Long video explanation here :) :

and also the 1981 Hurt Report states "two-thirds of motorcycle-car crashes occurred when the car driver failed to see the approaching motorcycle and violated the rider's right-of-way."... i.e. it's always the driver's fault 66.67% on the road...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurt_Report

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

• Replies 19

majority of the drivers, who are non-riders, likes to contradict themselves. When bikers stay in the middle of the lane and not lane-split, drivers tailgate us and kpkb say we occupy the whole lane. When bikers lane-split, they also kpkb say very dangerous and we deserve it if we were to get into accidents. IMO, i feel that drivers who disagree with bikers lane-splitting is probably because they can have more room for mistakes such as straddling on the broken white lines, lesser safety checks needed when lane changing, etc

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

majority of the drivers, who are non-riders, likes to contradict themselves. When bikers stay in the middle of the lane and not lane-split, drivers tailgate us and kpkb say we occupy the whole lane. When bikers lane-split, they also kpkb say very dangerous and we deserve it if we were to get into accidents. IMO, i feel that drivers who disagree with bikers lane-splitting is probably because they can have more room for mistakes such as straddling on the broken white lines, lesser safety checks needed when lane changing, etc

too bad forum got no "like" button...

in that case of the last sentence, if these kind of drivers need more room for mistakes... they should then be sent back to driving school...

somehow, I feel our license is convenient in the sense you don't have to continually renew it... but that leaves the problem of idiot drivers on the road without proper regular checks... :(

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

+1! support! like button!

also notice lately got many very wide 4x4 that occupies entire lane like murano & cayenne.

like a bit too wide for sg lanes & roads. straight line already occupy the entire width of the lane, slight bend only, wah need 2 lane, reminds me of obese occupying two seats...those cars are not very suitable in sg imho.

but what to do? it is done already, let us move on...:p

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

i have never known lane splitting was taught in moped school....

isn't lane splitting illegal?

hahahahahahahahahahaha...nice joke, pal! lol :D

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

when drivers kpkb is not because of bikes lane split or occupying the whole lane.. most of the times the frustration come in when bikers hog the road... be it in the middle, side of lane or lane splitting...

:makeup: :shy:

Reality is the only obstacle to happiness. .. ...

I think the most irritating thing for both riders and bikers are the riders who lanesplit at same speed, or slower than the traffic on their left or right. It poses not only a danger to the cars on their left and right, as they have to be careful while passing the rider, it also poses a danger to those riders who can go faster, but end up stuck behind that slow rider.

Having said that, i think that in SG, lanesplitting is illegal, as in the TP can summon you if they want to (someone with access to traffic law please help substantiate if there is). However, TP won't enforce that rule. It's just like the what Act 377a 'anti-gay' law. It's there in the lawbook, but not actively enforced because it's ridiculous to enforce.

Having said that, i believe lane-splitting should be done safely nonetheless. Personally, i go around 70-80 when lanesplitting on PIE. I can go as fast as i want, but can i stop in time if the fz8 case happen to me? That's my consideration. As for courtesy, i check mirrors every 10 seconds, if i see a fellow rider behind me faster than me, i move to the side if possible and let him pass.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

I think the most irritating thing for both riders and bikers are the riders who lanesplit at same speed, or slower than the traffic on their left or right. It poses not only a danger to the cars on their left and right, as they have to be careful while passing the rider, it also poses a danger to those riders who can go faster, but end up stuck behind that slow rider.

Having said that, i think that in SG, lanesplitting is illegal, as in the TP can summon you if they want to (someone with access to traffic law please help substantiate if there is). However, TP won't enforce that rule. It's just like the what Act 377a 'anti-gay' law. It's there in the lawbook, but not actively enforced because it's ridiculous to enforce.

Having said that, i believe lane-splitting should be done safely nonetheless. Personally, i go around 70-80 when lanesplitting on PIE. I can go as fast as i want, but can i stop in time if the fz8 case happen to me? That's my consideration. As for courtesy, i check mirrors every 10 seconds, if i see a fellow rider behind me faster than me, i move to the side if possible and let him pass.

True to that...

For me I would lane split about 10-20 km/h faster than moving traffic or reasonably faster if the traffic is dead and enough space to do so safely.

And if got some bikes behind faster and putting pressure, I'll then siam one side given an opportunity and let them pass lo... no big deal...

Lane splitting.... Ever been discussed b4 but still **** happens... Watever it is juz bcareful n ride safe... To those bikers who purposely ride without side mirrors, its stylo on e track but deadly on e road...

"Shut Up n Ride"

lanesplitting in sg is legal.

That news to me. :dot:

My Ubi instructor told me (years ago when I first learnt to ride) that it was illegal. :gun:

What The Foxtrot.

Charlie Charlie Bravo.

Kilo November November.

But then again, ah...

Sometimes must LS, lor... :cheeky:

like traffic jams or something... :angel:

Goodee hor hot goodee... Mat witz sebastian! :p

watch at 0.30 on why lane splitting should be confined to traffic jams and stationary or very slow moving traffic. in theory neither 4 wheel vehicle was in the wrong as both are still in their lanes.

who is at fault here?

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

watch at 0.30 on why lane splitting should be confined to traffic jams and stationary or very slow moving traffic. in theory neither 4 wheel vehicle was in the wrong as both are still in their lanes.

who is at fault here?

in my view its the van's fault. but TP view will be the rider's fault. anyway shouldn't lane spilt between 2 wide vehicles, quite dangerous