Now i'm currently learning 2B at stage 6.01. I discussed with my parents about buying a bike after obtaining my 2B license. Apparently, my dad only allows me to ride after I get my 2A license. So how?

I'm really worried that I will have problems when I attend 2A pracs. To those who did not get a bike after 2B, did you struggle with your 2A pracs?

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

• Replies 45

it onli take 3 successful pracs to take tp for 2a..u can afford to do a few more times of practise for each lesson...doesnt really matter whether u rode for 1st yr anot.caz its a new bike for each and everyone at that point.experience helps of course. aniway, with the current ruling tt insurance companies charging extra of 150 premium for new riders,i think plenty of pple will follow ur path. :smile:

Trading Xbox 360 games. PM for any titles available for exchange.

but it would b best if u can ride ur 2b bike.. get to know the road n experience the different situations w ur small bike.. so when u get to 2a.. u will b able to handle the power w/o having to focus or to anticipate the road situation..

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u142/nGuOrEn/renssig.jpg

My RiDeS

HONDA NSR 150 (FS 336K): 23/09/06 tO 17/08/07

WAVE-I (FY 5801U): 17/08/07 tO 13/12/07

HONDA CBR400RR (FM 1463B): 13/12/07 tO 20/09/08

WAVE-R (FZ 2846E): 20/09/08 tO 17/04/09

WAVE-S (FV 7293M): 03/10/09 tO 14/08/10

CB400 BOLD'OR (FZ 7896G): 16/08/10

unless you've had experience driving, i would suggest convincing your father to allow

you a 2b bike. the power, weight and handling of a 2a bike may be too much to

handle when coupled with inexperience and road conditions. singapore roads and its

users can be a nightmare for the uninitiated.

note that 2a practicals do not include road training. this means that prior to your own 2a

bike, the only road experience you will have is only when you had road sessions during

2b training.

otherwise, go ahead. skip 2b entirely. it's possible.

just be extra careful and less cocky.

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

Originally posted by sikonesis@March 15, 2007 12:53 pm

unless you've had experience driving, i would suggest convincing your father to allow

you a 2b bike. the power, weight and handling of a 2a bike may be too much to

handle when coupled with inexperience and road conditions. singapore roads and its

users can be a nightmare for the uninitiated.

note that 2a practicals do not include road training. this means that prior to your own 2a

bike, the only road experience you will have is only when you had road sessions during

2b training.

otherwise, go ahead. skip 2b entirely. it's possible.

just be extra careful and less cocky.

At least I'm glad to hear that it's possible... I doubt my dad will make any exceptions... I've tried to convince him countless times, but to no avail...

Well, I think I should be happy that he didn't stop me from riding entirely. It's just that I've got to "tahan" and wait for 1 yr+ more... And aim for a Super 4 Spec III!

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Originally posted by tourer84@March 15, 2007 02:19 pm

Did he state his reasons for not allowing you to ride before getting your 2A?

Oh well, he gave me a few reasons:

1. 2B bikes don't have enough power. Hence, it will make other drivers fed up with you and dangerously overtake you.

2. 2B bikes tend to have less tire contact with the roads and that makes it more dangerous.

3. Just getting a 2B licence is not enough because your knowledge is still limited. You don't get to learn how to do bumpy course which is important in certain road conditions.

4. He said, "When you are on a 2B bike, you are so small? Who can see you?

Do you think all these reasons are valid?

Originally posted by bearybean@March 15, 2007 02:29 pm

1. 2B bikes don't have enough power. Hence, it will make other drivers fed up with you and dangerously overtake you.

2. 2B bikes tend to have less tire contact with the roads and that makes it more dangerous.

3. Just getting a 2B licence is not enough because your knowledge is still limited. You don't get to learn how to do bumpy course which is important in certain road conditions.

Erm... Yes, to a certain extent.

1) I sort of agree... But actually I feel it's individual. I know of many riders who rode for decades on a cubs or small bikes are still surviving. If you know you are slow, then just move to the slow lane.

2) Agree to a certain extent.

3) Your knowledge is based on how long you ride, not what licence you get. Your dad wants you to go dirt riding? I can't think of any road that has bumpy course kind of condition...

4) Eh... Quite wrong. All bikes are small in the eyes of drivers. This is really an invalid point, unless you are saying big bikes got more headlights to make yourself more visible, maybe.

Some points I would like to add. Bigger bikes tend to have better braking capability, but you must also remember that they have more power. Some people learn from falling, it's better to start learning from smaller bikes than you learn on a bigger bike.

better to fall on a smaller lighter and less powerful bike than a bigger heavier and more powerful bike... do the math yourself and you will understand...

even if its just a simple falling down also a lot of difference... esp if the bike lands on your leg..

oh well... i know i know... The right way of doing things is to get a 2B bike and learn from it. (No choice mah...)

But seriously, do you still think it's possible for me to gain the experience from a 2A bike too?

Why not, man? I have a friend who never rode before until he got his class 2 license after which he bought a Fazer 600. Imagine having a bike that big as a first bike... if he can do it, you can do it too... peace...

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

Alright, I'll bear that in mind. I guess I'll just have to make sure that I train harder at the driving centre (whether right now or 1 year later when taking 2A!

Now I'm even more encouraged after what Nicholai said about his friend!

well nothing is impossible just go for more lessons to get more "on-road experiences"??

its not impossible but as a gal... i have to do it the hard way... even after 2 - 3 yrs riding on a small bike i still cant get used to my GSR now... with the size of a cl2 bike... its as good as jumping from 2b to 2... its not easy getting used to the weight and size... esp squeezing...

Originally posted by BiBi@March 15, 2007 03:52 pm

well nothing is impossible just go for more lessons to get more "on-road experiences"??

its not impossible but as a gal... i have to do it the hard way... even after 2 - 3 yrs riding on a small bike i still cant get used to my GSR now... with the size of a cl2 bike... its as good as jumping from 2b to 2... its not easy getting used to the weight and size... esp squeezing...

But I thought it's the technique that I will gain when I enrol into 2A? That will help me when I ride on the roads, right? Besides, does drive a car regularly helps?

driving helps to a certain extend meaning anticipating road traffic and conditions... but it will not help u to get used to the bike or anything... as for technique, there really isnt much that you will need on the road other than the fig 8 and plank or maybe the emergency brake... going thru the school is basically just to get the license... the real road experience you will have to ride on the road to gain it...

Wah, I'm getting worried man! What should I do then?...

dude my fren oso pass 2b but never buy bike...bt during the probation 1 year he werk delivery practice on company bike...wen he got 2a den he buy s4...good luck to u

Embrace Your Dreams,Protect Your Supermoto Honour

Maybe what i could do is... after i get my class 2A, I can go for Defensive Riding Course (which takes us out on the road)!

Holding down a full time job now so ...despatch is out of the question...

Furthermore, I'm really afraid to incur the wrath of my dad! (Later he completely don't let me ride... worse...)

I really really hope it helps...

Originally posted by bearybean@March 15, 2007 02:29 pm

From what I understand, these are NOT the actual reasons that your dad does not allow you to ride at the moment. The main reason is that he LOVES YOU and cares for you.

Even though I'm riding for many years I wouldn't like my son to ride a bike at a very young age. The younger you are the more mistakes you make which some times are deadly.

When I bought my first bike at the age of 15 my parents threw the bike out of the house. Managed to bring it in and I was not allowed to ride for 6 months. Then I was allowed to ride for just a few hours a week.

No any parent has problem with bikes, they have HUGE problem with the safety of their children.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/greece_bl.gif http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/MyK8b.jpg

when I got 2b last time I was only allowed to buy a bicycle... :cry: When I got 2a a year later, after much talking, I was allowed to buy a scooter...

We R One!

People in the US learn riding on SV650 and CB600F (aka Hornet). I don't see how starting your road experience with a Super 4 is going to have a big impact on your safety, unless you are not capable of handling the bike in the first place. By the time you pass your 2A, you should be very aware of the capabilities of a 400cc bike (especially if you go to SSDC, you will be very familiar with the Super 4).

You are not buying a 1000cc superbike. It's just a Super 4. It is not that much more powerful than a 2B bike. I switched from a NSR150SP to an SV650 and then back to CBR400RR. The difference is not that great.

bearybean Posted on March 15, 2007 05:06 pm

Maybe what i could do is... after i get my class 2A, I can go for Defensive Riding Course (which takes us out on the road)!

erm, Defensive Riding Course only in circuit only from what i have gone in ssdc.

Only got one free expressway riding after passing your tp.

I also same situation as u, my dad also say buy class 2a bikes.

But nvm, i buy liao then tell him loh, haha, but i still planning lah.

I also p plate. sian, i 3 months nv ride anything liao.

Pass liao nv ride very sian de.

Originally posted by nGuOrEn@March 15, 2007 12:17 pm

but it would b best if u can ride ur 2b bike.. get to know the road n experience the different situations w ur small bike.. so when u get to 2a.. u will b able to handle the power w/o having to focus or to anticipate the road situation..

i AGREE with this.. U have to get used to the road conditions with a smaller bike first if not its gonna be difficult.. No matter wat get 2b bike first.. Let ur dad noe abt it:cheer: