaporean?

Is a Malaysian. But for you Singaporean, you cant buy M'sian veh, have to use Sg veh to and fro between the two countries.

then your colleague must need to wake up very very early.

why don't he ride bike to S'pore?

Is a Malaysian. But for you Singaporean, you cant buy M'sian veh, have to use Sg veh to and fro between the two countries.

Hi! I'm 100% Sporean staying in JB and I own a Malaysian reg veh. I ride to Spore to work. In case of wet weather, I drive and park at Mysia custom to take bus over as Spore PR and Sporean are not allowed to drive foreign reg veh in Spore.

then your colleague must need to wake up very very early.

why don't he ride bike to S'pore?

Frankly speaking, if you work office hours, forget about living in JB and riding a bike into Singapore.

Coming into Singapore, the bike jam at Woodlands starts at 6.30am and clears only around 10am. On top of the nonsensical number of bikes, the Cisco officers will do stupid things like asking you to go into specific lanes (sometimes they will NOT allow you to use the BIKES (fingerprint clearance) lane, god knows for what reason). They will also ask you to switch off your bike engine, good luck if you ride a class 2 bike (not forgetting the risk of getting your bike scratched when a lane 'suddenly' opens and all the kups go crazy and start revving their engines to move 10 metres).

Going back to JB in the evening, the woodlands flyover is sealed off for bikes around 6pm. Same thing as in the morning. This time, all the best if you arrive around 7pm. Sometimes the whole flyover is full of bikes.

And of course, enjoy the shower if it rains when you are stuck among all the other kups as there will be hardly any room for you to dismount and put on your rain gear. The kups will horn in protest, but nobody in the ICA gives a crap since Mas Sleamat is still on the run (hence the need for enhanced checks on all vehicles leaving and entering the country).

If you work shifts, and start work at 3pm or 11pm, then yes. JB is a feasible choice to live in. Otherwise, forget it and explore renting or purchasing property in Singapore which has been kept affordable for us citizens.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

True, wat type of hrs r u keeping at werk?? Shift timing?? Office hours?? My colleague is a singaporean staying in jb as he married a malaysian and dun wish to stay in sg.

Another factor is the security. He was riding a s4 and his bikes suspension got stolen at home itself!! D reason y d bike wasnt stolen was because he chained the bike to the pipings at home but still d suspension got stolen.

He hates d morning shift and often changes it. Wet weather is a problem forever be it u stay in sg or malaysia..

Ny suggestion?? Stay in sg so u wun spend one eight of ur life riding

Well, it was part of my plans.

To get a few friends, we all rent a house in Malaysia, preferably Bukit Indah. Share a Sg car and keep our bikes for riding to work, as and when the weather is fine. We Singaporeans goes over to Malaysia every weekend, so might as well stay there, where everything is cheaper.

But the issue is, are you or your friends and family members very disciplined? We are talking about sleeping early, waking up early, using the low pressured water bathe, go out and even returning home at fixed time cos Nobody can wait for Anybody.

Its also about considerations, since everyone is sharing living spaces, parking spaces and expenses.

I'm a PR staying in JB, quite near to AGL. Will be riding in and out daily. At the moment, I haven't ride my bike back here yet as I'm waiting to install the alarm on my bike before bringing it back. Main concern as of now is the security. Might get a chain too, on top of the alarm and disc lock I have now.

Have seen the long queues/jam, it's quite terrible, though I have not experience it yet. My work starts at 9.30 am, hopefully it won't take too long for me to reach my office if I leave at 8.30, considering I'm only 10 minutes away from M'sia custom.

Ny suggestion?? Stay in sg so u wun spend one eight of ur life riding

imagine u are 80 years old.............u jus spent 10 years riding and stuck at customs

dont be surprised we have could have wasted 10 years each waiting for bus/mrt, stuck in traffic jams, waiting for favorite bubble tea, waiting for lift... waiting for free parking lot, waiting at polyclinic, waiting at starhub/singtel/m1 customer service/hotline...

just live and enjoy.

Jus wait for another sars situatiin and d jams will be super duper horrendous

Erm... how long you never watch the news???

Of course I know la.. Im just taking a dig at the ICA.

Seriously though, one solution which would benefit Singaporean bikers would be for the ICA to create 1 lane for Singaporeans. I would say 95% of those who ride to ride to work are Malaysians. The Malaysian bikers will say this is 'unfair', but Im looking at this from the interest of a Singaporean at the Singapore checkpoint. What the Malaysian customs do for their citizens is another matter.

Again, just saying. It would be a miracle if this were to be implemented.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

The kups will horn in protest, but nobody in the ICA gives a crap since Mas Sleamat is still on the run (hence the need for enhanced checks on all vehicles leaving and entering the country).

Mas Selamat still on the run? :confused:

Seriously though, one solution which would benefit Singaporean bikers would be for the ICA to create 1 lane for Singaporeans. I would say 95% of those who ride to ride to work are Malaysians. The Malaysian bikers will say this is 'unfair', but Im looking at this from the interest of a Singaporean at the Singapore checkpoint. What the Malaysian customs do for their citizens is another matter.

Again, just saying. It would be a miracle if this were to be implemented.

i work normal timing, 0745hrs to 1730hrs or may knock off even later depending on schedule.

i agree with the solution for ICA which to open a delicated lane for S'porean bikers.

but if this is to be implemented, then i think not much S'porean bikers would want to stay in S'pore already since its the traffic jams which is the number one factor which deters S'poreans from staying in JB.

than only go m'sia on weekends lor, less travelling. Sg is a place to work, but play, go elsewhere.

My colleage is a lab technician, works late Mon-Fri, he go home just to sleep. But he never works on sat, sun. Thats the price he pays for coming to work via causeway. Been here 2 years, I am surprised he dont even know where is SGH, his route in Sg is purely woodlands to changi and back. Talk about Sg being a job market city. Nobody is interested in leisure here.

Well, lots of Malaysians work the 7-3 too. I ever encountered Jams as early as 5.30am from Malaysia.

So this is where I mention that discipline comes in. You dont want to be late for work. You have to try to be early to work. And coming out from Malaysia to Singapore as early as 5.30am for work at 7.45. You probably should get to sleep before 9pm every night.

If you are thinking of doing what the Malaysian does. You first need to see how discipline you can get first.

I was at my storage warehouse doing some tidying, and spoke to this guy who owns a gelato shop in Jurong East. He is moving things into the storage warehouse as he just sold his flat and is divorcing.

I suggested for him to consider renting a house in Malaysia and sublet the other rooms out to other folks in similar situations as him. He considered it, and thinks its a good idea. He still have his MPV car, and he was regularly travelling into Malaysia.

Anyway, he should be looking for housemates soon. But because he only need to get to work at 11am and returns at midnight. He can possibly only offer rides to his housemates in and out of Singapore on those timing.

Are jb's houses utilities reliable? Are there intermittant outages?