haha.. complain complain.. then speed limit for 50km/h become 80km/h.. 90km/h become 120km/h... jia lak la... i feel tt the current road speed is ok coz have to take into consideration of the number of vehicle using the roads and slow moving vehicle like buses n lorries, u cant expect them to go 100km/h rite?.... wat if there's accident? the chances of multiple collision is high coz every1 go so fast n it will need longer braking distance to stop... the most important is to educate the road user of the dangers on the road so everyone wil use the road safely, onli tat then further revision of speed limit will be consider.... :smile: .. sorri kinda long :sweat:

• Replies 43

Originally posted by Touch n Go@Oct 19 2005, 08:23 PM

haha.. complain complain.. then speed limit for 50km/h become 80km/h.. 90km/h become 120km/h... jia lak la... i feel tt the current road speed is ok coz have to take into consideration of the number of vehicle using the roads and slow moving vehicle like buses n lorries, u cant expect them to go 100km/h rite?.... wat if there's accident? the chances of multiple collision is high coz every1 go so fast n it will need longer braking distance to stop... the most important is to educate the road user of the dangers on the road so everyone wil use the road safely, onli tat then further revision of speed limit will be consider.... :smile: .. sorri kinda long :sweat:

hmm. first educate the public about road safety, then increase the fine, most left lane remain the same. 2nd and 3rd lane increase the speed limit lor. Think the lorry and bus right must also keep left so not to rd hog. It might take years for people to be educated on that one. u put speed limit 120km, taxi chiong 130. sian.:sian:

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Guest deganduss
Originally posted by kahhwee@Oct 20 2005, 09:21 AM

u put speed limit 120km, taxi chiong 130. sian.:sian:

That is faster than cup kia :nono:

Originally posted by deganduss@Oct 22 2005, 09:50 PM

That is faster than cup kia :nono:

yeap. Thats why we must take into consideration the max speed of what other veh using the expressway ma. kup kia at 130 kinda dangerous ley.

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Originally posted by Keynes@Feb 16 2005, 01:49 PM

Hi.

I've posted my opinions on another post, anyway just to repaet my proposal:-

1) normal rd = 70kph unless otherwise stated,

2) ex way, left most lane = 70 kph, middle lane = 90kph and rightmost lane = 110kph, except at very curvy portion,

3) goods veh speed limit, light goods vehicle = 70kph, heavy goods vehicle = 60kph, very heavy goods vehicle = 50kph.

But most important of all, this is the max speed, do not ride/drive at these speeds if u do not have the confidence to do so or thk it is unsafe to do so.

Hi, Bro.

Your idea dam good, We will implement it, but where is the bikes,which lane

U prefer.

:cheer: :goodluck:

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h247/Gallantnice/Phantom200.jpg

follow malaysia's one lor~

Guest R1szuan

a link to help you guys

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speed_limit#R...ut_speed_limits

Crash forces are proportional to the square of the speed. This means that crash forces rise much faster than speed. For example, the percentage increase in crash forces between 70 MPH and 60 MPH is twice the percentage speed increase.

The probability of a fatality rises with the fourth power of the speed change at impact [26]. However, in interpreting this, it should be noted that crashes with dramatic, sudden speed changes that terminate almost all velocity are atypical. These kinds of crashes can include head on collisions or collisions with massive, fixed objects like concrete bridge piers.

While it is true that higher speed usually increases the severity of crashes, there is not an automatic correlation between speed or a speed limit and aggregate safety. While it is automatically assumed that lowering speed limits increases safety, many cases of raising speed limits have been found to improve safety or have no net impact. One theory explaining this is that many drivers select their own comfortable speed regardless of the posted limit. Raising the speed limit encourages slower drivers to catch up to the flow of traffic, reducing speed differentials.

Many factors define the safety value of speed limits, and some have nothing to do with an individual motorist's vehicle speed. Examples are driver alertness, distractions, road conditions, weather, other drivers, and wildlife. However, unlike speed, some of these factors are not under the full control of the driver. This suggests that limiting vehicle speeds can play a role in reducing the frequency and severity of crashes if only to give the driver more time to respond appropriately in the face of unexpected dangers. However, the efficacy of speed limits in restraining driver speed is subject to debate as several university and government studies in the US have found a weak link between speed limits and actual speeds.[27]

Crash causation should not be regarded as being due any factor in isolation. Factors such as weather and the condition of the road interact with speed. In France, this is recognized by an automatic reduction of the speed limit by 10 km/h on some roads in rain. In many cases, the crash probability could have been reduced if the speed had been reduced. For example, a slower vehicle is less likely to skid on a wet road.

Another view is that, while speed can play a part of the causal chain which leads to crashes, speed's role is mostly to magnify the consequences of other unsafe acts. This viewpoint is reinforced by the fact that where speed is a crash factor, it is usually accompanied by other crash factors. In many cases, removing the other crash factors, such as a right of way violation, would have absolutely prevented the collision, while reducing the speed would not necessarily have prevented the collision. The converse also applies. Research by the Transport Research Laboratory in the UK showed that for similar classes of road, crash probability reduced with reducing average speed. There is also a "U-shaped curve" of crash probability versus speed: the probability of crashing increases dramatically for drivers traveling at least 15 mph slower or faster than the mean traffic speed (slower speeds being partly associated with manoeuvres) [28].

Several studies performed in the U.S., including ones performed after speed limit increases in the late 1980s and mid- to late 1990s, produced mixed empirical evidence on the relationship between speed and safety[29]. Sometimes no overall effects were noticed, and sometimes overall fatalities and crashes declined. Some studies found more fatalities, but they are sometimes criticized for inadequately explaining why adjacent roads often had fewer crashes or why systemwide safety effects were minimal or sometimes positive. A theory is that higher speed limits on Interstate roads invite travel on safer roads. Another theory is that speed limits encourage all drivers to match speeds, thus reducing speed differentials.

Guest R1szuan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speed_trap

Some cities or sections of road become known as speed traps when police have a reputation for writing an unusually high number of traffic tickets, usually for speeding. Sometimes, the posted speed limits are not easily seen; in other places, police have chosen to strictly enforce speed limits, and the limits might be set lower than warranted by road conditions or population. Speed traps often are found in small towns, often near major highways, in which travelers are unlikely to return to challenge a speeding ticket.

Some communities with reputations as speed traps have a disproportionately large number of their local workforce involved in law enforcement or judiciary occupations.

In some small towns and counties, traffic fines make up a large fraction of the income of the local government, which gives the police an incentive to write tickets.

Guest R1szuan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hierarchy_of_roads

At the top of the hierarchy are limited access roads freeways or motorways, including most toll roads. These roads provide largely uninterrupted travel, often using partial or full access control, and are designed for high speeds. Some freeways have collector/distributor roads or even more extensive local lanes (also known as collector/distributor lanes) which further reduce the number of access ramps that directly interface with the freeway, rather the freeway periodically interfaces with these parallel roadways, which themselves have multiple on and off-ramps. These allow the freeway to operate with less friction at an even higher speed and with higher flow. Often freeways are included in the next category, arterials.

[edit]

Arterials

The next level are arterials, In general arterials are major through roads that are expected to carry large volumes of traffic. Arterials are often divided into major and minor arterials, and rural and urban arterials.

In some places there are large divided roads with few or no driveways that cannot be called freeways because they have occasional at-grade intersections (expressways in California) or they are just too short (superarterials in Nevada). Such roads are usually classified as arterials.

[edit]

Collectors

These are followed by collectors (not to be confused with collector/distributor roads, which reduce weaving on freeways), which act to collect traffic from local roads and distribute it to arterials. Traffic using a collector is usually going or coming from somewhere nearby.

[edit]

Local roads

At the bottom of the hierarchy are local roads. These roads have the lowest speed limit, and carry low volumes of traffic.

[edit]

History

Roads have been distinguished by function probably since their beginning, and the hierarchy of roads was firmly established by the time of the Roman Empire.

[edit]

Access management

The related concept of access management aims to provide access to land development while ensuring traffic flows freely and safely on surrounding roads. Frontage roads are often used to reduce the conflict between the high-speed nature of an arterial and property access concerns.

Road Speed limits have something to do with crash accessments. The faster the speed, the more the impact so, those roads dont come with a speed limit for nothing. Imagine small road n u r riding at 70km/h..suddenly a child decides to dash across the road.. how less distance can u brake. Imgaine the same thing but u travel at 50km/h. Even if crash, the chances for his survival will be more.

Something I think... U might have ur own views but I think the current speed limits is ok. Just that gov might like to impose refresher course compulsary every 5yrs or something like that. My dad got class 2 lic with just one round ride n pass nearly 30yrs ago. He dont know that e-brake means using engine brake with front n rear brakes.

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

Still many expressway user don't abide to the standard rule.

Outermost lane are for overtaking!

Even our neighbour highway are practicing it.

Can't stand hoggers cruising @ 70-80km/h on the outermost lane.

I did it my way

You mean the number signs on the expressways are supposed to be the maximum speed limit??? :giddy:

I thought that's the recommended speed on rainy days. :cheeky:

Just kidding...... Actually 90km/hr is really a fine speed to cruise at. But 90km/hr should be deemed as the minimum speed on the 1st lane (extreme right lane) on straights & dry road when the road is clear.

If you get what I mean, a lot of spoilers just don't get it.

Worse if they force ppl to overtake from the left, & speed up to compensate time lost & patience lost. They are the sinners

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Nov 27 2005, 10:07 PM

110 for expressways

70 for normal roads

90 for big quiet roads... :smile:

haha 110 on xpressway.. please no!!!

have u ever consider wat if some road users take advantage of the speed limit n intended to go even more faster.. base on TP enforcement spd limit exceed over 21km/h is only 6 points.. then drivers n riders can go up till 130km/h!!! n yet only 6 points.. i think stick to 90 still the best.. driving up NSH at 120km also can kena caught although the spd limit is 110.. hehe.. dont forget, the LGV will also fight to increase their speed.

another thing, have u ever think if accident if to occur at that kind of speed.. i will freak out man.. bikes n cars will start flying aroung the expressways.. After that, then public will realise n ask to lower down the spd limit.. hehe..

Currently spd limit are 90km/h yet many case of road fatals are reported..

I just share my opinions here..

for me..

no car ride faster..

got car slowly..

:smile: i dun really look at meter when riding :smile:

(Mar05) Honda SP 150 FR9470B

(Nov05) Kawasaki KRR 150 FU8637D

(Sep06) Suzuki GSX400 FK7652

(Nov06) Yamaha Sparks135 FBB511H

(Mar07) Honda RVF400 FN4991T

(07-10) Yamaha YZF R6 FBA7370G

(08-09) Suzuki DRZ 400 FBC4821G

hee.. i always sit in my fren car always go abt 110-120.. then yesterday i saw this crazy cab.. with TRD sunshade, remus exhaust, sports rim, many many accessories.. den wah.. speeding like no people business.. keep cutting into ppl lane just to get infront... at least travelling @ 150.. btw the cab inside no ppl.. :sweat: crazy.. cab only.. some more no ppl inside.. rushing to hell meh! :giddy:

its quite good got speed limit! now we get 90.. people ride till 110.. if give 120.. will ride till how fast.. and if u r so used to speeding on expressway..go on normal roads also wanna speed mah.. its just disciplining us..

Originally posted by pyro13@Sep 27 2006, 09:13 AM

its quite good got speed limit! now we get 90.. people ride till 110.. if give 120.. will ride till how fast.. and if u r so used to speeding on expressway..go on normal roads also wanna speed mah.. its just disciplining us..

As if the discipline works on those hardcore speedsters. Any speed limit you put, they still go faster than that... :sweat:

Originally posted by Speedpass@February 16, 2005 11:30 am

i think e'way 110 is best . :smile:

yeah man! agree wif u...just like malaysia expressway...but,mmm we might that that as at advantage afterall...

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM