Originally posted by Oxygen@May 1 2004, 01:22 AM

Hi XJR member...

I have a friend who have just bought a new XJR facing some battery problem.

From what I know the battery just can't hold charge and e bike just wouldn't start even with the push start method.

May I know if any of you have try the push start???

By the way most of us are riding FJR

If your friend bike dun start, u might ask him to do some fault finding.

Any cranking when he pressed the start switch?

Any neutral light?

• Replies 16.5k

Originally posted by BackOFF@Apr 30 2004, 09:30 PM

2005 FJR1300 Virtual Reality

http://www.yamaha-motor.com/products/mcy/m.../vr1_silv.html#

H'way footpeg

http://www.sampson-sporttouring.com/FJR1300/highway-pegs.jpg

Rider's Backrest

http://www.sampson-sporttouring.com/FJR1300/rider-backrest2.jpg

Anyone using aftermkt windscreen?

Any comments on aftermkt windscreens, brands like GIVI, ERMAX, MRA, Cee Baileys, Powerbronze or stock windscreen still the best?

I think the rider backrest might not be useful in this case. Unless you are a very tall rider else the backrest to too far back. Saw the Close cobin seat with backrest i think it work better, but again, it expensive

Originally posted by luN@May 1 2004, 03:43 PM

By the way most of us are riding FJR

If your friend bike dun start, u might ask him to do some fault finding.

Any cranking when he pressed the start switch?

Any neutral light?

I mean FJR sorry guys... correction.

By the way have any one try push-start before ??? Looks like the bike cannot push start coz have try number of time and just don't start...

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.

Originally posted by Oxygen@May 1 2004, 05:02 PM

I mean FJR sorry guys... correction.

By the way have any one try push-start before ??? Looks like the bike cannot push start coz have try number of time and just don't start...

First of all u got to tell us more details.. A bike cannot start can due to many reasons.

For example in the case of CDI gone, no matter how many time u pushed, the bike will not start. There no cranking, no neutral light.

To know whether the battery is still charged, locate the batt, use a multimeter to check the open-circuited voltage across the batt.

If your friend's bike is new, ask ya friend, has him accidently turn the key to parking mode last nite?

If his CDI is still working and he wanna to try push start, try to disconnect the headlight then try push start.

Originally posted by luN@Apr 30 2004, 03:12 AM

Any one on K & N filter ? Price? Any difference?

Tried to get one months ago, NO stock. Apart from sporting, where else can i get one?

hey Lun,

how r u?u can try MAH motor.they might have it.

btw anyone selling their FJR??interested.

i hear that a FJR 1500cc might be coming up izzit??

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by shoei@May 1 2004, 06:22 PM

hey Lun,

:smile: Hi Mr Lun, how r u too? remember me?! I also interested in the FJR1300, do let me noe if a good deal comes by! :cheeky:

Originally posted by cheekozer600@May 1 2004, 06:58 PM

:smile: Hi Mr Lun, how r u too? remember me?! I also interested in the FJR1300, do let me noe if a good deal comes by! :cheeky:

u selling ur VFR??let me know

在绝望中坚强

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by shoei@May 1 2004, 07:02 PM

u selling ur VFR??let me know

:smile: That is unless i can find a really good deal that i will let go, the VFR is really in very good condition, like brand new, can't bear to sell it off yet. :giddy:

Originally posted by cheekozer600@May 1 2004, 07:23 PM

:smile: That is unless i can find a really good deal that i will let go, the VFR is really in very good condition, like brand new, can't bear to sell it off yet. :giddy:

oic.me too..wanna change bike...might consider a FJR or VFR

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by shoei@May 1 2004, 06:22 PM

hey Lun,

Helo shoei, ya going to check up mah for the k&n next week. Thanks.

1500 FJR? didn't hear anything new about it. Anyway i dun it will be so soon as it just makeover from the past FJR1200 to current 1300.

I dun think there much 2nd hand FJR in the market. I got a few friends also intending to change their sports to FJR or ST.

Originally posted by cheekozer600@May 1 2004, 06:58 PM

Of cos rem ya lah number10! Everytime jio u for trips, no reply one. Play dao iszi.

Why wanna change ya VFR? It a very gd bike rite? I think even u change from VFR to FJR, no much of differ, apart from the shaft.

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by luN@May 1 2004, 09:32 PM

Of cos rem ya lah number10! Everytime jio u for trips, no reply one. Play dao iszi.

Why wanna change ya VFR? It a very gd bike rite? I think even u change from VFR to FJR, no much of differ, apart from the shaft.

Eeeh....when did u ever jio me for trips b4 execpt once?! Do call me cos i wana see ur bike, :giddy: age is catching up with me, guess should be time to upgrade soon as vfr abit sporty..... :giddy: my back ache...

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by shoei@May 1 2004, 07:28 PM

oic.me too..wanna change bike...might consider a FJR or VFR

:smile: I thought u a v-twin lover! Y suddenly think of getting an in-line-4?!! :confused:

Yo cyclop, nice to see you here....lolz

How your FJR doing? Time for another trip up North and burn some rubber...

FJR1500cc for 2005!!!......Damn, the cc getting to big for my comfort, bigger cc means higher road tax, insurance...sianz

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

Originally posted by vmaxxmadness@May 2 2004, 11:49 AM

Yo cyclop, nice to see you here....lolz

How your FJR doing? Time for another trip up North and burn some rubber...

FJR1500cc for 2005!!!......Damn, the cc getting to big for my comfort, bigger cc means higher road tax, insurance...sianz

Hey Mad Max, just gotten on board this forum thingie......

Damn right this cee cee phenom is gettin way outa hand, most likely pushed by the demands of the Westerners. Like in the case of the Triumph Rocket III, meant to take back a slice of the American cruiser market, the design brief was to make it BIG (as in displacement), everything was developed around the engine. Honda brought out a 1800, Kawk counter with a 2000 and the Brits throwin in a 2300!! The concept of usable power doesn't seemed to make much sense to them, does it?.....

Time for you to retire the Max and get yourself one of these before they all get so big that we end up lookin like babies on monster trucks.

Just missed the trip up to Frazer Hill with the guys over Labour Day, duh!! Your Max ain't meant for our kind of riding man! Makes you look like a freakin bug!! Time to get yourself one of these!

And about burning rubber, I sure wanna get rid of the Metz 4 fast, they don't feel good to me. Doesn't give me much confidence in the grip department and the front gives the feeling of riding over fine cobbles. Doesn't seemed to improve even after I've gotten them scrubbed. Anyone else have the same experience with the 4's? I was told that some FJRs come with the BT020, lucky!:thumb:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

retire on me Max, nah....not in the near alien future...getting another bike to go touring, well maybe, like I say see how things go with the manufacturer. Bug or no bug, I still manage to maintain average 180km/hr with you guys ,just that certain section of the North South highway have too great a cross wind for naked bikes to take ......Somehow the FJR 1300 still not complete to me so waiting to see what the designer will come up with. True there wont be a perfect bike but I can wait.....If they come up with some stupid design or specifications, then I will grab the last available model on the market.

Anyway dont want to go off-topic here, we keep our little discussion about me getting which bike next back at the canteen during lunch......the alien has make the contact and will return to its own forum topics.......:bouncefire:

wanna ride with madness?

Originally posted by luN@May 1 2004, 05:14 PM

First of all u got to tell us more details.. A bike cannot start can due to many reasons.

For example in the case of CDI gone, no matter how many time u pushed, the bike will not start. There no cranking, no neutral light.

To know whether the battery is still charged, locate the batt, use a multimeter to check the open-circuited voltage across the batt.

If your friend's bike is new, ask ya friend, has him accidently turn the key to parking mode last nite?

If his CDI is still working and he wanna to try push start, try to disconnect the headlight then try push start.

Further rect found the battary can't hold charge and the multimeter reading keep droping ( even with the battary removed and did a charge.)

However we can tell is battary problem this time but just think about another battary problem will to happen next time, one thing for sure the bike can't start even if try push start. so got to watch your batt too... takecare.

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.

Originally posted by pantatj@May 2 2004, 09:33 PM

fz1s mirrors are $70 ea......

wow.. $70 each. Too expensive for the change.

Originally posted by vmaxxmadness@May 2 2004, 05:48 PM

retire on me Max, nah....not in the near alien future...getting another bike to go touring, well maybe, like I say see how things go with the manufacturer. Bug or no bug, I still manage to maintain average 180km/hr with you guys ,just that certain section of the North South highway have too great a cross wind for naked bikes to take ......Somehow the FJR 1300 still not complete to me so waiting to see what the designer will come up with. True there wont be a perfect bike but I can wait.....If they come up with some stupid design or specifications, then I will grab the last available model on the market.

Anyway dont want to go off-topic here, we keep our little discussion about me getting which bike next back at the canteen during lunch......the alien has make the contact and will return to its own forum topics.......:bouncefire:

retire ur max go 4 fjr u wun regret right or nt cyclops....:cheeky:

frazer hill trip cancelled all of us never go...dun worry a lot of trips coming up will let u noe.

YOU'LL NEVER RIDE ALONE!

Originally posted by cheekozer600@May 2 2004, 02:29 AM

:smile: I thought u a v-twin lover! Y suddenly think of getting an in-line-4?!! :confused:

im hoping to get a FJR as a spare bike for touring.

anyone selling can pm me or call me at 98594275.

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by kopvampp@May 2 2004, 11:40 PM

retire ur max go 4 fjr u wun regret right or nt cyclops....:cheeky:

frazer hill trip cancelled all of us never go...dun worry a lot of trips coming up will let u noe.

I considering either the FJR 1300 or the Fazer 1000 as a third bike beside the 2 other bikes I m holding. I m considering renewing the Max's COE when expires so no way I m gonna retire from it....:smile:

Anyway FJR is a great bike, that what I "influence" cyclop to buy in the first place and now he blaming me for getting him such a wonderful bike,,,,good grief...:sian:

By the way, aint we suppose to go Kampong Arang to check out your handle grips for your FJR?

wanna ride with madness?

Originally posted by luN@Apr 30 2004, 03:12 AM

Any one on K & N filter ? Price? Any difference?

Tried to get one months ago, NO stock. Apart from sporting, where else can i get one?

YOH LUN , THE K&N I GOT IT FOR $130. . I THINK U CAN GET IT LOWER THAN THAT// BTW .. HOWS; THE WASHER FOR THE DRAIN BOT ?

AND I 'LL LIKE TO ASK U .. DO U KNOW HOW MANY CLICKS R THERE IN THE front fork rebound adjusting tuner? the 1 with the black colour tuner on top of the fork i mean...

http://t0.tagstat.com/image02/5/2db6/500700oRiSS.jpgSKIPPER125(95) , TZRR125(98), MAJESTY 250(00)/RS250(00),

FJR1300(02), DRZ(06) / Hayabusa05

Originally posted by hunkiedave@May 3 2004, 10:57 AM

YOH LUN , THE K&N I GOT IT FOR $130. . I THINK U CAN GET IT LOWER THAN THAT// BTW .. HOWS; THE WASHER FOR THE DRAIN BOT ?

AND I 'LL LIKE TO ASK U .. DO U KNOW HOW MANY CLICKS R THERE IN THE front fork rebound adjusting tuner? the 1 with the black colour tuner on top of the fork i mean...

wah $130. ok i try to see Mah got a better price. The washers etc. i hab send a email to confirm with them le, but they hab not get back to me yet.

U mean the front Rebound damping force adjusting knob? I did make a count from full hard, didn't rem how mani clicks, I think is around 28 clicks. Mine rebound setting was rather hard. 6-7clicks from full hard.

Have ya adjust ya rear rebound damping force? If i not wrong is around 40+ clicks.