Which of these caused / nearly caused you an accident?  

487 members have voted

1. 1. Which of these caused / nearly caused you an accident?

u miss out van drivers and BMW drivers too.. they never give the right of way. esp @ roundabout..

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

• Replies 278

i think the worst of all is vehicles tat do not signal in advance.:mad:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 25 2004, 11:34 AM

At least taxis don't swerve directly into cars beside them, so you know you're safe IF theres a car beside the taxi.

But boy am I wrong to assume I'm safe if there are two cars side by side. I was behind this vehicle A, P-plate. Vehicle B is on the left of vehicle A. Driver of A is very diciplined, check mirrors, blindspot somemore (Saw her turn her head), then..... proceeded to lane change right into vehicle B....... :sian:

Lucky vehicle B is alert, swerve to avoid a silly side impact... :faint: B started to accelerate away from the crazy driver A, who proceeded to complete her crazy lane change. I went alongside vehicle A, look at the driver, shake my head and accelerate into safety......

talk about silly lane change ..

i ever experienced a driver who lane change from lane 3 to lane 1 when there is a big car on lane 2 beside tt driver and i was on lane 1 beside the lane 2 car.. wonder if the driver din see us or think tt we will give way..ended up the lane2 car and myself have to make way for this 'VIP'..and the car nearly hit me if i had not accelerated in the nick of time. sometimes dunno what these pple r thinking ..

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Dec 28 2004, 03:35 PM

talk about silly lane change ..

i ever experienced a driver who lane change from lane 3 to lane 1 when there is a big car on lane 2 beside tt driver and i was on lane 1 beside the lane 2 car.. wonder if the driver din see us or think tt we will give way..ended up the lane2 car and myself have to make way for this 'VIP'..and the car nearly hit me if i had not accelerated in the nick of time. sometimes dunno what these pple r thinking ..

This sounds so much like most taxis... sigh... getting really sick of taxis these days... :sian:

~Hell Inside - To Live Is To Dive

Originally posted by Raptor@Dec 25 2004, 10:54 AM

I voted for taxi drivers as the worst drivers in Singapore.

In their desperation to pick up passengers.. sudden stops and switching lanes from outside to inside is a norm for them. The fact that they are always on a look out for passengers means that they do not see you.

Stay for away from taxis and be wary of them, especially empty taxis!!!!

also must not forget taxis that are carrying female passengers ....

the cabby is talking to the charbor behind so much that he forgets there are other vehicles around him

i kena b4 liao .... he lost control i skidded .... kns, now insurance also mai chap ... :cry: :cry: :cry:

ah leong always say ... dunno? dont do!

http://www.ibike.com.hk/08_fun/hksm/learn_a_m/ada/s_03.jpg

boyz am i not surprise the top of poll results is taxi drivers. sheesh i was involved in an accident cause by taxi and and almost another one oso by taxi :sian:

Originally posted by lioncat@Dec 28 2004, 05:37 PM

also must not forget taxis that are carrying female passengers ....

the cabby is talking to the charbor behind so much that he forgets there are other vehicles around him

i kena b4 liao .... he lost control i skidded .... kns, now insurance also mai chap ... :cry: :cry: :cry:

I had a similar like situation before with a taxi, except it was carrying a couple who were on their way to visit some relative's grave in Choa Chu Kang cemetery during the Ching Ming festival.

Traffic was slow and I was on my 929 so I swung out and decided to overtake the taxi since the road was clear ahead. Suddenly the taxi did a right turn into the side lane where the cemetery was coz he had last minute instructions from the couple. No signals and no hand indications shown.

That was when I found out how powerful the front brake of a Honda 929 was. I did a front wheel stand before flipping over the bike and landing on the road on my right shoulder. The bike spun on the road and slid but missed the taxi by inches.

When I went to the taxi driver and asked why he turned without signalling, he asked me back what was the problem. I told him he caused me to crash but he said that my bike did not hit him and he did not see me so there is no isssue and my crash was my own problem. I felt like punching him but I broke my collar bone and it was swelling and hurting like hell.

I told him I was going to make a police report against him and I had to pay for the damages myself. The police told me that I cannot claim that there was an accident since there was no collision!!!!

Next thing I know is I recieved a letter from the TP giving me a warning saying that I failed to keep a proper lookout whilst driving my vehicle!!!!!

Can you beat this????

Man that sucks raptor..... Well an account of my last accident...

I was travelling along tiong bahru about 5pm and just before redhill MRT and Stoopid van driver made an illegal U turn to to Leng Kee.... just 5 sec before reaching him he started his U turn so i swerve to the right he still continued... By then it was unavoidable and... BANG BING BONG I crashed into his side, luckily I suffered no broken bones... Talk about hard braking 50km/h to 0km/h in a sec... Well the van door cave in and I could swear that I can the outline of me on the van..

Everyone came to help me to the side except the driver... I think he was waiting for the red carpet.... Anyways I waited for like longest time 25min still no sign for an ambulance lucky someone offered to drive me down my point is

YES there are drivers and riders that cause accidents, I mean who doesn't make mistakes but if I needed immediate medical attention I might not be here whining and bit@hing about it... :faint:

3 months back back a kips rider fell and I went over to help.. he had like a bone sticking out. same deal I called the ambulance and viola they appeared 30mins and mind you all this was taking place in tampines....

:offtopic: hey guys I started wanting to vote lorry/van drivers but along the way I got carried away... The more I wrote the more aggitated I got with ambulances....

ANYWAY my vote is

:gun: Taxi - worst (in their eyes passengers a like GOLD which we can't really blame due to the extra taxis on the road!!!)

:gun: Bus driver - worse (they give you a F@#king grin when they almost knock you over)

Lorry/Van driver - bad (well they have limited rear view :slapforehead:)

female drivers - hmmm tough one... some are aggressive and some are ignorant.

Riders - we are no angels either - some of us thinks we racers cum squeezers especially during peak hours where everyone wants to get home quickly.. racing against time to get to front of the line...

Well if everyone can have that little bit more courtesy, a little more patience, which is like hoping for WORLD PEACE or NO MORE WAR, riders and drivers alike just have to be careful .....

By the way IT"S THE MINORITY and not EVERYONE....

Ghost.......Outzzzz......

So far i had bad encounters wif taxis,and got my ass kiss my a drunk taxi driver some time back.:mad:

But honestly,lady drivers r not that gd too.

Sometimes reali wonder hw they obtain their lic through these ways of driving.

So far none has look gd,either swerve out as they like,reverse without chk mirror(I was behind and swear she didnt look at any mirror!),or hogging.:help:

Guest R1_EK3

me voted for taxi drivers too... They really can do spectacular things wif their taxis on the road.. Rem once while travelling along Bukit timah rd jus tafter Sixth Ave on the extreme right lane, this ctupid taix was travelling on the 2nd lane frm the right. When I was about to bypass him, he suddenly make a U-Turn into Dunearn Rd from his 2nd lane!!! luckily still managed to serve to the left and "siam".

Tues evening along Eng Neo Ave, one Blue CBR600 FY plate accident due to of cos taxi.... A Mercs cab. As usual, spectacularly turned out from small road w/o giving way. At least turn ur blxxdy head and check properly lah!

Although not all taxis are bad, but out of 10, at least 7 like tat..

Well,coz they got that stupid mentality,coz s'pore law if u knock their ass,u r in the wrong.:mad:

Their mind set as long as they signal,cut in,brake,u crash onto them,u r wrong.

Thats it loh,and many ppl dun like bikes coz their impression is bikes love to squeeze,wave in n out of lanes,speeding....

Haiz,sometimes bikes reali lose even if we r not at fault.

Agree gentlemen?:help:

Originally posted by akapovic1@Jan 7 2005, 11:33 AM

Well,coz they got that stupid mentality,coz s'pore law if u knock their ass,u r in the wrong.:mad:

Their mind set as long as they signal,cut in,brake,u crash onto them,u r wrong.

Thats it loh,and many ppl dun like bikes coz their impression is bikes love to squeeze,wave in n out of lanes,speeding....

Haiz,sometimes bikes reali lose even if we r not at fault.

Agree gentlemen?:help:

er only gentlemen only?

oh well, pplz will normally think tat we r at fault but i tend to blame drivers more than anything else cos a majority of drivers dun give 2 hoots to riders esp if they dun ride. :sian:

lady drivers cause motorbike accident coz they turn heads of the cheeky bikers. the bikers did not look in front and crash themselves...:cheeky:

http://sg.geocities.com/wannavaro6m9g/bikes3.jpg

Come, as you are, as you were, as I want.... you to be....

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 8 2005, 01:03 AM

er only gentlemen only?

oh well, pplz will normally think tat we r at fault but i tend to blame drivers more than anything else cos a majority of drivers dun give 2 hoots to riders esp if they dun ride. :sian:

Eerr,sorry if u r female...

I actually meant to address ever1 as a whole...

Anyway,realy tink that those getting class 3 shld at least go through some simulator course or bikes theory lesson,feel that realy helps...:cheer:

Originally posted by R1_EK3@Jan 6 2005, 08:30 PM

me voted for taxi drivers too... They really can do spectacular things wif their taxis on the road.. Rem once while travelling along Bukit timah rd jus tafter Sixth Ave on the extreme right lane, this ctupid taix was travelling on the 2nd lane frm the right. When I was about to bypass him, he suddenly make a U-Turn into Dunearn Rd from his 2nd lane!!! luckily still managed to serve to the left and "siam".

Tues evening along Eng Neo Ave, one Blue CBR600 FY plate accident due to of cos taxi.... A Mercs cab. As usual, spectacularly turned out from small road w/o giving way. At least turn ur blxxdy head and check properly lah!

Although not all taxis are bad, but out of 10, at least 7 like tat..

today i kenna a taxi which made my blood boil..for e first time on e road can feel my body become v hot, face flushed..had to press my horn non-stop as an immediate destress outlet..now i can understand wat is RAGE...can understand y some fellow forumners oso damn pissed off...

was at e centre of a merging lane,jus b4 e 2 lanes merge into one...one sunny came up to me so close on my right, can see his bonnet near my thigh...i thought never mind move abit to e left let him pass,no sweat..

jus as i was abt to do so, a taxi came from e left to overtake, it was so close tt i estimate if i were to put either foot down, either car's tires would run over my feet...

there i was, like a thin piece of cheese btw 2 fat slices of bread...for tt split moment my mind was like wtf!!

why can't some drivers treat bikers wif a little more respect..so wat if e driver had managed to overtake me then( he did eventually and e taxi actually beat e sunny though e sunny approached me first)...he'll just be one vehicle ahead...putting my life at risk just so that he can reach his destination a little faster..i just thank my lucky star: it could haf been worst.

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

In fact,if we realy caculate,speed at 90km/h and 110km/h,the most u reach ur des

earlier by 5min if its average of 20min travel.

Meaning not much diff if that stupid driver do that to u.

I vote for very new female p-plate drivers on big MPV or big powerful car of thier daddys...

bad road hazard coz they do unexpected action at unexpected time giving even the most experience drivers the biggest surprise...of coz ther r still alot of better female drivers out ther but most of the time putting a woman on wheels is juz like putting a man on heels..u nv kno wat gonna happen next

Good examples I encounter..

Once Im driving a van up e'way...in front female p-plate driver on nissan march merged into e'way wanna change to middle lane check blind spot for a long long time dun wanna change n keep at 50km/h so I sian I speed up to 70km/h n slowly wanna overtake her n suddenly she CONFIRM no more car at the rear n suddenly serve out to the middle lane causing me to siam into the right lane wif my van n I speed up n overtake n keep back left again at 70km/h...of coz she can drive at 90km/h n I cant so she overtook me later on n show me the midde finger..kao I wanna bang my head man :giddy:

Another time again female p-plate on a corrolla hogging the e'way at 80km/h on the dotted line between the right lane n middle lane as if she riding motorcycle...Im riding bike so I fed up flash her also nv c so LL slowly overtake on the rite lane squeezing thru on watever space given..halfway thru I gave her a horn to wake up her idea...Guess wat the lady turn the head to look at me n turn the steering wheel together wif the head towards me almost squeezing me to the rails...freak out speed up ahead as far as I cud

Another time sitting on my friend's car in the day again road hog by a female driver at 80km/h on rite lane...my friend flash her n I can c from the passenger seat she looked up into the rear view mirror to c wat happen at the rear n jams her brake at the same time...

Another time lagi worst helping my fren move hse n driving a lorry..turn into a carpark from main road wif a small enterance so be it a small or big vehicle sure will eat abit into the oncoming lane...as Im turning in again another p-plate female driver on the daddy's merc wif another bunch of gals frens inside gonna turn out to the carpark die die dun wanna give way to me n keep goin on forcing me to jam brake to give way to her leaving my lorry's backside outside the main road...still dare to horn me n the whole car of gers stare at me as if Im in the wrong n I LL had to wait wif half the lorry backside in the main road for them to happily turn out to the main road when I can turn in kao :faint:

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

Originally posted by CBR fire_Blade@Jan 12 2005, 04:30 PM

:gun: Taxi driver:mad:

yeah v :mad: at taxi drivers too!!!!!!!!! squeezed me outta lane n rather close to me oso. i can fr behind he was cutting in and out of traffic. i hv a v gd mind to write to comfort to complain him! nvm i caught up w him and show my hand and ask him why he drive like that! kaoz next thing he did was to cut me abruptly again :mad:

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 13 2005, 08:41 AM

yeah v :mad: at taxi drivers too!!!!!!!!! squeezed me outta lane n rather close to me oso. i can fr behind he was cutting in and out of traffic. i hv a v gd mind to write to comfort to complain him! nvm i caught up w him and show my hand and ask him why he drive like that! kaoz next thing he did was to cut me abruptly again :mad:

Speaking of getting squeezed out of your own lane. Same thing happened to me yesterday when I was heading home. 3 lane road splitting into left bend 2 lane and right bend 1 lane. I was going for the left bend and was in the center lane so while entering the bend, I was on the rightmost lane..

At this moment, 1 female driver in her MPV entered my lane from my right, guessed she was going the wrong way, nevermind. I moved towards the left of my lane to let her in, cannot change to the left lane cos got car but this $%@*Q(&$ die die want me to slow down keep pushing her car further to the left, at this point of time the car on my left slowed down alot and was far behind already.. The MPV overtook me then went to to change to the left lane. All this while she never signal and kept looking forward only. Change lane also never check.

And what's more? Now that she's infront of me, she never stayed in her lane, her right wheels were on the lines. Fed up, I moved up and looked at her, she never even hiew me. :mad:

I was wondering whether I should have horned her when she was squeezing me onto the lane or not, sekali I horn her, she look at me and turn her steering wheel. :giddy:

Dun noe if u guys have noticed tat Merces drivers tends not to use their signals when changing lanes and worst, change lane abruptly....

Not tat I'm prejudiced against them, but I'm abit more caution when riding between Merces and this is wat I have observed so far. :sian:

Out of 10 Meces, only 1 use their signals.

Guess C & C should have another version of Merces.....without signals lights..... Wat is the use when 1 dun use it rite

http://www.mvagusta.com.au/welcome/images/F4CC1.jpg
Originally posted by Jess1717@Jan 14 2005, 05:48 PM

Dun noe if u guys have noticed tat Merces drivers tends not to use their signals when changing lanes and worst, change lane abruptly....

Not tat I'm prejudiced against them, but I'm abit more caution when riding between Merces and this is wat I have observed so far. :sian:

Out of 10 Meces, only 1 use their signals.

Guess C & C should have another version of Merces.....without signals lights..... Wat is the use when 1 dun use it rite

Errr,merc parts tend to break down easily,tink their signals bulbs had burst i guess..:mad:

Looks like taxi drivers have got the worst rating followed by women drivers.

So here's the advice to all new bike riders.........keep a distance from taxis.

Never never ride on the side of a taxi coz he's gonna side swipe you the moment he sees a potential passenger on the side of the road or he decided that there are more potential passengers on the other side so he makes a U turn.

I don't want to sound sexist but can you imagine what kind of deadly combination we are going to get if the taxi driver happens to be a woman???:help:

Originally posted by Lass@Jan 13 2005, 08:41 AM

complain...go ahead...why not? i did...write a mail to TP too

it will serve as a deterent and keep him in check should he decide to be a racer again...

i'm aware that he has a family to feed but that dosen give him a right to put others' lives in danger...i have a family to return home too as well..

i think TP view this cases seriously..my friend on a bike was swerving in and out of lanes without signalling and riding in btween lanes. When some1 complained him to TP...he was promptly awarded 9 points....hehe

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.