. The diff between 2009 and 2010 model, a bike shop quote me 29k OTR while others went as high as 32k.. For 29k offer, he says its 2010 model, but i wont know too.. lol (same price for both A and AE model)

29k should be for the manual model while 31k should be the AE model . 2010 model onli got silver , best way to know which model they gave u . I bought the 09 AE Model.

2. For the AE model, semi-auto gear shift, when you do a E-brake, stop the bike at 4th gear. can i kick to 1st gear or it automatically goes to 1st when u stop?

The gear will still be at 4th gear . U have to manually downshift either using the foot lever or the thumb shifter.

3. I always use the clutch to control speed at slow speed, wonders if i do on the AE model.. will the engine suddenly die, then drop the bike? ~fear~

The engine will not die off. Its mostly the movinng off part tat is hard to get used to.

4. wad is the advantage of AE model, beside having a free hand to hold a cig.. lol

Not sure abt tat , but my AE model came wif heated grips , maybe owners of the manual model can clarify if their have it anot. Other than tat , not much diff , maybe a talking pt of the semi auto system between frens n fellow riders ?

Thanks for the help!

• Replies 16.5k

Need riding kakis for a short trip to hatyai moving off 0530hrs tis 23rd May return on 25 May after hotel check out @12pm ? Riding speed around 140-160km/hr.... interested can contact me at 8152-7800

Hmmm.... All u need is a carb tune. I haven't done it on an 06 before though. I'll need to review ur version's manual. Otherwise, just go to your mechanic to do it. I heard HL charges 60 bucks.

Curb tune? But all the FJR are FI right?

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d158/flareon1982/Misc/1.jpg
Thanx for the help , will contact u once i collected my bike . Its been a week . Btw, any idea how much it will cost ?

eh...been sometime back since i bought from there. cant remenber the price. I bought 1m by 1.5m. Still got a bit left.

After searching through so many pages of engine/gear oil and spline lubricant use for FJR.

I will probably use the following:

1. Engine oil - Mobil 1 Racing 4T 15w-40

2. Gear oil - Mobil 1 75w-90

3. Spline lub - Honda moly 60. (Does anyone know where to get this?)

Please comment / suggest / recommend if you have a better product in mind.

Curb tune? But all the FJR are FI right?

The Carbtune is a set of 4 vacuum gauges. Synchronising the Throttle Bodies uses the same principle.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Any idea a good shop to service the FJR ?

i can recommend Tachyron motor at Gerry loois. Ah tak or Amin will take care of the bikie for you. ^_^

Any good suggestion for mounting of a GPS unit on the bike ? Was thinking of using a normal car holder.

you wanna mount your gps unit on/in a normal car holder? will it be stable at high speed?

Why dont you use the cradle/mount that come with the set and mount it on the handle bar?

Btw i am not working on friday. If you want, i can actually meet up with you. Bring you to buy the reflective sticker and go to tachyon motor shop to settle your gps problem. All in the east side

you wanna mount your gps unit on/in a normal car holder? will it be stable at high speed?

Why dont you use the cradle/mount that come with the set and mount it on the handle bar?

Btw i am not working on friday. If you want, i can actually meet up with you. Bring you to buy the reflective sticker and go to tachyon motor shop to settle your gps problem. All in the east side

The one tat i bought came wif a car holder ,the suction type which sticks on the windscreen , which i think is not stable . Anyway , i was thinking of a device which i can mount my hp as a gps .

Anyway , n collecting the bike onli on sat after LTA transfer of my old no plate. Bike is at shop now .

I suggest getting a Ram Mount. I mounted my GPS using it. Stable at high speed.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d158/flareon1982/Misc/1.jpg
The one tat i bought came wif a car holder ,the suction type which sticks on the windscreen , which i think is not stable . Anyway , i was thinking of a device which i can mount my hp as a gps .

Anyway , n collecting the bike onli on sat after LTA transfer of my old no plate. Bike is at shop now .

What model did you buy? First and foremost, if the garmin is not waterproof then you have to get something to water proof it. If not it is not safe to ride with it. As i understand those non waterproof gps console has very little water resistant capabilities.

get the biologic iphone holder.. can be mounted..

for ur gps..

get a ram mount.. very steady and stable..

u got which gps?

touching on garmin gps,

some garmin are waterproof.

for example, the nuvi 500, zumo 660 (super ex but for bikers) are all waterproof.

hope this helps.

ps: speedpass, u want to see my ram mount? i bring it if i not doing Wk1.

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

get the biologic iphone holder.. can be mounted..

for ur gps..

get a ram mount.. very steady and stable..

u got which gps?

touching on garmin gps,

some garmin are waterproof.

for example, the nuvi 500, zumo 660 (super ex but for bikers) are all waterproof.

hope this helps.

ps: speedpass, u want to see my ram mount? i bring it if i not doing Wk1.

Bro , maybe mon u can let me see. :angel:

Haloo Feejerians

Im less than 3wks away from getting my 2nd hand FJR, 2008 model, mileage at 14000km. Nice plate number too. I believe the previous owner was an old-timer who had some years of riding under his belt. Very lucky to have it coz its very well maintained, low mileage, and 5mins after i signed the documents, 2 guys came asking the salesman for the price.

Hope to join you guys soon on kopi/makan/touring trips. Any advice for a newbie sports tourer rider like me will be very much appreciated!

Cheers and ride safe.

"INSERT WITTY COMMENT HERE"

Haloo Feejerians

Im less than 3wks away from getting my 2nd hand FJR, 2008 model, mileage at 14000km. Nice plate number too. I believe the previous owner was an old-timer who had some years of riding under his belt. Very lucky to have it coz its very well maintained, low mileage, and 5mins after i signed the documents, 2 guys came asking the salesman for the price.

Hope to join you guys soon on kopi/makan/touring trips. Any advice for a newbie sports tourer rider like me will be very much appreciated!

Cheers and ride safe.

Congrats on ur new ride , maybe can go for short touring trips together , m a touring newbie too . :angel:

Haloo Feejerians

Cheers and ride safe.

You are one very lucky chap to have found this ride.

2008 bike and the mileage is only 14,000km... :thumb:

Somemore with nice number plate...

:thumb: for you.

Enjoy your new found love... You will sure to love it.

Ride safe... :thumb:

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

Bro , maybe mon u can let me see. :angel:

if i nbot doing WK1, i bring show u..

if not..

next time lor...

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

Haloo Feejerians

Cheers and ride safe.

Wah!! Very the lucky to have that kinda mileage..

Lucky u man!!

Have a safe ride soon!

CheerZ!!:thumb:

Any idea if we can change the digital Miles to KM ? Hard to read fuel mileage in miles .

N i think i have a hard time getting bike to main stand .

If yours 2006 onwards, it'll be hard to change the reading of the miles to KM unless you change prob the chip in that meter....

If you probably went thru the earlier pages of this forum, someone in here has the contacts of the person who can do it for you...but all the readings will be resetted to zero....

Getting the bike to main stand takes some practice.....

Once you are used to the wait, itll be a breeze

Im 1.75 60kg, and I can do it....

so its just a matter of time

oh and there is a technique to it

2004 - 2006 = Honda Phantom TA200

2006 - 2008 = Yamaha Dragstar Classic 400

2008 - ???? = FJR1300ABS / 08 (hereinafter conferred the name of the 'Black Berserker')

Juz asked bike shop , mine is a euro spec model , cant change to km like those on R1 n FZ1 . :(

Btw , anyone has fixed alarm on their bike ? I intend to bring over my alarm , but the power wire is too short to reach the batt if i place the alarm unit under the seat.

Any suggestions ?:sian: