Once, I knocked into TWO car mirrors when I just got my bike for about a week and attempted to lane-split to the front of the traffic light. My right mirror was knocked inwards and subsequently left mirror knocked inwards at the next car. Guess I just couldn't control the thing properly and was swaying left to right...

Next, I accidentally knocked into another car while pedaling to the front of this really small road. But as I was pedaling, it was really a light knock and the driver just smiled at me after realizing that I accidentally bumped into his mirror.

Have you guys ever knocked into car's mirrors accidentally while lane-splitting to the front at a traffic light? Share your experiences!

• Replies 99

yep of course, in fact it is quite common for new riders. i had my fair share too. u'll get used to ur bike after a while and the chances of such things happening will be reduced as the days pass.

on a side note, if u're also concerned about cars knocking into ur mirrors, go for those big heavy metal mirrors. it will make their mirrors bend instead of urs. good!

Yes, I had my fair share knocking side mirrors during lane splitting. That was when I was a new rider still getting used to lane splitting during jams. Try that along adam/lornie road, the lanes are damn narrow... After that I give up splitting that area..

But as time goes by, lane splitting is a breeze.. Just wave to apologise, most drivers are pretty cool with it if there is no damage. Some will have the dulan face, just move on. But if you damage the side mirror, be prepared to pay for it. And I can tell you, side mirrors are expensive now a days.. easily 200++ and above for the whole assembly. But if the glass is broken, should be less than 100.. But sometimes you think you break the glass only, in the end have to replace the whole assembly because the holder for the glass is damaged. If scratches, if cannot polish, the cost of respraying the cover should be less than 60 bucks if I didn't recall wrongly.

So be more careful when lane splitting. :cheers:

A side note, siam those high end super cars and conti cars.. those side mirrors damn expensive! I'm guessing is a 4 digit $$..

new rider dun split lane so fast

no confident dont spilt lane. wait behind wun die ma. later u pedal in between cars, the car beside you move forward, you sure scared then later whole bike drop dont cry. this kind of things is you dont know until it really happens to you yourself.

Yamaha x1

Honda super 4 spec 1

erm...i would usually slow down, dead slow, even if there is bikes behind me...its not worth it to knock to the cars mirror..

i mean i drove car too...i will feel dualn even if a minor scratch...werst if it is a knock...heart pain..hehez

:) cooling off day

I try not to squeeze in between if I have the feeling that I can't make it. If not, just try to go slowly and 'left-right' your handlebar to clear it. I noe sometimes feel paiseh, esp if have other bikers behind. I'm quite new also, haven't been riding for more than 2 yrs.. The first week I got my bike, I rode like a car.. Haha. Nv cut, just follow. Tail gate then let it be lo.

Even for Lexus, one whole side mirror alone is more than 1k+.

hitting the mirrors happens la. sometimes the driver will be nice enough to fold the mirrors in for you to let you thru/

When touring, its usually the rider that give way first before the bike itself.

got box got tour.

sometimes the driver will be nice enough to fold the mirrors in for you to let you thru

More like they don't want to go through the trouble in case it gets damaged. Save both parties time and money with one simple move. :D

So far never ah, I always ride in traffic jams so filtering fast and change from one filter lane to the next became 2nd nature but I assume in jams if you broke a mirror, its easier to get away scot free, you'll have to be filtering quite fast in order to do that though.

You may get away scott free, but it leaves a sour impression of motorcyclists. It doesn't help us all.

If you want to filter in, pls dun assume ppl will forgive you automatically when you hit their mirrors. If you broke it, please be prepare to pay them the repair fees, and dun expect car repairs to be as cheap as bike repairs. Remember, it's your fault for hitting their mirror, so dun give lame excuses.

Some tips. Always ride very slow when you are in this type of filtering so that even if you hit their mirror it won't do much damage.

Once, I knocked into TWO car mirrors when I just got my bike for about a week and attempted to lane-split to the front of the traffic light. My right mirror was knocked inwards and subsequently left mirror knocked inwards at the next car. Guess I just couldn't control the thing properly and was swaying left to right...

Next, I accidentally knocked into another car while pedaling to the front of this really small road. But as I was pedaling, it was really a light knock and the driver just smiled at me after realizing that I accidentally bumped into his mirror.

Have you guys ever knocked into car's mirrors accidentally while lane-splitting to the front at a traffic light? Share your experiences!

you are simply not road worthy.

better stay off the roads or one fine day, it wont be a mirror you're knocking into.

riders like you give the rest of us a bloody bad name.

same goes to the bunch of you who have the same lousy riding skills and attitude. no wonder people dont give riders enough respect.

happens very commonly for new riders.

my 1st week of getting bike i knocked into car mirror during bumper to bumper jam along north bridge road.

1 minute happily splitting, next i heard THWACK!

his mirror bend the other direction. i adjust back for him and wave to say sorry, then ride off.

never kena claimed. heng.

now i don't lanesplit liao. focus on improving other areas of my riding first before attempting it.

You may get away scott free, but it leaves a sour impression of motorcyclists. It doesn't help us all.

Point is, don't hit the mirrors, in case you do, either you pay for it, they leave you alone or you get away with it. Accidents happen, nobody's perfect. Can blame some rowdy riders for giving riders a bad name, can blame some drivers driving recklessly for giving other drivers a bad name. I have a bias towards Audi and BMW drivers because I tend to meet those that drive recklessly.

I am the unlucky one who got claimed for knocking in to a cheapo suzuki SX4 mirror, whos so huge and easily damaged. I observed no damaged before I rode off and I got claimed eventually.

That particular model had a recall for faulty mirrors in US, but NTUC did not buy my story, they paid out to the guy without much evidence. I could had just said nothing happened, and saved my NCD. So what am I hitting at? becareful of these cheapo sx4 cars, and be very careful when riding with an NTUC insurance, because it will eventually be the riders fault, that is why we are paying more for insurance than some car owners.

There was this one time, i was checking my right blind spot, then when i turn back, i had this white corolla infront of me which i didn't notice stopping, i quickly jammed my brake to avoid kissing his backside, but i swerved to the car's left hand side and hit the mirrors really hard, it went outwards. That was the time i thought i'm done for, sure claim.

Stopped at the road shoulder, driver came down, i checked the mirror, "LUCKY as f**k!" i thought to myself. Nothing wrong with the mirror. Bent it back to position for him and even asked him if he needed my particulars just in case. But the driver was a nice guy, didn't make a big who-ha outta nothing.

I was really lucky to have my handguards protect me from the impact, if not for the handguards, i think my fingers would be broken from the impact.

Thats my story. But a friend of mine wasn't so lucky. ahah. But thats another story.

http://i38.tinypic.com/2610xz6.jpg

T r i u m p h S t r e e t T r i p l e

I am the unlucky one who got claimed for knocking in to a cheapo suzuki SX4 mirror, whos so huge and easily damaged. I observed no damaged before I rode off and I got claimed eventually.

That particular model had a recall for faulty mirrors in US, but NTUC did not buy my story, they paid out to the guy without much evidence. I could had just said nothing happened, and saved my NCD. So what am I hitting at? becareful of these cheapo sx4 cars, and be very careful when riding with an NTUC insurance, because it will eventually be the riders fault, that is why we are paying more for insurance than some car owners.

Don't give riders a bad name. If you're not sure if can clear, e.g. not enough of a safety clearance margin, slow down and wriggle the handlebars past. Some drivers are nice enough to help out by steering left/right if they see you slowly trying to manuever past. Don't be an a** and just bash through. Being new isn't an excuse. Focus on handling your bike first instead of trying to be like the rest of the riders and copying their squeezing tactics.

I drive too and it's plain annoying when riders just bash through and smack into mirrors hard n fast.

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac46/Tachnicolour/Completed%20works/combination_2.jpg

Convert your backlight COLOURs at : <CMO> Speedo Backlight colour CONVERSION by Tachnicolour

Don't give riders a bad name. If you're not sure if can clear, e.g. not enough of a safety clearance margin, slow down and wriggle the handlebars past. Some drivers are nice enough to help out by steering left/right if they see you slowly trying to manuever past. Don't be an a** and just bash through. Being new isn't an excuse. Focus on handling your bike first instead of trying to be like the rest of the riders and copying their squeezing tactics.

I drive too and it's plain annoying when riders just bash through and smack into mirrors hard n fast.

Couldn't agree more. I also look out for riders during jam when driving, try to give more space.

Apply some basic courtesy while we are at it - give thanks when car owner delibrately make way for us after they stop so that we can squeeze through. Nowadays I will usually give a small nod at them b4 moving off.

better stay off the roads or one fine day, it wont be a mirror you're knocking into.

same goes to the bunch of you who have the same lousy riding skills and attitude. no wonder people dont give riders enough respect.

In no parts of my message did I ever advocate the spirit of smashing into mirrors and being proud of it. I acknowledge that knocking into car mirrors constitutes as an accident of the riders' part so would please shed some light on how does that fall under your definition of possessing a lousy attitude? I highly recommend not adopting an umbrella approach of generalization towards everyone. It might work on a Internet forum but it will backfire on you in real life.

That's unnecessarily harsh. If you're smacking into mirrors while lane splitting, the remedy is to stop splitting until you've got more confidence/familiarity with riding, or alternatively don't lane split at all. The answer isn't to stop riding altogether.

Cry 'Havoc'.....and let slip the dogs of war