• Replies 67

What I was trying to state is that it is easier to get the NZ PR, then it will automatically qualified you NZ Citizenship after 5 years. NZ citizens can live and work freely in Australia.

When a Singaporean takes up NZ or Oz Citizenship, you don't even need to renounce Singapore citizenship. So on the quiet, you can still hang on to your HDB, just in case things don't work out overseas, there is still a nest back home. If things flourish, sell the HDB, renounce citizenship, withdraw CPF, then can buy bikes, boat, and even a cessna.....all cash :).

is this true ? i remember singapore dun allow dual citizenship

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

ya, get the pr first. i am sure all miw also got pr all over the place.

PR is not citizenship lah.

Eg. BLue NRIC and Pink NRIC.

Wayang heard me right.

Singapore does not allow dual citizen, that is correct. If you are a Singaporean, and you want to take up citizenship of a foreign country which allows dual citizenship, then you don't need to show proof that you have renounced your native citizenship. So effectively, a Singapore citizen can have dual citizenship but it is illegal.

However if anyone wants to take up Singapore Citizenship, then one must show proof that you have officially renounced your native citizenship before your Singapore citizenship is granted.

PR is not citizenship lah.

Eg. BLue NRIC and Pink NRIC.

Wayang heard me right.

Singapore does not allow dual citizen, that is correct. If you are a Singaporean, and you want to take up citizenship of a foreign country which allows dual citizenship, then you don't need to show proof that you have renounced your native citizenship. So effectively, a Singapore citizen can have dual citizenship but it is illegal.

However if anyone wants to take up Singapore Citizenship, then one must show proof that you have officially renounced your native citizenship before your Singapore citizenship is granted.

how about the criteria for the USA?

yes, they may be in a recession now.

but hey, doesnt that mean, houses/land are cheaper.. .

USA? Critieria is similar to Australia. And they have the green card lottery. Or if you have 1/2 million USD in your bank a/c to show, they will grant you the PR quite easily. Thing about USA though. Its currently a country at war, so if you are bringing over children, its not a good thing to do. Land and houses is dependant on the area where you might want to live and choose to work. Factor in distance, petrol consumption & natural disasaters, and rate of employment for that area.

how about the criteria for the USA?

yes, they may be in a recession now.

but hey, doesnt that mean, houses/land are cheaper.. .

Its a dwindling warmongering superpower in debt. Who knows what lies for them decades ahead, one thing is for sure, probably more wars.

maybe US will be like USSR in the future. military might, but poor.

What I was trying to state is that it is easier to get the NZ PR, then it will automatically qualified you NZ Citizenship after 5 years. NZ citizens can live and work freely in Australia.

Its difficult to get a PR at either place without a job / job offer & its easier to get a job in AUS compared to NZ. There of course exceptions especially depending on industry. The general trend now is that even kiwis are going over to AUS to find jobs..

For me, there is also opportunity to get a job in AUS thru my current company. Anyway, trying a PR does not mean that we will definitely migrate. It will be quite a while before u can start to apply PR and quite a while till ur PR is approved. U can take this time to decide if you want to eventually moveout of SIN & with a PR at any place, u can still come back to SIN since u do not need to renounce citizenship.

Liverpool revival has started....

Canada, though far, is a good place to consider. Don't let the cold temp scare any one of you here. bluelabel is 70% spot on for ang moh sentiments though this percentile may change with economic hardships experienced by the folks in EU. It's all about having the largest happy middle class to dominate worldly perceptions. And if mao's socialistic democratic descendants continues to enrich their moms, paps and maopees on the street, then uncle sam would start to smell the entrails of xiao long bao albeit another republican driven war...

If you are a Singaporean, and you want to take up citizenship of a foreign country which allows dual citizenship, then you don't need to show proof that you have renounced your native citizenship. So effectively, a Singapore citizen can have dual citizenship but it is illegal.

Also don't use the wrong passport in front of the custom officer.

i wanna migrate to somewhere else too.. maybe Australia, New Zealand, USA, HK, Thailand? jus somewhere.. cos i dun feel SG is my home anymore. it's like one day i came home and suddenly there r so many guest in my house.

but then i see change coming. the GE n PE has shown tt many ard me share e same sentiment.

live to ride, ride to live

A+star thread guys. keep it coming..............................

the country i like to migrate : thailand

reason: culture,people, nightlife .

drawback:finding a job there tt pays well.

singapore is ok to live . just barely ok. things are expensive,lots of endless tax coe erp bah bah bah and sometimes i look arnd......causasian,prc,india,expats,foreigner,foreigner....... where are my homeland people ? personally i just feel a losing sense of belonging here each day..........

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

from what i heard we can take out all our CPF money when we r migrating, anyone noe wat is the proper procedure ?

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg