Recommend a class 2A/2 Bike

Siphon

Hi!

Haven't been riding in Singapore for a while and was wondering if you guys could give me some ideas of what bike i should get back in Singapore. 

I saw all the new COE prices and well i guess those car systems finally caught up with the bikes...

I was looking for something that works for a daily ride, can pillion my wife and maybe do some rides up north after all these Covid problems are over... maybe in like 5 years time.

So like the Yamaha tracer 900 gt, Honda NC7XX, Triumph Tiger, Suzuki Versys 650 are some of the bikes i saw online...

But how are they in the Singapore weather? will they burn your inner tights like the CB400 revo? 

thank you for your inputs!!

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Siphon said:

Hi!

Haven't been riding in Singapore for a while and was wondering if you guys could give me some ideas of what bike i should get back in Singapore. 

I saw all the new COE prices and well i guess those car systems finally caught up with the bikes...

I was looking for something that works for a daily ride, can pillion my wife and maybe do some rides up north after all these Covid problems are over... maybe in like 5 years time.

So like the Yamaha tracer 900 gt, Honda NC7XX, Triumph Tiger, Suzuki Versys 650 are some of the bikes i saw online...

But how are they in the Singapore weather? will they burn your inner tights like the CB400 revo? 

Personally I would suggest 2A for Singapore daily rides, you dun need a powerful bike in Singapore after all.. 

Too many traffic lights and cameras.

For traveling up north, that depends on your preferences, I've ride a 2B to Thailand Hatyai before.. So I guess it doesn't really matter much other then the traveling time.. haha..

• Like 1

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Personally have rideen 2 of the bikes you are eyeing.. NC750X and Tracer 900GT. Here's my  input for the NC750X

NC750X

Pros

Surprisingly good sized feel to the bike with easy handling typical of a Honda. 30 mins riding it you will get pretty confident in corners and u turns. Centre of gravity is low and directly underneath where you sit you low speed maneuvers are pretty easy. Main draw for the NC is its renowned "Frunk" or front storage, making this a ridiculously convenient ride for trips to the supermarket or storing your essentials like raincoat etc.  Of course excellent fuel economy which i will touch on later.

Cons

Downside of the bike would be the brakes, single front disc and very spongy feel. Coupled with the non existant engine braking especially when you are in 5th or 6th gear. Cruise at expressway speeds on 6th gear and release the throttle you will get that floating feeling. Not unlike clutching in a bike and going downslope. This means you probably have to adjust your riding patterns abit in order to compensate for the longer than average breaking distance. Power wise, its enough... mostly and will not make your heart beat faster but will keep your wallet happy. i recall something like 29km/l even with aggressive (or as aggressive as one can be on a NC) riding style. However, with a 14 litre fuel tank located under the seat, its range its just average. Opt for the CB400x for some serious mileage per tank.

Hi!

• Like 1

2 hours ago, adesmond2 said:

Personally I would suggest 2A for Singapore daily rides, you dun need a powerful bike in Singapore after all.. 

Too many traffic lights and cameras.

For traveling up north, that depends on your preferences, I've ride a 2B to Thailand Hatyai before.. So I guess it doesn't really matter much other then the traveling time.. haha..

what?~?~?~ on a 2B???? how did u survive it??? share how you do it??? lmao~~~ my back feels like breaking after we rode up to malacca on the revo hahaaa.... maybe i'm just getting old.... hahaa

I was considering the FJR 1300 but then that's a really huge bike to manage on Singapore roads. Very hard to share lanes with that bike imo so i dropped the idea. 

2 minutes ago, Siphon said:

what?~?~?~ on a 2B???? how did u survive it??? share how you do it??? lmao~~~ my back feels like breaking after we rode up to malacca on the revo hahaaa.... maybe i'm just getting old.... hahaa

I was considering the FJR 1300 but then that's a really huge bike to manage on Singapore roads. Very hard to share lanes with that bike imo so i dropped the idea. 

hahaha.. photos tells a million words..

1) Gym for 2-3 months before starting this trip.. haha..

2) Prepared mentally to ride 16-20 hours.

3) Pack as light as you can, preferable no backpacks.

Meanwhile, yeah.. FJR1300 is huge but if you want, can also ba.. But most FLR riders that I know now change to car already.. haha!

2012178950_Screenshot2021-02-10at5_17_43PM.png

• Like 1

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

2 hours ago, dlzhdans1000xr said:

Thanks for sharing your insights!! I've always heard that the NC were very convenient and suitable for singapore road without knowing why. It has a front storage??? How does that work? I don't see any space for it. 

How is the Tracer's handling compared to it thou? I've read some pretty worrying stuff online about the tracer having wobble and issues at speeds up to 180km... which i prob won't experience in singapore. But i've seen the wobble happen at 50km on some youtube videos. So its making me think about it more too.

2 minutes ago, adesmond2 said:

hahaha.. photos tells a million words..

1) Gym for 2-3 months before starting this trip.. haha..

2) Prepared mentally to ride 16-20 hours.

3) Pack as light as you can, preferable no backpacks.

Meanwhile, yeah.. FJR1300 is huge but if you want, can also ba.. But most FLR riders that I know now change to car already.. haha!

2012178950_Screenshot2021-02-10at5_17_43PM.png

wah steaddy!! haha okok. that's an achievement alright! how did u manage it i'm still amazed. Did u do it alone or with friends?

Riding in singapore if can't cut the traffic then its a little counter intuitive. I guess with the FJR vs the comfort of the car... yeah maybe car. Plus the cost is almost a budget car. 

Maybe a 400-600cc bike here in singapore would be a better choice. I just don't wanna be riding a CB400 again. I mean its an amazing bike. I just wanted to try something more fun hahaa... and yet still can pillion.. Else i'll get the R6 muahahhaa!

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Siphon said:

wah steaddy!! haha okok. that's an achievement alright! how did u manage it i'm still amazed. Did u do it alone or with friends?

Riding in singapore if can't cut the traffic then its a little counter intuitive. I guess with the FJR vs the comfort of the car... yeah maybe car. Plus the cost is almost a budget car. 

Maybe a 400-600cc bike here in singapore would be a better choice. I just don't wanna be riding a CB400 again. I mean its an amazing bike. I just wanted to try something more fun hahaa... and yet still can pillion.. Else i'll get the R6 muahahhaa!

Yeah.. I went up with friends who are experienced.. But still half of the groups is inexperience for going thailand. 

In fact, we had 2 trial runs to Malacca and several short trips before this. But again I believed most of us are experienced in riding in groups and thus everything went fairly well.

Yes, so most people would rather go with a budget car (with our humility/hot weather).

Yup.. I believe if you wan some speed and power, 600cc seems good, but R6 will be abit too sporty (back pain) unless you are still very sporty guy.. (I'm already a uncle) hahahaha..

12 minutes ago, adesmond2 said:

Yeah.. I went up with friends who are experienced.. But still half of the groups is inexperience for going thailand. 

In fact, we had 2 trial runs to Malacca and several short trips before this. But again I believed most of us are experienced in riding in groups and thus everything went fairly well.

Yes, so most people would rather go with a budget car (with our humility/hot weather).

Yup.. I believe if you wan some speed and power, 600cc seems good, but R6 will be abit too sporty (back pain) unless you are still very sporty guy.. (I'm already a uncle) hahahaha..

hahaha i also uncle class liao... back cannot tahan... but did u see the R6... wah too sleek liao... cannot tahan hahaaa but in singapore ride that ... i think my pocket also cannot tahan the summons... hahaa

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

• Administrators
On 2/10/2021 at 11:46 AM, Siphon said:

Hi!

@Siphon Are you looking at Class 2 bikes only? I've found Class 2A bikes to be very adequate for Singapore's roads.

The Honda NC750X and CB400X are popular bikes with good support and relative ease of maintenance.

If you're ok with Scooter kind of bikes, the XMax is really popular, and you can consider the TMax if you need more power. Both would tour to Malaysia and Thailand with relative ease.

I kinda prefer Class 2A bikes because they tend to be lighter and more maneuverable for our roads.

@adesmond2 Wah awesome job riding up to Thailand on 2B bikes. My dream is actually to take a NMax to Thailand, i think that would be an adventure touring slowly and trying to pack everything onto a tiny scooter!

• Like 1

On 2/12/2021 at 10:44 PM, SBF said:

@Siphon Are you looking at Class 2 bikes only? I've found Class 2A bikes to be very adequate for Singapore's roads.

The Honda NC750X and CB400X are popular bikes with good support and relative ease of maintenance.

If you're ok with Scooter kind of bikes, the XMax is really popular, and you can consider the TMax if you need more power. Both would tour to Malaysia and Thailand with relative ease.

I kinda prefer Class 2A bikes because they tend to be lighter and more maneuverable for our roads.

@adesmond2 Wah awesome job riding up to Thailand on 2B bikes. My dream is actually to take a NMax to Thailand, i think that would be an adventure touring slowly and trying to pack everything onto a tiny scooter!

While I agree 2A is more than adequate for our roads eg CB400 was already like enough back when i had it... Its more for like a "dream" to ride a vrroom bike while the wife can pillion type so a class 2 is something I want to have at this point of time. Bigger bikes also have more heat to deal with usually... the dilemmas hahaha

On 2/10/2021 at 5:21 PM, Siphon said:

Thanks for sharing your insights!! I've always heard that the NC were very convenient and suitable for singapore road without knowing why. It has a front storage??? How does that work? I don't see any space for it. 

How is the Tracer's handling compared to it thou? I've read some pretty worrying stuff online about the tracer having wobble and issues at speeds up to 180km... which i prob won't experience in singapore. But i've seen the wobble happen at 50km on some youtube videos. So its making me think about it more too.

Coming from a Vstrom, I was looking into downgrading to the NC750X DCT. Getting lazy and want the comfort of riding a full sized bike with automatic transmission. The only bike in this category is from HONDA. I was waiting for the 2021 model to come out as the current model has already run out. However, BS said that they may bring in the DCT only in mid 2021 and it is not confirmed that they will. The NC750 give incredible fuel mileage. I believe that it is the only 750cc bike that can give you something like 28 km/litre. 

Now, I have decided to go full SCOOTER model and venture into this kind of motorcycling. I am looking at the XMAX 300 which is so common, you find 10 in every carpark. I think that the XMAX 300 would be more than sufficient for Singapore roads. 

CBX

Suzuki DL1000K4

V-Strom

• Administrators
On 3/12/2021 at 10:22 PM, CBX750P said:

Coming from a Vstrom, I was looking into downgrading to the NC750X DCT. Getting lazy and want the comfort of riding a full sized bike with automatic transmission. The only bike in this category is from HONDA. I was waiting for the 2021 model to come out as the current model has already run out. However, BS said that they may bring in the DCT only in mid 2021 and it is not confirmed that they will. The NC750 give incredible fuel mileage. I believe that it is the only 750cc bike that can give you something like 28 km/litre. 

Now, I have decided to go full SCOOTER model and venture into this kind of motorcycling. I am looking at the XMAX 300 which is so common, you find 10 in every carpark. I think that the XMAX 300 would be more than sufficient for Singapore roads. 

@CBX750P I think you're in the same scenario as me, getting lazy and would love a DCT.

If Honda CB400X came with a DCT model instead of all manuals, that'd be a game changer for sure!

My friend weight around 80kg and recently own a FJR1300 (Old model), said he needed to put much more strength to even lift it off the side stand. For me personally, weight 40kg, and unable to even an inch off the side stand (even with NC750).

All in all, I think its better to know if your able to lift the bike off the stand and do a figure 8 while walking with it to be consider suitable.

Edited by KirinXHell

On 3/12/2021 at 10:22 PM, CBX750P said:

Haha... after 1 year... now i'm thinking of getting a Xmax too... like pretty convenient and has good acceleration too.   

13 hours ago, KirinXHell said:

My friend weight around 80kg and recently own a FJR1300 (Old model), said he needed to put much more strength to even lift it off the side stand. For me personally, weight 40kg, and unable to even an inch off the side stand (even with NC750).

All in all, I think its better to know if your able to lift the bike off the stand and do a figure 8 while walking with it to be consider suitable.

erm... 40? feather weight leh u... You need a scrambler... thats prob the lightest type of bike you can get hehehe

I have been on the XMAX 300 since March 2021 and today I would be trading her in for a 2021 NC750X DCT finally. 

I love the XMAX300 for her fuel economy, power pick up, nimble handling, easy to whizz around traffic, design, features etc. The only two things I don't like about her is the high revving engine which average around 5500 rpm and the suspension. The stock seat is a pain but changing to the comfort version solves this. 

Nevertheless, I would recommend the XMAX anytime. 

On 6/30/2022 at 2:38 PM, Siphon said:

Haha... after 1 year... now i'm thinking of getting a Xmax too... like pretty convenient and has good acceleration too.   

erm... 40? feather weight leh u... You need a scrambler... thats prob the lightest type of bike you can get hehehe

On 6/30/2022 at 1:02 AM, KirinXHell said:

40 kg ? Recommend you to get a Monkey or equivalent mine motorcycle. 

CBX

Suzuki DL1000K4

V-Strom

On 2/10/2021 at 5:15 PM, Siphon said:

Just sold my FJR1300.Owned it for 3 years and put in 11000 km onto the clock. You are right about the hugeness of this bike so you must treat it like a car when riding on SG roads....just follow behind cars during jams. The FJR is a highway bike and it gives me lots lots of pleasure when it is cruising along. 

CBX

Suzuki DL1000K4

V-Strom

On 2/10/2021 at 11:46 AM, Siphon said:

Hi!

pulling up a old post.. so which bike have you taken? hahahaha...

R6? Or NC? or CB?