Harley Riders gather

Hey Guys, I would like to enquire on the 99' Sportster 1200, Are there any Maintenance issues for a bike that old. Like stiff Handling and rear shocks. Also any thing i should look out for for a bike which has been riden rarely within the past 3 years. Electrics are fine though.

Any help would be appreciated.

Those things you mentioned can be changed easily. Just make sure the engine is working fine, the rest of the mods are just about how deep your pocket it. :thumb:

Hey Guys, I would like to enquire on the 99' Sportster 1200, Are there any Maintenance issues for a bike that old. Like stiff Handling and rear shocks. Also any thing i should look out for for a bike which has been riden rarely within the past 3 years. Electrics are fine though.

Any help would be appreciated.

Got A preview of the akras on my bike yesterday. It's noticebly louder then stock... Low n bassy... Not obnoxiously loud though... Kinda like vance n hines monster ovals. If u guys hear any ducatis with akra u would know what I mean. It's enough for me because I never wanted crazy loud in the first place. It's expensive but quite worth it IMHO... Since its certified n all. I don't even feel the need to remove the noise reduction inserts.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/301627_10150300464615267_702800266_8095265_1305808511_n.jpg

Let us hear it!

Got A preview of the akras on my bike yesterday. It's noticebly louder then stock... Low n bassy... Not obnoxiously loud though... Kinda like vance n hines monster ovals. If u guys hear any ducatis with akra u would know what I mean. It's enough for me because I never wanted crazy loud in the first place. It's expensive but quite worth it IMHO... Since its certified n all. I don't even feel the need to remove the noise reduction inserts.
yesterday at one of the upper seranggon junction, one taxi driver wind down his windows and told me ".. eh bo sound leh..".. errrrrrrrrr.

Wassup people, just happen to chance upon this thread ans read this post, just have to comment as i oso have the same experience.

One day on the road at traffic light, one cub zai on the road one of the day and he said the same thing to me.

"eh ur harley bo sound leh"

Wow nice! Too bad the same cant be said for the Sportsters .... :(

c26492.jpg
Has anyone heard the akra pipes on Sportsters? What does it sound like?....

youtube akra Harley and hear it for yourself. on Youtube it's pretty loud. Doesn't sound that bassy though. From my experience...in real life...should not be very far off

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/301627_10150300464615267_702800266_8095265_1305808511_n.jpg
Wow nice! Too bad the same cant be said for the Sportsters .... :(
u mean the sound or the price?
yesterday at one of the upper seranggon junction, one taxi driver wind down his windows and told me ".. eh bo sound leh..".. errrrrrrrrr.

I get that too when my exhaust was stock. After change, some people say the same thing but it's ok 'cos those people are fellow riders :sian:

Saw a LTA officer riding in a mscp yesterday when I was driving out. Beside me there's another Harley parked in the same carpark but we have since changed to stock pipes. Hopefully he's not looking for us. Might not be safe even if you don't ride.

Normally they will not be at carparks unless someone complaint...

And a lot of cases, loud pipes r not from harleys but those small bikes, especially true at my mscp...

Past: TA150,XVS400,ST1100,TW200,YP250,XL883R,RXK125,FUOCO500IE,R1200C,TW200,FLSTF,XL883L,KLE650B

Present: R1200GS,DRZ400SM,FLTR[RoadGlide]

And a lot of cases, loud pipes r not from harleys but those small bikes, especially true at my mscp...

cannot be lah. Only Harleys are loud. Loud bike = Harleys. doesn't matter if it's Honda, Ducati, Yamaha, KTM written on the tank. If it's loud and you can't visually see it...=Harley. hehe

...Lol....

Past: TA150,XVS400,ST1100,TW200,YP250,XL883R,RXK125,FUOCO500IE,R1200C,TW200,FLSTF,XL883L,KLE650B

Same for my area. Hope they nap all those buggers! Dam irritating. No power tomove fast and still rev the FKING hell out of their bikes dont know for what?!?!

c26492.jpg

i just stick on honda emblems on my sportster tank..will it help to evade their attention?..noob here..please help

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

Oh no.. I've harley emblem on my scoot! They r going to catch me.. Lol!

i just stick on honda emblems on my sportster tank..will it help to evade their attention?..noob here..please help
non stock emblem does not confirm to lta safety standard. The weight of the Honda emblem is different from ur original oem Harley emblem. As such ur vehicle might operate in a different manner therefore endangering other road users. So summon.
Oh no.. I've harley emblem on my scoot! They r going to catch me.. Lol!

non stock emblem does not confirm to lta safety standard. The weight of the Honda emblem is different from ur original oem Harley emblem. As such ur vehicle might operate in a different manner therefore endangering other road users. So summon.

you guys are right!! what i intend to do is an illegal modification

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

lets all just change to a Yamaha Diversion. Make sure its in white colour, with side box. Get white helmet and wear white top.. They will love you.. :)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn265/RoyTan75/26612765.jpg

CB200/TW200/Dragstar400/Shadowace1100/Varadero1000/GS1100/Sportster1200R

Hi To All Bro,

Be extra careful when riding or driving on roads now....

Hit & Run even if the victim is an animal. (After What Happened to Our Champion Bowler 'Remy Ong')

Under the Road Traffic Act, those involved in a hit-and-run accident could be fined up to S$3,000 or jailed up to a year. This applies even if the victim is an animal.

For a subsequent conviction, a person can be fined up to S$5,000 or jailed up to two years.

So next time if you happened to run over a mice or rat on the raod, stop and perform CPR immediately or call SPCA. If not you will be charge for hit & run causing death to victim, serious lor.... jail + fine + license 'gantong'. LOL

I wonder lizard also in their list?

But now and then I always saw dead victims (Rats, Mice etc)lying on the open roads, seems like there are many such serious hit & run cases in sillypore. No investigation are under going or only when you are caught red handed? (No. plate fall)

Edited by andyncc