Did you mount your base plate to the stock-tail frame of your FJR?

I'm thinking how can I mount my Givi base plate to the tail frame.

If yours is 06 onwards, don't have to worry, mounting kits from all the brands (Givi, Motech, etc ) will fit nicely over the 3 screw points on the rack.

if yours is earlier, more troublesome, better to get the Givi mounting kit.

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

• Replies 16.5k

If yours is 06 onwards, don't have to worry, mounting kits from all the brands (Givi, Motech, etc ) will fit nicely over the 3 screw points on the rack.

earlier models not that difficult though. just have to drill through the tail grab plastics.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

yeah, love white. blinker, yes. but siren?? haha like going a bit too far, right? you 'orang lama-s' fixed siren onto your bikes eh?

yeah, i fixed blinkers front & back as well as siren!

to ward off/chase away cars dat road hog on the NSH!

since i oredi install blinkers, wat the heck mite as well install siren oso lah. :angel:

The Road less Travelled

http://multiply.com/mu/aaronazmi/image/1/photos/177/600x600/51/PIC-0105-1.JPG?et=EPg%2B7KSmSyqSCJnhbA%2C62w&nmid=309411908

Current FJRiders:

1. ck80ck

2. OmniSlash

3. Kazky

4. Fuzz

5. BigCow

6. Arul

7. maddog

8. sideswipe

9. ekin101 / Storm Silver '04

"New" FJRiders:

1. Manzz / Storm Silver '06

2. ChaoChao / Storm Sliver '05

3. Black Beary

4. StEel

5. Hugoboz

6. Wubefrub

7. Weizhong

"EX"-FJRiders.

1. SeahMh -VFR800

2. Zamani - FZ6

With great Power, comes great responsibility.

FJR1300

hopefully can join my first FJR outing next Friday. :)

With great Power, comes great responsibility.

FJR1300

Trade-off my FJR with FZ6. Downgrade for now.

Congrats dude! Finally u got urself an FJR!

SInce ur beast is white, mite wanna consider TP blinker lights & siren. :angel:

mite cum in handy when riding high speed on NSH at night.

eh u not joining them ah for the kulai supper? got FZ6 already wat?!..

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

Guest chaochao

Hmm.... I guess it is more tedious than >'06... mine's earlier model than '06.

Will go check out Givi's webby... Thanks Maddog!

earlier models not that difficult though. just have to drill through the tail grab plastics.

I have a SW Motech bracket and mounting plate for Givi/Kappa boxes to let go, if you're interested.

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

I'll be interested as well. I'm shorter than you and also tip-toe-ing. Good thing is I can tip toe with both legs on ground. My '05 FJR is kinda low.

'06 models comes with adjustable seat-height. Which year is yours?

mine is 08 model, had adjusted the height liao but still tip toe.

advise from my bike shop is that if install lower kit, main stand very hard to put up as clearance height has drop & bike will be like up right postion when putting on side stand ..... haiz think i had to leave with it :sian:

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01767/Triumph_Tiger800-2_1767913c.jpg

RD125 TZR125 Phantom200 GSXR400 SRAD750 CBR1100XX FJR1300A GSR600 Tiger800

mine is 08 model, had adjusted the height liao but still tip toe.

advise from my bike shop is that if install lower kit, main stand very hard to put up as clearance height has drop & bike will be like up right postion when putting on side stand ..... haiz think i had to leave with it :sian:

not advisable to change linkage cos geometry of bike will change. u will also need to calculate how much your front fork got to drop.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

to mount a givi box, you'll have to get the givi metal frame. Last known price is $220 from Chiap Lee. Den the base plate and the box. If u plan to ride the bike 4ever, u can use maddog's suggestion and drill hole on stock frame. If not, it may affect the value of the bike when u resell.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Trade-off my FJR with FZ6. Downgrade for now.

Congrats dude! Finally u got urself an FJR!

SInce ur beast is white, mite wanna consider TP blinker lights & siren. :angel:

mite cum in handy when riding high speed on NSH at night.

bro, how much did you pay for your fz6? And the age of the bike? My friend looking for FZ6 too.

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

If u plan to ride the bike 4ever, u can use maddog's suggestion and drill hole on stock frame.

eh... maddog recommend buying Givi rack. not drill hole.

btw, chiap lee cannot buy Givi liao. Now must go to mah

MD

Btw, the rack quite bulky, so, not recommended that you ship in yourself. The volumetric weight will be quite high.

Here is a link for installation instructions of the rack and plate. "The rack + plate" model number is SR346.

MD

eh u not joining them ah for the kulai supper? got FZ6 already wat?!..

i'd lurve to bro but i'm riding up to Hatyai at 2am.

Joining Racingter Hatyai trip on Trips/Thrills.

finally get to tour again after 6 months!!! :angel:

The Road less Travelled

http://multiply.com/mu/aaronazmi/image/1/photos/177/600x600/51/PIC-0105-1.JPG?et=EPg%2B7KSmSyqSCJnhbA%2C62w&nmid=309411908

bro, how much did you pay for your fz6? And the age of the bike? My friend looking for FZ6 too.

Bot mine 1st hand wif ABS & Comprehensive Insurance - Learn my lesson liao, ride big bike need comprehensive in case $HIT happens!

DUe to my complicated situation, i'm actually paying A LOT MORE for this fazer.

Need to trade off my FJR coz haven break even, transfer repair costs of FJR to my new Fazer, need to top up coz my panniers kena stolen! coz FJR packaged with panniers, hence if i trade-off the bike muz b equipped wif panniers oso.

A BIG sacrifice i took coz i rather have a brand new bike den repair my heavily cost FJR and fear more problems wud arise in future. :sweat:

The Road less Travelled

eh... maddog recommend buying Givi rack. not drill hole.

btw, chiap lee cannot buy Givi liao. Now must go to mah

Opps... its bigcow, not maddog... All the animals are getting me confused...:cheeky:

seem like FJR's page is getting hot again.....

So... Fuzz, Fus, Kazky, Crash, Omni, will you all going out too for nasi lemak this coming Fri nite? Long time never meet you all oledi after 08' Marshall....

My Ride:

Phantom 200 ( Jun 04' - 28th Jan 05')

Super 4 Spec III (28th Jan 05 - 14th July 06)..Defender Jr.

Silver Storm FJR1300A ABS (14th July 06)..Defender

Where I been Done..

06' 3NCR ( Sg - Betong - Phuket - Hatyai )

07' MHS ( Sg - Hatyai - Hua Hin - CM - MS - GT - Doi Tung - MHS - Doi Ithanon )

08' Phuket ( Sg - Phuket - Hatyai )

See my ride @ happycookies.multiply.com :thumb:

O... ya.... did someone mention abt MHS again...? might going end this year... again... :)

My Ride:

Phantom 200 ( Jun 04' - 28th Jan 05')

Super 4 Spec III (28th Jan 05 - 14th July 06)..Defender Jr.

Silver Storm FJR1300A ABS (14th July 06)..Defender

Where I been Done..

06' 3NCR ( Sg - Betong - Phuket - Hatyai )

07' MHS ( Sg - Hatyai - Hua Hin - CM - MS - GT - Doi Tung - MHS - Doi Ithanon )

08' Phuket ( Sg - Phuket - Hatyai )

See my ride @ happycookies.multiply.com :thumb:

So... Fuzz, Fus, Kazky, Crash, Omni, will you all going out too for nasi lemak this coming Fri nite? Long time never meet you all oledi after 08' Marshall....

I cant bro... Busy with work. Would love to take a break but just not that easy for me... July would be nice.

O... ya.... did someone mention abt MHS again...? might going end this year... again... :)

what "might" ???

Thought its already CONFIRMED??!! hahahaaa :cheeky:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Im on the Nite shift tat day bro..too bad can't join.

But then again those going pls get the names and contact of one another ya..

Have fun!

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

Hehehe who knows i might stumble on u at MHS..then can collect cert together:cheeky:

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!