A friend once told me, I'm not scared about my driving or getting myself into accident. Its about other drivers who will get me involved into an accident.

I cannot agree more on that! We can choose to ride safe and all, but thats about the only amount of control we have with regards to our safety. If a moronic driver who does not check his blind spot just swerves into lane, we are at the losing end.

End of the day, even if we gear up and follow all of the safety procedures, we will still be at the losing.

They should start educate drivers to look out for us instead. I'm not totally against drivers. I drive too, and i keep a lookout for riders who are lane splitting so i give them space whenever possible so they dun bang into my mirrors. But i have seen drivers who think we riders do not have the right to exist on the road and cut into our lane without signaling their intention before hand.

And like bernardk said, if we swerve to evade and self-skid, we get slapped with points and a fine, even though its clearly NOT our fault.

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3699/ref1.jpg
  • Replies 138

And like bernardk said, if we swerve to evade and self-skid, we get slapped with points and a fine, even though its clearly NOT our fault.

Any chance to bring it up with TP or not?

Here is what my gf told me after her parents disapprove me of riding motorcycle:

"my dad say motor is dangerous bcos ppl tend to sieve in and out, and its nt bout ur driving skill too. singaporean drivers v kayu, always cause jam though only one lane accident. cos they jam brake, what if the person infront jam suddenly, thou the road is clear, then u bhind, brake in time, but what about cars behind? he feels tt at least cars/ vehicles got shelter urs is sure die if accidents."

Well i do agree with what i highlighted except the last part, but its how you get out of the dangerous situation. As for jam braking, if you are riding smoothly without tailgating and there is clear traffic infront without people cutting in, how can you possibly jam brake? So far from my experience as a pillion/pax(not rider yet), i always experience jam braking and harsh driving from poor attitude and people who are always rushing for time. Everytime tailgate the rider i worry about the rider. One fall and he is gone.

As for people who cut in abruptly, sometimes its how much experience you have to predict what kind of driver they are.

1) Lorry and van at 2 or 1st lane; obviously these are potential reckless impatient drivers, they can cut in anytime.

2) Rich car owners. After cycling on the road for 2 years, i always encounter them as reckless, hot tempered, idiot drivers. Not all of them but i've encountered more than just once. No offence meant.

3) Ahbeng wannabes with modded cars. These are another bunch of high risk drivers. Spotted a Civic Type R (modded) zipping along PIE at HIGH SPEED, literally swerving in and out. Often this are the easiest to pick out. Hear their loud engine(high engine rpm) you know they are somewhere near, coming to you.

4) Lady drivers(some, and no offence to ladies here). Some ladies believe guys should be gentleman and that it is mandatory, and they expect guys to give way to them. And if they dont, they will try squeeze in, if it doesnt work, they will stare at people and think "wow this guy is an idiot". Also, some ladies do not check blindspots when changing lane, even guys do! But here is what my gf said: "wah blindspot need to check so many, sian leh." made me think, its possible that she wont check blindspot for the sake of 'convenience'. I've never think that it is a chore to check blindspots, because it will help save my life.

5) Taxi drivers. All of us knew these are terror on the road. Always zipping around dangerously, tired exhausted drivers, changing lane abruptly THEN JAM BRAKE to pick up passenger. Worse still, illegal u turn/turning to pick up passenger. Ever once see a gilera skidded(lucky never fall, recovered) on dry ground somemore(see how much he have to brake?) because of a taxi swerving into his lane then jam brake to pick up passenger.

Well i believe safety will help minimise injury, but what about minimising accidents? Always stay alert on the road at all times. Tired? Dont ride! Always be alert for reckless drivers. From what i learnt in BBDC, always do danger forecast, and predict the possible danger. Sometimes safety gear is not really enough, it's how you think, behave, and react.

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

i think seriously no offence, you have to educate her.

Haha no worries, i will. I hope she can pass her TP too. It will be her 3rd attempt if she tries her cls3 again.

2A - On going...

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

Hahaha not to worry cos my wife took 5 times Hahaha.

hahaha just wondering, is your wife licence class 3 manual? cause my gf took cls3A instead, so i kinda wondered why she need to take more than twice since its auto! wanna help her out at this area, altho i havent take my cls3 yet hehe

2A - On going...

hahaha just wondering, is your wife licence class 3 manual? cause my gf took cls3A instead, so i kinda wondered why she need to take more than twice since its auto! wanna help her out at this area, altho i havent take my cls3 yet hehe

our time is all manual. Guess should be safety issue. AKA Blindspot check. Most of the ladies knw that they should check blindspot but they dunno what where and why. until i tell my wife then she understand and pass. Wat they knw is that checking blindspot is just a turn of the head.

YES! Hahaha she say she had poor judgement, which lead to her failure of the licence. But judgement cannot be taught, sadly. Its how fast you pick it up or learn.

2A - On going...

But here is what my gf said: "wah blindspot need to check so many, sian leh." made me think, its possible that she wont check blindspot for the sake of 'convenience'.

Most of the ladies knw that they should check blindspot but they dunno what where and why. until i tell my wife then she understand and pass. Wat they knw is that checking blindspot is just a turn of the head.

Waaa... really ah? ladies mentality like that? Now i know why they will suddenly cut into my lane or go through a filter lane without slowing down/stopping. Hahahaha! No offence to the ladies here, but i also have my fair share of near misses.

End of the day, i just wanna ride home in safely in one piece.

Waaa... really ah? ladies mentality like that? Now i know why they will suddenly cut into my lane or go through a filter lane without slowing down/stopping. Hahahaha! No offence to the ladies here, but i also have my fair share of near misses.

End of the day, i just wanna ride home in safely in one piece.

wad r those on ur 'suit' on ur sig

3m stickers ?

wad r those on ur 'suit' on ur sig

3m stickers ?

3M Scotchlite reflective FABRIC.

Its not paper sticker, but its a cloth that i paste on to my daily riding jacket using fabric glue. Should be sewn ah, but i dun like to play around (more like lazy actually) with needle and thread. hehe..

3M fabric: $7/ft bought at the 3M Ubi shop near Planet motors there

Fabric glue: $5 bought at Spotlight Plaza singapura

Being an eye-catching reflecto-maniac so others can spot u from 100m away: Priceless.

Its not paper sticker, but its a cloth that i paste on to my daily riding jacket using fabric glue. Should be sewn ah, but i dun like to play around (more like lazy actually) with needle and thread. hehe..

Being an eye-catching reflecto-maniac so others can spot u from 100m away: Priceless.

Machiam from the movie TRON haha.

imo.best is to wear jeans,shoes-this is e min la.

sum ppl dun lyk ff.

-------------------------------------------------

aiya,at e end of d day.still depends on e rider la

if one tresures his/her body,he will do sumthing abt it

if you happen to read oversea forums, (US, Europe) they condemn Jeans and running shoes.

They praise full leather, armor boots.

again.. if you look at Vietnam, or India (or some places in Malaysia)... they dont even wear helmet... :lol:

so, just ride what you are comfortable with, dont care about Media says.. they are not contributing anything at all...

It's quite disheartening to see riders on $30k machines with $30 helmets and $3 flip flops :p

if i ride 300$ RXK, can i wear 30$ helmet and 3$ flip flop :angel:

Machiam from the movie TRON haha.

and buy a accident plan insurance of $3000 per month. Hahaha...

:lol::lol::lol:

like some of the people here, I agree that drivers need to learn and reconsider from riders point of view as well. I have both licenses, hence I see from both points of views. Too many times, I see drivers cutting into my lane (at least trying to, until they hear my horn), I see them talking on hp, tailgating, coming up right beside me when Im riding nicely in the centre of the lane. Drivers need to respect us, before we will respect them. Then the world will be a better place.

With regards to the safety gear, I agree with the article. Too often im guilty. But is it practical? Especially for short distances.

Got bike must ride!

SYM Maxsym 400i - 09/11/12 to current

Phantom TA200 - 07/08/09 to 09/11/12

Whoever highbeam you very sway. Going to blind himself for the next 3 seconds! :lol:

Wahaha! Actually i thought of sticking my whole jacket with the reflective fabric, but was stopped by my gf cos she thinks its ridiculous.

Now my next project is to decal my whole bike with reflectives!

Since TP/LTA say LED strips are distracting even if we put it in view of safety/visibility concerns, i shall use reflectives to increase my visibility. :cool:

wah how come they dun take my pic riding cub with shoei fullface and astars jacket & gloves & puma riding shoes and my recently bought astars pants???

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg

well wearing protective gears do protect..

last few weeks during the rainy days on my way to work,

i buang on my pgm.. the saitao, front mudguard and fairing mount were broken..

thankfully the jacket saved my skin and the helmet saved my skull.

a kind krr rider helped me and i tompang him to continue go to work.. hehe.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
if i ride 300$ RXK, can i wear 30$ helmet and 3$ flip flop :angel:

and buy a accident plan insurance of $3000 per month. Hahaha...

LMAO!!!

then spend $30,000 on reconstructive surgery :p hahaha

regarding the blind spot checks and all that and lady drivers

my wife was a passenger on my bike before she started driving herself, and as she knows the feeling of being inside and outside of a cage, she makes it a point to check

and also she is very patient with other riders too :D

Grounded... :/

regarding the blind spot checks and all that and lady drivers

my wife was a passenger on my bike before she started driving herself, and as she knows the feeling of being inside and outside of a cage, she makes it a point to check

and also she is very patient with other riders too

That is great. I think all the newbie drivers all have to go thru this course. i.e to be on a bike in at least 1 lesson. So that they will knw wat exactly is checking of blind spot for.