Hi fellow riders,

I have one question in mind, will engine oil dry up over time n mileage? especially in a 4-stroke 2B bike? I'm riding a CBR 150, I've changed the eo in January. 3 months later, my engine had dis funny loud ticking sound, and when i send it to bike shop, the mechanic opened the eo screw at the bottom, nothing came out!

Now my bike have to go through a major overhaul to the engine. I regretted not checking the engine oil regularly. But I totally had no idea that it could dry up until that bad! :(

• Replies 20

Hi fellow riders,

I have one question in mind, will engine oil dry up over time n mileage? especially in a 4-stroke 2B bike? I'm riding a CBR 150, I've changed the eo in January. 3 months later, my engine had dis funny loud ticking sound, and when i send it to bike shop, the mechanic opened the eo screw at the bottom, nothing came out!

Now my bike have to go through a major overhaul to the engine. I regretted not checking the engine oil regularly. But I totally had no idea that it could dry up until that bad! :(

Yes. It can "Dry up" in a way.

Depending on the quality of engine oil and the condition of ur piston ring.

Then how about my case? If i never change oil for 1 month plus, i get about 1/8 of oil on my dip stick left. But the thing is, even if i never change for 4 months after that, the marking on my dipstick is still left at 1/8. Why ah?

Hi fellow riders,

Hmmm...your oil level indicator never light up?

no oil bike still can run ????

Your engine got unresolved problem to begin with....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

my bike dun have oil indicator, small bike nia. so i wasn't aware to the lacking of eo and continued on riding, when the sound had started i still continued riding for quite some time b4 i send it to bikeshop.

yea apparently my bike is still able to run w/out eo -.-

in theory 4T level not supposed to change over its use. so if ur 4t level never change, this is perfectly normal and in fact is good. 4T is not like 2T which is 'burnt' with petrol.

but at the same time, 4t level can gradually decrease over time. usually it is minor leakage along its operation somewhere. some brands of bikes or oil are worse here than others such that a top-up is necessary before its time to change.

in general, if you find need to top up a bit when halfway past the 4T 'life' before changing, still not a big problem. but if very rapid 'consumption' of 4T or totally run dry before time to change, something is wrong somewhere.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Then how about my case? If i never change oil for 1 month plus, i get about 1/8 of oil on my dip stick left. But the thing is, even if i never change for 4 months after that, the marking on my dipstick is still left at 1/8. Why ah?

Eh.... uncle DJ, how to be possible 1/8 of a dipstick? 3/4 mark u mean?

my bike dun have oil indicator, small bike nia. so i wasn't aware to the lacking of eo and continued on riding, when the sound had started i still continued riding for quite some time b4 i send it to bikeshop.

yea apparently my bike is still able to run w/out eo -.-

Well. U are supposed to check at least once every 3 weeks. Sounds like worn valve seat or piston ring or cylinder liner(guessing only hor).

There are only 2 ways a 4 stroke bike can "consume" oil.

1. worn piston rings, and/or

2. worn valve stem seals

Ideally you should check the oil level every 2 weeks, to prevent major engine meltdown.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Eh.... uncle DJ, how to be possible 1/8 of a dipstick? 3/4 mark u mean?

I know my Engrish not very good one. Let me explain ah. Bear with me...

After more than one month of riding, when i check my oil level with the dipstick, i see only 1/8 oil level. Like i see oil only on 1/8 of the dipstick. But when i drain my oil, i left about 800+ml of Engine oil. I fill abit more, then the oil level with be full again. About 200ml more then the oil level on the dipstick will be max again.

Even if i ride 4 months also, the oil level also the same marking, i drain oil, also roughly the same amout of oil.

Why ah? Dip stick SPOIL?

Edited by crazydj

Have seen cases of Phantoms suffering from dried up oil sumps as the riders reach speeds of up to 120kph without any inspection of the bike condition for long periods of time.

Use of synthetic oil solves the oil consumption and engine wear issues, also, some bikes are running way too lean settings at highway speeds.

This bike runs very hot and has very short gearing in stock config, plus is single cylinder. Racing rpms at typically expected highway speed.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk

no oil bike still can run ????

Better run for your life...

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg

Why ah? Dip stick SPOIL?

ideally shd let bike run 2 to 3 mins, then check with bike completely upright.

if bike has been on side stand overnight, oil has flowed to one side, and checking the level especially with the bike still on its side, only 'catch air' coz the oil is settled on other side.

i am only assuming this is the case with you. u might be checking it correctly, in which case i dono the cause then.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Honda bikes of small cc are really rugged and can run surprisingly long with no oil, or even holed crankcases.

This does not mean one should deliberately.test the limits of metal durability by not.maintaining it.

They are just solidly engineered.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk

ideally shd let bike run 2 to 3 mins, then check with bike completely upright.

if bike has been on side stand overnight, oil has flowed to one side, and checking the level especially with the bike still on its side, only 'catch air' coz the oil is settled on other side.

i am only assuming this is the case with you. u might be checking it correctly, in which case i dono the cause then.

My bike is always on the main stand. I checked it after a ride, 5 mins after warm up and even waited overnight. Still the same thing. Its not really an issue for me ah. I was just wondering where my 200ml goes to and why only evaporate until 200ml only. I discovered that alot of oil end up in my air box but not to the extent that it is flooded.

breather pipe from the engine to air box ?

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e315/sheppola/CX500/RearPipe.jpg

Yeah. From the breather pipe to the air box. But 200ml in the air box? Never see that much oil inside my air box leh...

i have .....2 x dr 200, both also have oil there abt 100 plus ml , so it's normal...