hi does anyone know where to find yamaha oil

i think it is call yama lube in singapore?

or anyone know the disti?

I think FJT got sell it, here is the address, Desker Road Shop Houses

15 Rowell Road, Singapore 207973. Contact no. 63925928 I hope it helps...

Maximize every opportunity with the best of your ability.

• Replies 2.7k

hi N.I.D

called them up they say no have

even yamaha agent @ hong leong also dont have

went down to wing yap only got mineral oil

anyway thanks for your help

i think yamalube too exp to bring in liao

Edited by ^FOXY^

tRIED A few oil b4......

best is still motul 300v factoryline 10 40 or 15 50.....

28 per L at planet.....

chex is the cheapest fully syn oil ard quality is average but kinda tight tat wat i feel....

maxima no interest ...

use their cool aide cost rusting in my radiator haha...

silkolene nt worth th eprice .....

mobil is still the all time fav afforbable & nt bad....

liquid moly heard is nt bad cheaper a bit than motul ...

mayb worth a try...?

still i vote for motul 300v......

best of the best $$ can buy.....

wait till i try out liquid moly c is there any changes in mind....

mx trading deal more on cars oil ...

he order wrongly motul 300v (he tot4 cars but it for bike)

thus the 4L bttl (he dun sell by per L onli in bttls of 4L)

pricing is gd but it onli whilst stock last....

cheers mate....

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166356_131601833567489_100001530181591_182770_5027349_n.jpg

More for less . . . Always!!!

M.B Products : Lifestyle, Performance, Electronics, Security, Accessories . . .

Click here ---> Visit Motore Bici Section for more details

does the engine oil affect hw ez it is 2 start the bike? is the castrol full syn 4T a gd choice? does it really improve acceleration?

Had been using this oil for few years. Few engine oil change occasions i tried other fully syn on my gts.. still prefer this for its increased acceleration! will nv change it again!

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b249/xiaoalan/GTS.jpg

Performance Upgrades:

GPR Grip 126mm | 1kg Heavy Balancers | Spitfire Plug Suppressor | Boost Bottle |

Power Abuser V2 | Malossi Multivar 2000 | Dr. Pulley Hit Clutch |

Next Upgrade:

Full Exhaust System | Steel Mate Alarm |

royal purple max-cycle 20w-50 (S$18 per bottle, DIY).

best engine oil for my bike.

silky smooth n slickness gearshifting.

rp is extended time engine oil just like amsoil.

note:

place to buy royal purple is at tanjong pagar plaza, block 2, #02-20 (S082002).

additional note:

for first time rp user, u might need to adjust your ilding speed,

your engine will run lower rpm coz rp run cooler compare to other oil.

Edited by stsoh
royal purple max-cycle 20w-50 (S$18 per bottle, DIY).

best engine oil for my bike.

silky smooth n slickness gearshifting.

rp is extended time engine oil just like amsoil.

Wat's ur ride bro?

The difference between men and boys is the lessons they learn

read my signature, it is stated in there.

it's a big 125cc air-cool 4-valve single piston engine bike.

even sportbikes in our hot climate, it is best to use royal purple max-cycle 20w-50 engine oil.

i believe 10w-40 grade r too thin for our climate coz i tried n find gearshifting is rough.

Edited by stsoh

Any brands to recco arnd $15/L? for phantom ta200? have been using maxima 20w50 semi syn. Very good but 1800km chui liao.

whats 20w50 compare to a 10w50? and 10w50 compare to 5w50? confused.. :sian:

Any brands to recco arnd $15/L? for phantom ta200? have been using maxima 20w50 semi syn. Very good but 1800km chui liao.
whats 20w50 compare to a 10w50? and 10w50 compare to 5w50? confused.. :sian:

20w, 15w, 10w, 5w....... 'w' is winter.

20w is represented tat oil is in fluid state at 0 degree C.

if temperature falls below 0, the oil start to be thicken n flow is less fluid.

15w represent lower temperature -10 degree C in liquid form b4 oil thicken n resist to flow.

10w represent lower temperature -15 degree C in liquid form b4 oil thicken n resist to flow.

5w represent lower temperature -20 degree C in liquid form b4 oil thicken n resist to flow.

our climate is hot n have not fallen below 25 degree C, therefore digits with 'w' r not of any concerns.

for us, our main concerns r the last digits, eg 30, 40, 50 n 60.

this represent viscosity index at engine operating temperature.

30 vi (viscosity index) is use mainly in cold climate, in countries where it snow

40 vi is use where climate temperature r at 10~25 degree C.

50 vi is use where climate like ours at 25~35 degree C.

highest vi like 60 r generally too thick if u r living in desert maybe it will be more suitable.

Edited by stsoh
read my signature, it is stated in there.

it's a big 125cc air-cool 4-valve single piston engine bike.

even sportbikes in our hot climate, it is best to use royal purple max-cycle 20w-50 engine oil.

i believe 10w-40 grade r too thin for our climate coz i tried n find gearshifting is rough.

icic....

would strongly rec NOT TO USE Royal Purple....

i used on my zx12r...

sum racing grade better than the 1 u using....

in the end...

haiz....

when i overhual my engine i c the quality of the oil....

very disappointed....

can u believe i was once promoting hw gd tis oil is 2 my fellow kakis outsid e& inside the forum....

haiz ....

very disappointing....

go for more trustworthy brands like MOTUL 300v factory or for yr $18 range include changing like maxima, mobil (tat wta i can tink of so far)

Currenlty trying out Liquid Moly fr EQUIP Xtreme @ depot rd there opp cmpb.... (juz change 2day 10/02/09 at 730pm)

using 10w40 semi sys (even though semi sys tis grade is better than norm semi sys it in between semi & fully may 3/4 semi ba .... lol)

look out for some reviews of mine ....

(or any 1 gt use b4 , care to share)

currenlty gt promo bundle oso....

do go to their thread in sbf to take a peep....

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166356_131601833567489_100001530181591_182770_5027349_n.jpg

15w represent lower temperature -10 degree C in liquid form b4 oil thicken n resist to flow.

10w represent lower temperature -15 degree C in liquid form b4 oil thicken n resist to flow.

5w represent lower temperature -20 degree C in liquid form b4 oil thicken n resist to flow.

our climate is hot n have not fallen below 25 degree C, therefore digits with 'w' r not of any concerns.

30 vi (viscosity index) is use mainly in cold climate, in countries where it snow

highest vi like 60 r generally too thick if u r living in desert maybe it will be more suitable.

Tks for the useful info bro!

:gun: My Rides -

2001 to 2002 - Husqvarna CR125

2002 to 2004 - Yamaha RXZ135

2004 to 2006 - Honda CB400 Vtec1

2008 to Present - Honda CB400 Vtec1

icic....

would strongly rec NOT TO USE Royal Purple....

i used on my zx12r...

sum racing grade better than the 1 u using....

in the end...

haiz....

when i overhual my engine i c the quality of the oil....

very disappointed....

can u believe i was once promoting hw gd tis oil is 2 my fellow kakis outsid e& inside the forum....

haiz ....

very disappointing....

go for more trustworthy brands like MOTUL 300v factory or for yr $18 range include changing like maxima, mobil (tat wta i can tink of so far)

Currenlty trying out Liquid Moly fr EQUIP Xtreme @ depot rd there opp cmpb.... (juz change 2day 10/02/09 at 730pm)

using 10w40 semi sys (even though semi sys tis grade is better than norm semi sys it in between semi & fully may 3/4 semi ba .... lol)

look out for some reviews of mine ....

(or any 1 gt use b4 , care to share)

currenlty gt promo bundle oso....

do go to their thread in sbf to take a peep....

can u elaborate your disappointment.......?

rp original color is dark purple, after use it should be black.

oil color is black becoz of it's detergent property.

suspending carbon in the oil to keep the engine clean so tat carbon n dirt can be trap by oil filter.

stopping sludge from building up which is the number one cause to engine damage.

i seen drained rp oil after long usage oil, it is dark black n fluidity which should be proper.

i been to some bike shop to do oil change services.

most mech don't understand oil detergent property.

the moment they saw oil is black will bluntly say lousy or low grade oil.

but do they understand oil properties n it's functions, most likely not.

since using rp, i quite like it very much as compare to others.

i stay clear of moly becoz it is a solid element, unlike PAO or ester base.

motul 300v, maxima, mobil r selling $25~28 per bottle.

Edited by stsoh
can u elaborate your disappointment.......?

rp original color is dark purple, after use it should be black.

oil color is black becoz of it's detergent property.

suspending carbon in the oil to keep the engine clean so tat carbon n dirt can be trap by oil filter.

stopping sludge from building up which is the number one cause to engine damage.

i seen drained rp oil after long usage oil, it is dark black n fluidity which should be proper.

i been to some bike shop to do oil change services.

most mech don't understand oil detergent property.

the moment they saw oil is black will bluntly say lousy or low grade oil.

but do they understand oil properties n it's functions, most likely not.

since using rp, i quite like it very much as compare to others.

i stay clear of moly becoz it is a solid element, unlike PAO or ester base.

motul 300v, maxima, mobil r selling $25~28 per bottle.

Well pricing wise it up to u to find the best bargain....

motul 300v cheapest is $28 i can find i nv say $18....

maxima gt $18 semi or fully nt sure

mobil range fr $18 to $21 max....

oso ....

nt onli one person say the oil ...

i have a few kakis all kana...

they lucky i suay coz i say so gd so gd but turn out ....

so when i overhual my bike c the oil quality ....

i understand liao y gt so many complains...:faint:

i nt saying bcoz of RP my engine seize....

any way my engine nv seize juz decided it time to do overhual since gt the $$$$

Well liquid moly i still trying out....

of course ester based like motul 300v i of course support....

i been a royal supporter of motul....

any way for liquid moly will c if it gd a nt....

for the soild ester base stuff etc ...

do read up on wikipedia....

tink they offer a very good explaination....

As for RP....

own preferance mate....

I tried & disappointed ...

hw disappointed dun noe hw 2 say

it was like year 2007 end

u using max cycle range rite....

u get it at sanfu or fr the eletric shop at tanjong pagar there...?

any way all bikers has their pref brands of oils....

it up to individual to determine which oil suit their budget & of course their bikes....

no 2 bikes behave the same ....

same bike model but diff reaction to diff eO...

tat y i always say she has a life of it own..

end of the day is up to the end user (the biker) to decide

Cheers mates.....

Edited by stwb1981

based on this, i presume that 15w-50 oil is good for singapore usage?

yes, in general is safe to use 15w-50 grade engine oil in sg.

most bike manufacturers will recommend 10w-40 grade.

most sportbikes r built with tight tolerance which means they may performance better with 10w-40 grade.

there r many good points about moly oil..........but finding negative points r few.

here's one interest article:

Moly in Engine Oil,

Check out the OEM bulletin from Cummins. It is the Cummins Engine Oil Recommendations, Bulletin No. 3810340-02 . Its probably best if you stopped by a Cummins Dealer and purchased this bulletin- about $2 or $3.

On page 7 it has a section on FRICTION MODIFIERS states:

"There is firm evidence that certain friction modifiers, molybdenum dithiophosphate for example, can in certain formulations result in cam follower pin failure at relatively low mileage"........

From years working with engine test programs to approve engine oil formulations for API licensing, we can tell you that NO engine oil containing Molybdenum additives has been certified by the full range of engine tests necessary to gain API approval.

Molybdenum compounds in motor oils can degrade and cause bearing corrosion and is particularly aggressive towards copper. In almost all cases, any engine oil formula having "moly" will also contain a Copper Deactivator which will protect bearings from the moly compounds. The only problem, the copper deactivator decomposes at relatively low temperatures and looses it's potency after a few thousand miles.

Maybe interested in " Carlube ", anyone comments on this brand?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

i tried it, carlube full synthetic 10w-40.

after a week, it gets rougher.

here's my complain:

1) gearshifting is rough, need some force to shift into gear.

2) difficulty getting in neutral,

3) time2time slip gear from first to second into neutral.

didn't like it after a month change to rp max-cycle 20w-50.

Does that means 5w50, 10w50, 15w50, 20w50 is good for Singapore usage?

What about 5w40, 10w40, 15w40, 20w40? is it also good for Singapore Usage?

Comparing 5w40 with 5w50, 5w40 is smoother?

based on this, i presume that 15w-50 oil is good for singapore usage?

in general,

10w-40 is more suitable for water-cool bike coz these bike runs cooler n engine r design to built with tighter tolerances.

whereas air/oil-cool bikes runs hotter, clearances r not as tight as water-cool type engines. so use thicker viscosity index oil like 50.

the only way to find out which performance better is to try different type of oil n chose the best among all.

hmm so i shall use 5w50 or 5w60? what brands u recommend for gts200?

in general,

10w-40 is more suitable for water-cool bike coz these bike runs cooler n engine r design to built with tighter tolerances.

whereas air/oil-cool bikes runs hotter, clearances r not as tight as water-cool type engines. so use thicker viscosity index oil like 50.

the only way to find out which performance better is to try different type of oil n chose the best among all.

AND DUN FORGET ....

rem to consult yr bike servicing manual ....

c wich is the manufactuer rec eo grade like ....

best to follow tat ...

but sumtimes i do wonder...

they do test in japan or euro countires....

climate way diff fr us.....

so is it tat relaible ...?

well ...

motul 300v seem to be the best....

though ex but it the strongest competitor ....

hmm carlube is teh 1 selling at Giant...?

hmm so i shall use 5w50 or 5w60? what brands u recommend for gts200?
i assume the GTS200 is liquid-cooled. thus you'll be looking at 10w40 for a new bike or 15w50 for an older bike, due to the piston ring gap being bigger, thus a thicker oil would seal the combustion process better ie better compression.

10w60 is waaaaaaaay too thick. your bike will be way smoother and quieter, but the decrease in power is very noticeable and quite big.

try not to use oils that begin with 5w in singapore cos they are too thin when cold. you'll cause more cold wear on your engine when you first fire it up.

so to conclude, 10w40 would give you more power with a slightly rougher and noisier engine and 10w50 or 15w50 would give you slightly less power but with increased smoothness and less noise. so pick your poison!

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg