Guest enHANZed

i can lend a hand with regards to emergency response

• Replies 68

if i can make it for the next meeting i will be there... :thumb:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

I am very impressed by the formation of this organization. :thumb: Good job!

I would love to join in, but I won't be able to until I return. Meanwhile, tourer84 can keep me updated on the progress.

Guest czh2002sg
Originally posted by rhema83@March 16, 2007 06:21 am

I am very impressed by the formation of this organization. :thumb: Good job!

I would love to join in, but I won't be able to until I return. Meanwhile, tourer84 can keep me updated on the progress.

It is easy to form one. You and I can start another. Like you, I am equally impressed with the potential such an organization has for motorcycling safety to the community, but until capable and committed ladies and gentlemen come forward to run this association, it remains a vision.

Once again, we are sincerely appealing for representatives. Tonight we will iron out some issues at LC food centre. Lets see how it goes.

Guest czh2002sg

Registration of societies act from Ministry of Home Affairs

http://www.mha.gov.sg/ecitizen/roses/image...faq_data.htm#Q1

Its an automatic registration, online. Please spare a moment to read through all points.

We need 10 members to start. Between automatic registration and normal registration i think we have to opt for normal registration, which will take 2 months, not in time for that announcement. Maybe the act of registration we can ask Simon to help expedite it? Or we go through the process, and meanwhile we are not allowed to carry out those talks as a society. As we use the name "Singapore" in the association, we may need Simon again to back us up. The 5 of us who pledged our names already please read up, take note the admin things we need to get ready at point of registration. Meanwhile... 5 more names for the interim committee.

Also, drafting of constituition may have to be done at the next meeting.

Guest czh2002sg

Update for members following this thread. Please correct me where necessary.

After today's meeting, we have now decided that motorcycling safety is the springboard from which we start small. As a society about to be registered, we will be calling for elections soon. We will be named Singapore Motorcycling Association (SMA or SMCA to be confirmed by voting next meeting)

The objective of this association is to

1. Promote safety awareness through education campaigns in Polys, ITEs, Camps.

2. Represent and promote motorcyclist interests/welfare through collective representation.

2. To co-operate with bureaucratic instituitions (LTA, TP, HDB, URA) in promoting motorcycling interests.

We intend to start small with education campaigns in schools etc.

Refer to Bike Culture Magazine, Issue No 4, Page 32 on the NTU safety talk/meetup by Endlessloop (Lip Seng) and Spectrum (Alan).

We do not seek to replace TP in safety education. We seek to complement their efforts by co-operation.

Most of us who turned up over the meeting at TP HQ and today at LC food centre have work/family commitments, and we are essentially a group of volunteers who came together because we want to promote riding safety. We are united by the common purpose of a desire to see a decrease in motorcyling fatalities/accidents. We are a civic society organisation (NOT civil society) volunteering for the riding community's interests. The interim committee will be temporarily in charged of running the association's adminstration. Mr Lau, Endless, Spectrum and me also volunteer to organise further talks, improving on the NTU model. And this core group of founding members who turned up over the two meetings will partcipate in the talks on ad hoc basis, through sharing valuable experience and safety messages to fellow riders.

Without SMA/SMCA, the riding community will be there. Without the riding community, there is no SMA/SMCA. In tandem, we can achieve much more and make riding safer and more enjoyable in Singapore. Lets see how this goes.

Gr8 job. I kinda missed the meeting today due to unforseen circumstances, my buddy kana accident. Zzz

and my first issue would be

1. Go get those darn SMRT taxis

2. Ask NTU don't charge parking fee leh~ haha~ I going in Aug

LOL~

SchizophrenicX

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"

Honda NSR150SP 2003~Current (or longer I can't remember)

Hi czh2002sg

if its ok, would like to sit also for the next meeting..

THE BEAST

:thumb: THE FIRST RIDE IS NEVER THE BEST! :thumb:

View my Trips and be my contact @

gsbeast.multiply.com

Paiseh for not being able to make it on Friday for the meeting at LC foodcourt. Please sms me as and when there is another one.

FORMERLY KNOWN AS DEATHINC2004

If you train hard, you'll not only be hard, you'll be hard to beat.

New MO Thread for Bike Alarms coming soon!

Originally posted by MrLau@February 06, 2007 11:21 pm

Thank you for dropping by. You could be surfing or you could have an interest in riding safety. Irregardless, we are appealing to you to be part of a founding group of members in a soon-to-be "Singapore Bikes Association" (SBA), if you have a passion for riding safety and would like to spread the safety message to bikers.

Following a meeting with TP Safety Branch at Ubi HQ 26-01-07morning, we are tentatively setting a date somewhere after Chinese New Year for this core group to meet up. There is currently no umbrella organisation co-ordinating all the biker groups in Singapore.

SBA seeks to unite these biker groups and individuals who share a common passion for riding and an interest in riding safety. It will be a bikers' group for bikers, working together with TP in promoting riding safety in Singapore, not for TP.

The permanent agenda for SBA will be to promote riding safety. We intend to promote safety through :

1. Meeting up schools, polys, army camps, new riders who just passed etc to spread the safety message.

2. Gathering feedback from bikers. (Think of what CASE does for consumers and AWARE does for women)

3. Other avenues to be decided in future meetings.

If you are an individual or represent a group of riders, touring group, riding club etc, and have been always wanting to advocate safer riding, this is the platform you seek that we are building.

Please e-mail either Zhehong ([email protected]) or Spectrum ([email protected]) or pm Endlessloop with SBA as the mail title.

Please watch this thread for the date we are meeting up with the TP again to plot the association's direction for the year ahead and to elect leadership as well as settle administrative matters for starting up.

Good Afternoon Everyone!

It interests me to find fellow bikers/scooterists with an intent to form an association for safety and welfare of all motorcyclists.

And as the representative of Aj Scooters of Singapore, I would like to lend my support and any assistance that the future association and its committee might require, in its bid to make the group a valid and reputable voice in Singapore.

Kindly include my club and myself in any of your future meetings/updates.

I would be more than willing to be part of a growing social group meant for all motorcyclists.

Aziz Omar

Club Representative-93747181(Hp)

http://www.ajscooters.com

Aziz Omar - Founding Member / Club Representative

If You Ride A Scooter, You Are One Of Us !!!

ajscooters.com

Guest tangolima

I would like to join this club as well. I am representing no one but myself.

thank you

I had a feedback and discussion with TP on the forming of the Bike Association.

One of TP's objective to have such an association is to enable them to easily and quickly reach out to the major bike clubs in singapore. So they are looking for the leaders of major bike clubs.

Thanks to the many people who have come forward to volunteer your time and effort to promote biking. However, the current participants do not quite meet the TP's requirement.

As such, combined with the complexity of formalising such an association, this idea is currently postponed or KIV by TP. It doesn't mean that association is not a good idea nor it will not be relooked into. It is just that within 2007, probably it will not be TP's focus. So maybe its time is just not right now.

As for now, the aspect of promoting, educating and evangelising specifically on biking safety, this efforts will continue to be spearheaded and led by myself and Spectrum. The assistant leaders are MrLau and czh2002sg who have been all along promoting safety. We will be doing this as a strictly volunteery group by ourselves. As we have started our movement right from the beginning without TP's help, we will continue our efforts, regardless of TP's assistance. Our group will be championing for biking safety so we will not be performing many of the broader tasks of the bike association such as looking into bike shops practices or promoting bike touring or representing the biking community in singapore etc etc.

If you are interested to lend your time and skill to assist us in our efforts, you may email me at [email protected] and [email protected]. When there is a need and suitability, we will then contact you.

Thank you for all of your time. Thank you for all those who have came forward as your aspiration is notable and appreciated.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Guest diu6er

same here as a novice , will like to join in the discussion..

Originally posted by endlessloop@March 31, 2007 12:09 am

I had a feedback and discussion with TP on the forming of the Bike Association.

One of TP's objective to have such an association is to enable them to easily and quickly reach out to the major bike clubs in singapore. So they are looking for the leaders of major bike clubs.

Thanks to the many people who have come forward to volunteer your time and effort to promote biking. However, the current participants do not quite meet the TP's requirement.

As such, combined with the complexity of formalising such an association, this idea is currently postponed or KIV by TP. It doesn't mean that association is not a good idea nor it will not be relooked into. It is just that within 2007, probably it will not be TP's focus. So maybe its time is just not right now.

As for now, the aspect of promoting, educating and evangelising specifically on biking safety, this efforts will continue to be spearheaded and led by myself and Spectrum. The assistant leaders are MrLau and czh2002sg who have been all along promoting safety. We will be doing this as a strictly volunteery group by ourselves. As we have started our movement right from the beginning without TP's help, we will continue our efforts, regardless of TP's assistance. Our group will be championing for biking safety so we will not be performing many of the broader tasks of the bike association such as looking into bike shops practices or promoting bike touring or representing the biking community in singapore etc etc.

If you are interested to lend your time and skill to assist us in our efforts, you may email  me at [email protected] and [email protected]. When there is a need and suitability, we will then contact you.

Thank you for all of your time. Thank you for all those who have came forward as your aspiration is notable and appreciated.

Thread Closed. Thank you all for your interest in this thread. This plan is shelved for the future. Its a good idea. 2 years ago some people talked about it. This year we tried to get it going. We got to the "get together and discuss what we want to do" stage. Hopefully it will not take too many years more before people do this. As for now, its not that we have failed in our quest to promote safety etc. Its just that we are less organised in our efforts. But we can still do our part by educating, or at least trying to influence others to adopt safer riding habits. One need not join a big group or sign up for formal membership to any organization to have the heart to spread the safety message. Have a good ride :cheer:

Pplater aka czh2002sg.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965