have a biker friend had prob start bike. he svc at Rosli & had his battery changed twice in 6mth :giddy: when he had prod starting bike again i intro him to another bike shop then the mech told him its wasn't battery prob, it is the starter motor burn liao :giddy: since he change the starter motor at the other motor tiam then no more prob starting the bike.

just sharing

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

• Replies 99

Originally posted by ValkaholiC@Dec 20 2005, 12:42 AM

If u dont like what u received at your 1st visit, go elsewhere & u got nothing else to lose.

Haha... then you 'Q' can be shorter? :cheeky:

Ok. On a more serious note, to each his own.

Originally posted by comics00@Dec 20 2005, 12:18 PM

have a biker friend had prob start bike. he svc at Rosli & had his battery changed twice in 6mth :giddy: when he had prod starting bike again i intro him to another bike shop then the mech told him its wasn't battery prob, it is the starter motor burn liao :giddy: since he change the starter motor at the other motor tiam then no more prob starting the bike.

just sharing

Hmmm ... 2 batteries in 6mth? Serious? And he (ur fren) agrees to it? Bike can't starts is the most common problem in biking world. The truth is only known to ur fren of what has actually happens. Some customers want to save money by just re-charging already condemn battery, some customers looking for 2nd hand units, some customer refuse to believe what was told by the expert bcos believing too much what was read in the forum. Some problem cld be intermitten, not ok when we were at it, but ok once the mechanic arrived. Some people simply lie (like my other fren :sweat: ) just not to look stupid of his own doing.

Sorry, it's just my observation & as Bill mentioned it, to each his own :sweat:

http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh238/The_One_Biker/SBF-siggy.jpg?t=1228649487

yup....some things require trail and error. My batt was also changed twice in abt 9 months...all brand new. The first time i had thot that the batt had died since i had just bought the bike second hand with no info watsoever on the battery condition. so i got it from a shop nearby and had the bike checked at rosli's.

did the check at rosli's and the batt works fine because my rectifier was burned. den it happened again. again, the symptoms all point to a weakening battery and it was a matter of time before it dies. somedays, i even have to jumpstart from a car.

in the end, it was diagnosed with a burnt charging coil. like wat valK said, a bike which doesnt start can have millions of reasons. sometimes, the series of checks and testing do not tell u wat the actual problem is. Many times, after such an unfortuntate episode for ur fren, it is understandable that a change in mechanic may sound appealing. but look at it another way. it may be the series of batt changing which lead to the conclusion that it was a burnt starter, as was in my case.

for me, im just like valK....and thanks for bringing the heavy beer belly guy there in the first place..kekeke

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Rosli's new address is Blk 1063 #01-193 Eunos Ave 4

I'm going to Rosli for servicing and fixing my front forks on Wednesday. I'll let you guys know how it goes.

Rosli's service is slow, but worth it if you are willing to be trade it with thorough checking. When he went through my bike, found some things needed to be done, such as changing the oil seal of the forks and also the front brake pads.

His son did the servicing for me and I'm satisfied with the work that was put in. The tip to get him to service your bike early is to tell him that you need it urgently and also you have to keep a watch on your bike and make sure that they work on it.

This cld be an old topic but I happen to just read abt it. My forum call name is ValkaholiC & ride the Valkyrie (obviously) :sweat: . Hv been riding for 24 yrs & hv been hopping bike shop all those while, mostly in the west; until I met this mechanic approx 15yrs ago at Alexandra Village, attached on profit sharing venture with X___X (censored) Motorcycle shop to their motor repiring dept . I own Custom NV750 then & later Vulcan500. Nobody else touches my bike since.

Lost touch with him for abt couple of yrs when their venture burst abruptly (handphone was a luxury piece of art then).

Was lucky to met him again by sheer coincident when I purchase my Valkyrie at a shop in Eunos area 8 yrs ago, where his then humble spaced workshop is within the vicinity. Upon utilizing my run-in period FREE oil changed at the motor shop, I hv let him doctoring my Valkyrie ever since. In this 'www' era, word gets around that I was among the 1st few to own & a hardcore Valkyrie owner. New Valk owner get in touched wanting to noe more info regarding Valk maintenance & servicing. Thus far 4 Valkyries (out of 5 owners) send theirs there. Among them was the Kruzer's heavyweight guy & as the saying, 'the rest is history'.

Has he ever fumbles in his repair works done for me? Thus far only 2 that I can remember & he acknowledge them. Infect, 1 of them was by his worker. Will I stop patronizing his workshop due to it? I DON'T THINK SO, after all his is only human. Does he have a fair share of unhappy customers? I will be lying if saying otherwise. 90% of those I recommended making their returns, while the other 10% hv their own reasons. If you are closed enuf with him, sit & listen to his side of story at his 'free' time, you may understands better.

Some of his mechanic complained, as a boss he is not ezy to pleased (yeah right. Who on earth is not complaining abt their bosses but themselves).

Presently my setback when sending the bike there; he works alone & the 'Q' is getting longer; partly I am to be 'blamed' for pulling-in that beer-bellied Kruzer guy :cheeky: .

Yes, I am referring to the mechanic as per the subject of this topic. Nevertheless, to each, his/her own. To new readers, my advise is to give him a try. Throw his a question or two of things u think u are already well verse & hear his reply. If u dont like what u received at your 1st visit, go elsewhere & u got nothing else to lose.

To be on the fair side since my posting pertaining to the integrity of this workshop couple of years ago, I feel it would be justify if I could re-clarified it again.

After supporting this workshop all these years since his joint-venture attachment at XXX-Bike shop at Bukit Merah, to his 1st sole venture at block 1062 then to block 1067 to his present at block 1063 of Eunos Avenue 4 and have been travelling all the way from Jurong West to the workshop just to show loyalty, it’s a sad that in my opinion the service standards has drop tremendously, despite many instances when I chooses to close both eyes from the paint damages and scratches, improper tighten until spoiling the thread of some bolt holes, dropping out of brake calipers bolt during my tour a day after it was serviced at the workshop and few more incident that I can remember.

It has been one time too many. He seems to lacks of pride in his profession anymore by letting his sub-standard mechanic doing the job, without wanting to double check their job before handing it over to customers (plural as I believe I am not alone facing it). With chained of empty promises, countless of reasoning of why it is so to like this or that, strings of time wasting ranging from mid-afternoon till almost midnight and at time even a simple diagnose take days. Gosh, until the recent incident when I had to lead a riding trip of 20 bikers without any bike in hand ... that’s it, enuf is enuf on my side. :angry: :angry: :angry:

From word of mouth (refer to my quote above), I believe he is now an unofficial mechanic for the Kruzer grp. Good for you guys and good luck to some of you too, I should add. I believe his feet could be too big for the shoe he used to wear.

Thank God I hv found a reliable workshop within 10 minutes from where I reside, runs by four capable mechanics in their 30’s / 40’s. A job which normally takes ½ a day at the former only took couple of hrs at the latter. Maybe costs $10/$20 more, but that justifies the time they took to do the job and my taxi / MRT costs to & from the workshop and my workplace should I need to leave my bike at the former, which almost always happen to be the case.

The person who recommend me the new workshop? An ex-loyal customers’ of the former as well :D

As the saying, to each his own, but after my 17yrs of loyalty? You be the judge.

http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh238/The_One_Biker/SBF-siggy.jpg?t=1228649487

I stopped going to rosli since 2003. He may be careful and skillful, but if time is not his main virtue, I do not think he is good enuf. :dot:

I had enuf of the waitin n waitin @ his workshop till midnite, just to pick up my bike for the next day's long rideup north. He often gave in-accurate timing, "cum cum, bike ready" and when i got down there, it has not been touch yet or sometimes, just started work on it minutes b4 my arrival. then i will sit or go buy kopi for him n sit again and watch and sometimes fall asleep.... till he complete his job, usually hours later! :angry: :angry:

Whether he has hands or not, it has always been a One Man Show. And with lots of good reviews from others, he gets more biz :) but ultimately he only has a pair of hands and 24h a day. :faint:

Anyway there are more than enuf good mechs in sg to go ard. :cool:

no hurry for heaven or hell............

To be on the fair side since my posting pertaining to the integrity of this workshop couple of years ago, I feel it would be justify if I could re-clarified it again.

After supporting this workshop all these years since his joint-venture attachment at XXX-Bike shop at Bukit Merah, to his 1st sole venture at block 1062 then to block 1067 to his present at block 1063 of Eunos Avenue 4 and have been travelling all the way from Jurong West to the workshop just to show loyalty, it’s a sad that in my opinion the service standards has drop tremendously, despite many instances when I chooses to close both eyes from the paint damages and scratches, improper tighten until spoiling the thread of some bolt holes, dropping out of brake calipers bolt during my tour a day after it was serviced at the workshop and few more incident that I can remember.

It has been one time too many. He seems to lacks of pride in his profession anymore by letting his sub-standard mechanic doing the job, without wanting to double check their job before handing it over to customers (plural as I believe I am not alone facing it). With chained of empty promises, countless of reasoning of why it is so to like this or that, strings of time wasting ranging from mid-afternoon till almost midnight and at time even a simple diagnose take days. Gosh, until the recent incident when I had to lead a riding trip of 20 bikers without any bike in hand ... that’s it, enuf is enuf on my side. :angry: :angry: :angry:

From word of mouth (refer to my quote above), I believe he is now an unofficial mechanic for the Kruzer grp. Good for you guys and good luck to some of you too, I should add. I believe his feet could be too big for the shoe he used to wear.

Thank God I hv found a reliable workshop within 10 minutes from where I reside, runs by four capable mechanics in their 30’s / 40’s. A job which normally takes ½ a day at the former only took couple of hrs at the latter. Maybe costs $10/$20 more, but that justifies the time they took to do the job and my taxi / MRT costs to & from the workshop and my workplace should I need to leave my bike at the former, which almost always happen to be the case.

The person who recommend me the new workshop? An ex-loyal customers’ of the former as well :D

As the saying, to each his own, but after my 17yrs of loyalty? You be the judge.

:cool: :thumb:

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

The problem with human nature is once your mind is set, it's very hard to change it. Best is to experience to decide. Be it good or bad, left or right, no one can fault you on your final decision 'cos you yourself have personally experience it. It's something no one can argue with.

I count myself lucky to be able to find a mechanic I can trust and be warm to instead of having to stand at one side guessing or worrying or trying to get my point across. Yes, time is always a problem, but looking at the other side, one man show, but again on another side, he'll know the history of your bike or for that matter, any other bike he's touched. Actually I don't mind the time factor, I rather you take your time and deal with the problem properly rather than do a rush job. I have a spare bike so I'm not worried about not having a ride to travel round. (Don't say not everyone can afford 2 bikes, a cheap a** scooter can go from around $600 to as low as $150.)

Every servicing I do there, I can basically ride away with no worries in my mind unlike my 1st bike during my 2B time. In fact even with my old skipper which is practically falling apart, I don't fret riding it cos I actually learnt a lot since going there.

I used to bring my Shadow there to service, never gave me any problems. I wasn't afraid to bring my Harley Sportster in and I not afraid to bring my recent TDM 900 that has EFI in.

Basically, where else can you where you're welcomed almost 24/7. It's no longer meet at venue A, B or C but meet at Rosli's now.

w y x m m

I agree that Rosli is always busy so if things I need done fast and urgent, I'll do it with another mech. IF I have the time, such as last 6 months when I had no job, then I'll go to Rosli's shop to do what I need to do and get my hands dirty while he works on other bikes. He has equipment that I dun have at home such as air compressor and that machine to change the tire

bro is anyne going to his shop soon can help me check if he have available stock the small spotlight on those touring bike

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif

My experience:

I brought a bike from a friend. He recommended Rosli to do the paper work. Rosli agreed to do the paper work the next day but it took him two more days to get it done. Than the towing part. My friend told me that he charge $30 for the towing, a little expensive but I thought it’s ok. We agreed that he was to tow the bike to my house the next day. I was very excited, asked all my friends to wait under my block. He didn’t come. Call him, he told me he thought it was the day after. So he say he’ll come now. Waited for two hours. In between, I called him what took him so long. He got very pissed off and threatened that he won’t tow the bike and hanged up on me. So when he finally came, I gave him a fifty-dollar note. He didn’t return me the change. I ask him and he say it will be $50. I told him that my friend says that he charges $30. He replied that is only for my friend. Well, what’s interesting is that one of my friends there recognized him. After Rosli left, that friend told me that he used to service his bike there. The parts he used are not original, he charges very expensive, it takes very long plus he is not comfortable with my friend waiting around to see him work. Sometimes after servicing, the bike feels the same. Since than that friend has switch to a trusty mechanic, fast efficient, uses original parts and get the job done right there with nothing to hide.

Well I guess you have to be a regular customer to get decent treatment from this guy. And I guess he only store original parts for certain type of bikes he expertise in. In my opinion and according to my bad experience, he is dishonest and unreliable, especially when it comes to time factor.

As said before, Rosli's place is good if you know how to DIY. Beginning as a newbie, I also waited almost as long as you did.

Late last year until early this year when I was out of job, I went to his shop to get advice, use the equipment, get my hands dirty, TCSS with him and his customers who are now my friends, it got fun from there.

Such as last year, l waited patiently for him to return when he went to get tires for my bike, even though we agreed to do the tire change that day. Like you, I expected to have the tires when I went there in the morning, but no, he hasn't gotten it. He went off to get the tires and for over an hour, I looked after the shop and waited for him to come back. When he came back, I helped him to change the tires, get it balanced and fitted it back to my bike. Yeah, price may not be cheap, especially when I have no income, but at least I can see how he does it and I can feely ask questions when I'm in doubt.

I know, now that we're all working, time is going to be tight, so I also may not go back in a long time, but when I'm free again, I'll go back again. I will. The fun is doing the fixing together with him.

i had good experience with rosli in 2005, went to his shop to search for some parts which he managed to get for me. it was a very rare part n very very expensive if bought new. paid him, n he took the trouble to send up the part to malacca by car during the weekend without any extra charges.

once in a while, i do give him a call to get some advice and he's very patient with me..

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

used to service with xx shop for 3 years,when business getting better and more

visitors appear, quality of servicing drop as inexperience workers start hands on due to busy.end up my left brake caliper 2x bolt jamm,unable to remove.had

rectify problem at another shop by send out together with fork ass'y to re-tread again.really appreciate the staff from another shop did it less than 7 hrs.

root cause xx shop workers tighten brake caliper bolt with air gun resulted

tread misalign and damage...

every shop I guess have positive and negative experiences. best is to go there and just borrow tools and work yourself

friend did valve clearance and FI balancing of his tdm there.was satisfied with the job done and happy with the charges

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif
i agree with you, but for me, time and workmanship are equally important to me, good workmanship but slow, i will not go there.

have you tried Planet Motor at Ubi before? make an appointment with ah chong the boss, go down, he will quickly do up your bike and his price is very reasonable too. never had any problem with planet after their repair and servicing...

they done my top overhaul in a week, quick and good. :smile:

rosli can do a good job, but takes longer time, that's a big problem, not everyone got time to wait at his place just to get some minor things done....

money can earn back, time can't, so i dont like to wait. rosli is not the place for me.

sorry .. can tell me who is rosli? may be I can try to go and see how long should wait :cheeky:

I once ride a TA200 which i bought from Rosli....

The sad ting is he promise me tat the bike will be in tip top condition...

Before i bought from him i oredi inspect n check the bike n i can spot scratches on exhaust pipe....

N also the bike when moving off will stall...

I trust him n pass to him full cash payment... In the end i need to wait for the bike for a mth before i take the bike....

Not only tat... the bike is still in the same condition since the time, everytime i came to his shop n ask about the bike....

In the end... after some arguments... He unsincerely did the repair works...

Even after i take the bike after he did the repair... Its still the same till i go to Everbright which is just a few blocks away to do the repair job....

I won go to the bike shop ever again....

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

never been to the shop before ... heard so much about him ... good and bad and the usual Channel 8 and Channel U BS stories ...

if you like "fast in fast out" geylang have plenty workshops ...

if you like "slow and steady" batam have plenty workshops ...

if you want both ... jb have plenty workshops ...

cheers to all ...

and stop DIY-ing ... it dirties the hands ... get pros****** to help you .... :D

http://www.boysstuff.co.uk/Images/prod_center/kawasaki_cen_200_81110.jpg

Courtesy of Boys Stuff UK

rosli is one of the most humble mechanic. he has been servicing my monster m400 for the past 10 years (told from prev owner) and rosli himself. and so far, no prob ! talk about realiability.

For every 7 pounds you lose, you gain one horsepower.