How did you feel about GE 2011? I for one, stayed up late till 3am to watch every announcement when I didn't stay up to watch champions league or ELP matches. What say you voters? The sacrifice of George Yeo who did no wrong, the close fall or Mrs Chiam, the retirement of Mr Chiam, the improvement of our PM Mr Lee's improved win in AMK GRC, and the historical Aljunied WP win, and the chants of Workers' Party! Workers' Party, Workers" Party!. Share your thoughts.

Edited by Kushinagar

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

• Replies 86

theres something wrong with the residents in tampines... they must have kanna back magic... who on earth would wan to re elect Mah bow tan for the next 5 years again! well done.. housing price going to go up again..

and i can see that if nicole seah is contesting again in 2016.. marine parade might fall into NSP hands if PAP dun wake the fuk up

time will tell.. for the next 10 to 15 years, oppositions will increase in the parliament

potong pasir lost was expected.. last time mr chiam win by a small margin only.. and this time round.. a aunty is going to lead that area.. i guess thats y PAP wins over there

Before the annoucement of the results, i had this feeling that anything can happen. THEN reality came and smack me down hard. SMCs after SMCs, GRCs after GRCs falling to the PAP and the finale had to be my beloved Potong Pasir captured by the MIWs.

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

All these elections are just to let the Lighting Party knows how many are with them or not, anyway, they had prepared what is the results for 5 years thereafter and ahead of them. They owned the Gov, also own us. Pointless for us to say, they feel that not so popular estate will give a small share to the opposition. Can you imagine a Bigger slice of cake ( like the Tanjong Pagar GRC ) given away? Have you guys ever wonder why is it not contested at all? Another PM made a statement about the final ballot results, he was deeply sadden by the lost of good man which had won by the opposition at Aljunied, If had the Lighting Party fielded the Good Old " Lee " what will the results turned out? Even worse, definitely voted out cause Old "Lee" was then the well known unpopular with Muslim ethnics group. How about the Tampines lead by Forever Popular Mr Marlboro , still trying his best to smoke us with his ERPs and COVs housing tactics. More good Years to Come lol.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Looking on the TV screen, the PAP supporters are all in white not much residents....

But WP supporters are mostly u and me wearing common clothes but have a common goal.....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

My GE reactions

what lost is lost, what gain is gain.

people are whining here and there. seems that they are a bunch of losers who can't get on with life when things don't go their way.

life is back to normal as usual.

My reaction?

1. Bloody good job by WP to make history.

2. We're screwed, prepare the butter.

3. In 5 years time PAP's % will rise again. Redrawn boundaries and new citizens will ensure this.

4. TPL getting into parliment by the back door makes a mockery of our political system.

5. Mr Affordable getting voted in again. Those who vote for PAP can now just STFU about the cost of hdb.

6. Be prepared to become a minority in your own country.

7. I wonder how quickly all the "We are sorry" and "We will do better" and "We will listen to your problems" will be forgotten by PAP? How soon before they turn around and tell us to sit down and shut up, they know best? We know nothing will change, their track record speaks for itself.

8. How many PR and work permit applications are going to be made on Monday? How many of the applications currently on hold will be approved on Monday?

9. How soon will they bring in their "needed" 900k of foreigners? It must have been very inconvenient for them to slow down the influx because of the GE and sentiments on the ground, with us silly citizens making so much noise about it. Think of the lost GDP growth, think of their lost bonuses for this year. This election will probably cost them 1-2 months of their bonus.

10. PAP should rename itself to the GDP Party.

11. Thank goodness i'm already been researching my options to leave. Gotta get it done soon because the value our red passport is going down.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

everything is going to rise. be prepared people. TPL in parliament is seriously WTF! nicole seah is far much better.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

PAP got their "fixed deposit" voters from older generation esp those 50 years old and above... This group of people who are not IT savvy who depends their source of news from newspapers, tv or radio

Many young voters probably not able to vote yet, but rest assure 2016 will be different..

PAP votes drop since 2001 even with lousy Opp party such as SDA and RP.

2001 70%

2006 66%

2011 60%

everything is going to rise. be prepared people. TPL in parliament is seriously WTF! nicole seah is far much better.

hopefully PAP do a "soul searching" and learned from their mistakes..

i think its a fantastic result.

wateva all the anti-pap talk, my personal opinion is at this point in singapore's history, we LL must let them remain in power because as good as the oppos have shown themselves this year, they need further growth before they can bring the hammer down on pap. i wasn fully convinced of the oppos this year, but they made me think and consider my vote longer than they ever did in the past.

and now there is a small but very significant opposition presence in parliament. significant because its a grc, significant because they are electec rather than ncmp, and most important, significant because they are all wp. its a united oppo team, so less chance of in-fighting like we saw in the run-up to elections. oppo need to fight pap, not each other. and with this breakthru, they have the potential for real growth in coming years.

so oppo now has real power, however small it is for now. and pap need to watch their back and make changes if they want people to be more convinced of them rather than oppo. and all at the same time while our governance remains stable and credible.

mayber ten to twenty years from now, we will look back and recognize today as either the birth of an alternative government, or the day PAP make sweeping changes to the way they govern. thats why i say, yesterday results are fantastic overall for singapore.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

I'm seeing the 2011 GE as the death of Singapore as we know it.

One very irksome point is that we now have a male member of parliment who didn't have to serve NS. Well done. They can now abolish NS, it doesn't mean anything anymore.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

i dunno to be happy or sad that WP win one GRC

or ppl lik TPL ,mabok tan, no NS man , in parliament...

A lot of things dont gel with this wayang election, 40% voted opposition, 60% voted PAP, WHY Parliament got only 6 opposition and 81 PAPs inside??? This is still a JOke you know. Of course there still be complains and displeasure, cause 40% OF SINGAPOREANS ARE NOT REPRESENTED!!!

As for the marginally contested SMCs, like Potong Pasir and Joo Chiat SMC, only a few hundred votes lost, what constitutes spoilt votes? What about those overseas votes yet to reach Singapore, can they be counted, sekali Potong Pasir and Joo Chiat is back to opposition leh!!! Whoppeee.

So those textbook people kana brainwashed already, please retune your brain abit to understand why.

a little disappointed with the results.. but its kind of expected for most.. i am happy for WP, they did well.

i was silently hoping marine parade could pull off an upset but it didnt happen and i already did my part. why? there are alot of pple who still fear.. fear they cannot get flats, cannot get jobs, fear their loved ones and assets will not be safe. sigh. so now they are happy lor.

More good years ahead for the rest of us. They can happily have the impression that they will have higher chances of getting flats, higher chances of getting a govt job, their loved ones and assets are safe by having more FTs in this land.

It just boggles my mind to think how people can elect TPL into parliament. I guess she can buy more Kate spade bags, do more kawaii poses and stomp her feet when she does not know what to say in parliament.

In any case, the elections have proven that the rising cost of living, presence of too many FTs, etc are just a myth. Singaporeans have never encountered these issues as the men in white have been doing a good job. Well done Singapore. Im sure you will live and rejoice over the next 5 years. And I bet the results will be the same even in the next and future elections.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

A lot of things dont gel with this wayang election, 40% voted opposition, 60% voted PAP, WHY Parliament got only 6 opposition and 81 PAPs inside??? This is still a JOke you know. Of course there still be complains and displeasure, cause 40% OF SINGAPOREANS ARE NOT REPRESENTED!!!

As for the marginally contested SMCs, like Potong Pasir and Joo Chiat SMC, only a few hundred votes lost, what constitutes spoilt votes? What about those overseas votes yet to reach Singapore, can they be counted, sekali Potong Pasir and Joo Chiat is back to opposition leh!!! Whoppeee.

So those textbook people kana brainwashed already, please retune your brain abit to understand why.

CORRECT! Why is 40% of singaporeans not represented in parliament???

Well blame GRC lor. Although Opposition managed to upseat 5 pap candidates but still the redrawing of the GRC lines last minute by PAP is known to segragate and divide opposition voters so that they aren't united enuf to cause a fall of the other GRCs.

Anyway our of the 2 million voters, did we account for how many are new pink ic holders from PRC, India, Pinoy etc? These ppl vote PAP one.

I feel sad for Singapore. I feel sad that good candidates are voted out or had no chance of being in Parliament, while mediocre candidates are voted in. I'm talking about the GRC system, a system created by the PAP to ensure ethnic minorities are included only in name, but which actual purpose is to create barriers for opposition parties to enter Parliament.

Because of this GRC system, good candidates like George Yeo, Tan Jee Say, Tony Tan, Vincent Wijeysingha and so on are not elected, but Tin Pei Ling is. To protect PAP's power, George Yeo has to be sacrificed.

Unless and until the PAP's power is stripped substantially, the PAP is unlikely to abolish the GRC anytime soon. So we may continue to see this kind of anomaly. The Opposition may have to spend many more years to chip away at this fortress called the GRC.

This system protects the PAP's power but is bad for Singapore over the long term. While Aljunied is a start, the status quo cannot change unless the people show the PAP that its protectionistic rules cannot stand. The people needs to show stronger support and help the Opposition overturn a few more GRCs. Aljunied is not enough.

Neither is winning 40% votes. The Opposition only won 6 seats, and all by only one party. I would like more Opposition parties to be represented. It may make the political scene in Singapore a lot more "messy", but this is my vision for Singapore in the longer term (> 20 years). I believe Singaporeans will mature to accept this new political scene, given time.

Dear friends, do not be fooled by the 40% win. It's only 6 seats, hardly enough for the Opposition to make a squeak in Parliament. PAP's power must be chipped away further before it realises that the people mean business. Now we look forward to 2016. Keep yourselves involved in Opposition politics TODAY. Do not fall asleep for the next five years only to wake up in 2016. Get involved TODAY. NOW.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg
i think its a fantastic result.

wateva all the anti-pap talk, my personal opinion is at this point in singapore's history, we LL must let them remain in power because as good as the oppos have shown themselves this year, they need further growth before they can bring the hammer down on pap. i wasn fully convinced of the oppos this year, but they made me think and consider my vote longer than they ever did in the past.

and now there is a small but very significant opposition presence in parliament. significant because its a grc, significant because they are electec rather than ncmp, and most important, significant because they are all wp. its a united oppo team, so less chance of in-fighting like we saw in the run-up to elections. oppo need to fight pap, not each other. and with this breakthru, they have the potential for real growth in coming years.

so oppo now has real power, however small it is for now. and pap need to watch their back and make changes if they want people to be more convinced of them rather than oppo. and all at the same time while our governance remains stable and credible.

mayber ten to twenty years from now, we will look back and recognize today as either the birth of an alternative government, or the day PAP make sweeping changes to the way they govern. thats why i say, yesterday results are fantastic overall for singapore.

my 2 cents,

i hope singaporeans WAKE UP...

1) PAP had ALWAYS won with more than 60% of the votes in every election. UNLESS they get a wake-up call of only 55% narrow margin, they will JUST DO WHAT THEY HAVE ALWAYS DONE ALL THESE YEARS...ie. PRETEND TO CHANGE FOR THE NEXT 6 MONTHS...AFTER THAT BACK TO SQUARE ROOT OF 1. Don't you remember how a certain PAP candidate promise NOT TO INCREASE PRICES FOR THE NEXT 6 MONTHS in the market but with rentals still increased, use your common sense & think what comes after the 6 months? THE NEXT 4 YEARS? you only need IQ of 100 to figure it out. expect RELATIVELY "humble" behaviour FOR THE NEXT 6 MONTHS...ENJOY THE HONEYMOON BUT AFTER THAT THE NEXT 4 YEARS OF MORE OF THE SAME ****!

2) Parliament can go ahead with anything as long as get 2/3 MAJORITY. with total 87 seats, even if we have 28 opposition MPs voted in, PAP can still go ahead with whatever they want to do. However, they will probably dare not take too much risks for fear of losing 2/3 majority in the NEXT election. BUT WITH ONLY 6 WP MPs to oppose ???

it is just a mere background noise to PAP. PAP had offered to give 9 NCMP SEATS FREE to the people. What does this imply? EVEN WITH 9 , THEY ALSO BO CHAP !

ONLY 6 ??? JUST NOISE...HAHAHA...ok LHL will "cry" & say "sorry" but still go ahead, you LPPL. recall the "wayang" casino debate after 2006 elections?

SINGAPOREANS NEVER LEARN ???

3) we must all thanks Tampines voters for their faithfulness to MBT in 2001, 2006, 2011. TAMPINES HAD 3 CHANCES BUT STILL WE HAVE MBT. MBT is born in 1948 so he will be 68 in 2016. maybe he will retire by then. SO you really expect HIM TO REPENT & CHANGE WHEN HE MAY NEVER NEED TO STAND FOR ELECTION AGAIN?

did MBT CHANGE AFTER 2001? DID HE CHANGE AFTER HIS MARGIN FELL AFTER 2006? Tampines estate must be such a nice place to sleep that after more than 10 years / no 23 years, voters still DREAMING ???

even East Coast / Joo Chiat / Marine Parade etc ( of course Hougang / Aljunied / Potong Pasir/ Joo Chiat etc ). voters got more backbone. EVEN Bishan-Toa Payoh was ONLY 1ST TIME VOTING.

TAMPINES VOTERS GOT NO EXCUSES. THEY HAD 5 CHANCES ! 1988,1991,2001,2006,2011! enough said don't tell me that there is OPIUM on the air in Tampines...

Edited by bukitmerah
grammar

Thanks & Best Regards.

We are all here to share & learn. :thumb:

Results were expected. Hinestly, i blame the opposition!?

For example, nsp in tamp, r u kidding me??? A warehouse assistant running for candidacy??i werk in an warehpuse enviroment and i am in charge of warehoise asst!! They are always d staff tt are frequent late comers, and calculative wen it comes to werk! They are d type tt wakes up feeling horny and would forego werk to have a quicky! I wouldnt bloody hell trust my future to one of them.

Singapore is a meritocratic society. Everything is based on papers. Much less our language and articulation.

Reform partys mansor, d way he talks, it sounds like as if hes struggling. And d issues he brpught up are more racial than others. Hes jus trying tp hype up d malays and garner their votes. We r talking about 5 years of our lives. As much as pap has increased the price of living.

U rarely hear pple dying of hunger.

U nv hear pple die of thirst.

Our singapprean women are not known as maids overseas.

We singappreans are known as hardwerking.

If d opposition wanted to take d place, get better candidates. Not short sighted, misarticulating individuals who only see the problems at hand but do not anticipate tt it cpuld cost singapore its identity as a multi racial country.

Tat being said, im nt a supporter of pap, i hate them fpr d foreign talents who stink up out buses and spit on our roads. I hate them for such high housing prices. I hate them for Most of my pet peeves but we do still survive.

Sorry for d wide array of typo errors. I was on my iphone and i have fat fingers.

1) There goes my hope to buy a resale flat that I can afford.

2) There goes my hope of securing decent paying jobs. As it is now. My work place is 80% foreigners that happily goes back to their home country for holiday every 3 months, or goes over to USA to work after they received their PR. Leaving me short handed and diffiult to handle my customers. And for me, a miserly take home pay of $900/-.

And what else.....oh yah. Living at a rented place now that prefers to cater to cheapo foreigners with plenty of peeing and rubbish dumping in the lifts and staircases.

And seriously leaking toliet pipes. Yes. HDB living is necessary, because we want so many people in Singapore. Do we really want that or just the Gahment wanting that. Boost our population to do NS and defend Singapore, but allows for PRs to skip NS.

corp sg cant be bothered about your feelings. I dont see any feelings for the people from all these money face MPs. And that TPL can criticise Nicole for showing emotion, and now this kind of par-liah quality is in parliament, wtf man. Comparing the struggle Nicole has to go through with an underdog party against her comfy power house of senior ministers, she is not even qualify to speak on anything. Reverse their position, i think TPL double confirm would turn tail and run off.