my friend told mi... don buy frm person bikes... coz my friend's friend bought a sp and later found out that the piston and some other thing r CHIONG wans...!! anyone got this kind of thing b4.... like to share them...?

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a125/bearsvaluebaby/fireworks718ROXCfmFBsffgif.gif

2005 - SSDC - Class 2B

2006 - BBDC - Class 2A

2008 - CDC - Class 2

• Replies 34

u buy from motorshops no means that the things will not be chiong.... When ever u go and get a 2nd hand bike. Best is to find someone who knows abit of bike and help u view.. Or get it to ur trusted motorshop for a view.. Getting from person may be abit cheaper then u get from the shops. But u won't have the assurance.. Pros and Cons... :smile:

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

What Yzf_R1 says are right. Get someone to view the bike. Getting bike from owner is cheaper than those in the Motortiam..

my friend say motor shop mostly okie wan.. is ppl..!! like piston... very hard to check... rite?

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a125/bearsvaluebaby/fireworks718ROXCfmFBsffgif.gif

2005 - SSDC - Class 2B

2006 - BBDC - Class 2A

2008 - CDC - Class 2

Originally posted by totalpet@Nov 25 2004, 04:08 AM

my friend say motor shop mostly okie wan.. is ppl..!! like piston... very hard to check... rite?

Then how u know the motorshop give u that piston is good?? Will u open and check? Or will u jsut take his 'Very good' ah word?

Its the same as to is it motorshop or person to person sales...

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

Originally posted by totalpet@Nov 25 2004, 04:08 AM

Then you go buy from rmotorshop a new bike cause you can be assured everything is original.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

my friend told mi... don buy frm person bikes... coz my friend's friend bought a sp and later found out that the piston and some other thing r CHIONG wans...!! anyone got this kind of thing b4.... like to share them...?

like tat u r saying all seller in person r trying to bluff their way out? ALL u mean? dan motorshop boss oso everytime keep on saying tat "ya tis is gd man, a lot of ppl wan to buy oso faster pay deposit 1st", "everyting is stock except carb change to racing carb, piston regular service b4, blar blar blar..." the carb they can place another going to "die" carb inside and say it's racing carb cos it's not a yellow knob so not original and the piston tink going to jam soon when they say regular servicing...

and when u buy 2nd fr motorshop, they say they will do service for u b4 passing the bike to u... wat kind of servicing they did? open up everyting do some show and tat's it? so ALL personal seller cant believe and ALL motorshop can believe... tat's ur conclusion...

class 3 -- 8 dec 2003

class 2b -- 23 mar 2004

class 2a -- 20th june 2006

ASRock 939 Dual-SATA2 (Asus A7M266)

Athlon64 4400+ (1.4Ghz athlon)

Corsair 2 x 1Gb DDR400 (UCCC chips)

40Gb maxtor ata133(6L040J2) & 80Gb maxtor sata1

500gb seagate sata2

NVIDIA 8600GT & LG 1950H

TDK cyclone(int) & TDK dvd-rw

I will look at it this way

If you buy from a private seller, it will cost probably at least a few $hundreds less than the motor shops.

If you take over the bike and it has problems, you can use the money saved for repair. If there is no problems, then you save that sum of money :smile:

There is a chance that you might spent even more money than what you would have bought from the bike shop. But if this is the case, why didn't u test and check the bike thoroughly even before taking over?!?!?

I feel that the condition of the bike you received from private seller will depend on his/her intergrity as well as your own luck.

For e.g. the battery was fine under the seller, but it probably was at the last 1,2 months of its charge. I think its just ur hard luck that its ur turn to change?

I was looking at a bike a few days ago, the owner only told me the IU unit spoil WHEN i took out my cashchard to test the IU.

Certain parts that are chiong or damanged may be because of the previous owners and not the one directly selling to you.

Having say all these, i was very sway to kena a persistant rectifier problem that occured one month after i took over my bike :cry:

Money should never change one's values.Making money is only a report card. It's a way to tell others how you are doing

I cannot stop luffing when I saw that...

Anyway... Its not true... Experience yourself but that'll be a costly throughout.

Memories of 1403 on 24/8/06

http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/2910/memoriesof1403tfkl2.jpg

Memories of Arai Helmets

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/2710/helmetsdfbi0.jpg

Originally posted by totalpet@Nov 25 2004, 01:27 AM

cannot say like that 1. not all person like that 1. dont take 1 bamboo hit everyone down to water. is not fair to honest seller.for wat i knw bike shop take in bike, park 1 side then got buyer come look look c c if bike ok then push out the bike to him/her. that all, story finish. wat they did at he bike ha??!

I once sold my bike to a newbie and he took the bike before the transfer. Kena summon, call him to settle but he did not and in the end have to go to AXS station to pay, feel like kena conned by a newbie. So does this mean private seller are bad, you figure it out yourself

Hello, are you there......

Originally posted by Boon6600@Nov 25 2004, 09:06 PM

I once sold my bike to a newbie and he took the bike before the transfer. Kena summon, call him to settle but he did not and in the end have to go to AXS station to pay, feel like kena conned by a newbie. So does this mean private seller are bad, you figure it out yourself

Well,clearly it was your mistake for letting him take the bike before the transfer was done.......its a lesson learnt,take it in your stride.....i also had and going to have a fair deal of unscruplous tiams and private seller...if you ask me its all abt your luck:giddy:

As the last roar of the engines fade,and the thin wisps of smoke clear into the night all that remain of that dream are a faded picture and a lonely rider in the dying light......Colin Cheong

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Nov 26 2004, 04:01 AM

The KEY WORD here is TRUST...

Do you have them?

yup, agree agree. i get my bike frm private seller. when we proceed a transaction i did not knw bike shop will ask for agreement fee cost S$200. then the seller volunteer pay for me first, i pay him back later. we just met twice only.

like bambi18 said is ur LUCK n MiCmAsta said TRUST.

Originally posted by bambi18@Nov 26 2004, 03:21 AM

Well,clearly it was your mistake for letting him take the bike before the transfer was done.......its a lesson learnt,take it in your stride.....i also had and going to have a fair deal of unscruplous tiams and private seller...if you ask me its all abt your luck:giddy:

tat is why I lan lan have to pay up, if not court case how. As what other say, trust is the word but sometimes kena play by the other party. So it is just a lesson learn as buying from a private seller or from motor tiam. If in doubt, don't buy.:smile:

Hello, are you there......

so in conclusion, totalpet... u r a real noob and may i noe how old r u cos u dun seems to noe how to tink... ur fren is the same case oso... or mayb more worse dan u... :giddy:

class 3 -- 8 dec 2003

class 2b -- 23 mar 2004

class 2a -- 20th june 2006

ASRock 939 Dual-SATA2 (Asus A7M266)

Athlon64 4400+ (1.4Ghz athlon)

Corsair 2 x 1Gb DDR400 (UCCC chips)

40Gb maxtor ata133(6L040J2) & 80Gb maxtor sata1

500gb seagate sata2

NVIDIA 8600GT & LG 1950H

TDK cyclone(int) & TDK dvd-rw

what's worse? shops that con people of bikes with no servicing or previous owners that con people of bikes with no servicing? best is to get 1st hand. i regretted buying my 2nd hand bike, shop chopped me like an italian blender and i had to get servicing done myself. luckily i sold my bike (i serviced it first)

my advice is to save a bit more and get first hand. first hand bikes rarely have problems. :thumb:

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

Originally posted by Pierrot@Nov 28 2004, 02:27 PM

what's worse? shops that con people of bikes with no servicing or previous owners that con people of bikes with no servicing? best is to get 1st hand. i regretted buying my 2nd hand bike, shop chopped me like an italian blender and i had to get servicing done myself. luckily i sold my bike (i serviced it first)

my advice is to save a bit more and get first hand. first hand bikes rarely have problems. :thumb:

Hi Brother,

The key word is "Budget". Who dun want new bike/car/hse/gal! :cheeky:

http://www.bikeland.org/images/articles/2006-ZX10R/0610R02.jpg

2006 ZX10R

Originally posted by Alex31@Nov 28 2004, 02:37 PM

Hi Brother,

The key word is "Budget". Who dun want new bike/car/hse/gal! :cheeky:

Very true indeed...:thumb:

Originally posted by Boon6600@Nov 25 2004, 09:06 PM

count yourself lucky. If he had killed someone on the road with your bike, you would have been in deeper sh*t especially if he had no proper insurance. :bounce:

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Nov 25 2004, 04:23 AM

My friend bought his S4 Ver S only to find out that the Battery + Air Filter are CHIONG wan...

Battery chiong one.... how to get chiong battery? I never heard of Honda battery, only Yuasa, etc...

Chiong products doesn't means not ok. It may probably decrease the performance. Just make sure the replacement is suitable for the bike ok liao, original or not up to individual.

Well i believe buying from bike shop is safer even though the shop owners jack up the price. At least its a peace of mind. I got my 1st bike SP from another seller. I bring my friend with me who i thot is very "expert". In the end the SP damn chui, need to go overhaul somemore cost me extra $$$. But who can i blame? Blame myself lor for being so newbie and stupid. There is a saying, to be old and wise, u must be young and stupid. Fall down and climb up then u will learn.

Back to main topic, buy from bike shop anything wrong with the bike go back shop KPKB. Thats what i did and they inspect my bike for free. Yippee...